BBB Accredited Business since

Tax Consultants of WA

Additional Locations

Phone: (253) 941-1040 Fax: (253) 946-4881 33400 9th Ave S Ste 118, Federal Way, WA 98003 http://www.oldhamfrancis.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers business & individual tax preparation, payroll and bookkeeping services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tax Consultants of WA meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tax Consultants of WA include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tax Consultants of WA
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1998 Business started: 10/01/1989 Business started locally: 10/01/1989 Business incorporated 10/13/1989 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sandi Francis, President Mr. Luke Oldham, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sandi Francis, President
Business Category

Taxes - Consultants & Representatives Bookkeeping Service Payroll Service Tax Return Preparation

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5pm
Alternate Business Names
Oldham & Francis PS Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 33400 9th Ave S Ste 118

    Federal Way, WA 98003 (253) 941-1040

  • PO Box 3132

    Federal Way, WA 98063

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted and met with this company on October 2, 2013 to discuss them doing our quarterly business taxes for our small business. Explained to them all the troubles we have been dealing with in finding a good company to work with he assured us we would have a different experience with him. I also felt confident in that they would provide a good service. I then contacted them on 10/10/13 to confirm that we would like to work with them. On 10/11/2013 **** emailed me back a list of what he needed to proceed. I emailed him everything he needed and then on 10/16/13 I sent him our accountants copy so he could get started he confirmed that he received the email on 10/17/13 and said he would get started right away and let us know if he had any questions. On 10/30/13 in the evening me and my husband decided to email **** again since we had not heard back from him and tomorrow (10/31) was the day all the sales tax and employee tax amount would be due. **** emailed us back on 10/31 at 1:53PM stating everything was attached and we needed to mail out checks for the attached amounts. I looked at the attached documents and noticed he didn't give us a roughly $3000.00(+) credit. For a small business this amount is huge for us. He said he misunderstood our previous conversations in regards to this matter. He had all previous tax returns, filed quarterly's to be able to refer to, plus a spreadsheet that I had sent him that only had that current quarters dates so I'm not sure how he misunderstood this. He said he would fix it for us and get it right back to us, we didn't here from him until 4:58 PM with the new amount that we needed to pay. All of our past quarterly's had always been paid electronically and now he was telling us at 5PM that we needed to write these checks and have them post dated by 10/31 that same evening. This was impossible to accomplish with the business checks being at home and both my husband and I working and not getting home until around 6. the post offices in our area all close by 6. I want to know why he waited until the day our taxes were due to start working on them when I gave him everything he needed about 2-3 weeks prior to the due date. That should have gave him and us plenty of time to get everything handled and not having any chances of turning anything in late. That is not how we like to run our business and we do not want to pay late and accrue fees and penalties. The next day November 1st we received a invoice via email from his company. It was pretty much a slap in the face. Its nice to see he handles his business in a VERY timely matter but when it comes to his customers he puts them on the back burner and waits til the last minute! I did contact him one more time in November to ask if he had made any changes to our accountants copy in which he never replied at all. He probably didn't make any changes but if he did and I didn't know about it then all of the changes that were made would have been a total loss. It was important for me to hear back from him about this but I guess he didn't think so. He hasn't followed up with us at all there was no apology and we had also talked to him about helping us in other areas and he didn't follow up on us with that either probably because of the bad experience he has provided us.

Desired Settlement: I think we should receive a discount. The total I feel we should have to pay is $150 I realize that he did have to put some time in to completing our taxes but this experience was horrible and I definitely will not be using them in the future.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/20) */ In response to the complaint issued from ***************, we are willing to refund the amount of $136.00 to satisfy her request indicated in the case complaint. Our company works diligently to provide solid customer service and we always looking to provide sound and beneficial tax and accounting advice. The full payment of $286.00 was received from *********** on 12/14/2013, the day before the complaint was issued, so the $136.00 is the spread. Taxes, employees, and payroll are a complicated and burdensome cost and responsibility for small business. When **** and ******* brought their information in, we had to cover quite a few different issues. Their QuickBooks file had several major issues with how items were being entered and reconciled. The initial reports for the Profit and Loss as well as the Balance Sheet needed major setup changes and adjustments. We had to unwind previous work done by the prior accountant before we could ensure that the current information was as accurate as possible with the information provided. The work on their file and reconciling the items initially took us longer than had been anticipated. As a courtesy to my initial estimate of time needed to complete the items, I had already decreased the amount of the billing before our monthly statements were sent out. I had no prior knowledge that there was a dispute with the charge until receiving this complaint from the BBB. As I stated before, we work hard to provide the best service possible to our clients. I certainly wish we could have resolved any issues with billing or service directly with our clients before a formal complaint was issued. I feel that regardless of what tax and accounting firm they choose to use in the future, the ********* should review their yearend information carefully. I believe that this is their first full year in business and the Federal Taxes can come as a surprise if not properly prepared for. If there is any other information required by myself or my firm, please let me know. We are willing to provide any additional details or other to resolve the complaint quickly and amicably. Sincerely, ************ Managing Partner An Oldham and Francis PS, Inc. Company Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/12/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In your response you stated that set up changes and adjustments to our file took longer than anticipated, that you had to unwind previous work by a previous accountant, and that it took longer to reconcile items, where is the proof of these changes and this work that you are stating that you did? I emailed you one more time in November to ask if any changes had been made to our Quick Books file and I received absolutely no response from you. Actually I Haven't received anything from you at all! Is this typical? At this point even if you did make changes which I don't believe you did, they are a total loss because of the time that you have allowed to go by without contacting us. Why would you ask a customer to pay for a service that was not completely followed through? If this is what you are saying the charges are for than we should not have to pay at all as we did not receive any of the changes from you. We also received a letter from employment security stating that we didn't file and had to pay about a $60 late fee. You didn't even do the employment security we had to do it ourselves! We asked you to take care of ALL payroll taxes and you did not. Why would you take care of L&I for us but not employment security? As a business owner you should take responsibility for your actions or lack there of, instead of trying to blame us. I provided many dates and very specific details of the issues that we encountered with you and your response is not acceptable. If it was because of all the fixings that you said needed to be done than why not explain that to us? And I want to see proof of this work. A formal complaint was necessary because you do not respond to emails. I definitely expressed on our last phone call that I was not happy with the service. Who would be? Should we be responsible for this $60 late fee when we thought that you were doing ALL of our payroll taxes? In your response you also said that you gave us an estimate of how much time it would take and what the charge would be, this is not true. I never received a estimate from you. Take responsibility for the horrible service that you provided to us. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/01/28) */ We always strive to give the best service to each of our clients. We apologize to *********** for their experience. We will refund the remaining balance of the invoice issued to them for the services rendered. We will mail the refund directly to them as we had before. If anything else is necessary to close out this matter, please feel free to contact our office.