BBB Accredited Business since

General Transmission

Phone: (206) 878-5759 Fax: (206) 878-0573 View Additional Phone Numbers 23448 30th Ave S, Kent, WA 98032

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers automobile transmission repair.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that General Transmission meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for General Transmission include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on General Transmission
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 17, 1991 Business started: 10/01/1988 Business started locally: 10/01/1988
Business Management
Mr. Mark Walsh, Owner Ms. Cindy Walsh, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Cindy Walsh, Owner
Principal: Mr. Mark Walsh, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile

Additional Locations

  • 23448 30th Ave S

    Kent, WA 98032 (253) 838-3931 (800) 491-5759 (206) 878-5759


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 2007 GMC Envoy Denali was at ****************** to have a transmission repaired. I had already paid for the diagnostic and was ready to proceed, when General Transmission was referred to me from a family friend. I contacted **** at General Transmission and was informed for $208.00, they would come pick up my vehicle, complete another diagnostic and fix the vehicle. Plus the $208.00 would be applied to the overall cost if I decided to proceed. On 1/24 at 10:15am I spoke with **** and he stated he could fix the issue for $1695.00. **** said multiple times, "he would fix it like it was his own vehicle". I told him I would contact my wife with this information and authorize later that day. At 1:55pm on 1/24, I spoke with **** again to authorize the work and he again stated, "he would fix it like it was his own vehicle and needed $1,487.00 and he would get started". He transferred me to ***** to take my card information and I authorized the $1,487.00. This is what we agreed upon, which included the already charged $208.00. I asked ***** the time out for completion and she stated the following Wednesday or Thursday, 1/29 or 1/30. On Monday 1/27, **** called and left a voicemail. When I called him back, he stated he needed $1,773.00 to complete the job. I was immediately upset and felt taken advantage. This is not what we agreed upon. The quote I received from GMC was for a full remanufactured transmission with a 3 year 100,000 mile warranty for $3,500. I told **** we agreed upon $1,695.00, which included a 1 year, 12,000 mile warranty. I asked ****, "why would I spend additional funds to have my vehicle towed to another mechanic for more money and less of a warranty", this is a breach of verbal contract. At this point I informed him to stop work immediately until I thought about my options. But as a consumer, with a vehicle already disassembled, my options are limited. We decided to work towards the least expensive repair and **** informed me he could give me an online coupon discount and remove the torque converter, which costs $500.00. I asked him why he would charge me for a new one if the old one was still in good condition. GMC gave me a quote and stated they would replace the torque converter only if needed. Now, I really began to worry, a contract issue combined with replacing good parts for additional charges. From this point forward, we only communicated via email so all correspondence was documented. But the damage was already done. I currently have issues with an occasional clunking/surging as I pull up to a stop light or stop sign. It's almost as if someone lets off their brakes and rolls into my bumper. Just a small slip and clunk, but I have no intention of bringing the vehicle back for repairs.

Desired Settlement: I already discussed and attempted settlement, but **** was unwilling to negotiate. At this point, I am warning consumers to be aware of estimates and ensure everything is in writing and documented. This complaint cost me $1,223.61. The only viable option for settlement would be a refund of a vast majority of the aforementioned figure.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 7, 2014/03/13) */ This letter is to give our (General Transmission) side of events that transpired with this customer. We have a routine that goes with every customer. In ******* case he needed a tow from the Kirkland dealership to our shop in Kent Wa. We charge 208.00 with the tow fee and diagnosis, if the customer hires us to do any repairs whether it is major or minor we give 208.00 full credits towards anything done in our shop. In this case the transmission needed to come out to get repaired. We called ******* phone and told him the LABOR cost to remove the transmission would be 1,695.00 +parts, fluid and tax. We were crediting the 208.00 so the labor cost thereafter would be 1,287.00. ***** did call him to get the credit card info from him. She told him that **** would call back with the cost of parts. When we had a cost and parts **** then call ***** again and gave him the cost to finish his transmission and this was what was needed to do so. That total came to 1,223.61. If ***** had a problem with the money this would be the time to tell ****, ***** Okayed to finish the job on 01/29/2014 @ 8:50a. ***** himself talked to **** about the final cost. There was nothing more said he Okeyed all work to be finish at that time. We also went through the trouble of delivering his car to Issaquah for no charge, just a courtesy to our customers. In regards to ***** complaining about the transmission (he thinks is not working properly) he will need to bring it back for us to check out and confirm its transmission related and if it's anything we did, he has a 100% parts and labor warranty at our shop only. If he chooses not to bring to us and take it to another shop and pay them to check and perhaps fix if needed that is his decision to do so. This is all we can do for this customer, hoping we would bring the oar back if he is having issues and take care of him. We are sorry ***** is so bitter with our Company; our goal is to make everybody happy. Which it is impossible to do, when we aren't told that they are unhappy when it comes up. We have been in business for over 25 years, our mission is to help people and get them out of the fix they are in as inexpensively as possible. Sincerely, ***** ***** ************ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/03/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 3/20/14 **** ******** Concerned consumer: Case number: XXXXXXXX regarding General Transmission After reading the response sent by General Transmission, they are correct in the fact they charge $208.00 to have a vehicle towed. I agreed to pay this with no issue and do not dispute this fact. I spoke with **** about my options at *** and he stated he "is an honest guy", could beat their estimate and "would fix my vehicle as if it was his own". I paid *** for their diagnosis and informed them General Transmission would arrive to pick up my vehicle. **** informed me he would complete a diagnosis and contact me with a figure to repair my vehicle. He contacted me with an estimate of $1,695.00 minus the $208.00 already paid. There was never mention this was just a labor estimate. I already had my vehicle at *** with a paid tow and diagnosis for a full remanufactured transmission with a 3 year 36,000 mile warranty. Why would I choose a parts replacement and lesser warranty for equal money? I went to an appointment and when done called **** again to review the issue and price. His exact wording was "for $1,695.00 minus the $208.00 I will fix your vehicle as if it was my own. I just need you to authorize payment to get started. I drove home, called my wife to discuss repairs and then returned a call to General Transmission to authorize this repair. **** handed the phone to *****, who again reiterated the $1,695.00 minus $208.00 I already paid. ***** took payment of $1,287.00 and stated it would take 4-5 business days to complete the repairs. Monday morning I receive a voicemail from **** stating he has the vehicle broken down and needs $1,721.63 to complete the repairs. I was very upset and immediately called asking what was occurring and if I could have *** retrieve my vehicle and parts. I no longer wanted him to repair my vehicle. He said he could not allow this to happen, which gave me no options. **** realized my disgust and how mislead I felt. I informed him I could not talk and would call later. When I called again, he made an attempt to reduce costs by cutting out unneeded parts replacements. This is when he offered to remove the $500.00 cost for the torque converter he planned to replace, which did not need to be replaced. Now I am left wondering how many other parts he is charging for that did not need to be replaced? The response General Transmission presented does not attempt to resolve this dispute. I have never felt so deceived and mislead and will not settle this dispute without a $1,221.63 refund. He did offer to have the vehicle delivered, and if he would have driven it himself as he stated he would, **** would be aware of the slippage issue. I will be returning the vehicle to have the issue repaired, but have 12 months or 12,000 miles to see what others issues will arise. **** already informed me a refund is not an option, so I plan to keep this complaint active in efforts to warn any future customers of potential issues when dealing with General Transmission. Sincerely, **** ********