This business is not BBB accredited.

Mountains Plus

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 686-8002 View Additional Phone Numbers 2448 76th Ave SE Ste 220, Mercer Island, WA 98040 http://www.mpgear.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is an online retailer of outdoor sporting goods specializing in high end and hard to find products.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mountains Plus include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Mountains Plus include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Mountains Plus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 2003 Business started: 07/01/1996 Business started locally: 07/01/1996 Business incorporated 11/01/2003 in WA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Erik ViaFore, President Mr. Brian Hayes, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Erik ViaFore, President
Business Category

Sporting Goods - Retail Clothing - Retail Internet Shopping Bicycle - Dealers Camping Equipment Mountain Climbing Equipment Ski Equipment - Retail

Alternate Business Names
MPG LLC MPOG, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mountains Plus has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2448 76th Ave SE # 100

    Mercer Island, WA 98040 (206) 686-8002

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2448 76th Ave SE Ste 220

    Mercer Island, WA 98040 (877) 411-4327

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 14, 2014, I placed order # ************ for a Swift Ochrana Bike Bag in the amount of $337.50. On January 16, 2015, Mountains Plus withdrew the $337.50 from my account but did not ship the Bike Bag. I contacted Mountains Plus in February via email (Colby C**** - *****@mpgear.com) to inquire about the status of the shipping since I did not receive a shipping status or the product itself. They replied that it was delayed due to the bag having difficulty clearing customs. I re-contacted them in May and continuously afterwards and have not gotten any reply. I also posted on their Facebook page with no reply. I also called their store and they never answered their phone. Colby said that I could get a refund if I did not want to wait for the bag. I want a refund. I can provide emails as proof of the dialogue.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of $337.50 since the product was never shipped to me.

Business Response: Very sorry for the delay in responding to and correcting this customer issue.  Sadly we have closed our doors are are no longer in business.

I was, however, able to find the customer's transaction and refund the appropriate amount.  He should see the refund to his MasterCard shortly.


Thank you again,
Erik

5/22/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an tent + footprint for $399 (Big Agnes Copper Spur UL3 **Includes Free Big Agnes Footprint!** (TCS314)) which they advertised as being advertised online as "In Stock". They called me back and told me it would take a few weeks. I am patient and understanding so I said that would be fine. Now 3 months after reassuring me 4 times when I have called inquiring where my tent is they tell me they can sell me the tent without the footprint for the same price ($399) as I had purchased their advertised price of tent+footprint. This is clearly false advertising and they have held my money for 3 months without paying me any interest on it. I purchased this tent in January when prices were low on purpose. Now camping season is here and prices are higher. The tent is still in being manufactured and is very easy to get a hold of so availability is not an issue. With a quick google search I found the tent and footprint on several websites.

Desired Settlement: They should provide me with the tent + footprint for the advertised price, Give me $80 for the footprint since I can purchase the tent for $399 + $80 footprint, or compensate me at a fair price for the time that it takes for me to source a new one. I have PhD in engineering so I assure you my time doesn't come cheap.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Mountains Plus
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart