BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Access Media 3 (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (630) 230-0555Fax: (630) 230-0558565 Andover Park W Ste 201, TukwilaWA 98188-3345 Send email to Access Media 3http://www.am3inc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers cable television, high-speed Internet and digital home phone exclusively to the multi-family industry.

BBB Accreditation

Access Media 3 is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Access Media 3's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 70 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

70 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues28
Problems with Product / Service40
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 70

Additional Complaint Information

On August 22, 2013, BBB recognized a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding billing, service and customer service issues. Consumers allege Access 3 Media makes unauthorized debits from their bank accounts, and the company continues to charge them for equipment they have already returned. Consumers further allege they receive unreliable service from Access 3 Media, and the company is not responsive to their requests for assistance.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Access Media 3

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (70)BBB Closure Definitions
10/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company is paid to provide internet and phone service, which is frequently down or very slow. The service has been off now for four days, with no explanation from the company. It is difficult to talk to anyone with knowledge or authority to act. The shutdown appears to be gross negligent maintenance of equipment. Our neighborhood pays high fees for these services, in which we have no say, no legal ability to discontinue and no recourse for continual loss of service.

Desired Settlement
Either delivery of services paid for or release from contract.

Business Response
We apologize for the issues you referenced in your complaint and would like to help resolve them as soon as possible and to your complete satisfaction. In order to help, we need additional information. Please email *************@am3inc.com with your account number so that we may research this situation.

09/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been moved out of my old apartment since January of 2014 and paid up-to-date until the time I left. As of today, August 20, 2014, I am still getting invoices forwarded to me with a monthly billing charge. I am tired of calling month after month, and being told the same excuse, "you don't owe us any money, but it takes a month or two for you to stop receiving invoices." They have been telling me that since March.

Desired Settlement
I am not their customer anymore. I do not want to receive anymore invoices from them. In fact, I would like one last invoice or letter from them specifying that I have a zero balance and that my account is closed.

Business Response
We apologize for the billing issue you referenced. Two credits were applied to your account. Please email *************@am3inc.com if you have any questions or concerns. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept their response. I just have to wait and see if I indeed do not receive any more invoices from them. It has been over a month, so that is a good sign.

Thank you.

09/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I subscribe to this company in which they have advertise that it is 10MB download. I have never gotten to that speed it always ranges from 3mb to lower at any given point in time of day. Have already called but their answer is still the same. For the amount they charge other companies in the same area offer more for the same price.

Desired Settlement
I would like for better speeds in which i don't have to wait forever to download a video or play some games without lagging.

Business Response
We apologize for the issue you have had with slow internet speeds. I have authorized a credit for the poor service you've received. This credit will be for 3 months of internet service. Additionally, your property will receive a bandwidth upgrade in October that will help alleviate the issue. If you have any questions, please email *************@am3inc.com.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thanks for taking the time to respond and address the issue. I hope that by October this issue will be resolved.I will accept the credit for the 3 months that is being offered.

07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We contacted AM3 on May 8, 2014, to set up service. AM3 has the contract with our home owners association and is therefore the only provider.
As of 23 June, we still do not have service. The company told us the necessary piece of equipment was on back order. We were forwarded an email by the company later which indicated that AM3 was in arrears with vendor, not that the piece was backordered.
The company apparently cleared their accounts payable and the warehouse manager and director of field operations assured us the piece was shipped and would be installed by 19 June. That date came and went with no contact from AM3. They have now failed to respond to several emails and phone calls asking for an update. As our neighborhood has a contract with AM3, we are unable to have another service provider assist. We have kept a record of phone calls and emails which support our claim. This situation has caused personal and professional hardship for us now that it has continued for so long.

Desired Settlement
Immediate hook up of service or dissolution of the contract.

Business Response
We take full responsibility for the customer's outage. The property is run with a specialized fiber delivery system and the parts required to reestablish service have been out of stock, and alternative replacements could not be located. We credited the customer and did finally complete installation last week. To the best of our knowledge the customer is now satisfied with our response.

07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I'm receiving russian channels that are included in the TV package provided by Access Media 3. One of the channels constantly having "snow" like issues after storms. We requested that technician would come out and resolve the issue. I have been using a switch to switch from local antenna and access media 3 service for quite sometime without any issues, but technician demanded that "spliter" not switch to be removed as he thinks it interferes with their equipment. I also believe he fixed something else in the big cable box in the garage of the apartment building before came up to my unit. I reinstalled the switch and everything is working like it was before, but now I received a bill with $75 service charge in it. This tells me that technician takes the easy route instead of fixing the issues. This the second time I'm filling out BBB complaint for similar thing. I talk to customer support and the only answer I get that it cannot be removed and the refuse to do it.
I want $75 service charge to be removed. Thanks

Desired Settlement
I want $75 service charge to be removed

Business Response
The $75 charge has been credited to your account as requested and we apologize for the error.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 13
05/22/2013Billing / Collection Issues
04/17/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/17/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/26/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/09/2012Billing / Collection Issues
06/19/2012Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2
07/26/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite, Internet Access Provider, Internet Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/13/2002Business started: 09/01/2001
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2001, WA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Scott Rediger (CEO)Customer Contact: Eric Welles (SVP A&I)Mr Don Weinstein (CFO)
Business Category

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite, Internet Access Provider, Internet Services

Alternate Business Names
AM3

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Access Media 3 has received 3.80 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Access Media 3

565 Andover Park W Ste 201

Tukwila, WA 98188-3345

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 900 Commerce Dr STE 200 

    Oak Brook, IL 60523-8828(630) 230-0555
    (630) 230-0555

  • 11875 W Little York Rd STE 1104 

    Houston, TX 77041-4738

  • 565 Andover Park W Ste 201 

    Tukwila, WA 98188-3345

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Access Media 3 is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.