BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/07/2005

Pacific Bioscience Laboratories Inc

Phone: (425) 285-4000Fax: (425) 283-0710

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues9
Problems with Product / Service16
Total Closed Complaints30

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (30)BBB Closure Definitions
06/18/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Manufacture refuse to provide warrant without reciept. But I purchased with my credit card, with the statement they have all info. But they refuse to honor.

Initial Business Response
We have reached out to Ms. ** to gather more information. Upon receipt and verification of the information we requested, we will follow up with Ms. ** for next steps. We apologize for any inconvience experienced.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: I purchased a Clarisonic Mia right around two years ago. I use it regularly for the first few months. I hadn't used it in a while, but got it out recently and wanted to charge it. The unit would not stop buzzing once plugged in, so there was no way to charge it. I called customer service and was told I had "undercharged" the unit and that you could never over charge it, but if you didn't charge it regularly it would undercharge so much that it could malfunction. I was told there was nothing they could do about it and that if I had purchased the Mia 2, they could probably help me since the warranty is longer and then the representative said "If only you'd spend $30 more dollars." I was shocked by the response, considering the units are not cheap and are a bit pricey. I was encouraged to purchase a new one, but quite frankly, why would I? Why would I remain loyal to a company that does not value customer service or their customers when their products are defective? I didn't know I was suppose to charge it on a certain schedule or it would just die forver. I didn't even know that was possible! My friend encouraged me to report this as she researched and saw that others too had encountered the same issue. While a $100 plus paperweight might sound good to someone else, it most certainly doesn't sit well with me.

Initial Business Response
We were able to speak directly with Ms.******* on 04/29. Her issue has been resolved to her satisfaction. We apologize for any inconveninece. Thank you for being a Clarisonic customer.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Replaced my Clarisonic Mia with a Clarisonic Mia 2. Very happy to still have a Clarisonic! :)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/07/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor money-back guarantees

Complaint: I purchased a Clarisonic Mia 2 at *************** and am dissatisfied with the product. It made my face break out. I contacted Clarisonic to return the product via the 90-day money back guarantee. After reviewing my receipt, I was told that they would not honor the money back guarantee because I used a gift card at the spa. My husband bought the gift card for me with cash. I used the gift card to buy the Mia 2. At the time that I purchased the Mia 2, I saw the money back guarantee on the box so I thought I'd give it a try. It doesn't say anywhere on the box or on the website about any exclusions, even purchasing with a gift card. I feel this is false advertising and want to return the Mia 2 via the 90-day money back guarantee.

Initial Business Response
Clarisonic does have a 90 day money back guarantee on purchases made at authorized retailers with cash, credit card, or check. Per the receipt faxed by Ms. *****, her purchase was made by gift card. Gift card purchases must be returned to the original place of purchase for full return or store credit based on the merchant's return policy. We apologize for the inconvenience this may cause; however, the original place of purchase will need assist with this return request. Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: I received the Clarisonic Mia last year as a mother's day gift. I used it about four times and put it away. When I went back to use it, it was not working. I attempted to charge it and it was not charging. I called the customer service area for about two weeks and was only getting a recording. I chose another option to speak to someone and she said she will send an email to that area for someone to contact me. I then sent an email and someone named ******** responded and asked me a lot of questions including my address, phone number, serial number, how often I was charging the handle, etc. I responded and then I got an email telling me to charge the unit in a different room and based on the informatio my product does not qualify for warranty replacement.

Initial Business Response
We have connected with Ms. ******. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced. This issue has been resolved to her satisfaction. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received my replacement unit today. Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

01/30/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: Have not received replacement product for merchandise my daughter received for christmas.
item is clarisonic plus "whimsy" and does not charge on doc. no lights come on and will not work. had registered item and per rep covered and will send new one. (lavendar in color as whimsy not available.) It is not here yet and I have spend over two hours on hold to speak with rep and both times told a new one to replace will ship right away!

Initial Business Response
The replacement device is scheduled to arrive today, January 15th. We apologize for the delay. Thank you for the opportunity to resolve your concern and for being a Clarisonic customer.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 6
02/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a repair estimate or agreement

Complaint: I have E-mailed Clarisonic and because I have lost my cash receipt after purchasing from Ulta Beauty Supply in Round Rock Texas they are refusing to replace and or repair I have paid over $100.00 for this face mia scrubber.

From: Clarisonic Customer Care mailto:****@support.clarisonic.com
Sent: Sunday, December 29, XXXX X:XX AM
To: ***** *******
Subject: RE: Warranty Questions (#XXXX-XXXXXXXXX-XXXX)

Dear Customer,
We apologize for the inconvenience, without the receipt we are not able to replace your mia.

Best,

Customer Service Team

Initial Business Response
We have contacted *** ******* to advise of our warranty policy. Unfortunately, we are unable to provide a replacement at this time. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for your inquiry.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The warranty policy is outdated by a few weeks not years and Pacific Bioscience Laboratories Inc dba Clarisonic that makes beauty supplies cannot even repair this non working product forcing the consumer to either buy another one or not having one at all which is sad when a consumer pays over $100.00 for thier product that became a bad purchase and investment!

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

05/13/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/04/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Skin Care, Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies, Cosmetics & Perfumes - Retail, Manufacturers & Producers

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.