Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

World Spree/China Spree

Phone: (866) 652-5656 Fax: (360) 656-0000 View Additional Phone Numbers 2320 130th Ave NE Ste 200, Bellevue, WA 98005 http://www.worldspree.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vacation and tour packages.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that World Spree/China Spree meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for World Spree/China Spree include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on World Spree/China Spree
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 18, 2004 Business started: 03/15/2004 Business started locally: 03/15/2004 Business incorporated 05/11/2004 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Wilson Wu, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wilson Wu, Member
Business Category

Tours - Operators & Promoters Travel Agencies & Bureaus Travel Agencies (NAICS: 561510)

Alternate Business Names
China Spree China Spree Tours China Spree Travel China Spree, Inc. Chinaspree.com Inc IndoChina Spree Tour Beyond, Inc World Spree World Spree Travel

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

World Spree/China Spree has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2320 130th Ave NE Ste 200

    Bellevue, WA 98005 (866) 652-5656 (360) 945-0809

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I had longed to visit China for a number of years. When we saw the videos, brochures and posted comments provided by Chinaspree we were impressed and I sent in a check for the trip scheduled November 8, 2013. About two weeks before our trip we checked the weather report in Beijing and discovered that the American Embassy had issued a warning that the pollution levels were 'hazardous' and recommended that people stay in doors. Not wanting to expose us to that danger I contacted Chinaspree and asked if we could reschedule the trip for a later time when the pollution levels were safe. They told me to "Wear a mask." I can appreciate that the travel industry is competitive and margins are tight, but I was amazed that a company would knowingly put their customers in harm's way. Is it simply a innocent oversight that Chinaspree does not include any information about pollution health problems in it's literature, while at the same time providing very detailed preparation guidelines for the trip including a warning that the spicy coating on ********************** might be hotter than what we are used to? Or could it be that this is a very calculated omission?

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund of the cost of the tripl

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/01/17) */ Dear *** ******: You contacted China Spree on October 27, 2013 with the following email: "I have a long-awaited trip to Beijing scheduled for November 8. I have read that the American Embassy has warned that the pollution is a severe health hazard! I cannot take this kind of risk with my health. Please permit my wife and I to reschedule this trip at a later time when it would not be dangerous. Thank you for your consideration. **** ******" We contacted you and explained to you that to reschedule the trip so close to the departure date (within 14 days) would require us to cancel your existing tour booking and, therefore, the full penalty would apply, which means no refund. We regret that we could not make an exception for you, but our trip cancellation policy is clearly specified in our Terms and Conditions and you indicated that you had read, understood and agreed to our Terms when you booked this tour. In addition you said you would like to reschedule the trip in September, when the tour does not exist. This special promotional tour is only available from November to April and this information is clearly noted on our website. The issue of pollution and air quality in China--particularly in Beijing--came to public attention when heavy smog happened a few times between November 2012 and February 2013. Statistics show that the "bad smog" in Beijing that caught the attention of the American media did not happen every day, but only a few times in the 2013 year (the PM 2.5 value and the period of time each smog lasted varied). The Air Quality Index issued by the U.S. Embassy in Beijing--meant for American residents in Beijing, not short-term tourists--gives a current reading, but does not forecast air quality in the future. The air quality in Beijing, therefore, becomes unpredictable and beyond the control of China Spree. It should be noted here that China Spree, in its pre-trip information, strongly recommends that our clients buy travel insurance in case they have to cancel their trip. China Spree staff did mention that as a precautionary measure, we recommend that our clients take a mask on a wintertime China trip. We also told you our policy on matter of pollution of our tour destinations, which is that we would work with our tour suppliers (including the airliners, hotels and ground tour operators etc.) and try to cancel or reschedule our confirmed tours if the U.S. Department of State issues a Travel Warning to Beijing and/or China for any reason. As specified on its website, the State Department issues "a Travel Alert for short-term events we think you should know about when planning travel to a country. Examples of reasons for issuing a Travel Alert might include...an outbreak of H1N1...." There is no current travel alert or warning about China, nor has there been one since May 2013. (Please find Travel Warnings and Alerts at http://travel.state.gov/content/passports/english/alertswarnings.html) During the telephone conversation, you threatened our staff that you would bring this issue to online travel forums if it was not resolved to your satisfaction. Apparently you then chose to be a "no show" and never officially notified China Spree that you were canceling your November 8th tour. When your early morning (around 5:00 A.M.) flight arrived in Beijing without you, the tour guides waited for more than an hour-and-a-half, worrying that you might have been held up inside Immigration or Customs. As it turned out, in fact, the November/December weather in Beijing was generally good, with blue skies. (We have a picture, which you may see, of your tour group backed by a bright blue sky.) The fact is that the "hazardous pollution" did not actually happen during the November 8 tour. The other tour participants very much enjoyed both the trip and the weather. As some participants of the November 8 tour mentioned to us: "I had a fantastic time in China, as expressed in my evaluation. I am extremely impressed by your detailed planning and the very high quality of the amenities provided. The weather was beautiful. We did not experience ANY smog, and the temperature was warm on most days. We kept on commenting on how beautiful the weather was. Some people can be so unreasonable! It clearly stated in the contract what the cancellation policy was. This money should not be refunded. If they chose to act in such an unbecoming manner, China Spree cannot be held responsible Your company does such a great job! Please do not be discouraged by this churlish behavior. In fact, the next time I travel, I will make sure that it is with China Spree. That is how strongly I feel. Keep up the good work! Bravo! ************** xxxx" "The weather for our trip was spectacular, aside from one day where it was a bit overcast in Shanghai. We couldn't have asked for any better weather, especially while we were in Beijing. We were expecting some issues with pollution because of all the attention the topic had received recently and were pleasantly surprised to find the air quality to be no worse than any other city we have traveled to anywhere in the world. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you have any other questions. We look forward to using World Spree (China Spree's sister company) for a future vacation. Thank you. ------**** xxxx" "I expected it to be smoggy, after all, it has been known to be sometimes smoggy in Beijing, right? On the contrary, the weather was beautiful, clear skies, sunny and mostly warm days. I felt such outrage that these people should complain about something over which you had no control, that I have to add my comments...Under no circumstances should you refund any portion of that money. Some people believe that they should have their way at any cost. My wife and i keep telling everyone how impressed we both were at the high quality of your tours, simply "top drawer." It is very evident, that customer satisfaction is your number one priority, but please do not give in to bullies. Please keep up the good work! ****** XXXX" I hope this letter explains China Spree's position and that you will realize that it is a perfectly logical and legal position. We wish you all the best in your future travels...and hope that you and all other travelers will buy cancellation insurance (the kind that allows you to cancel for any reason if you feel the situation may be beyond the control of yourself and the tour operator) when you book a tour. Sincerely, ****** ** China Spree Travel Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2014/01/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There are a couple of clumsy inaccuracies in ** ***** response that need to be pointed out. Let's hope these are just evidence of feeling defensive and not an accurate insight into the core values driving China Spree. First off, I have been nothing but cordial in all of my dealings with China Spree. I at no time threatened anyone. I simply told the phone representative that I would leave an online message warning potential travelers that pollution can be a serious problem in Beijing and if it should happen during their vacation, no refunds will be available. Secondly, if your representatives in Beijing waited for a hour and half because they have not been informed when someone doesn't board the plane in Houston, that doesn't say much about the quality of China Spree internal communications. Thirdly, the smog index reported by the Beijing AQI was listed above 300 'hazardous' (with no expectation of eminent change). If it cleared up for your tourists, then I'm glad; but if that was a situation you were willing to submit your clients to, it wasn't a chance I was willing to take (by the way, I just saw an article in the new York times that Beijing is 'televising' the sunrise - so that people can see it). I could go on and on, but let me make this last point. Apparently you decided to inform both ********** xxxx and ****** xxxx of my request to reschedule at a time when the health hazard would be lifted because, amazingly, they both took time in their glowing endorsements to comment on my behavior: "Some people can be so unreasonable! It clearly stated in the contract what the cancellation policy was. This money should not be refunded. If they chose to act in such an unbecoming manner, China Spree cannot be held responsible. Your company does such a great job! Please do not be discouraged by this churlish behavior" and "Under no circumstances should you refund any portion of that money. Some people believe that they should have their way at any cost....don't give in to bullies." Bullies? Seriously, these ridiculous and comical fabrications don't help your credibility. To show that my heart's the right place, I'll offer you this alternative: give the amount of my refund ($2700) to the ******** ****** ******* and we'll call it even. Best regards, **** ****** Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/02/06) */ Dear *** ****** I stand by everything I said in my first response. You agreed to the terms and conditions knowing full well the consequences, as other tour participants have pointed out. Their responses were not "ridiculous and comical fabrications," but their actual statements. They responded with such indignation because China Spree treated them with respect, they followed the rules and, of course, they enjoyed their tour so very much. You, on the other hand, acted in a demanding, threatening manner, ignoring the basic rules that all travel companies operate with and did not even officially cancel your tour. You seem to believe that you should have your way at any cost. Our stance is, therefore, clear. Our charitable donations are our own business and there will be no donation on your behalf. This is my final word on this subject. Sincerely, ****** ** China Spree Travel


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on World Spree/China Spree
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart