This business is not BBB accredited.

Central Transmission

Phone: (253) 854-5088 Fax: (253) 854-9056 View Additional Phone Numbers 8440 S 228th St, Kent, WA 98031

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers Automatic Transmission Rebuild and Service, and Manual Clutch Repair and replacement.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Central Transmission include:

  • 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Length of time business has taken to respond to complaint(s)

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Central Transmission
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 06/01/1985 Business started locally: 06/01/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robin Neighbors, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robin Neighbors, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Automotive Transmission Repair (NAICS: 811113)

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Central Transmission has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    8440 S 228th St

    Kent, WA 98031 (253) 854-5088 (253) 472-8641 (425) 454-7970 (206) 322-9112


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: i have taken my 2005 sebring convertable 3 times for same problem. the problem involves my automatic transmission not shfting correctly. April of 2016 i took in for problem listed above. Central serviced tranny. ( bill was $165 ) When i got car back tranny still wasn't right. i informed Central and he said give it some time then bring back if problem continues. 3 months later i brought it back. ( 1st week of August ) August of 2016 Central tells me it needs to be rebuilt cost will be $1800 to 2400. I asked if he was sure this was problem and if so why this wasn't caught during the tranny service i paid for? Central didn't have an answer. 8/17 i paid $2500 for the tranny rebuild ( i made him credit me for the service he did in 1st visit ) My tranny was still doing same exact thing. Since i had picked up at the end of the day i brought back next day (8/18 ) as of today 9/6 i still don't have my car. the theory now is a bad wiring harness. Rob ( my go to person NEVER returns my calls probably about 30 calls or so. the only way i speak to him is if i go out of my way to Central and corner him. Without fail he tells me they are working on it and he will call me later that day or next day ( HE NEVER DOES ) The latest tale was on 8/ 31 i was told by Rob it would be done by 1 PM on 9/1. He said to just come get car. I told him that since i needed to arrange ride i needed him to call me and verify car was complete including long test drive. that call NEVER came. Also he NEVER returned ANY of my many calls. I had made arrangements for ride and we were in hold mode until i could make contact. I then drove to Central but Rob was not in office. I spoke to a worker but he had no idea on Status of my car. ( MY car has been sitting in exact same location the last 5 or 6 times i have been there.) on Friday 9/2 i was out of town all day but tried calling 5 or 6 times each time leaving voicemail asking him to call me with status. NO RETURN CALLS .

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY CAR BACK AND RUNNING CORRECTLY I have paid $2500 for tranny rebuild that WAS NOT the problem. I want my money returned and i will pay correct price for whatever the problem ends up being. if it turns out to be wiring harness then i will pay for JUST that. I can't afford to pay for high priced services that don't solve the problem. Also i feel i should be compensated for all my time and effort due to Rob not returning any of my calls and not delivering on what he promises. I have been without my car for more the a Month which is a major inconvience. Also my tranny has never been resolved in the nearly 5 months since i first took it to Central Transmission.

Business Response:

This vehicle initially came in for a transmission service on 4-18-2016. This model has a removable pan so that the filter can be changed during the service. During the service it was found and noted that the fluid was severely burnt and there was an excessive amount of  metal found in the bottom of the pan indicating that transmission failure was imminent. The customer was notified of this and chose to have the service completed with no additional repairs. Approximately 5 months later customer returned with a burned out transmission. After completing the repairs, the customer returned the  vehicle with an intermittent electrical problem interrupting communication between the computer and the transmission. We are presently replacing the electrical harness to repair this problem.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  As per attachment no mention was made to me verbally or on receipt  about burnt tranny fluid and need for rebuild. Central transmission made a completely false statement. 


**** *******

Business Response: We have the electrical continuity issue with this vehicle resolved. We are checking the dome light switch that is causing the new battery to go dead over night and installing the new drivers seat as requested by customer. This should complete the service of this vehicle at this time.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I was quoted verbally $200 for parts and labor for drivers seat (assuming seat is like new )

I never had any problem with battery going dead (dome light ? )

If I suddenly have battery / dome light problem then it's a result of work central transmission has performed.

As I said in original complaint, my car went in for tranny slipping. Central trans rebuilt tranny which only made it worse.

I  never received quote for wiring harness which was supposedly the latest theory.

Bottom line is central transmission was paid $2,500.85 for rebuild of tranny. THIS WAS NOT THE PROBLEM.

i want refund of $2,500.85 and then and only then I will pay a reasonable rate for wiring harness (if that fixes problem ) I will also pay for drivers seat upon inspection. ( No more then $200 )



**** *******

7/21/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a rebuilt transmission with installation for my 2001 Chrysler Town and Country. The work was completed in November 2014. As it was taking longer to complete the work then he had initially estimated I made several calls to the proprietor requesting a completion date- he gave differing reasons why the repair was taking so long and told me he would call when the work was done. In one phone call the reason he gave was specific, but all the rest seemed like excuses (worker injuries, too much work). On November 16, 2015 I had the car towed to Central Transmission for a warranty repair as the car's computer indicated the transmission wasn't working properly and in fact the transmission would not engage. On November 25, 2015 the proprietor informed me the part had arrived but, he would not be able to fix the car until the following Monday ( He was specific about this). I contacted him several times the following week - he had different reason why the repair was not finished and could not give me a definite time when the work would be complete. He simply says 'I'll call you when it's done'. It is now almost two weeks since he received the repair part and there has been no contact from the proprietor.

Desired Settlement: I want the warranty repair completed as soon as possible so I can have my car back.

Business Response:

Our technicians have discovered an electrical grounding issue with the vehicle.

We are correcting the problem. customer will be notified upon completion.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I was not informed of any electrical issues. I have not received any indication of the electrical problem nor any expected date of completion. Given the proprietor's consistent lack of communication, timeliness and history of excuses I do not trust the validity his response.


***** *****


Business Response: This is the response to this complaint.

We have installed a new transmission and corrected the electrical connection issue with this vehicle.
So far no issues.

Thank you,

4/16/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought my truck into Central transmission February 2013 to have the transmission replaced with a heavy duty replacement. Was told it would take 2-3 days to complete and that I would receive a call when it was done. On day 3, I never received a call. So on day 4, I went down to the shop and there wasn't even a transmission in my truck. I was told multiple excuses how they were short on mechanics and had been very busy. Then was promised it would be done the next day and I would receive a call. Well that never happened, tried calling multiple times that day they never answered. When I did get a hold of them they would say same crap that it would be done the next day over and over. Two and a half weeks later they finally completed my truck. Probably would have been longer if I didn't continuously call and question what the hell was going on. On February 15th 2016, I took my truck to a more reputable shop to have a transmission leak repaired since I didnt want to deal with Central transmission. Once they dropped the transmission pan they found chunks of metal which indicates the transmission is going bad. So that same day I took it back to Central transmission since it was still under warrant for a few more days thankfully. A week later and my truck is still at Central transmission when it should have only taken them 3 days tops to complete the transmission replacement/rebuild. After looking at this shops reviews im surprised it manages to stay open. The customer service is non existent and the work they do is questionable.

Desired Settlement: Finish the warranty work in a timely manner, refund the total cost of replacing the transmission, or cover the cost to have a more professional shop compete the repair.

Business Response:

#******** We have corrected the problem with this transmission and returned the vehicle to the customer.         #******** We have installed a new transmission in this vehicle and returned the vehicle to the customer.                                                                                                                                                                 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: This shop is a joke, was offered a extended 1 year "verbal" warranty to take down a negative google review and put a positive review. Your verbal warranty means nothing, quite clear that you do not honor any sort of warranty unless there is paper work showing Central transmission worked on the vehicle. Many reviews on yelp and google clearly state that. When my truck was finally returned, once again it was 2 quarts overfilled with transmission fluid. Shop does poor quality work and lacks any sort of customer service.



Consumer Response:

Vehichle was not properly repaired. Will not be returning to Central Transmission for the repairs that are needed due to lack of knowledge and customer service. Have given them multiple attempts to fix problem. And they have done nothing but cause frustration and waste my time. 


Business Response:

We have made numerous attempts to follow up with this customer.

If there are any additional issues with this vehicle please contact us immediately.

3/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my Camaro in with that had a code that there was something wrong with the transmission 3/5/15 I paid 424.81. they installed a repair valve couple days later, codes popped up again and I brought it back they told me it needed a rebuild. I paid 1527.53 on 3/30/15. everything seemed fine at first because, I only drive 5 miles to work. then I decided to take my car on a road trip and not even 70 miles into my road trip, the transmission started whining and grinding and shifting really hard and leaking in the middle of no where. I made it home (thank goodness). I took it back to the shop and after 3 weeks got it back. I always had to call and when I talked to him he would say its almost done or he would call me back. never once called back. my dad went down there pretty much everyday to check on it and then I got it back and It was worse kept grinding and making noise. I took it back and after another 4+ weeks I got it back and it still was doing it I took it back to test drive it and he said it needed to be broke in and that it might be my muffler (clearly wasn't) it was the transmission I took it back after a 2 months of driving it since it was still doing it and he had it for 10+ weeks. never would call. always had to call him and he would tell me they are working on it and its still doing it or its almost done and told me 4 times it will be done tomorrow or the end of the week. got it back finally after I had to send my dad down after work a couple days and not even 5 min. into my drive home it did the exact same thing. I took it in 3 times to fix the same problem and nothing was resolved. this problem has been going on for 7 months. I do not want to take it back to this shop due to the inconvenience and horrible customer service and is completely unacceptable to run a business like this.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund.

Business Response: We are presently working on a solution to this issue.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I have NOT been contacted by the business and have NOT received any word of a solution to this problem.


****** *****

10/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My rebuilt transmission installed by Central Transmission malfunctioned while I was driving on I-5 on Nov 30, 2014. Because the vehicle is still covered by Central Transmission's 3 year Guarantee / Warranty, I made an appointment with Central Transmission and towed the vehicle to their shop. Central Transmission stated they believed the issue to be a problem internal to the Transmission and provided an expected turn-around time of between 5 to 7 days to repair the transmission. When I called the shop on the fifth day, Rob at Central Transmission stated that the car was not ready because he had to source a part from a supplier in Portland that had yet to arrive. On the seventh day, the car was still not ready for pick up. Rob stated that all necessary parts arrived but they were unable to complete the repair. When I asked for further details on any issues preventing completion of the repair as well as a new time frame by when repairs would be completed, Rob simply stated that he could not tell me when the repairs would be completed, that he would phone me the next day with an update. He never phoned the next day or the day after. I believe Central Transmission practices business dishonestly and refuses to be transparent. It is now two weeks later, and I have called Central Transmission repeatedly but they provide nothing more than delay tactics and they have yet to repair my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of roughly $2500 or cover the cost of repairs at another mechanic shop of my choosing.

Business Response:

The transmissions have been replaced and to date there are no other issues.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: my car wouldn't start two days after I got it back from this shop. I didn't trust my car in their hands again so I had to have another mechanic come fix my car. 


10/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repaired my vehicle transmission for 3400.00. Drove for I think almost 2 months, will verify with the receipt, then same issue returned. they said they would come and pick up from my house if I left keys in it. Took them four days to do so and no call to let me know they had taken it. This was second week of Dec. No update so I called the Monday between Christmas and New Year. Said it would be finished. No update til I called second week of January. Told them I was unhappy with customer service and to call me with an update. They told me they had to re-flash my computer and would have it ready the next day. This was 01-27-15 and still no phone call to tell me what the issue is to date.

Desired Settlement: I want the vehicle's computer replaced with factory settings and transmission working to factory settings and the stereo equipment programmed with *** **** settings by 02-13-15. If it is not, it will need to be sent to a qualified shop or Volkswagon dealer at Central Transmission's cost.

Business Response:

The transmissions have been replaced and to date there are no other issues.

8/25/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to central transmission in Kent 2 months ago and he said he fixed the issue which was under warranty and he did not fix it. He has had my car this time for 3 weeks and everyday says it will be fixed the next day. Today he said he doesn't have time to fix it. It all is covered under warranty and he keeps putting it off and not fixing the issue and will not provide a rental car while he is delaying fixing my car because he is not getting paid to fix it because it is covered under warranty.

Desired Settlement: If he doesn't want to guarantee the warranty he gives out and fix my car then I want my money back for the original work done.

Business Response: We have installaed a new transmission in this vehicle and it has been returned to the customer.

8/25/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have central transmission fix my transmission last march 2013 and give me 3 years warranty unlimited mile warranty on it then last November 25 2014 the transmission is broken/fails,so I went to their shop and ask them to fix it cause I know I have the warranty for it but the guy,Rod or ron his name tell me that ineed to have the paperwork we signed before that I don't have it, lost it, and the only thing I have is the receipt from the credit card company that I pay them with, and then this guy told me that w/o it he wont fix it.and he tells me that he don't have the other copy of the contract we signed before which he should have cause the warranty is not yet expired, his alibi to me is he said his computer hard drive is broken and cant produce the contract, what ? we signed the contract on a piece of paper, one copy for me and one for him, not on the computer and he keeps telling me that his computer hardrive is broken, and don't want to fix my car because of it

Desired Settlement: I want my money back

Business Response: We have installed a new transmission in this vehicle at no cost to the customer.

8/14/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was originally repaired in November 2013 and had the transmission replaced. On June 28th, 2015 my transmission went out again and I had my car towed to the repair shop on 6/29/15 to be fixed. I was originally told that they had to order parts and that it would be completed on 7/3 or Tuesday 7/7 at the latest. I never received a call back. I called on Tuesday and was told it now wouldn't be completed until Thursday 7/9. When I didn't receive a call I tried calling, no response and the voicemail was now full. I finally reached Rob on 7/13 and was told that they had to order a new part and it would be completed by Thursday 7/16. After making arrangements to pick my car up I was able to reach the shop by phone on 7/16 to only be told that they did not get it completed and that they had to order another part and that it would be completed on 7/21. When I tried calling on 7/21 I was not able to reach him again. After leaving multiple voicemails with out getting a returned call my fiance called and was told that they had to replace the transmission and that it would be completed by 7/24. I never received a call on Friday 7/24 and all my calls are meet with a full voicemail. We tried calling again on 7/27 and was told that they would have it done by noon. No return call. All my and my fiance's calls from our personal phones are not being answered. I was able to use a friends phone to reach them on 7/28 and was told it would be completed by end of day. No calls. I called from another friends phone today 7/29 and was told it would be completed by noon. No return call and not able to leave a voicemail again. I want my car fixed and returned to me.

Desired Settlement: I want my car fixed and returned to me. They have had it for a month when they said it would only take a week. This has made me find alternative transportation back and forth to work. I have to drive daily to 4 different locations.

Business Response:

We have installed a new transmission in this vehicle and it has been returned to the customer.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


***** *******

2/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my transmission rebuilt by them on 12-10-12. The warrenty being 3 yrs or 36000 miles. My transmission went out on 11-11-14, 23 months after being serviced and 29000 miles i called them to ask about the warrenty. They said their hard drive had failed and they said they would look for the paper copy of it and would call me back, after 2 days of calling and going down there they said they have no service record of my car. They said i had no proof of them ever doing business with them. I could not find the reciept but did provide a bank statement. They said without the reciept they would not honor the transmission.

Desired Settlement: I want them to honor the warrenty and fix the problem.

Business Response: Unfortunately without the customer copy of the warranty we are unable to determine what work was done to the vehicle and what the terms of the warranty were.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When we paid, there was no indication that the receipt was proof of warranty. Rob the owner stated that he has copies of all 2012 paperwork at home, and stated he would look for it, but each time I asked him about it, he stated he had not looked for it. We have since paid another organization to rebuild the transmission.

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: transmission has never been fixed. been overfilled with fluid and has gotten worse since they have worked on it. since 9-25-2012 they have had my truck for over 17 weeks. was told it would only take about a week both times. every time I contacted the owner he would make up stories about how it is in the shop when it was still parked out on the street. talked to him about a refund and said no. due to his dishonest treatment of me and my wife we do not trust them to fix it correctly. will be headed to another shop to get it fixed.

Desired Settlement: only settlement will be a full refund of $2146.07 or cover the cost of it getting repaired at a shop of my choice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/02) */ We are in the process or resolving this issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) no body has contacted me at all so once again a none truthful statement provided form Central Transmission. They have made effort to talk to me. Same complaint. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Central transmission had our truck for over 4 months. The first time we where told by the owner 2 weeks tops it was 8 weeks . the second time we where told one week tops it was 9 weeks. The entire time the truck was there for the same complaint which was never fixed. The last time we got it back they changed the keys for some reason so we had to reprogram all of the keys we had and was never informed why they messed with the ignition. The owner in December told me he replaced a part that fixed it, located on the inside of the transmission, of course the truck was still not working correctly. I have since had it repaired at another shop they had my truck for less than 24 hours and replaced the same part that Central Transmission said they did in December which of course they could not have. We could not afford to have our truck gone again for 2 or more months. The only way Central Transmission can close this claim completely would be a full refund. Final Business Response /* (1000, 22, 2014/07/21) */ We stand behind our warranties 100 percent. The customer has not let us evaluate the issue so far. We will not issue a refund in this case.

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a rebuild transmission work done on my Son's 1995 Nissan Pathfinder in Dec. picked it up on Dec. 23rd 2013 and on April 8th the transmission went out had to tow to shop not covered over 240 miles! Dropped off on April 9th it is now May 8th and we still do not have the vehicle. We call and *** will say its not done yet, should be done tomorrow! Tomorrow comes and its not done. One day my husband called a left 3 messages. And no return calls from ***. Then the next day my husband called no respond so we had someone with a different number call *** picked right up. Then when he finally did talk to my husband *** said he was waiting for a electrician because now he felt it was electrical I'm not sure the out come of that part. I finally got involved on May 3rd he had no reason to not answer my phone yet since I hadn't called yet! He told me I promise it should be done on Monday May5th will it wasn't done but what he said concerned me, he said that there was a cross member bar that went across the car which made it very difficult to put the transmission in! I asked him how did you do it the first time he did not have an answer to that question. So he told my husband the next day May 6th he promised it would be done and if not no latter than Weds. May 7th well I called today May 8th and left a message because he would not pick up the phone and said don't make arrangements to come down until you hear from me. After he promised it would be done yesterday I don't understand why he can't just call and say its not ready my son works grave yard and it has been hard for him to get to work he dose not live with us! This has been one big headache after another because he cannot give us a straight answer about my Son Nissan. I just don't know what to do. I hope this never happens again we do have a warranty but it scares me to think that if this happens again is it going to take this long! I wonder did they do the work the first time! I just don't know Thank You ***** *******

Desired Settlement: I just want his car to be finished for my sons sake! And I feel they should pay us for the tow! The work they did on it was only 3months and a few days old! It cost us $400.00 for the tow!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/02) */ This vehicle had a intermittent transmission electrical issue that was difficult to correct. After rewiring the vehicle at our expense, the problem resolved and transmission is functioning properly.

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I turned my vehicle in for transmission repair on Oct 20, 2013. We advised the owner of the shop that we are experiencing what we think is a problem with the transmission or the computer system in the car. After a free diagnosis that they offer he said that the problem was NOT the computer but the actual transmission and that the repair would cost upwards of $3,300 to fix. We advised *** (the owner) if he could give us a few weeks to get the money, he said yes. On Nov 20 we called and asked if how long it would take to repair if we paid on Monday, and he said that the car would be complete by that Wednesday. We came in on Monday 11/25 and paid the invoice in FULL. By Wednesday 11/27 we called about the car and he said that they're are not done but it would be finished by "tomorrow". We endured *** telling us that the car would be done "tomorrow" for 4 months. Over the course of the four months, he indicated that he had to replace the transmission twice because he did not know why the car was not running properly. Then he said that the problem was the computer system; where he was completely confident that it was not in the diagnosis. He said that the computer system needed to be replaced. Finally the car was released to us briefly the week of Jan 20. When we drove the car, it died on the road twice, and there was a constant "hiss" sound as the car accelerated that he didn't know what it was, there was also an obvious rattling sound under the hood that he said that the struts were worn and needed to be replaced with an additional cost. This is the fist that i have EVER heard this sound or of a part that i needed to replace. We also took the car in for a required emissions test to renew the tabs, and the car FAILED the emissions test with a new transmission and a new computer system. The emissions tester said that the car was not idling at the right rate which is directly related to the transmission/computer- both "new". In the last 3 weeks since we've returned the car to him, he said that they broke broke our key and he needed to order a new one and that he was having trouble getting the key programmed. At this point i don't know if he was able to fix the car or if it is still inoperable. I have been without my primary vehicle to use to work and home, plus to take my children to school, for almost 5 months. I drive a 2004 Volvo XC90.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back and i would like my car to be fixed and returned to me in perfect working condition ASAP.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/03/04) */ We have replaced the broken key fob and installed two sway bar connector links at no charge to the customer.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Central Transmission
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart