BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto and transmission repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmission of Renton meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO Transmission of Renton include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmission of Renton
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 29, 2011 Business started: 03/01/2011 Business started locally: 03/01/2011 Business incorporated 03/31/2011 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Louise Bostock, Member Mr. Vince Ornato, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Louise Bostock, Member
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair & Service

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 8am - 6pm
Saturday 8am - 1pm
Refund and Exchange Policy
This company's policy can be found at http://www.aamcorentonwa.com/10yrtransmissionrepairwarranty.gif
Alternate Business Names
Louvin Automotive

Additional Locations

  • 500 SW Grady Way Ste J

    Renton, WA 98057 (425) 203-9981 (425) 226-4039 (425) 235-4985 (425) 430-2572 (425) 728-8915 (425) 793-0422 (425) 235-7465

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 21st, I took my 1999 Mazda Protege to the AAMCO location in Renton, WA and requested the brakes to be serviced, as well as the check engine light reason to be diagnosed and a rough idle. I received a call back later that day saying the check engine light and rough idle was caused by both O2 sensors needing to be replaced. I authorized the repair. When I arrived with my son the morning of the 22nd to pick up the car, it was not ready at the expected time. Since my son was to use the car for an appointment, once it was ready I paid the invoice and he left in the car. That evening he informed me that the check engine light was still on, and the car was still idling rough. He stated the light was on when he left AAMCO that morning. Since this was a Saturday evening, I had to wait until the following Monday to call them. In addition, my son was leaving for a new job in Wenatchee, WA on Sunday the 23rd with the car. I called the AAMCO location on Monday the 24th at 11:45am and spoke with *****. I let him know the problem we were still having. He became very defensive, telling me that the onboard computer on the car said the problem was the O2 sensors, which were replaced and the check engine light was no longer on after the repair. He said we could bring the car back in. I informed him the car was no longer in the area. At that time he told me there was nothing he could do, and directed me to the AAMCO international customer service department. I called the customer service line at 11:50am on the 24th and left a message with my details. I received a voicemail back from them shortly after. I then returned the call to the customer support representatives direct number I was given. Over the next month, I left over 10 voicemails with my contact information but did not receive any additional calls back. On August 6th I sent a letter to both the local AAMCO shop as well as the customer service center asking them to contact me to resolve this matter. As of August 15th, I have not received any response.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the money I spent for this improper repair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2013/09/19) */ My apologies for the delay, I did infact take hold of this since ***** is no longer employed with us. I sent a reponse 9-8-13, seems I didn't do something correct as you show no record of it. In addition I would like to apologies the vehicle being delivered later than expected. There are many reasons this happens but I was not there at the time so I can not answer with why. My response is when you troubleshoot on board computer codes, you must follow manufactures guidelines and procedures. The codes indicate the trouble was in the oxygon sensor circuit. We then remove and test the sensors as the most common failure. When test show they are out of manufacture specification range we must replace and continue testing to ensure there is no secondary trouble, and or find the cause of failure. Often there is two to three additional repairs needed as the sensors were the damaged part but not the cause. We typically would perform the next initial diagnostic time as part of our service. Once determined where the remainder of the repair leads us we would stop and communicate the additional expense to continue. Due to the vehicle leaving the area we are unable to continue the next level of repair. My recomendations are to have it looked at by another repair shop. Preferably another Aamco. There is always the chance that a new part may test defective and need to be replaced. If the vehicle is back in our area I will extend the service as if it never left. Please let us know if that is an option. ***** ******** General Manager Aamco of Renton Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 49, 2013/12/23) */ I contacted AAMCO per their request. They continued the diagnosis on the vehicle, and repaired the remaining problem at no cost to me. The car is again running good, and all the issues have been resolved to my satisfaction. Final Business Response /* (1000, 42, 2013/12/06) */ We are still offering to continue diagnosing the problem. As I stated previously the steps to diagnose check engine light is to computer scan for codes, follow the flow charts and test componanats listed within the flow charts. Next you replace parts that no longer meet manufactures specifications and clear codes and test drive. If light stays off you stop procedures. If the light comes back on you then continue diagnosing within the flow chart until ALL componants test within manufactures specifications. Any time the vehicle is going to be back during the monday friday work week we will still continue as if the vehicle never left. Replacing sensors that were out of manufactures specifications was merely the first step. Whether you have Aamco continue or someone else won't change the procedure. They may find another componant out of specification and replace it and still have light come back on. Soley depends on how many componants are linked in to the solution and how old they are. I will again offer the diagnostic time at no charge at our facility to minimize the cost of repair. In the event one of the new sensors are defective we will warranty. Simply just need you to bring vehicle back in to help you and continue the repair. Please call XXX-XXX-XXXX and schedule when in our area. Without calling we do not know when you will be in our area. Thank you, ***** ******** General Manager Aamco Renton / Auburn

8/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought an ****** deal coupon for servicing the AC. This was supposed to include pressure testing and recharging the AC system. I had my system recharged a year before (different dealer) and the charge didn't last very long, so I assumed a leak. When this offer form AAMCO came around I thought that is a way to find out what is wrong. I brought the car in on 6/12/13 and received it back working properly. I only drove it for less than 200 miles, most the time without A/C and now it is blowing hot air again. When I called they told me it must be leaking, I know that myself and I told them that it leaked last year already. The answer was: "why didn't you tell us". If they pressure tested the system they should have found out right away.

Desired Settlement: I like to have the leak identified, fixed and recharged for free. I am willing to pay for the replacement of the connection which is leaking.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/22) */ Thank you for the opportunity to service your vehicle, I appologize for the inconvienance with you A/C system. Our equipment is designed to identify large leaks in the system and service the system. We then rely on the readings to determine if there is any further trouble. In this case it sounds as if the system has a rather small leak that will require some troubleshooting to locate. part of the coupon you purchase was to cover leak testing so there will be no charge for that piece. The leak once located will be at your expense as we did not cause the leak. we will and do cover the initial hookup and leak detection.We will also cover the cost of the refrigerant since we failed to detect a leak at the initial service. We are sorry for the response you recieved from our customer service manager, we will adress that seperately. Thank you, ***** ******** Aamco Transmisions

4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service