BBB Accredited Business since

Washington Tax Services

Phone: (888) 282-4697 Fax: (206) 282-8689 2233 1st Ave S Ste 202, Seattle, WA 98134 http://www.watax.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tax consultation services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Washington Tax Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Washington Tax Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Washington Tax Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1998 Business started: 09/01/1989 Business started locally: 09/01/1989 Business incorporated 04/01/2011 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Matthew Woare, President Mr. Jay Freeborne, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matthew Woare, President
Business Category

Taxes - Consultants & Representatives Tax Return Preparation

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 7am - 5pm
Refund and Exchange Policy
This company's refund policy is 50% within 15 days.
Alternate Business Names
Watax LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Washington Tax Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2233 1st Ave S Ste 202

    Seattle, WA 98134 (888) 282-4697

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sent emails with another clients information instead of my own. I was treated in a very condescending manner when I tried to work with the rep. A serious mistake was made by Washington Tax Service. They did not review the information I had provided and missed about 1/3 of my income. I can provide proof of my allegations.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $1500 refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/15) */ We have spoken with the client and she has agreed to withdraw the complaint. We have assigned her a new contact with our company and will continue working on her account. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/12/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After researching the services and testimonials of the Washington Tax Services group, I detailed my personal case and asked for assistance in learning my options. After one email requesting additional information (which I responded to) my request for assistance was dismissed rather casually without any additional recommendation for assistance. I have the full email of what happened and can provide it at any time. I just wanted information as the website claims to provide support for someone within the tax parameters defined on the website (0-9,999usd)

Desired Settlement: I would like the Washington Tax Services group to apologize for dismissing my inquiry without serious consideration and I would like the company to provide the assistance of answering my questions and or directing me in the right direction of another agency.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/10) */ This gentleman inquired with us via email -- indicating a tax issue with the State of Maryland indicating a balance due of under $2500. He wondered if he could get a settlement or an Offer in Compromise with the state of Maryland. We indicated to him that he was best off contacting the State of Maryland without professional assistance and working out a payment plan with them as we would be unable to provide him $ value for an issue that small. If this person is dissatisfied with this response and would like to have some free advice on how to handle this matter, we would be happy to talk with him over the phone and give him some pointers for handling this himself. Otherwise - if we have misunderstood the tax problem that he conveyed to us in his email, please also have him call us at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Xam to 5pm Pacific Standard time and we'll at a minimum - be able to give him some free advice.

7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 5/9/13 I contacted *** ********* @ Washington tax service & explained my tax situation with the State of California & the garnishment of 25 percent of my income that was being withheld from my pay checks & federal tax that had not been paid in 7 years plus in detail..he states if I send him $525.00 he can start resolving my tax nightmare..but total fee would be $1050.00. On 5/17/13 I authorized the withdrawal, mind You at that point I thought he would be representing me & I would not hv to deal with The state, Federal was not in question at all currently due to the fact I hv a current garnishment.. 5/23/13 I receive an email of info from *** of my with holdings & he states I should file my own taxes because he charges $125.00 per year ...so I do All the leg work requested past W-2's, filled out all My own Tax forms calculations everything, paper ink his email also included basic info to fill out taxes which I learned in my senior year in High school ..& the info about withholdings he indicated was already on my w-2's anyway & was not even accurate, so after all that I submit returns he sends me another email So He can direct Me to resolve My state Taxes Myself..Do the hardship form etc..which the person who is in charge of my state Case already told me to do .tells me to ask for **** ******* actually had me begging this woman & she says no ..this is not Hardship No reduction oh & in the email he states You might ask why aren't we making the calls ...we'll we need the rest of our fee..you can save that fee for the IRS case..where we will handle everything...Yeah right ..If he would have told me I would be doing everything Myself I would never have paid him anything...He was taking offer in compromise, I should only be paying $150 per month & he really made me think he would be able to lessen he amount...but Not ..& The state person handling my case tells me The IRS is not going to do anything with my wages just on the fact of The States case against me... so it's just funny that *** only want to deal with the Feds because bottom line there is nothing that is going to hv to be done with them anyway... so back to the garnishment I call *** tell him they won't budge ..Oh you need to get an advocate ..I'm like what in my mind now..he gives me a number which is not an advocate..I call my IRS rep & advice her of this..she takes another look at case calls me & said they would reduce it to $400.00 per month all this over 2 months..all my bills were behind overdrawn at the bank..I finally called *** again

Desired Settlement: $400.00 refund ....Because I did everything but cry to the state of California to modify a garnishment that he said was going to happen.. & he knew my situation because I explained it up Front & he is supposed to be the expert I am not at all satisfied & I will not be handling a Federal Case with this company as he suggested ... honesty would have been appreciated at representation He should have said pay it all Up front & I will represent you from the start.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/12) */ From: *** ********* - Washington Tax Services (mailto:**********@watax.com) Sent: Thursday, July 11, 2013 4:19 PM To: ****** ***** Subject: Re: Better Business Bureau Case#XXXXXXXX ****** - did *** ******* contact you to indicate that the complaint is resolved? If so - we will issue her a refund. Thanks, *** ***** *** *********, E.A. Washington Tax Services XXXX X** ****** ***** Seattle, WA 98134 X-XXX-XXX-XXXX X(XXX)XXX-XXXX fax (XXX)XXX-XXXX http://taxresolutiontalk.com - Tax Resolution Industry Blog http://www.yelp.com/biz/washington-tax-services-seattle - Review of Washington Tax at Yelp http://www.watax.com/*********_testimonials - Emailed Testimonials to Washington Tax http://www.naea.org - Members of the National Association of Enrolled Agents On 7/10/XXXX X:XX PM, ****** ***** wrote:


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Washington Tax Services
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart