BBB Accredited Business since

Clock Tower Self Storage

Phone: (360) 651-7500 Fax: (360) 659-8936 8119 State Ave, Marysville, WA 98270 http://www.urbanstorage.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers self storage services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clock Tower Self Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Clock Tower Self Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Clock Tower Self Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 08, 2005 Business started: 07/01/1977 Business started locally: 07/01/1977 Business incorporated 03/17/1998 in WA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Julia Reed, Office Administrator Ms. Shannon Woldseth, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Julia Reed, Office Administrator
Business Category

Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Alternate Business Names
Clock Tower Self Storage Marysville LLC Urban Storage

Additional Locations

  • 8119 State Ave

    Marysville, WA 98270 (360) 651-7500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I called the office to inquire about the rates I was given a different amount then when I went there in person. When I called the office they quoted me $31.00 as the rental fee...when I went there in person they added $9.95 onto the rental fee. I told them I didn't want insurance and they told me it was required. I hva been wondering for months if that was legal to make me pay for the insurance I didn't request.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be paid back the amount I paid in unwanted insurance. I was in a traumatic state when I signed the insurance agreement as I was suffering from a robbery of all my electronic belongings from my conversion van.I am 80yrs old and it threw me into PST state of mind.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/21) */ We apologize for any confusion in pricing information conveyed in the initial contact with this customer. However, we had thought we resolved this by renting the space at the quoted price which is below the monthly rental fee. Insurance is required at our location and this information is explained during an inquiry call or email. During our initial paperwork and setup process with each customer we explain that we do require insurance. Customers may provide proof of their own insurance or we offer an affordable option through ***********************. In our rental agreement that ***** ****** signed it does state we require every occupant to have insurance on stored goods. During the move in process we also review this requirement. Coverage amount ($2,000.00) for a $9.00 per month fee was initialed and signed by ***** to bind coverages with ***********************. ***** has been a customer since December of 2013 and has been paying for this coverage since then. If she would like to cancel the $2,000.00 coverage she signed up for through *********************** she is more than welcome to however, she must provide proof of insurance while renting at our location. Insurance is required to protect our customers and their stored goods. Just like binding coverage for a car or for a home, we want our customers to be protected. If ***** bound this insurance coverage mistakenly, and can provide us with proof of homeowners or renters insurance back to December 2013, we would be happy to credit her account for the fees that she has incurred for the insurance. We look forward to the resolution of this matter.

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 5 March 2014Hello Better Business Bureau:I am writing you because I dont know where else to turn. Can you please give me some guidance in what possible steps I can take to get some help, my story is as follows:My husband and I began storing our household goods with Clock Tower Storage in Marysville, WA (unit ***** in July 2011 when my husband deployed to Kuwait for a year. May 23rd 2013 my husband discovered that our storage unit had rodents in it; so my husband met the exterminator at the unit (2 days before he started military orders down at Fort Lewis) so traps could be set. My husband returned to the unit (July 6th) to grab something and he could not get in. Our key no longer worked on the lock. He returned July 9th and ******* was working in the office that day and told my husband that there have been problems with those locks malfunctioning. He said he would have drilled the lock out for us, but that the drill was at the Everett location. ******* told him to come back the next day and it could be drilled out. Later that day we got a call from ******** He said I would need to be there in order for the lock to be drilled out since I was the one who signed the lease. So the next morning we went down to the Clock Tower office in Marysville and we were met by an unfriendly worker who said he, works in Everett and doesnt have authority to drill in Marysville. After explaining to him our situation he refused to help us. I asked him to call the manager to which he responded that she was on vacation and would not answer her phone. After many words were exchanged he reluctantly said he would call the district manager. That manager didnt answer his phone, so I asked the fellow who was working about how long it takes to get a response usually from that manager. The guy responded with 5-10 minutes. I had several things to get done that day so I asked the guy to give me a call back once his manager got back to him, he said he would. I never did receive a call from Clock Tower that day.Since having a baby at the beginning of May and battling an illness (along with caring for our other children) I was unable to go to the storage unit without assistance from my husband who was now on orders to Fort Lewis. The next opportunity we had to get to the unit was Sept 9th (I had left a copy of my photo id during the last visit saying my husband has authority to have someone drill the unit lock) so from July 9th-Sept 9th we were unable to access our unit, but still paying rent on it ($360.98). Sept 9th ******* was working and happily drilled the lock for my husband. What my husband discovered next was the unthinkable.someone had been in our unit. Everything was thrown around boxes opened and emptied, furniture broken to pieces. My husband found the back of the lock that ******* had drilled out as it had a nice clean cut, then lying next to the new lock was our old lock which had been drilled out by a thief (not so clean and in cobwebs). So now we know that the reason we couldnt get into our storage unit wasnt a mechanical problem with the lock, but that someone had drilled out our lock and replaced it with their own. ******* was able to pull up the records on the computer and showed my husband that someone had accessed our unit 3 times without inserting our access code (June 24(very short period) and July 11 and 12). Why didnt an alarm go off? These dates lead me to believe that our lock was drilled on June 24th and they looked in the unit, then came the other two days to go through the unit and take what they wanted. If you remember I earlier stated that we met an unfriendly employing not willing to help us on the 10th of July, had the employee helped us like we were told the perpetrator would not have had access to our unit on the 11th and 12th.Back on July 14th my husband received a phone call from *** ******* in Lynnwood. Someone had brought in a bunch of my husbands military gear and sold it to them, they found a piece of paper with my husbands info and decided to investigate. At the time we had no reason to believe someone had robbed us so we just thought the incident was weird. Thankfully *** ******* allowed my husband to purchase back his stuff. In light of our unit break in we now understand how *** ******* got my husbands military gear.We found ourselves with a HUGE mess on our hands. ******* the manager of the Marysville Clock Tower Storage informed us that she couldnt help us and that the help would have to come from her boss. She gave us ***** ******* (her boss) number. My husband contacted him and ***** asked us to email ******* with the details, which I did. Since then my husband has made several calls to *****, but has not heard anything back from him. I have written Clock Tower as well and have not had ANY response back from them. Thankfully we have insurance with a $1000 deductible, but as we were trying to go through our items to see what is missing we were faced with the severity of the mice damage too (which we found out was NOT COVERED). Our unit reaked of urine. We had mice feces and urine on everything, there was not one area of the 10X30 unit that the mice or thief didnt touch. Our house contents from a 2300 sq ft home were in this unit. Which means that we spent nearly $5000 dollars in rental fees to store our household belongings only to have things ruined. One thing that really annoys me is that while I was signing papers to lease the unit, the gal working pointed out to me (on more than one occasion) that I had to punch in my code EVERYTIME I accessed my unit otherwise an alarm would go off and the police would be notified and in turn I would be charge a fee. My question is where was the alarm when the thief was accessing my unit the THREE times? Any assistance you can give me would be wonderful.Thank you for your time,***** ********** Account_Number: unit ****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We would like the company pay for our insurance deductible ($1000). We also feel like our rent to them during this time (nearly $5000) should've protected our goods from the theft and rodent damage, but instead that money was given to Clock Tower so our household goods could be destroyed. We did one dump run and it cost us $27. We lost ALL our mattresses and box springs (1 king set, 1 queen set, and 5 twin sets) and would appreciate these to be replaced ($6000). The loss was great, help is nice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/04/24) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****, Office Admin. Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: **********@urbanstorage.com This is in response to a complaint from ***** and ***** ********** regarding Clock Tower Self Storage in Marysville, WA. During the summer of 2013 we discovered rodent activity in the same building the *********** were renting in. We contacted the *********** at this time and asked them to move to a unit in a different building as a precaution, but they refused. This would have included hired help to assist in moving their belongings to a new unit. After ***** ********** declined our offer, we had ***** ********** sign a statement on May 22nd, 2013 that he was refusing to move - acknowledging the potential risk. (This documentation has been attached.) In effort to correct the issue, we called our pest control company and had them come out and meet with ***** ********** to put traps in the unit. (Receipt for this trip for the *********** is attached - this expense was paid by Clock Tower Self Storage.) Upon vacating their storage unit the *********** abandoned many items including a barbeque grill heavily caked with grease and food which we believe contributed to the rodent issue in their unit. Storage of any food items is strictly prohibited and there is language stating this in the rental agreement signed by ***** **********. On June 24th, 2013 while out of the office we had an alarm notification on our security system. As soon as the employee onsite returned to the office he went to inspect the unit. He found it locked, with no evidence of tampering; no shavings on the ground, no damage visible to the lock, door, nor anything indicating that the unit had been tampered with. The employee thought a tenant may have followed another tenant through the entry gate when access has been granted. Although we have policies in place and signage to alert and remind all tenants this is not allowed, sometimes actions of this nature are out of our control. When it was later learned that there was an alleged break in of their unit, we provided immediate assistance to the *********** and the local police. We also gave the *********** a secondary 10x25 unit to inventory their items. This unit was in their possession for four months. During this four month period we did not charge the *********** rent on this additional space which totaled over $1,100.00. We also contacted the local police after reviewing the security system and access codes to provide law enforcement with personalized access code logs and specific details on our findings to help solve the case. After the ********** inventoried their belongings, ***** ********** came in to the office on January 16th, 2014 while our manager was on duty. He made a comment to the manager that as long as we would dispose of the the remaining items still in the unit at our cost and waive any remaining rent on their account, they would consider the incident report was closed and taken care of. The manager contacted the Area Manager for approval of the customer's request and the Area Manager approved Mr. *********'s request to remedy the situation. In regards to the issues of loss and damage the *********s have claimed, we referred them to their insurance provider noted on the original paperwork they had signed in order to rent. Our rental agreement requires all customers storing with us to provide adequate insurance coverage for their property as we do not have care and custody of tenant's goods and therefore are unable to insure the contents of a tenants unit. We do feel that this is an unfortunate and rare situation and we have made every effort to provide the best service we could to remedy the situation. We would like to assist with the payment of the deductible for the loss and damages they have claimed. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2014/05/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While we gladly accept monetary help from the company and are grateful for their assistance, I do not accept their response for several reasons: The company did not contact us about the rats in our unit, we discovered them ourselves. While the company did offer another unit for us to move into, they did not offer help to move. I had just had a baby and was fighting an infection while my husband was gone due to the Army mobilizing him. We did not "abandon" any items, we had talked with management and were told the company would help us by getting rid of the items we no longer wanted. We contacted the police and had them meet us at the unit after we discovered the break in. The manager on duty did not offer immediate assistance, instead at this point she tried to explain away the situation as rats being the reason for our unit being ransacked. As for the cost of the other unit they gave for the four months I don't see how its cost came to $1100 when we only paid $188 a month for a much larger unit (about 3x the size of the one they gave us to use for inventorying our household items). While my husband did go into the office and ask the manager if the company would dispose of the damaged items he never asked for any rent to be waived. We paid our monthly rent throughout this whole experience. Had the company responded to our situation we would not have taken the steps of contacting the BBB. We are not looking for a lawsuit. When the corporate office contacted us they were very professional and prompt in responding to emails. The case worker was very apologetic to our situation. Through this experience I hope the owner of this facility will learn to communicate with his customers in a professional way.