BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/1999

Spa Depot, The

Phone: (360) 956-3997

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues9
Problems with Product / Service17
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints30

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (30)BBB Closure Definitions
07/25/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Late delivery of products

Complaint: On May 23, 2014, I placed an order for a custom spa cover. I chose Spa Depot as they advertised a 10 day manufacture time for the covers and an additional 3-5 business days for delivery. I paid through credit card. As of the week of June 10, I had not heard from the company at all and called to investigate delivery. The representative told me on the phone that my order was done and I should be hearing from shipping "any day". I still did not hear from the company and placed a call on June18 inquiring again. This time I was told they are "far behind in production" and it would be another 2 1/2 weeks till the cover is completed. That would be a total of 7-8 weeks for the cover. I explained I needed the cover and the reason I chose them over other companies was the delivery time. The representative told me they could not get the cover done any sooner, and I could cancel the order. I asked for a discount as any cover I order now from anywhere else will still take another 2-3 weeks, and this delay was far beyond reasonable based on their advertising and that I had received NO NOTICE of any delay which could have allowed me to order elsewhere. He offered $10 off a $329 purchase.

I received an email only today that there is a 3 week delay in production. This is one day short of one month from my order.

Initial Business Response
Dear ********* ********,
I am very sorry you have been put through this ordeal as this level of service is unacceptable. We were blindsided by the production facility regarding the delays as they were inundated by a very high level of orders. Much confusion ensued as the back log continued to grow and information from the production facility became erratic. At The Spa Depot we have always prided ourselves in superior customer service, and this circumstance has been very humbling for us. We did not do a very good job in addressing these delays with our valued customers and now we are endeavoring to rectify this situation as soon as possible.
Your request for a 30% discount is very reasonable and I would like to add an additional $50 in store credit you could use for any future purchase. Again my apologies for this huge inconvenience this has caused you and we would love the chance to win you back as a customer. Please let us know if this is acceptable to you and I will make the discount and credit happen.
I just checked the production facility database and it shows your cover is in production. Once it is completed you will receive shipping tracking information.

Thank you,
***** ******
Customer Care Manager



M-F, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm Pacific Time
www.SpaDepot.com

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/21/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: May 21st I ordered a hot tub cover from Spa Depot, order number XXXXXXX. Spa Depot advertises 7 days to manufacture the cover and 7 days for delivery. The cover arrived at ***** warehouse June 18th, where I was to be phoned to schedule a delivery date and time. I never received a call from *****, so I call Monday June 23rd. I'm told that Spa Depots account has been frozen due to lack of payments, and that ***** won't be releasing the cover to me until Spa Depot makes right on their account. I call Spa Depot and they inform me that they will make a payment and get this resolved. The next day I contact *****, and try to pick up the cover myself from their warehouse bypassing the company altogether, and was turned away. ***** says that Spa Depot made a payment, but it wasn't enough to unfreeze their account. I then call Spa Depot back, and I'm told that yes they made a payment, but ***** never told them how much to pay so they guessed on how much money to send. I inform Spa Depot that it wasn't enough, and they put me on hold to talk to their accountant. They then inform me that, they'll make another account payment tomorrow the 25th. I call ***** back the 25th to see if a payment was made and if I can pick up the cover. ***** replies that yes a payment was made and that a manager must unfreeze the account, and as a result I was again turned away. I call back again the 26th and still the account is frozen. I'm being played by two different corporations over a $416.05 hot tub cover that I paid in full over a month ago, and would like to see some resolve.

Initial Business Response
July 17, 2014

Dear Valued Customer,
I am very sorry you have been put through this ordeal as this level of service is unacceptable. We were blindsided by our new production facility regarding the delays as they were inundated by a very high level of orders. Much confusion ensued as the back log continued to grow and information from the production facility became erratic. At The Spa Depot we have always prided ourselves in superior customer service, and this circumstance has been very humbling for us. We did not do a very good job in addressing these delays with our valued customers and now we are endeavoring to rectify this situation as soon as possible.
As we transitioned to the new production facility, we encountered several communication issues in need of resolving, one of which was the Accounts Payable function. After much effort by all parties, everything was finally rectified, but not before you were inconvenienced.
Even though you finally received your spa cover June 30th, it was 40 days after you made your order. This certainly is not within the timeframe you were expecting when you made your good faith purchase with The Spa Depot. With that said, I would like to extend to you a $100 in store credit that could be used for any future purchases.
At The Spa Depot we very much appreciate your business and it is our hope that you will give us another chance to show you what we are capable of doing.

Sincerely,
***** ******
Customer Care Manager

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: We ordered a spa cover with a lift from Spa Depot on 11/15/13. The first cover was to be delivered on 11/20/13; did not show -- delivery company finally contacted to set appointment for 11/21/13. No show. Reset appointment between 2-6 on 11/22/13 -- contacted them at 4 pm to see if we were still on schedule. Was informed package was out would be delivered by 6. Received text message around 7 pm that the package was returned to delivery facility. I contacted Spa Depot. After convincing me to order another cover and wait with the guarantee that if it did not go through fully satisfied that they would give a 100% refund of all items ordered plus no return shipping expenses.

Item was finally delivered with box retaped and damaged (mind you, it was delivered the day before Thanksgiving -- I had a house full of 35 people!). After inspection, we discovered underside of cover was punctured and a rip in the skirt of the spa cover. I was informed by ******** that they had "GOOD NEWS". They were going to send me a repair kit to repair the tear myself. I paid almost $800 for a damaged cover AND I get to repair it????? Then upon letting him know I was contacting BBB and disputing it on the credit card; he offered to have the manufacturer pick it up to repair it or send me a new vinyl cover with a $100 credit.

Initial Business Response
The Spa Depot sincerely regrets any inconvenience ********* has experienced as a result of freight damage. ********* contacted us on November 19, 2013 to notify us that *** Freight had returned her spa cover to the delivery terminal due to transit damage. A replacement was put in to production and was shipped via ***** freight on November 21, 2013.

********* called and spoke with me on November 19, 2013 and asked that I provide a written guarantee that should her second spa cover arrive with damage, we would issue an immediate refund for her cover (purchased for $587.95) and arrange for return of the other items on her order. I explained that while a second cover arriving damaged is extraordinarily rare, we would arrange for a refund provided the second cover was inspected and refused as damaged as outlined in the Spa Cover Terms and Conditions (http://www.spadepot.com/shop/Custom-Spa-Cover-Terms-and-Conditions-W66.aspx).

********* contacted us via email on November 27, 2013 to notify us that her replacement cover was damaged in transit. Unfortunately, the item was accepted without prior inspection. Upon review of photographs of the damage, I explained to ********* that the minor tear in the vinyl exterior of the cover could be permanently fixed with a patch kit which we would provide at no cost, and this cosmetic damage would have no impact on the item's 5 year warranty. ********* rejected this offer and indicated that she would dispute the transaction as fraudulent with her credit card company. After further negotiation, she agreed to a brand new vinyl exterior and $100 courtesy refund.

The Spa Depot certainly understands *********'s frustration with the freight damage and we have acted in good faith to resolve her concerns in a fair and timely manner. *********'s replacement vinyl is currently in production and is scheduled to ship on December 12, 2013. Once installed, this will return her spa cover to brand new condition. Additionally, as previously agreed in our email exchange, we will issue the $100 refund towards her total purchase upon receipt of the vinyl exterior and confirmation that no dispute action has been taken with the credit card company. *********'s total compensation is $225, consisting of a $100 refund and new vinyl valued at $125. This constitutes a significant discount on her cover purchase of $587.95 and is the total amount of compensation available.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
We have verified that ********* has not initiated a dispute per our agreement and have issued a $100 refund. The credit may take 5-7 business days to appear on her account, depending on the financial institution.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: i purchased in nov 2012 a super tub i have had several problems with the filter falling off and also the control panel leaked we almost got electrocuted the panel flooded the electrical box and the room all spa depot did was send us new parts we have no idea how to instal and check for safety they will not send anyone out to help or send us a new tub

Initial Business Response
The Spa Depot sincerely regrets any issues *** ****** has experienced with her Supertub. I spoke with *** ****** on July 29, 2013 and explained the warranty terms of her Supertub, which does not provide on-premise labor coverage past 90 days. *** ****** purchased this product November 14, 2012 and the warranty (see attached) is held by *****************. The Supertub's warranty is for 1 year, with labor covered for the first 90 days. *** ****** contacted ***************** regarding water damage to her spa controls and was sent a replacement part. Per the warranty terms, *** ****** is responsible for the labor costs involved in this repair, however The Spa Depot is happy to provide free technical guidance to a qualified service person. As for possible replacement of her tub, this would require prior return authorization by the manufacturer and *** ****** would be responsible for freight charges associated with returning the hot tub.

*****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
i would like toknow how much the freight charge would be to return this unit and get a new one

Final Business Response
Per the warranty terms, return authorization must be obtained from the manufacturer. Total freight charges are estimated at approximately $500. This estimate does not constitute approval to return the Supertub or any promise of replacement as this must be obtained directly through *****************.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/19/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Spa Depot sold us a spa cover in 2009, (DuraTherm) they claim is made with premium grade marine vinyl and warrantied for 5 years against material defects un-prorated. We live in a very mild climate (Monterey , Ca). The top of our spa cover completely disintegrated at year 4. I emailed the Spa Depot with pictures. They acknowledged that the pictures clearly show that the top of the cover's vinyl degraded severely. Their response though was that it must have been my fault for using harsh chemicals or pesticides, therefore the warranty was void. I have never used anything but water to clean the top. They basically sell a cover that was apparently made with low grade vinyl, and have no intention of honoring any warranty.

Initial Business Response
The Spa Depot sincerely regrets that *** **** has experienced issues with his Duratherm spa cover. The warranty for this product is held by ***********************, and *** **** submitted his claim on 8/30/13. The warranty terms (see attached) stipulate that the product must be returned for inspection at the customer's expense, however the manufacturer generally requests photographs in order to expedite warranty service and eliminate return shipping costs for our customers.

*** **** submitted several photographs which clearly illustrate serious degradation in the exterior vinyl and plastic that surrounds the foam cores. Damage of this type is generally the result of environmental causes, chemical issues, or abuse, and is not covered under the warranty. Furthermore, *** **** also included an image of the center hinge of his cover and cover lifter, and the metal and foam lifting device also appears to be corroded, strongly suggesting the damage was caused by chemical or environmental factors.

*** **** has suggested that faulty vinyl is the reason his cover has failed, however our vinyl is purchased in quantities of 10,000 - 50,000 yards at a time, meaning that a true defect would impact a tremendous number of customers. Our manufacturer is not aware of any large-scale issues affecting customers with the same style vinyl that *** **** purchased.

Despite the fact that our manufacturer has made a final determination on the warranty claim, The Spa Depot has offered *** **** a $50 courtesy discount on a replacement cover. This offer is still available and *** **** is welcome to contact The Spa Depot to order a discounted replacement.

*****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*****

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 5
12/09/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: The ********** spa cover that we purchased from Spadepot has a five year warranty. It is 3 1/2 years old and so heavy that it can hardly be lifted. ********** refuses to make good on their warranty and when I contacted Spadepot concerning the fraudulent advertisement of the warranty when thermalock doesn't actually make good on their warranty, Spadepot's representative supported ********** in their wiggling out of their warranty.

Initial Business Response
The Spa Depot sincerely regrets that *** ******* has experienced issues with her Duratherm spa cover. The warranty for this product is held by ********** ************* and *** ******* began her warranty inquiry on September 24, 2013. The warranty terms (see attached) stipulate that the product must be returned for inspection at the customer's expense, however the manufacturer generally requests photographs in order to expedite warranty service and eliminate return shipping costs for our customers.

*** ******* submitted several photographs which clearly illustrate noticeable discoloration and brittleness of the vinyl material on the underside of the cover. This sort of material degradation is indicative of chemical or ozone damage and is not covered under the warranty.

While our manufacturer has made a final determination on the warranty claim, The Spa Depot has offered *** ******* a $50 courtesy discount on a replacement cover. This offer is still available and *** ******* is welcome to contact The Spa Depot to order a discounted replacement.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
essentially, nothing has changed. They will still find an excuse not to warranty it. It's a crock.

Final Business Response
The discoloration on the underside of the cover is evident in the photo *** ******* submitted (see attached). If *** ******* would prefer to return the cover per the warranty terms, we can obtain a return authorization from the manufacturer. The return shipping cost will be at *** *******'s expense, and we suspect the warranty determination will be the same.

We are still willing to offer a $50 courtesy discount on a replacement cover. *** ******* is welcome to call The Spa Depot at her convenience to place the order.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

07/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: I submitted an order for a spa lid through the company's website. The order was accepted and confirmed and my credit card was charged. From the website and the confirmatory e-mails, the price was fixed and included free shipping. I even received an e-mail that they had started the fabrication of the lid in Florida and that I should expect shipment in about 7 business days. Afterwards, a customer representative informs me that the shipping is not free after all and that an additional $59 will be charged. This rep confirms that I have a valid contract, but doesn't see this to be part of the binding terms. I expect that once a contract is entered into that it will be respected and not subject to unilateral alteration. If a mistake was made it was wholly on their part and I should not be the one who has to make it good.
I can provide the entire history through e-mail traffic if that is desired.

Business' Initial Response
The Spa Depot sincerely regrets any inconvenience experienced by Mr. ******. Our records indicate Mr. ****** submitted his order via spadepot.com on 7/15/13. Prior to finalizing his order, Mr. ****** confirmed his acceptance of the Spa Cover Terms & Conditions which stipulate that additional freight charges may apply in certain situations based on the delivery address. Mr. ****** resides in Washington D.C. and additional limitations and restrictions apply to motor freight deliveries.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Nothing has changed since I filed my complaint. Although SpaDepot acknowledges that they entered into a valid contract, they refuse to honor its terms. The company cites language in their Terms and Conditions as the reason for not fulfilling their obligations. However, the citation (involving extra charges for delivery to areas not accessible by tractor-trailer) does not apply to my home, which is readily accessible. The company is willfully engaging in false advertising by promising, but ultimately refusing to provide, free delivery.

Business' Final Response
Mr. ****** was promptly notified about the additional delivery fees and his order was held pending payment for the freight surcharge. We have since canceled his order and issued a full refund. If Mr. ****** wishes to reorder, a delivery surcharge of $59 will apply.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

03/12/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/23/2012Delivery Issues
07/11/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Internet Shopping

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.