BBB Accredited Business since

Don Landis Shell Service

Phone: (253) 759-7021 2518 N Stevens St, Tacoma, WA 98406


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair and gasoline.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Don Landis Shell Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Don Landis Shell Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Don Landis Shell Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 23, 1991 Business started: 01/22/1981 Business started locally: 01/22/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Business Management
Ms. Gertrude Landis, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Gertrude Landis, Owner
Business Category

Service Stations - Gasoline & Oil Auto Repair & Service


Additional Locations

  • 2518 N Stevens St

    Tacoma, WA 98406 (253) 759-7021

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car in because my "check engine" light was on and I wanted the car serviced so it would clear. I was not told any estimate when making the appointment or during any phone call. When the mechanic contacted me, I was told that they could not read the Volvo codes and I needed to take it to the dealership. I returned the call with the code reasons and asked them to look at those things and get back to me. I received a call later that day stating that my car was "ready to be picked up." When I asked if they had fixed it, I was told that they couldn't and it needed to be taken to the dealership. The following day when I went to pick it up I was charged $139.95 + tax ($153.25). When I argued about the charge, I was told that I needed to pay $150 for the emissions waiver. I clearly stated when making the appointment that I wanted my car serviced. I never discussed paying a fee to attain an emissions waiver. When I took the car to receive an emissions test, it was discovered that the codes given to me at the Shell station were not the codes on my car's computer. Not only was nothing fixed, but I wasn't given accurate information to have it fixed.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $153.25 returned.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/03) */ TO: ******* *********** Lead Accredited Resolutions Consultant FROM: ****** ***** SUBJECT: Case # ********* ******** ******* Chain of events: 3-10-2014 Customer brought in car because it failed an emissions test on 01-02-2014. 3-11-2014 Technician began diagnostics with a scan tool to check codes. The codes that were set are not supported by the diagnostic program that we use in the shop. The technician informed the customer of this and suggested that she take her car to the dealer and there would be no charge for the time he had into the car. The customer asked for and received the code numbers that were set. She called back and with the code descriptions. Using the provided code descriptions and wiring diagrams and a smoke machine to preform pin out and other tests it was determined that the car needed a throttle actuator assembly and an evap canister. Due to the special tool involved to replace and program these components she was informed that we were unable to repair her car and the best place to take it for the needed repairs would be the dealer. She was also told that diagnostic fee for the time that the technician had into her car was enough to get a waiver from the state for her tabs. 3-12-2014 The customer came in and picked up her car, paying the bill of $153.25. The customer was upset that repairs had not been made to her car. It was explained to her once again that the repairs need to fix her car could not be performed here and why. She then left with her car. 3-20-2014 ***** ***** from the Department of Ecology came in and told us that he received a complaint letter from the customer. Copy enclosed. From: *** ******* mailto:**********@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, March 19, 2014 12:34 PM To: ****** ***** ***** Subject: comment form ******** ******* XXX-XXX-XXXX **** N ******* Street Tacoma, WA XXXXX License Plate: ******* VIN: YV1SW58DXXXXXXXXX I brought my car into Landis Shell because my "check engine" light was on and I wanted the car serviced so it would clear. Landis Shell was selected because it is a 'certified emissions specialist". I was not told any estimate when making the appointment or during any phone call. When the mechanic contacted me, I was told that they could not read the Volvo codes and I needed to take it to the dealership. I returned the call with the code reasons and asked them to look at those things and get back to me. I received a call later that day stating that my car was "ready to be picked up." When I asked if they had fixed it, I was told that they couldn't and it needed to be taken to the dealership. The following day when I went to pick it up I was charged $139.95 + tax ($153.25). When I argued about the charge, I was told that I needed to pay $150 for the emissions waiver. I clearly stated when making the appointment that I wanted my car serviced. I never discussed paying a fee to attain an emissions waiver. I told the employee this and she said that I was paying to receive a waiver. When I took the car to receive an emissions test, it was discovered that the codes given to me at the Shell station were not the codes on my car's computer. Not only was nothing fixed, but I wasn't given accurate information to have it fixed. I question the integrity of this service station and suggest that the status of "certified emissions specialist" be revoked. What is the point of checking emissions if service stations are simply charging $150 to grant a waiver without attempting to make any repairs to the automobiles. Thank you, ******** ******* 3-20-2014 continued In our discussions with Mr. ***** we came to the conclusion that there must have been a miscommunication between us and the customer. We came to the conclusion that she must not have been completely aware that the charge of the $139.95 + tax was a diagnostic fee only. We determined this by her comments in her letter to Mr. *****. We told Mr. ***** that we were sorry about the misunderstanding and that we would refund ******** ******* the sum of $153.25. He told us that would be good and that he would not revoke her tabs even though the refund would mean she had not meet the requirements to receive a waiver for the failed emissions test. He also stated that he would contact her as well. Copy enclosed. From: *****, ***** (ECY) Sent: Thursday, March 20, 2014 4:00 PM To: *** ******* Cc: ********* **** (ECY) Subject: RE: comment form Hello again ******** Thank you again for bring this issue to my attention. I have reviewed the information regarding your experience while taking your Volvo in for emission related work at Landis Shell. I spend time with both the technician (*****) and the owner of the business (also his mother) I went over the correct procedures to follow when working on anybody's vehicle. At the conclusion of my review with them, they agreed to offer you a complete refund for the service they performed for you. Between the different people that took the car in after hours and the lack of needed details as to what your expectations were on the repair order, no estimate being provided and the lack of any proper codes during the On Board Diagnostic test procedure you paid for, it appears it was an unfortunate but not indented oversight and miscommunications on the business part, and to fill out a proper repair order to make sure everyone understood what was to be done including what charges will be incurred. Again, they apologized numerous times to me and indicated they would contact you to process the credit card refund as soon as they got a hold of you. I see from the record that you did receive a repair waiver using the invoice and costs from Landis Shell. The shop has been on the Emission Check Program for many years, and this is the first complaint we have received about them-we do not have sufficient information to warrant any revocation of their Authorization status at this time-but they will certainly be changing how they process customers and fill out repair orders from now on. Hope that this will satisfy your concerns. ***** ** ***** **** *** ******* I&M Program Desk # (XXX) XXX-XXXX FAX # (XXX) XXX-XXXX *******@ecy.wa.gov 3-20-2014 Continued We then called both numbers that we had for the customer, leaving her the message that we were sorry for the miscommunication and to call us so we could resolve the situation. 3-21-2014 We called the customer again to apologize and to please call us so we could resolve the situation. 3-24-2014 The customer returned our call and talked to *****, the technician that preformed the work on her car. He apologized to her for the miscommunication over the fee and told her the he would be happy to refund her the fee of $153.25. He also told her that she would have to come to the station so we could refund it back to her credit card. 3-25-2014 3:06 P.M. ******** ******* came into the station and we refunded the sum of $153.25 to her credit card account. 3-27-2014 9:30 A.M. ***** called Mr. ***** and left a message that the customer had come in and received a full refund for the diagnostic fee. 1:30 P.M. Spoke to Mr. ***** on the phone and told him that the customer had received a refund. He said that she has not responded to his calls or the letter he wrote to her. Mid afternoon We received your letter. Conclusion: Before the customer contacted the Department of Ecology and BBB, she received a waiver to obtain the tabs on 3-12-2014 for her car because of the signed emissions paper she received from us on 3-12-2014. Because we refunded her the fee, and Mr. ***** did not revoke her tabs due to the refund, she has received a waiver for her tabs without spending the state required $150.00 or more toward diagnostics and repairs toward correcting the emissions failure. We feel she no further reason to complain and that the issue is solved ******** ******, Owner & Operator cds