BBB Accredited Business since

Airport Towing

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 243-6252 Fax: (206) 248-1099 View Additional Phone Numbers 817 SW 149th St, Burien, WA 98166 http://www.airporttow.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full vehicle and towing services. This company offers full vehicle and towing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Airport Towing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Airport Towing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Airport Towing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 11, 1996 Business started: 07/01/1988 Business started locally: 07/01/1988 Business incorporated 06/24/1996 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lynette Storer, President Mr. Kenny Savage, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Kenny Savage, General Manager
Principal: Ms. Lynette Storer, President
Business Category

Towing - Automotive

Alternate Business Names
Burien Towing Storer Enterprises Inc

Additional Locations

  • 817 SW 149th St

    Burien, WA 98166 (206) 243-6252 (206) 433-0660

  • 823 SW 149th St

    Burien, WA 98166

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my 85 toyota camry from a friend on september 12th 2014. Two weeks later it got stolen from my apartments and i reported it to the police. They said they would call me when they found it. I get a call on October 7th at 9pm, saying they found my car and it is at airport towing in burien. They were closed for the night so i call them the next morning oct 8th. I call asking about my car wanting to come retrieve it that day. They give me all the information and then tell me i have to pay $427 dollars to get my car out. I ask them why on earth i would have to pay to get my car out when somebody stole it and it ended up there. They never called me before it ended up in the impound lot in the first place. She said if i had insurance on the car that it should cover it. I explained to her that i had just bought the car two weeks before and i wasn't able to get insurance before it got stolen.The lady said very rudely that it was their policy and there was nothing she could do about it. I then called king county back to see if there was a way i could contest this in court and get my car out without paying. She said i could not because airport towing was a privately owned company. After feeling hopeless after both phone calls, i gave up for the time being because that day i was headed to go visit my sister out of town who was dealing with a suicide in the family. The next couple weeks have been a struggle with family and work, which is why i have not been able to follow up with this. It is very frustrating when I've worked so hard to save up for a car and then i finally buy one after months of riding the bus. Then it get's stolen and i am being asked to pay $427 dollars to get it back. Money that my paychecks don't even add up to.

Desired Settlement: I would like my car back or the $900 dollars i paid for it. I have a bill of sale and the title from the previous owner if you wish to see it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/07) */ Dear Ms ****** *****: We were sorry to hear about your experience in regards to the loss and recovery of your vehicle. We are a service company that offers aid in our community. We partner with law enforcement to help them do their jobs in keeping the roadways safe. As a towing company we assist by removing accidents off the roads for state and local law enforcement agencies. Another part of our business is partnering with local property and business owners that need an option to enforce parking on their properties. This is the category your specific situation falls into. The manager of the store called us saying there was a vehicle that had been parked there for some time and was clearly abandoned. As a result, one of his parking spaces was occupied which negatively impacted his business. Following standard procedure, after a vehicle has been impounded, we run the VIN number and license plate. Prior to finding out that the vehicle was stolen, we were unaware as to why the vehicle was left abandoned on the property. Therefore, it led to removal of the vehicle off the property at the owner's request. We notified law enforcement that we had the vehicle in our custody and they then relayed the message to you. If a stolen vehicle is recovered under law enforcement they will try and notify the registered owner at that time of the vehicle's recovery. However, if the vehicle was left abandoned on private property and the property manager reports it to us, it is to be removed. Although the hardship falls on the registered owner (you), unless you have the insurance to cover a stolen vehicle, it is fully your responsibility according to RCW 46.55(a Washington State law). With that all being said, we apologize for how your situation turned out. Hopefully we can help you out in a different way in the future. Sincerely, Airport Towing Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I understand why you had to tow my car off of the property, but you did not have to charge me 427$ dollars to get my car back from you, the day of. I did not give you permission to take my car so why am i being charged to have my stolen vehicle returned to me? I did not have insurance on the car because it was only a week before it got stolen that i bought it. Now you're telling me that you're going to send the outstanding amount in to collections for the abandonment of my car. This is completely outrageous and i am taking this into court. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/12/04) */ Airport Towing is a (Law Enforcement Approved) R.T.T.O (Registered Tow Truck Operator); We follow the guidelines set forth by Washington State Legislature and we are required to follow a system of rules and regulations. The House Bill 2372 from Washington Legislature (XXXX) was the defining moment of determining towing rates in Washington State. Washington State Legislature confirmed later that towing companies providing a service for" private lot impounds" were to charge up to 130% of the Washington State Patrol rates. How does this applies to you? You were charged $240 for the impound (which is approved by the courts), The police department had Airport Towing open up their business after hours so they could do a stolen recovery investigation on your 1985 Toyota Camry, (After hour fees according to Washington State are $90.00) Unfortunately, you were charged that for us having to open up the office at 7:00 p.m. at night. When you called, your vehicle was in storage for 1 day at the rate of $60.75 (which was also decided by Washington Legislature). You were charged tax and the grand total was $427.87 on the day of your inquiry. Airport Towing is a "service" company and those are the rates that we are required to charge according to: RCW 46.55.140 Operator's lien, deficiency claim, liability. (1) A registered tow truck operator who has a valid and signed impoundment authorization has a lien upon the impounded vehicle for services provided in the towing and storage of the vehicle, unless the impoundment is determined to have been invalid. The lien does not apply to personal property in or upon the vehicle that is not permanently attached to or is not an integral part of the vehicle except for items of personal property registered or titled with the department. The registered tow truck operator also has a deficiency claim against the registered owner of the vehicle for services provided in the towing and storage of the vehicle not to exceed the sum of five hundred dollars after deduction of the amount bid at auction, and for vehicles of over ten thousand pounds gross vehicle weight, the operator has a deficiency claim of one thousand dollars after deduction of the amount bid at auction, unless the impound is determined to be invalid. For your protection, Washington State Legislature also has a law that allows the person who was impounded to contests if he/ or she thought the impound was improper. RCW 46.55.120 Redemption of vehicles Sale of unredeemed property Improper impoundment. (b) Any person seeking to redeem an impounded vehicle under this section has a right to a hearing in the district or municipal court for the jurisdiction in which the vehicle was impounded to contest the validity of the impoundment or the amount of towing and storage charges. The district court has jurisdiction to determine the issues involving all impoundments including those authorized by the state or its agents. The municipal court has jurisdiction to determine the issues involving impoundments authorized by agents of the municipality. Next, there is the responsibility of the registered owner, (even if you had your vehicle stolen) according to: RCW 46.55.105 Responsibility of registered owner. (3) A vehicle theft report filed with a law enforcement agency relieves the last registered owner of liability under subsection (2) of this section for failure to redeem the vehicle. However, the last registered owner remains liable for the costs incurred in removing, storing, and disposing of the abandoned vehicle under subsection (1) of this section. Nothing in this section limits in any way the registered owner's rights in a civil action or as restitution in a criminal action against a person responsible for the theft of the vehicle. Unfortunately, the hardship falls on the registered owner and the only satisfaction you would receive; is taking the person who stole your car to small claims court for damages. We also understand that idea may not be an option for you. We are a normal business that charges the rates given to us. When your vehicle is abandoned by someone who stole it, the private property (where your vehicle was left) decided to impound your vehicle, meaning, they had "permission" to do so according to the law. If they didn't, you car would still be occupying a parking space unnoticed. In the end, Airport Towing understands your frustration. Sadly, because you chose to leave your vehicle at the Airport Towing yard instead of redeeming it, your "lien" or tow bill collected a daily storage rate (total after tax was $1824.82) which was not covered when someone bought your car at an auction. Therefore according to RCW 46.55.140 (reference law above) you were sent to collections for $547.50. Once again we are sorry how your situation turned out. Sincerely, Airport Towing