This business is not BBB accredited.

Aqua Quip

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 624-4394 Fax: (206) 587-0478 View Additional Phone Numbers 730 SW 34th St, Renton, WA 98057 http://www.aquaquip.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pools, spas, water care, barbecues, fireplaces, and stoves. This company offers pools, spas, chemicals, fireplaces and barbeque's as well as outdoor furniture and equipment. This company offers pools, spas, water care, barbecues, fireplaces, and stoves. This company offers pools, spas, chemicals, fireplaces and barbeque's as well as outdoor furniture and equipment. This company offers pools, spas, chemicals, fireplaces and barbeque's as well as outdoor furniture and equipment. This company offers pools, spas, chemicals, fireplaces and barbeque's as well as outdoor furniture and equipment.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aqua Quip include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aqua Quip
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1973 Business started: 03/01/1959 Business started locally: 03/01/1959
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Brian Quint, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Quint, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies Swimming Pool Service & Repair Swimming Pools - Leak Detection & Repair Swimming Pools - Maintenance Barbecue Barbecue Equipment & Supplies Fireplace Equipment - Retail Fireplaces Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pools & Hot Tubs Swimming Pool Enclosures Swimming Pool Cover Sales & Service


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1020 Bellevue Way NE

    Bellevue, WA 98004

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    34428 Pacific Hwy S

    Federal Way, WA 98003 (425) 895-1997

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4232 196th SW

    Lynnwood, WA 98036

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    730 SW 34th St

    Renton, WA 98057 (206) 624-4394 (800) 787-7665 (253) 838-3300 (425) 775-3399 (253) 474-0767

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7608 Custer Rd W

    Lakewood, WA 98499

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8005 161st Ave NE

    Redmond, WA 98052

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/2/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Aqua Quip in March of 2016 to provide a quote for repairing our in ground swimming pool. Aqua Quip came out in April and took measurements and pictures of our pool. We received an email quote from Wayne for the repairs and replacement of the liner on 4/18/16. We respond via email to Wayne advising that we wanted to make adjustments on 4/18/16. Wayne responded with a revised quote on 4/19/16. We responded to Wayne on 4/20/16 inquiring as to when they could get started on the project . Wayne responded via email on 4/21/16 advising that " we can get you on the list once we receive your liner pattern, signed proposal and deposit". We responded to the email with the signed agreement and inquired about how to pay the deposit. We were instructed to call any of the stores and pay. We called the Seattle store on 4/25/16 and paid a $4,000 deposit. I sent an email back to Wayne advising that we had paid the deposit and again inquired when the job would be completed. Wayne responded via email that they had us on the schedule for "late June". We were shocked and disappointed that we were not told of the wait prior to paying, but all of the other vendors that gave quotes had said a 30 day time frame for completing the project, so we decided we would go with late June (with the hopes that they would get to us sooner. In early July I called Wayne and left a vm with no response inquiring as to where we were. After several days of not receiving a return phone call, I called the store and they said they would have someone call me back. Still no phone call, I call back two days later and demand to speak to a Manager. I spoke to a Manager and they said that someone would have to come out and " measure the pool and we would need to pick out the pattern for the liner so that they could order it". we picked out the pattern on 4/25/16 already, but we picked out the same liner again. Someone came out and took measurements and we heard nothing. now we are being told 8/18! unac

Desired Settlement: At this point we want a full refund of the $4,000 that we paid on 4/25/6 so that we can move on with another provider. We are extremely frustrated and disappointed in the service ( or lack thereof) that we have received.

Business Response:

We spoke with the customer on Wednesday 7/27 and have come to an agreed upon resolution.  We have scheduled the repairs to be completed in a time frame acceptable to the customer after discussing the project and challenges we experienced with communication.

 

Consumer Response:

A representative from Aqua Quip reached out to us late last week and to our relieve Aqua Quip is making it right. They came out yesterday and began the work and as long as they complete the job with quality work we are thrilled with finally getting this resolved.

 

Better Business Bureau:


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

********* *****

5/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 03, 2011, I executed a written proposal, quote ID #****** from Aqua Quip for the removal and replacement of some pool equipment. The contracted amount was $2,083.20 and covered a new pool pump and new sand filter. I only recently discovered that a lower cost and inferior pool pump was actually installed. I have asked why, and received no answer. I have asked Aqua Quip to install the pump I paid for. I have received no answer. Secondly, the new sand filter was installed with an incorrect lateral assembly and 25 lbs. less sand than the manufacturer's installation and operations manual specifies.

Desired Settlement: I wish to have the correct pump (Pentair Whisperflo 0.75HP) installed. I wish to have the correct lateral assembly installed in my filter.

Business Response:

I personally met with Mr. ******* on February 3rd, 2016 to discuss a problem he was having with his pool pump sucking air. Mr ******* felt that we had caused this problem when we cleaned his pool previously. It was determined by a third party leak detection company (At our expense) that Mr. ******* has a broken plumbing line between the pool pump and swimming pool...about 15 feet from where the pool pump sits. It is Aqua Quip's opinion that Mr. ******* has experienced some ground settling (he lives on a sensitive slope above Puget Sound, with several new homes being built on the bluff just above his home).

As for his concern about the pump and filter install in 2011- which was nearly 5 years ago....he does have a bid showing a different pool pump specified. It turned out to be too large of a pump for his installation, and our technician made the decision to install a different model. The pump we installed was manufactured by one of the largest pump manufacturers in the industry and is not considered a be low end or inferior model to anyone other than Mr. *******. He was charged an amount that was correct for the pump that was installed. Until now- he has not complained about the filter repair- but again...it has worked correctly for nearly 5 years. This installation was 5 years ago- and up until now...the pool pump and filter worked correctly and was not a concern to Mr. *******.

Mr. ******* is a difficult customer to work with- and Aqua Quip has no longer willing to do any work in Mr. *******'s home or on his swimming pool.

Here is my proposed resolution for Mr. *******- we will exchange the current pool pump for the one he is asking for (It is the incorrect pump model and size for his installation). The current pump is 5 year old, and therefore is 50% through it's useful life. We will make the exchange at 50% of the price of the new pool pump. We will NOT do the removal of the current pump or install the new one. We will make the exchange at the above stated price when we can stop by and pick the pump up- once he has had it removed.

We will also leave him a 50 lbs bag of filter media- so that we can "top off" the sand in his filter tank. Sand filters can lose sand during backwashing over time- especially after 5 years. I do not have any idea what he is saying about the incorrect internal parts of the filter. Filter parts/internals are specific to manuafacturer. 

BBB- don't be fooled by Mr. *******. He will not be satisfied with any proposed resolution and is unwilling to accept any responsibility for problems that occur with his pool. He thinks it is all Aqua Quip's fault and seems to go back years to find causes and reasons to blame us for his aging or settling pool.

 

 

 

8/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid in full for a natural gas fireplace on May 6th and my product is still not fully installed. I have made numerous phone calls and written an email to Aqua Quip. The last associate I spoke with, Andre L*********, assured me that he would be provided with an install date by August 7th, but he did not contact me. On July 10th an Aqua Quip employee visited my home and explained the problem: the electrical panel in my fireplace is defective and has been recalled by the manufacturer. This part needs to be replaced and he said the replacement part could be ordered within the week. Meanwhile, the defective electrical panel beeps 24 hours a day. Anytime the TV is off, I can hear this in my living room and I have been living with this nuisance since the original install on June 23rd.I have been given a number of excuses, by a number of employees. "We can't order this part until we accrue enough items to complete a full order" and "we are busy installing swimming pools because it is not fireplace season." Why then, did they ask that I pay in full 3 months ago?Aqua Quip did give me a $500 credit early on to apologize for the delay of the initial install but they have done nothing to expedite the repair of the current beeping. My attempts to resolve the problem have been exhaustive and fruitless; I need help.

Desired Settlement: I would like the recalled electrical panel replaced in one week's time (by 8/18) or I would like to return the product for a refund. I agree to pay for the electrical and venting that Aqua Quip installed, but I would like a refund for the hearth.

Business Response: The replacement part has been provided by the manufacturer and is scheduled to be installed Monday 8/17/15

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

If Aqua Quip follows through and installs the part on Monday as they have indicated, I will be satisfied with the resolution.  However, I am not a satisfied customer and would not recommend Aqua Quip to a customer looking to install a natural gas fireplace.

Sincerely,

******* ******

3/10/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a gas fireplace less then 2 years ago from Aqua Quip. I smelled gas 2/17/15, and called the Lynnwood store and talked to ****. He gave me instructions on turning the gas off, and put a repair order in. I called later and explained the gas was off, and he said someone call to from repair. I think the lady was ******* that called the next day and schedule service. A friend was at my house 2/19, for the service call, which he told me later he paid $162.06 on his credit card. I was shocked of the charge, and if known in advance, would have price shopped and left a check. **** or ******* didn't say there was a service fee, or minimum labor charge. I though I told **** I should have a 5 year warranty, but he didn't comment, so I assumed it was covered. I called to complain 2/20/15, and they never got back to me.

Desired Settlement: I called 2/20/15 the repair location in Renton to complain, but the guy was rude, and told me I was not responsible for not asking what the service fee was in advance. My friends credit card should be credited and I should be billed with a reasonable discount. Since I did not have a choice to price shop, I don't think I should just accept their price. I want to be removed from all future mailings and email offers from Aqua Quip. I feel they do not operate in good faith of customer service.

Business Response:

We have contacted the customer (today- 3/3/15) and offered a credit of $69 on her credit card.
She was pleased with our offer and has accepted it. The credit is being applied to the credit card today. I could take a few days to appear on the customer's credit card account.
As far as we know- the complaint and concern has been resolved.
?

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:
The manager responded promptly to resolve our dispute.
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ********

1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WORST SERVICE EVER! Came out and read the flashing codes on the Caldera Spa that would not heat and diagnosed a mother board. 6 weeks to order the part. Then installed the expensive component and got the same codes. Replaced original mother board and determined it must be the heat sensor. Three more weeks and new heat sensor and same codes and no heat. Had to leave on a long trip and upon return scheduled a continued visit and now its the circ pump. Yet another technician and he said it was the circ pump all along from the codes. Called us at 9am in 33 degree weather to say they would come in an hour and install the circ pump but we would have to pay for the tech to stand around and refill tub in order to test it again and see if they finally got the tub operational. We canceled this service call after speaking to Mike Walker who was very combative, implying that each diagnosis was correct regardless of the fact that the tub has never heated up with any of the service calls.. We've paid $408.94 with $162.06 pending for visit to determine circ pump was seized and still have a hot tub with no heat.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $408.94 and do not bill $162.06 for last visit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/06) */ After conversation with the customer it was agreed that the work would be completed and charges would be adjusted based on parts used and labor required for proper diagnosis and repair. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/01/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Aqua Quip agreed to come out and complete repairs that should have been diagnosed originally and only charge the difference between the correct repairs and previous payments. The repairs were completed and payments reconciled as agreed.

12/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was trying to do a full pool maintenance and got quote from this company and another local company. They gave me an estimate of $500-$600 range so I choose them. Their workers came couple of times and told me that I need to have my sand filter replaced so that they could do the cleaning job. I agreed and scheduled them to have the sand filter replaced which cost me $2000+. I think this may help them to do the cleaning job. After replacing the sand filter, the maintenance guy came couple of times to have the pool cleaned. Since the pool is pretty big, the guy may visit multiple times a day. He may come to throw in some chemicals at 9am, and came back to take a quick look at 11am but not ready; he may come back at 1pm and look again. Until he felt the chemical has done the job, he will do some work. After they claim its done, I got another bill of $1100 charged to my credit card. I got in touch with them and they send me the bill marked 12 working unit of 1/2 hour. Basically every visit is counted as 1/2 hours working even just came and take a quick look. They also charge aggressively on materials. In my case, I myself provided all Chlorine and some other Chemicals that I was requested to buy myself by the maintenance guy (from Aqua Quip again). I tried to get in touch with their manager and what I get is a high level bill with so many working hours & materials but there is no detailed work sheet with my approval at all. I don't really authorized this charge

Desired Settlement: As they've done their work, I asked for partial refund or providing detailed billing details w/ my approval (signature of worker's coming and working for 1/2 hour or something similar). Given their original $500-$600 estimate, I am willing to in that range or something similar but not the doubled amount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/04) */ We understand that spending $932 on a pool cleaning seems expensive but when a pool has been neglected for a long time, its just not a simple visit. When we first arrived the pool only had three feet of water. We explained to you that you never leave a fiberglass pool in that state because it can "pop". The prices that you are stating would maybe cover what it takes to balance a freshly filled pool with tap water. Your pool had extensive algae and debris in it which takes time to remove and chemicals to treat. Once your pool was filled, we came out and noticed the filter was leaking profusely. We sent out our service technician to do a repair and he recommended due to the condition and age of the filter that it be replaced. We never recommended it to aid in the cleaning of the pool even though it did help. I provided a proposal for the filter replacement and it was accepted. We did the work per the bid and billed it accordingly. We bill on an hourly rate and per visit on a "pool clean up". We do not provide bids on "clean ups" because we are unable to tell what is in the bottom. I never spoke with your agent and still he has never contacted me about any quote we provided. The guys out in the field do not provide any quotes. They only come from our corporate office like the one you received from me for replacing the filter. Due to this work being completed in August- nearly 90 days ago- I would be happy to issue the customer an in-house credit for $250.00 This credit can be used for any future purchases either in our stores or for work performed by our service department. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/11/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have talked to **** before about this issue and I think he is aware that I moved out the house already. I don't have a pool to clean any more. I am asking for cash back in stead of store credit. The hourly rate is all on your side and you never get me signed any document per visit. Honestly if you charge me $2000 you can still say it is your hourly rate but can you prove it? I am a reasonable person. When you sent me the proposal of filter replacement, I did not complain a word as it makes sense. This charge obviously does not! Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/11/15) */ Thank you for the response and follow up. I will be morer than happy to issue a credit in the amount of $250.00 to the customer. My records indicate that the original payment was made by credit card. We do not retain credit card information. Please have the customer contact me directly with the credit card information. I will process the credit to the card once we get confirmation that this will resolve the customer's complaint. Thank you, ***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Aqua Quip
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)