BBB Accredited Business since

Lincoln Towing

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 364-2000 Fax: (206) 363-7376 12220 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98133 http://www.roadoneseattle.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers towing and recovery services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lincoln Towing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lincoln Towing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lincoln Towing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1976 Business started: 11/05/1997 in WA Business started locally: 11/05/1997 Business incorporated 11/05/1997 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Bartolotti, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Bartolotti, President
Business Category

Towing - Automotive Motor Vehicle Towing (NAICS: 488410)

Alternate Business Names
Lincoln Towing Enterprises Inc

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This place makes money off of thieves. Literally. My van was stolen. I reported it. 10 days later, Lincoln towing is called to impound it by Seattle Parking Enforcement. Neither Lincoln, nor Parking Enforcement informed me the vehicle had been recovered. I found it quite by accident the day after christmas. Lincoln informed me that I would have to pay the tow and storage fee to get the van back, otherwise I would lose my license and have the bill sent to collections. The options they gave me to rectify the matter were all crap. 1. Pay the bill, take Lincoln to court to get reimbursed. 2. Pay the bill, sign over the title, and let Lincoln sell the vehicle. 3. abandon the vehicle and let Lincoln sell it, then I have my license suspended and credit hit. 4. Pay the fee and get my vehicle back. All roads lead to Lincoln earning a profit off of theft. If you or I were knowingly in possession of stolen property, we would be arrested. Not Lincoln. They can extort you legally. This place needs to be shut down. Tracy, the Supervisor, has released vehicles to people before, but told me in this case he was "choosing not to exercise that option."

Desired Settlement: I wish to have my money back. This is theft. Plain and simple. Charging someone to get their personal property back is extortion.

Business Response:

Lincoln Towing towed your vehicle at the direction of the Seattle Police Department.  The vehicle was towed for being abandoned.  (it had not been moved for over 72 hours)

To address your issues: (in your order)

1.     You should pay the towing invoice.  We should be paid for the service we provided.

2.     We would accept your title to assist YOU in disposing of the vehicle if you no longer wanted it.

3.     There are laws governing your abandoning the vehicle.  See RCW 46.55

4.     If you wanted your vehicle, yes, you should pay for it.

So, in closing, we are not thieves.

You redeemed the vehicle on December 30th, several days after talking to us.  If you would have come in sooner you could have saved yourself over half of the storage charges.

We are confident that you have insurance to be able to operate your vehicle on the roads of our fine City, possibly you should contact them for possible compensation.

We will not be refunding our fees. 

Best Regards!

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  The actual subject of the complaint was not addressed. My vehicle had been STOLEN and abandoned by the party who STOLE it. Parking enforcement has admitted they do not run plates to see if a vehicle is stolen. Once i discovered where it was, i immediately tried to get it out. No one from Lincoln Towing or the SPD ever informed me the van had been recovered, i found it on my own. Once Lincoln learned the facts, the van should have been released to me. Possessing stolen property knowingly is a crime. Pay me back my money. 

Sincerely,

******** ******

10/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Jeep was towed on 9/3/2015 after being illegally parked. I paid for it and took my car home. Once I got to my apartment I noticed both of my headlight covers were smashed in. With the plastic still hanging on in some places. Clearly it just happened today. I called the tow company and spoke to a guy. He began to get really defensive and said he had pictures of it like that before it was towed. I believed him until I called again today and they said it would be impossible to send me the pictures and even if I came in they would not show me them.

Desired Settlement: I want them to show me the pictures of my car before they towed it or pay for the damage they did to it.

Business Response: Dear BBB.
We have been in contact with Mr. ****** regarding the alleged damage to the vehicle.  Part of the confusion here was that the driver of the vehicle was not ***** ******, but his son. 
We have shown Mr. ****** pictures of the vehicle before it was towed that show the damage was done prior to our towing of the vehicle. 
He seems content that we did not do the damage and we believe he will be discussing the matter with his kid.
We denied the claim and have had no further contact from Mr. ******

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Late one I went to get possessions out of my car & found that it had disappeared! I thought this to be strange, since the battery had died & I had arranged someone to come & take it away the following morning, because there is nowhere to park in the city & I was only using the car once every two weeks anyway. I'm sure this is where I parked it because I always park it, & it couldn't have been stolen because the battery had died. This is very strange, I thought to myself. I went home to sleep on it & hoped an answer would come in my dreams. The next morning I woke up figuring it had been towed. I went online & found that was indeed the case. But why? Hmmm. I had just been to my car two nights ago & there were no tickets on the windshield. Why would a car suddenly disappear via tow truck? I had been parking on that block for months, since I came out here from Denver, because it was the only place I could find near my residence that wasn't metered. I called Lincoln Towing & spoke with a young man who didn't really seem to want to be talking to me, but ended up giving me a bunch of information nonetheless. I had decided in calling to try & be as nice as possible & try to keep a level head, because historically tow yards are not very customer service oriented, & I imagined whoever I was talking to probably dealt with angry people all day blaming him for things that may or may not have been his fault. I also intended to ask a lot of questions so I knew exactly what options I had & what could be done. I wanted to take care of things as quickly as possible, because that afternoon I was leaving on a 10 day meditation retreat where I would not have access to phone or email. What I was told was that yes, my car had been towed. It had been towed for violating a 72-hour parking rule, which would not have been sign-posted anywhere. I was told there would not be a ticket the day before or at any time, there would be no way for me to know that it was going to be towed. I informed him that I had arranged for the car to be picked up & scrapped that day & didn't want the car, could I just bring by the title & have them do that instead? He told me that they did not trade cash for title, or something to that effect, but if I brought them the title they could scrap the car at no charge, though I would still have to pay the towing fees (I of course had no interest in paying the fees, because I had no use for the car & was having someone come & take it away, & felt that a judge would be reasonable with me considering I had no idea this rule even existed, it wasn't posted anywhere, & had not been enforced for the six months I had been parking on that block). I asked if there was anyway to request a hearing because I didn't know anything about any of this. He told me I would get a citation in the mail, & could request a court date then. You mean I can't just come there & do it now? He said no, you have to wait until you get it in the mail. Upon asking, he further told me that it would be accruing fines for every day it was in the tow yard. He also said he had never seen anyone request a hearing. I said, "I'm sorry, you mean to tell me no one has ever requested a hearing about their tow before?" He said, "No, don't go putting words in my mouth, you're putting words in my mouth, I've just never seen anybody do it myself." "Right, okay, so you've never seen anybody do it, but it can be done." Getting more frustrated by the moment, but still remaining calm, I said, "So what you're telling me is that all I can do today is come & pay you to either get the car out of the tow yard or bring the title & have you scrap it, but will still have to pay for the fines. I'm going to get a citation in the mail & at that point I can request a court hearing. Until I get that citation in the mail, there is nothing else I can do about the situation, & furthermore, the car is going to rack up fines for every day it is there being stored in the tow yard." "Yep, that's correct." I should add that it took a great persistence for me even to get all of this information out of the man, because every time I asked a question he would answer me shortly & then say, "Is that all?" That was pretty annoying, because he said that at least three times. So when I say it was evident he didn't want to be on the phone with me, that's where it comes from. I went on the retreat & when I came back I checked my mail, assuming I would have a citation & a way to speak to a judge, but alas! nothing was there, even after 10 days. That night I went to a restaurant, where my phone & backpack were stolen & I was hospitalized until February 4. Upon returning home, I still had nothing in the mail. At this point I was pretty confused, but the issue had dropped down the list of things I was concerned about. Finally on February 13 I received a notice in the mail that my car was going to be sold at auction in two days & I needed to come to the yard if I wanted to get my things out of the car. Imagine my surprise! I went to the Tow Yard on Valentine's day. Disaster was to follow. I walked up to the prison-looking bullet-proof glass thinking Valentine's thoughts & telling myself that I was going to be the nicest person ever to walk into this godforsaken place. I was greeted in a less than affectionate way by the clerk. I said something about it being Valentine's day & about the moon being full & told her I was here to get some things out of my car & that there must be some sort of misunderstanding about the situation with my vehicle & I came to clear things up. I started telling her about my conversation with the man on the phone, got to the part where he said I would get something in the mail to request a hearing. She interrupted me & said brashly, "He didn't tell you that." "I'm sorry, yes, that is what he told me, & repeated that to me several times." "No, he didn't tell you that. That's not how it works." "I would really love to know how it works." It was pretty frustrating to be snapped at in this manner, because I was on the phone with the man & she wasn't, so I was pretty surprised of her certainty of what I was or was not told. She told me that I would have had to come to the tow yard to get the citation, & could have requested a hearing then. I wouldn't have gotten anything in the mail. I'm thinking, you've gotta be kidding me. If I would have known that were the case, I would have come there the day that I spoke to the man on the phone, instead of waiting around for my car to be auctioned off. I tried explaining this to her, though she continued to insist that's not what the man on the phone said. Finally she asked who I spoke to, I said I didn't get a name but he sounded like a younger guy & I gave her the date that I called & spoke to him. She flipped through a little book that I assumed to be a schedule or something, closed it, then went back on the defensive saying I wasn't going to get my car until I paid the fine, & the car was about to be auctioned so I'd better pay it. I told her I didn't want the car, & she seemed very confused by this. I didn't care about the car & they could do what they wanted with it. I said I wanted to get the citations & request a hearing & wanted to get the things out of my car & to keep from paying these fines (The car had no value to me, I just wanted to get the things out of the car, I wanted to talk to a judge because I didn't know I was even violating any regulation, & I wasn't intending to pay for a bunch of fees that had racked up because of it, especially after I had been given blatant misinformation). She said that the hearing would be held on Tuesday, & started looking around for paperwork. I was surprised that it was going to be held so quickly but also had appointments on Tuesday that I could not miss. She didn't seem to be very receptive to this statement (or anything I ever said, for that matter) & said 'well that's when it is.' Gee, thanks. She started looking around for the paperwork but couldn't find it. She says to me, 'It looks like we're out of the hearing request forms.' & is just standing there looking at me like I should do something about it, or maybe hoping that I would just leave. "Okay, can you go find another one please?" This seemed to be really difficult for her to conceive of doing, but anyway she left & came back around 15 minutes later. Then she says that I can't request a hearing because it's too close to the date of the auction. "Okay," I said, "then don't auction it." She said, "Well, if we don't auction it tomorrow then you're going to have to pay for storing it here until your court hearing or until the next auction." "Okay, that's fine, keep it here in storage." I said. She's flabbergasted. "Well, she said, if we auction it tomorrow you'll only have to pay the difference after what it's sold for. " She said that like it was some sort of prize I had just won, as if I had gotten some sort of discount. At this point my patience is really wearing thin, but all the while I am maintaining a cordial tone, though that is certainly not the case coming from her. "I'm not going to pay you anything, I want to talk to a judge so I can get this cleared up." "Well you can't request a hearing because the auction is tomorrow." I'm really confused, because she just told me I could wait for the next auction. This continued to go in circles for awhile, her getting more huffy all the time & me getting cut more & more into my Valentine's evening. Eventually I am told the car is going to be auctioned & there is nothing I can do about it. I still need to get my things out of my car though. She gives me a form & guess what it says at the top. "Right of Redemption & Opportunity for a Hearing Notice." I'm just laughing to myself. I fill out the form & she says, well you're going to have to wait awhile because there is nobody to take you down to your car, & he may not be able to do it once he gets back." & again is just looking at me like I am going to just leave. I waited around for about half an hour. A man showed up & took me to my car. I returned & had to fill out a list of items I got out of the car. Then I asked to talk to a manager or someone else, because this woman had not been very helpful, & just given me more runaround information. She told me there wasn't a manager in & so I said I wanted to speak to whoever was in charge at the time. She left, came back, & said that she was busy & would come talk to me in awhile, again looking at me hoping I would just leave. I waited. The supervisor or whoever, I came to find out her name was ******, showed up & gave me the most limp wristed dead fish handshake I'd ever had in my life. I started trying to calmly explain the situation to her as she crossed her arms & looked out the window, tapping her foot like she had other things to do. She said it was too late to request a hearing, & when I painted out on the form that I was given that it said the request must be received by the district/municipal court within 10 days of today's date. She said it didn't matter because it's too close to the auction date. I had told her about the misinformation I was given & that I was told I could wait until the next auction. She said no, it was already scheduled & there was nothing I could do about it. I again cited the form I was given & she said that was wrong, it didn't matter because the auction was tomorrow. This was all very frustrating. She started getting more & more aggressive it took a lot of discipline for me to keep my cool. She kept referring to some documentation about the auction deal so I asked for a copy of it. She said fine & disappeared for a good 20 minutes, giving it to me with a highlighted section. That section said the hearing must be received by the appropriate court within ten days of the opportunity was provided for. I told her that first day the opportunity was today since I didn't know what was going on, & she told me I needed to leave. I asked when the manager was going to get there & she said not until the next shift. I asked when that was & she said later. She started yelling at me that I could wait around all night, but I wasn't going to get a hearing & they were going to auction my car the next day. I asked for the hearing request form that was supposted to be attached to the form I filled out & was refused. I asked for a copy of the receipt & was refused. I asked for the name of the person or agency authorizing the impound & was refused. I asked for some copies of the documents posted in the lobby that seemed to be talking about how to file a complaint (the glass was dirty & I couldn't see them very well) & was refused. I asked for the names of the people I had talked to & was refused. At no point did I become aggressive, argumentative, sarcastic, etc., but had to put up with all of this from the employees. I was given blatant misinformation, & had to submit to the power game that these employees were playing, trying to hold things over my head (that I didn't want, so it didn't work), threatened with extra fines (didn't work because I wasn't going to pay them there), & refused the right to a hearing. I would have requested it the day I found out it was towed if I had not been given information saying that it was coming in the mail. All in all, I would like to give them the benefit of the doubt & say that these people weren't flat out lying & were just ignorant & did not have the proper knowledge to help me out. I am willing to chalk it up to a misunderstanding. Even so, the customer service was atrocious, the manner of dealing with the situation unprofessional, & the organization of the place sloppy. I finally received a letter detailing that the car was auctioned for $200 (less than what someone was going to pay me to come & take the car away for me) & that I owed an exorbitant amount of money to the tow yard. I called the tow yard again several times & was told I needed to speak to a man named *****. I left him several messages that were not ever returned. The people I did talk to on the phone continued to be short, unhelpful & dismissive. This has been an awful experience & I am astounded at the lack of professionalism, all the way around.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the removal of all fees accrued. At this point I imagine they have already been sent to collections, so I would of course like that alleviated. I am also seeking payment in the amount of $200, the amount the vehicle was auctioned for, as I had arranged for another company to come & pay me for the vehicle, but this could not be done because it was towed. I am lastly seeking payment amounting to $334. This is the amount of the penalty fines accrued by the infractions. Since I was told I would get them in the mail, but in actuality needed to come to the tow yard to get the citations, I had no way of avoiding the late fees that they acquired (the total was initially less than $100). The total amount of compensation I am seeking is $534, plus the removal of the tow yard fees, which if I remember correctly were somewhere between $800-900. Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/06/04) */ On January 13, 2014 at the direction of the Seattle Police Department we impounded at 1998 Ford Coutour from the 400 block of *** ****** in Seattle. The car had not been moved for over 72 hours which is considered abandoned in within the city limits. As required by law we acquired *** ***'s address from the Department of Licensing and sent a 24 hour letter to that address in Colorado. That letter came back with a forwarding address in Oregon. We duplicated the letter and sent it to the address in Oregon. As required by law, we sent a certified letter on January 21st to the Oregon address advising that the vehicle was now abandoned in our yard and it was being scheduled for auction on February 15th. *** *** arrived at our location in Seattle on the evening of February 14th. He told the clerk at the front window that he did not want the car, but wanted a hearing. Since his vehicle was scheduled for auction the following day he was told that we could not give him a hearing form because it needs to be received by the court within 10 days from the date the opportunity was provided and, more than five days before the date of the auction. (this information is explained on the 24 hour letter) *** *** became upset and said he did not believe it and wanted to talk to someone else. A manager was called to talk to him. She explained the same thing to him that the clerk had and he got angry. He wanted proof that this was true. She went back to her office and printed him a copy of the section in RCW 46.55.120 that has the information in it. She highlighted the section for him. He kept asking where it was. He said he could not see it. She pointed to the highlighted section; he read it and said "that is not what it says". She tried to explain it to him, but he did not want to hear it. He would raise his voice and then say "I am being very calm". He was pacing back and forth in the lobby. He said he was going to call the Police, but he did not. He again said that he did not want the car and said that he wanted to get his belongings out of the car. We had him fill out a form stating that he was getting his personals. We gave him a copy of the ticket that had been issued at the time the vehicle was impounded. When *** *** left our facility, we had no idea if he was going to return to redeem his vehicle. He, in fact, still owes Lincoln Towing over $600 in lien fees and penalties. If *** *** should contact Lincoln Towing to resolve the issue of the lien money he owes us. Sincerely, **** **********

2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lincoln towing, towed my car and when I went to pick it up from their lot it would not start. They proceeded to charge me to tow it again to a car shop. It has been running just fine, therefore I have reason to believe it would not start due to how they towed it. Product_Or_Service: Tow

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund The car is being looked at, and if it is to be determined that the damages could have incurred from towing of my car, I believe they should reimburse me for the second tow, and pay for the damages.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/21) */ *** ******, Your vehicle was towed at the direction of the Seattle Police Department on January 14, 2014 for blocking a driveway at XXXX X** *** *** Seattle. The vehicle was transported on a flatbed carrier from that location to our storage facility at XXXXX ****** *** * Seattle. You redeemed the vehicle at 6:40 on the evening of the 14th. At that time you requested that we jump start the vehicle, which we attempted but could not accomplish. At that time you requested we tow the vehicle to ******* **** ****** at **** ** **** *** Seattle. Follow up with the mechanics at ******* indicate that the motor on the vehicle is frozen. There is no way that towing the vehicle could have resulted in this damage. We did not damage your vehicle.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lincoln Towing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)