BBB Accredited Business since

AAMCO of Tacoma/Lakewood

Phone: (253) 581-2725 12006 Pacific Hwy SW, Lakewood, WA 98499 http://www.aamcotacomawa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers transmission repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO of Tacoma/Lakewood meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for AAMCO of Tacoma/Lakewood include:

  • 10 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO of Tacoma/Lakewood include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on AAMCO of Tacoma/Lakewood
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 25, 2011 Business started: 11/01/2009 Business started locally: 11/01/2009 Business incorporated 11/20/2009 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dale Henderson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dale Henderson, President
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto - Fleet Maintenance

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday
8:00am - 5:30pm

Saturday
8:00am - 1:00pm
Alternate Business Names
AAMCO Transmissions AAMCO Transmissions - Lakewood Dale & Kim Enterprises Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AAMCO of Tacoma/Lakewood has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 12006 Pacific Hwy SW

    Lakewood, WA 98499 (253) 581-2725

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a $49 coupon to use toward $391 for brakes. When I go to my scheduled appointment at 8AM. They called me at 10:48AM saying I need major replacement for my brakes and we're going to charge me $800 with the coupon. I had previously had my brakes fully inspected at another Autoshop the previous day and they said there was no leakage or anything wrong besides replacing the pads, roters and brake fluid. Which would cost me $200 to fix. AAMCO was trying to scam me and charge $800 w/ coupon for brakes. I should have read the Yelp reviews before purchasing the coupon. This business is scamming not only me but other customers as well if you read the reviews on Yelp. They said they don't work for free and wouldn't refund me the $49.

Desired Settlement: I would like for not only me, but other customers to have a refund for purchasing their coupon for $49.

Business Response:

The customer bought the coupon from Groupon so they can get a refund from Groupon. I apologize if this wasn’t communicated clearly to the customer. We have partnered with Groupon on and off for almost 3 years and in that time Groupon has sold over 2400 coupons. The percentage of negative reviews is small compared to the 2400 but still more than we would like. The majority of complaints are similar to this customer, they have taken their car somewhere else and can get it cheaper. When there is a discrepancy we like to take the customer out to the car and show them why we are recommending the repairs. Unfortunately, this is not an option when we are talking to the customer over the phone. We also don’t buy the cheapest parts because we guarantee our work nationally and expect our brake repairs to last 3 to 4 years of normal driving. All our repairs are performed to match manufacturers specifications or better.

Again I apologize that we didn’t communicate clearly to the customer about the refund and we weren’t able to help the customer with their repairs.

**** *********

Owner

AAMCO of Lakewood WA

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

AAMCO inaccurately stated a small percent has negative reviews when really it has only 48% of customers on Groupon that recommends AAMCO. On Yelp, they have 2 stars out of 5. That is not a small percent. This business needs to stop scamming people. That's just not right. Falsely advertising brake service of a value up to $391 just lure in customers to up sell and overcharge. This needs to stop.

Sincerely,

********* ****

9/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ******* offer from AAMCO to get standart breaks change.. when i went into AAMCO at 8.43am, they redeemed the ******* first and and told me to come pick up the car at 4 PM. At about 2:30 pm i received a phone call from them saying that my breaks are all messed up and they need to do additional work on them total of which would estimate around $780. I declined and said that all i wanted was the breaks changed, thats all my ******* would be covering, anything else i needed changed i would take it to a place less expensive. they refused to do it, they said they will either do it all or nothing at all said since i have such a "bubbly personality he would lower it to over $500" I told the guy i would be in later to pick up my car, he agreed to leave my key under my drivers seat. I drove 45 minutes after work to pick up my car only to find my door was LOCKED. I paid a tow company to unlock my car $60 later... i get in my car to find NO KEY! the next morning they call me and told me there had been a car accident and someones wife was seriously hurt. I said "that is terrible but doesn't change the fact that i paid $60 to get into my vehicle and was left no key as promised" the guy told me that nobody forced me to call the tow company. I want my money back. This is absolutely ridiculous. attached is the ad from AAMCO. Limit 1 per person, may buy 1 additional as a gift. Limit 1 per visit. Appointment required. Merchant's standard cancellation policy applies (any fees not to exceed ******* price). Must use promotional value in 1 visit. Brake service includes standard front or rear brake pads, resurfacing of rotors as necessary, and labor. Rotors will be turned when possible; new rotors may need to be purchased separately. Drum brakes require $59 extra. Some European and larger trucks may cost extra; call for details. The amount paid for this voucher ($49.00) with AAMCO Transmission and Auto Repair NEVER EXPIRES. The promotional value expires October 28, 2015

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my $60.00 back for having to have my doors unlocked only to find that there was no key in my car as i was promised. I would like my ******* money back as well. They lied.

Business Response: We refunded the customer the $60 she spent on getting her car unlocked. She will need to get a refund for the ******* coupon from *******.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ********

8/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ******* for brake service with this company. My boyfriend dropped my car off with them on Tuesday 6/9/15 at 8:30 AM. I received a phone call from AAMCO the same day at 11:55 AM the guy on the phone was letting me know that my car would require maintenance outside of what the ******* allowed. The ******* paid for new brake pads, rotor resurface, and all the labor. The guy on the phone stated that I needed new rotors, and that all my brakes would need to be worked on. Then he started saying that all the work was going to cost $900 out of no where did not give me an itemized list of what I needed. Then told me that for all 4 brakes it would cost $643 after tax. I asked him to brake it down for me but he talked so fast I was not able to understand and being a woman I did not fully understand. So I agreed to the $643 for all new parts on all four brakes which seemed fair. He then called me back and told me it would be $503 for all four brakes, so I gave the ok for the job. The following day 6/10/15 my boyfriend picked the car up and dropped my car of at work when I looked at the bill the guy did not do what he told me over the phone and they also only changed my front brakes, I was also charged for labor that should of been included with the *******. There are charges on the bill that were not explained to me and I did not authorize. I am very upset about this situation. I am not the only person that this company has fraudulently taken advantage of. I will never do business with this company ever again and I will warn anyone out there about them.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back and I will pay the correct amount for services that were rendered. They should not be allowed to advertise on *******.

Business Response:

We regret Ms. ********* experience with us. We have reached out a couple of times by phone to talk to her and have not heard back. We would really like to help turn her negative experience around. Please have her contact us as soon as possible so we can help.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It is untrue that the above company has reached out to me multiple times. I did receive a phone call from manager Doug 06/23/2015 at 2:34 PM, but am unable to return the call until Thursday 06/25/2015 based on the fact that my work schedule conflicts with the business's operating hours. I look forward to getting this amicably resolved.

Sincerely,

******** *******

Business Response: We talked to the customer on July 31st and asked her to bring her car in so we could make sure everything was okay. She states there are issues with the rear brakes. As you can see on her attachment for the rear brakes we did not charge her but we gave her a warranty. We will stand by that warranty and will fix any issues that there may be. 

One of her attachments shows we originally did repairs on the front brakes and that is what we charged her for. In the interest of customer satisfaction we performed a rear brake service at no charge. 

She also stated that front brake caliper recondition is a service that does not exist. I have attached a printout from ******* ****** one of the leading publications for estimating hours for repairs, and it shows “Caliper Assy., R&R and Recondition”. R&R is remove and replace. The time listed here is for a full recondition of the caliper and would have cost $385 in labor
with parts being extra. We perform a partial recondition on calipers when they are in good enough condition. The partial service includes cleaning all the moving parts and replacing the pins and hardware if they need it. This is the service we performed on her front brakes.

We look forward to her bringing her car in so we can solve any issues.

Dale H********
Owner AAMCO of Lakewood WA

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am very dissatisfied with my experience. They are not addressing the problem with an amicable solution.  I will not be returning a third time when the job should of been done right in the first place. I paid a substantial amount to get my brakes serviced. I believe they have committed consumer fraud. Moving forward I will be seeking legal help in order to retain reimbursement for the services that were done on my car. Attached is another inspection that was done including the amount it will cost to fix and re due what AAMCO originally did. 

Sincerely,

******** *******

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

5/8/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i purchased a ******* offer from AAMCO to get standart breaks change.. when i went into AAMCO at 8.43am, they redeemed the ******* firsthand and told me to come pick up the car at 4 PM. At about 2:30 pm i received a phone call from them saying that my breaks are all messed up and they need to do additional work on them total of which would estimate around $780. i declined and said that all i wanted was the breaks changed, thats all my ******* would be covering, anything else i needed changed i would take it to a place less expemsive. they refused to do it, they said they will either do it all or nothing at all. when i asked about my money that i spent on ******* for this deal, they told me to take it up with *******, and that they have nothing to do with that. yet they redeemed my app purchase. i left on my car unfixed, when i called the ******* i was put on hold and was never picked up on. when i tried to contact them again, same thing happened. attached is the ad from AAMCO.Limit 1 per person, may buy 1 additional as a gift. Limit 1 per visit. Appointment required. Merchant's standard cancellation policy applies (any fees not to exceed ******* price). Must use promotional value in 1 visit. Brake service includes standard front or rear brake pads, resurfacing of rotors as necessary, and labor. Rotors will be turned when possible; new rotors may need to be purchased separately. Drum brakes require $59 extra. Some European and larger trucks may cost extra; call for details.The amount paid for this voucher ($49.00) with AAMCO Transmission and Auto Repair NEVER EXPIRES. The promotional value expires October 28, 2015.

Desired Settlement: i would like to get a refund for my purchase, thats all.

Business Response: I’m sorry we couldn’t repair her car. We try to let everybody know on the phone that there may be additional charges to bring the brakes up to the manufacturer’s standard and to make the car safe. But we are human and my not have explained it clearly. Due to safety and liability issues we cannot do a partial brake job. If the customer decides not to do the repairs with us we let them know that they can get their money back from *******.  

She purchased the coupon from ******* not us so she will have to go through ******* to get her refund. When I called my ******* rep to let him know she was having problems he apologized that it was taking so long but that is what she needs to do if she wants a refund. The number he said to use is **************. He also recommended she could try to use email if she doesn’t want to wait on the phone.  His email gave these directions: “Best way for her to use email is to log in to her ******* account and click customer support at the bottom of the page.  It will ask her what order she is referencing and she can go from there.  There is no waiting on hold etc.”

**** *********
Aamco of Lakewood Wa

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a groupon coupon for a brakes service, which included changing the break pads and resurfacing the rotors. AAMCO called me and they said they wont be able to do a brakes service because my rotors are grooved and cant be resurfaced. When I told them to just changed the pads, they said they cant do that because the rotors have heat cracks. So I agreed thinking that it was the right thing to do, I told them I wanted to see the rotors after I pick up the car. When I came to pick up my vehicle, I brought another mechanic to get a second look. They showed us the "heat cracks", but i was just residue from brake pads because my car was sitting for so long while I was deployed overseas. They also said they couldnt resurface because it was grooved. We took the rotors on base auto center and got it measured for specs and RESURFACED!

Desired Settlement: Refund what they overcharged me for and hire honest mechanics.

Business Response: We contacted the customer on 2/25/15. We offered to work on his rear brakes and give him $200 in store credit if he brings in his old rotors for us to re-check. At this time he has not brought them in.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******** ******

11/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ******* for brake service and rotor resurfacing through AAMCO of Lakewood. I was called by the sales representative several hours after I dropped my car off and told that the rotors and calipers needed to be replaced, as they had worn. Within the past several weeks I had been told by another, trusted, mechanic that both the rotors and calipers were serviceable for another year of driving. After declining what was an overt upsell tactic, the representative asked whether I would prefer the standard brakes or preferred type that had been on the car when I took it in (for an additional charge- another upsell). When I declined the additional charge, the sales representative informed me that they were refusing to do any work to the car unless I approved both charges in addition to the price of the coupon that I had purchased.

Desired Settlement: N/A

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/11/06) */ I'm sorry we were not able to accommodate Mr. *******. We did inform him that since he did not use his coupon he can get a full refund from ******* and when we checked with ******* he had been refunded. We bring customers brakes up to OEM standards and warranty them for 12 months or 12,000 miles. Brakes should last for 3 to 4 years under normal driving. We will not just service them to last another year due to safety and liability issues with brakes. On the coupon it states: "Rotors will be turned when possible; new rotors may need to be purchased separately". Mr. *******'s rotors were lipped, meaning the pads had warn into the rotor until there was a lip on the edge of the rotor. The rotors would have been below minimum standards if we resurfaced them to remove the lip. Thus they could not be resurfaced safely and needed replacement to bring his brakes up to OEM standards. Again I am sorry we could not accommodate Mr. *******.

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 7, 2014 took my 2003 Nissan Ext-era in for brake service & oil change and to have the rattle in rear end checked out. Was told rattle was ujoint but later was told it was my muffler but I paid for ujoint...1 day turns into 2 1/2 days of my vehicle being in shop. On January 9th when I picked up my vehicle the ABS light was on...was told it needed ABS speed sensor wire & they new that they had broke it when brakes were done. I had to buy the part which took me 2 months to save up for & they would not charge for the labor. On March 7th informed me the part was wrong so sent me to pick up axle 40 miles round trip & when I returned it didn't have the ABS toner ring they needed to repair. Then was told by ****** that nobody has the part will have to order from Japan will take 45 days. On April 18th no part yet kept giving me run around for a week. On April 30 was told part had been discontinued. Told me I needed to go find an axle from junk yard and get part off...I got online and found the part at Nissan website.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded all money that I have spent at AAMCO and want the vehicle repaired by a certified Nissan repair shop not AAMCO but to be paid by AAMCO. Nobody should have to go through this type of run around and I shouldn't of put up with it but I'm a college student graduating and have been busy.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/15) */ Mr. ******* brought his car in on 1/7/13. During our inspection we found the brake light on, the front brakes needed to be replaced, it needed a new u-joint, a transmission service, and the muffler was rattling. Mr. ******* authorized repairs for the front brakes, the u-joint and a transmission service. We performed these repairs and returned the vehicle to Mr. *******. On 1/13/14 Mr. ******* brought his vehicle back in and said "the ABS light comes on and then when it goes off it sounds like it makes a clunk". Upon inspection we found the wire to the ABS sensor was frayed and the ABS sensor was defective. This was not anything we repaired on Mr. *******'s vehicle but since we missed it on our initial inspection we offered to fix the wire and replace the sensor at no charge if he bought the sensor. He did buy the sensor and we repaired the wire and installed the sensor at no charge to Mr. *******. However the brake light was still on. Upon further inspection we found the ABS toner ring on the axle was cracked. This is part of the axle which is "not" part of anything we repaired on the vehicle. Again since we missed finding this is our initial inspection we offered to install the part at no charge if he bought the part. He bought an axle but it did not include the ABS toner ring. We tried to find the part for him and were initially told by Nissan that it would take 45 days. When we called back to order it we were told by Nissan that it was a discontinued part. We then recommended that Mr. ******* try to find the part used. When Mr. ******* originally brought in his vehicle we replaced the front brake pads, brake rotors and brake calipers. We also replaced a u-joint and performed a transmission service. At no time has Mr. ******* informed us of any problems with the repairs we made. Since there are no problems with the repairs we performed and we also made repairs we did not charge Mr. ******* for, we do not feel that a refund is justified. However we will stand by our offer to replace the ABS toner ring at no charge if he buys it. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I dispute the claim that the brake light was on. I knew my brakes needed to be worked on because there was more than normal squeaking coming from them. I purchased a ******* for a brake service and oil change for $43. I informed them upon dropping my vehicle off that I knew I needed the transmission fluid changed and that there was a rattle coming from the rear end. After calling me to let me know that I needed new rotors and calipers on the front of the vehicle, I agreed. ****** also let me know that it was the u-joint that was making the rattling noise and told me that needed to be replaced, I agreed. Then while in the middle of working on the u-joint ****** calls to let me know that it was actually the muffler that made the noise and that he would replace it at no cost. After I picked my vehicle up and drove away, called to inform them of what was wrong (that the ABS light was coming on), I scheduled to bring it in a week later. It took them no longer than 5 minutes to tell me it were the ABS speed sensor wires. They didn't even put it up on the lift and take the front wheels off. The problem comes in when, after 2 months, I finally purchase the ABS wires. I bring them in, they lift the truck, take off everything necessary to put them on, and he gets on the phone with someone and I overhear him asking for an axle for my Nissan Xterra. He brings me out to show me that it is the toner ring that is inside the axle on the front drivers side. ****** informs me, and I quote, "the ring probably broke while we were taking the hub off, because these vehicles are notorious for being difficult to take those off as it takes a lot of force to do so." That, to me, is admitting that they were negligent. I can rescind a full refund on everything, but I would like to be refunded the $196 for the ABS speed sensor wire because it's evident that wasn't the problem (I need to look up the receipt information for exact amount), and the money I spent on repairing the u-joint, which was also apparently a non-issue after ****** calling me to tell me that it was the muffler instead of the u-joint. The $89 and labor that they offered me for the muffler (and I accepted) does not justify the amount of time, money, and stress that I've had to go through with this seemingly simple automotive repair. I would still like them to buy the ABS toner ring from the junkyard they go through and pay for it to be installed at a Nissan Dealership. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/06/18) */ I talked to Mr. ******* and at this time he is going to try to find the part and bring it in so we can replace it for him. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/06/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will deal with AAMCO corporate myself not letting them ever touch my vehicle again.

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for the repairs on my car 2900.00 for transmission rebuild. They held my car for 2 months while I paid it off and was supposed to get my car back upon payment on September 23, 2013. They stored my car in the back lot waiting for payment and mice got into my engine and chewed up the wiring, ruined car computer, and other damages. They said it was finally ready today on September 30, 2013 and I went to pick it up and drove it for 4 blocks and it wouldn't shift. This is the original reason I took it to them and what I paid for to be fixed. I had to take the car back to them and they still have it. They have not given me a date that my car will be fixed or told me what is wrong. They never gave me a written estimate and the manager tried to overcharge me 600.00 for the repairs when I did go pay for it. I just happened to have a hand written receipt for the payments made and total cost of repair which he signed and that is the only thing that saved me from having to pay the additional money.

Desired Settlement: I want my car back now and if they can't fix it immediately for what they were paid for, I want my money back as well. If it is going to take them more time, I want them to pay for a rental vehicle because I go to school 4 days a week in Olympia, WA and travel 60 miles per day round trip. I have had to borrow a car from a friend and the car is dangerous and scares me due to brakes being bad. I have already had an accident in this borrowed car on September 3, 2013 and it scares me to drive it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/11/04) */ *** ***** brought in her 2002 Ford Taurus on 07/27/2013 for us to diagnose transmission problems. We found that the transmission needed to be rebuilt. *** ***** approved the rebuild, however, we were not able to get her financing. She asked if we could hold the car until she got her money she gets to go to school on. We said we would. We held the car for almost 2 months and did not charge her storage nor did we charge her extra for the delay in payment. On 09/23/2013 she came in to pick up her car. She brought it right back because it was acting up on her. We started work on the car to determine what the problem was, unfortunately the car had many issues. One issue was the car would sometimes not start. There were wiring issues not related to the transmission we fixed at no charge to *** *****. We then determined we needed to replace *** *****'s transmission with a different unit. In the time it took to get the unit *** ***** came in on 10/11/2012 and asked for a rental car. My manager told her if she got a rental car we would reimburse her for the cost. She was not able to get a rental and asked us to get one for her. The problem is if we rent the car for her and she gets in an accident we are liable and our insurance will not cover that. So we were unable to get her a rental car. When we received the transmission and installed it we determined the shift cable would not last very long. This was not part of the original repair. We acquired and installed a new cable at no charge to *** *****. Due to the delay in delivery of her vehicle we also upgraded *** *****'s' warranty from 12 months/12,000 miles to 36 month/36,000 miles. *** ***** picked up her vehicle on 10/15/2013. **** ********* Owner AAMCO of Lakewood WA Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 19, 2013/11/08) */ The owner has contacted me regarding this claim and has satisfied my claim with the information that I wanted as far as what was actually done to my car. I am satisfied as far as this claim goes. The owner made a mistake about the date when I actually picked my car up the first time and realized it and called me to apologize about the mistake. As far as I'm concerned this claim has been settled.

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was given a written and binding agreement from **** who is an AAMCO manager representative stating the payment arrangements for the remaining balance. It states that we are to pay three equal payments of $421.91 with the last payment being due in October of 2013.I had to have the car towed back to their shop this past Thursday and was told I could pick up my car today Monday 07/22/2013. Upon our arrival we were notified by the owner **** ********* that he would not honor this contract and were ordered to leave the property. The police arrived and told us that he understands our stance on this matter but we would need to proceed through the courts. The officer we spoke to was Office ******** ***** incident number XX-XXX-XXXX with the Lakewood Police Dept. phone XXX XXX XXXX. We are also disputing the amount for repair because we have three different amounts on three separate invoices. They are also trying to make us pay for the price of towing stating that it was not transmission related but it was transmission related because there was a leak that they had to fix that was causing the car to not drive properly.

Desired Settlement: We would like them to honor the contract that ****, their manager and representative, signed and pay for the price of towing.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/05) */ The *****'s 1995 Mercedes S320 was brought into our shop on June 12th. It was determined the transmission needed to be rebuilt. The check engine light was on and when we scanned the vehicle we found other issues with the vehicle. The *****'s agreed to have the transmission rebuilt for $2,482.36. With tax the total came to $2,715.71. They said they couldn't afford to fix the other issues and would have to do those later. We were not able to get the *****'s financing so they started making payments. They paid $700 on June 28th and $750 on July 5th. We rebuilt the transmission and they picked up the vehicle on July 11th. Mr. ***** called on July 16th and said they were having problems with their vehicle. I told him to bring it in that day and we would look at it. They continued to drive the vehicle. On July 18th we received another call from Mr. ***** stating the car was having transmission problems and would not move and it needed to be towed. I got the information about where the car was and told Mr. ***** we would cover the tow only if the problem was transmission related. He said it was the transmission and we need to tow it in. In the warranty it states we are not responsible for towing, however, I decided due to the short time they had the vehicle and for customer relations to tow the vehicle in, again with the agreement it was a transmission issue. The vehicle was towed in and Mrs. ***** rode in with the tow truck. She then started it up and parked the vehicle. We were told the vehicle would not move. On July 19th my tech checked the vehicles fluids and found all were full, including the transmission fluid. He then took the vehicle for a test drive and determined the transmission was working properly. He noted there were hesitation issues caused by the engine. He put the vehicle on the hoist and noticed there was some transmission fluid around the drain plug. He removed the drain plug and replaced the gasket. Again the transmission fluid was within specs before and after replacing the gasket on the drain plug. He then scanned the vehicle for codes and the same ones were there as when the vehicle was originally brought in. These codes were for multiple electrical issues with the engine, including the engine wiring harness, and a short in the intake air temperature sensor circuit. One of the codes reported the vehicle went into limp home mode due to issues with the cruise control and electronic accelerator actuator. What happens in limp home mode, vehicle not going over a certain speed, is how Mrs. ***** described the problems she was having when they called us. On July 22nd the *****'s called and talked to my manager Rick and he told them we found no problems with the transmission but there were problems associated with the engine. He explained we would not cover the towing due to it "not" being a transmission issue and there was also an issue with their being a balance for the transmission rebuild. They said they were coming in. When they arrived they demanded to take their vehicle. I said I could not release the vehicle without payment for the tow and payment for the balance owed. They refused to pay either. They produced a piece of paper showing a payment plan they said my previous manager had given them. We have no record of this document nor was there any information entered into the computer system. After multiple refusals to pay and my stating that I wasn't going to release the vehicle without payment, Mr. ***** started to verbally threaten me and my manager so I asked them to leave. They refused so I called 911. The whole time I was on the phone Mr. ***** kept interrupting my conversation with the 911 operator. At this time Mrs. ***** stepped outside. Mr. ***** stayed in our waiting room making rude and threatening remarks until the officer showed up. We did our best to ignore Mr. ***** so we did not make the situation worse. The officer talked to the *****'s outside and then talked to me. I told the officer my side and that I was not releasing the vehicle without payment. The officer talked further with the *****'s and then they left. The warranty states we are not responsible for towing. I did explain to Mr. ***** we would cover the tow if there was a transmission problem. I did tow in the *****'s vehicle at Mr. *****'s insistence there was a problem with their transmission. However there was no problem with the transmission but there are engine issues. At this point it is our position that the *****'s owe us for the tow. I am willing to work with them on the payments as long as I get the title for the vehicle and papers' allowing me to become the legal owner until the vehicle is paid off.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on AAMCO of Tacoma/Lakewood
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart