BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2014

Intelius

Find a Location

Phone: (425) 974-6100Fax: (425) 974-6199View Additional Phone Numbers500 108th Ave NE Ste 1660, BellevueWA 98004-5500 Send email to InteliusView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a search program for public records.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2014

BBB has determined that Intelius meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Intelius' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 708 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

On February 22, 2012, BBB recognized a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding billing issues. Consumers allege they were not aware of a monthly fee when signing up for a one-time purchase. Consumers claim the monthly fee is from an Identity Protect Service enrollment, which includes a free seven-day trial period and monthly charges of $19.95 thereafter.

According to BBB files, Intelius has worked with BBB to improve the language on its Web site to clearly and conspicuously disclose all terms to consumers regarding the Identity Protect Service, and has updated its purchase page to require consumers to opt-in to this program as well as create a username and password.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

708 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 111 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues122
Billing / Collection Issues324
Delivery Issues6
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service255
Total Closed Complaints 708

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Intelius
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (708)BBB Closure Definitions
03/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized service

Complaint: I want my personal information off of their site and they require you to fax proof of ID. I'm not faxing my driver's license to some company, I don't even know of. This is their procedure:

In order for us to suppress or opt out your personal information from appearing on our Website, we need to verify your identity. To do this, we require faxed proof of identity. Proof of identity can be a state issued ID card or driver's license. If you are faxing a copy of your driver's license, we require that you cross out the photo and the driver's license number. We only need to see the name, address and date of birth. We only use this information to process your opt out request. Please fax to XXX-XXX-XXXX and allow 7-14 days to process your request. We will only process opt out requests received by fax and no request will be processed without complete information (i.e., name, address and date of birth). Requests for opt out will not be processed over the phone or via email.

Sincerely,
Intelius Customer Care

This is my PERSONAL information, and I want it OFF of their site. I'm not faxing anything that can lead to identity theft!

Initial Business Response
Managing personal information through the Intelius opt-out service is just one step in eliminating its availability. There are many other sites that may provide similar information found on our site. Public records sites, search engines, social networking sites and other online companies provide different levels of information about individuals.

We have removed the requested information from the Intelius database, as well as affiliated sites.

We recommend Ms. ************** review our privacy policy located on the Intelius website at https://www.intelius.com/privacy.php.

Additionally, it is important to remember that the Opt Out procedure is temporary. Intelius is constantly updating their database with new public records. It is possible that an individual may need to resubmit an Opt Out request for any new records that may have been added to our database since their last Opt Out request. While we are unable to anticipate how, when, or if information will reappear on our site, we will be more than happy to remove an individual's information upon request.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this issue and apologize for any inconvenience.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized service

Complaint: I have had to work through the Attorney General's office to remove my personal information from this company's website despite having followed their "policies" on numerous occasions.

I perform a search of my name and I come up Google searches, despite now from being removed from their website. I have tried working through their webmaster with no luck and because its a live site, Google cannot remove it.

Initial Business Response
Managing personal information through the Intelius opt-out service is just one step in eliminating its availability. There are many other sites that may provide similar information found on our site. Public records sites, search engines, social networking sites and other online companies provide different levels of information about individuals.

We have removed the requested information from the Intelius database, as well as affiliated sites. Google is not our site so we have no direct control over the information appearing in their search results. We are more than happy to contact Google on *** *******'s behalf if she can provide us with the hyperlink(s) for Google.com where she is seeing the information appear and indicate which listing(s) she would like removed from their search results.

Also, we recommend Ms. ******* review our privacy policy located on the Intelius website at https://www.intelius.com/privacy.php.

Additionally, it is important to remember that the Opt Out procedure is temporary. Intelius is constantly updating their database with new public records. It is possible that an individual may need to resubmit an Opt Out request for any new records that may have been added to our database since their last Opt Out request. While we are unable to anticipate how, when, or if information will reappear on our site, we will be more than happy to remove an individual's information upon request.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this issue and apologize for any inconvenience.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: My name and age is added to their database. I am 49 years old and unemployed. Now I am being discriminated by employers when they see my age posted on their website.

I don't understand who gave them the right to post my age and even my past companies in their product.

Please help.

Initial Business Response
Intelius solely collects and compiles the public records and publicly available information. Local, state and federal agencies make updates to public records. The information can come from sources such as: marketing surveys, land deeds, catalog purchases, voter registrations, lawsuit filings, court records, magazine subscriptions, and address changes.

We are more than happy to remove the requested information from the Intelius database, as well as affiliated sites. We have no listings for "****** ******** in Alhambra, CA." We ask that *** ******** provides the hyperlink where she is seeing the information appear on our website and indicate which listing specifically she would like removed.

We recommend *** ******** review our privacy policy located on the Intelius website at https://www.intelius.com/privacy.php.

Additionally, it is important to remember that the Opt Out procedure is temporary. Intelius is constantly updating their database with new public records. It is possible that an individual may need to resubmit an Opt Out request for any new records that may have been added to our database since their last Opt Out request. While we are unable to anticipate how, when, or if information will reappear on our site, we will be more than happy to remove an individual's information upon request.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this issue and apologize for any inconvenience.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: Paid $1.99 to look up an address and have been charged without permission or knowledge two payments of $19.99.

Initial Business Response
Intelius customers are presented with a two tier pricing structure when purchasing reports on the Intelius website. They have the option of paying the full price, or a discounted promotional price which includes a free trial of the Intelius Premier Membership offered through Intelius. When a customer selects the promotional price, they are redirected to a full page display that describes in detail the benefits of the membership and the terms and conditions of the offer, including billing. By choosing to proceed with the purchase at the promotional price, the customer agrees to the terms and conditions of the promotional offer.

In this case, the promotional offer was accepted and the Intelius Premier Membership was activated.

As requested, the Intelius Premier Membership was canceled and on 01/28/2014 a refund was issued for all membership charges in the total amount of $39.90. The refund will appear on *** ******'s statement ($19.95x2) in one of the next two billing cycles, depending on the closing date.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this matter and apologize for any inconvenience.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

01/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: I ordered a background check on an employee. As described on the website, everything was included, including criminal background but it was not. They charged my card and added me to a membership, I didn't sign up for a membership, only asked for a background check. I emailed to cancel my membership and for a refund as it wasn't meeting the expectations as stated on their website. But no communication has been responded to me regarding the 100% satisfaction refund if not satisfied. They did however, send me an email about my membership, which I didn't want a membership. Please help me and cancel this and get me my refund!Thanks so much**** ******************
Product_Or_Service: Background check
Order_Number: Order #XXXXXXX******

Initial Business Response
Intelius' policy is to use all applicable means to deliver the information service to our customers. The information we provide is gathered from selected public records and other sources. Local, state and federal agencies make updates to public records. The information can come from sources such as: marketing surveys, land deeds, catalog purchases, voter registrations, lawsuit filings, court records, magazine subscriptions, and address changes. This data is compiled into a comprehensive public record search that Intelius maintains with active updates from its sources.

We want *** ****** to be fully satisfied with their purchase from Intelius. Since she was not completely satisfied with the orders purchased from Intelius, we have processed a refund of all charges in the total amount of $89.85 to her account. On 1/17/2014 $19.95 was refunded to her account. On 01/22/2014 the remaining charges of $19.95 and $49.95 were refunded to her account. This refund will appear on her statement in one of the next two billing cycles depending on the closing.

We sincerely appreciate your cooperation in resolving this matter and apologize for any inconvenience.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 133
11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized service

Complaint: Intelius has again posted my PERSONAL information online. I demand it be removed now. They refuse they want me to send even MORE information including a picture id. I am not sending them more information when they should not have any and have NO LEGAL right to any of my information. I do not owe them an explanation do not request do no beg do not explain. IT IS MY RIGHT! Nor do they have a right to demand a picture of me. THis is ILLEGAL. I have NEVER had any business with them I do not want to do business with them. They have NO RIGHT TO be collecting data on me and using, selling, posting etc.

Initial Business Response
Managing personal information through the Intelius opt-out service is just one step in eliminating its availability. There are many other sites that may provide similar information found on our site. Public records sites, search engines, social networking sites and other online companies provide different levels of information about individuals.

We have removed the requested information from the Intelius database, as well as affiliated sites.

We recommend you review our privacy policy located on the Intelius website at https://www.intelius.com/privacy.php.

Additionally, it is important to remember that the Opt Out procedure is temporary. Intelius is constantly updating their database with new public records. It is possible that you may need to resubmit an Opt Out request for any new records that may have been added to our database since your last Opt Out request. While we are unable to anticipate how, when, or if information will reappear on our site, we will be more than happy to remove any of your information upon request.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this issue and apologize for any inconvenience.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Totally unacceptable response and the BBB knows it. The BBB has made no good faith effort to remain even neutral in this process by allowing this response. The company should have addressed the issue!
It is MY RIGHT not to have MY PERSONAL INFORMATION posted on their website for them to collect ANY information on me and/or sell post distribute publish in any from to anyone period. Do I make myself clear? This is not a request for special favors for me. This is my right to control my PERSONAL INFORMATION. I am not a customer of theirs have no desire to be one or have anything to do with them.
I also do not have to "review the opt out policy." I AM NOT A CUSTOMER YOU DO NOT DICTATE OR ORDER ME TO DO ANYTHING!
It is also not acceptable to state that it is temporary. I am not BEGGING, ASKING REQUESTING I AM TELLING YOU vile corrupt people to PERMANENTLY REMOVE MY INFORMATION AND STOP COLLECTING ANY DATA NO ME RIGHT NOW!!!!


Final Business Response
Intelius solely collects and compiles the public records and publicly available information. Local, state and federal agencies make updates to public records. The information can come from sources such as: marketing surveys, land deeds, catalog purchases, voter registrations, lawsuit filings, court records, magazine subscriptions, and address changes.

As previously stated, we have removed the information from the Intelius database, as well as affiliated sites.

We recommend *** ***** review our privacy policy located on the Intelius website at https://www.intelius.com/privacy.php.

Additionally, our Opt Out procedure is temporary. It is possible that an individual may need to submit an Opt Out request for any new records that may have been added to our database since their last Opt Out request. While we are unable to anticipate how, when, or if information will reappear on our site, we will be more than happy to remove an individual's information upon request.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this issue and apologize for any inconvenience.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

05/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: While it appears that Intelius has blocked my information, traces of the information still exists in these 6 URLS:

http://www.intelius.com/Find-Phone-Address/Cleveland-NC/******-*******.html

http://www.intelius.com/Find-Phone-Address/Cleveland-NC/***-*******.html

http://www.intelius.com/Find-Phone-Address/Cleveland-NC/***+***-*******.html

http://www.intelius.com/Find-Phone-Address/Raleigh-NC/***-*******.html


http://www.intelius.com/Find-Phone-Address/Raleigh-NC/******-*******.html

http://www.intelius.com/Find-Phone-Address/Raleigh-NC/***+***-*******.html

Business' Initial Response
Managing personal information through the Intelius opt-out service is just one step in eliminating its availability. There are many other sites that may provide similar information found on our site. Public records sites, search engines, social networking sites and other online companies provide different levels of information about individuals.

We have removed the requested information from our website as well as the database. The hyperlinks that have been provided generate whatever information the user enters into the search field. The variables in the URL for First and Last Name can be manipulated and it will show on the page. The only reason the page displays "****** *******, *** *******, or *** Ann *******" is because that was what was entered on our website. None of the search results that were returned contain any of *** *******'s information.

We recommend *** ******* review our privacy policy located on the Intelius website at https://www.intelius.com/privacy.php.

Additionally, it is important to remember that the Opt Out procedure is temporary. Intelius is constantly updating their database with new public records. It is possible that an individual may need to resubmit an Opt Out request for any new records that may have been added to our database since their last Opt Out request. While we are unable to anticipate how, when, or if information will reappear on our site, we will be more than happy to remove an individual's information upon request.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this issue and apologize for any inconvenience.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, I do not accept Intelius' response. I have tried to negotiate with a company who is not willing to negotiate. There is no reason why a no index meta tag could not be added to the page's contents to prevent them from being listed on search engines.

Business' Final Response
We have removed the information from the Intelius website, as well as the database. The hyperlinks that *** ******* is referring to generate whatever information the user enters into the search fields. The variables in the URL for First and Last Name can be manipulated and it will show on the page. We are not able to prevent an individual from searching for the information. The only reason the page displays "****** *******, *** *******, or *** Ann *******" is because that was what was entered on our website. For this reason we are not able to prevent the name from appearing on our website. However, we have removed the requested information so that it will not be returned in our search results.

As previously stated, Intelius is constantly updating their database with new public records. It is possible that an individual may need to resubmit an Opt Out request for any new records that may have been added to our database since the last Opt Out request. We are unable to anticipate how, when, or if the information will reappear on our site, however, we will be more than happy to remove an individual's information upon request.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this issue and apologize for any inconvenience.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

04/15/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/15/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/20/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 10
05/15/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Intelius is reporting two names which are related to a massive identity theft case in my name. I was the victim of identity theft in 2002, 2007 and most recently my identity was used to file fraudulent tax returns. The two names involved in the theft are **** Kate **** and **** ******** **** and are related to theft that happened regarding checks issued to an incorrect name and address. The checks were returned to the branch and I was told that they were canceled but they were obviously not. The **** ******** **** account that Intelius is reporting is for Maryae **** and is listed for an Oklahoma resident. Maryae **** was the name printed on the checks.

Business' Initial Response
Intelius solely collects and compiles the public records and publicly available information. Local, state and federal agencies make updates to public records. The information can come from sources such as: marketing surveys, land deeds, catalog purchases, voter registrations, lawsuit filings, court records, magazine subscriptions, and address changes.

We have removed the requested information from the Intelius database, as well as affiliated sites.

We recommend Ms. **** review our privacy policy located on the Intelius website at https://www.intelius.com/privacy.php.

Additionally, it is important to remember that the Opt Out procedure is temporary. Intelius is constantly updating their database with new public records. It is possible that an individual *** need to resubmit an Opt Out request for any new records that *** have been added to our database since your last Opt Out request. While we are unable to anticipate how, when, or if information will reappear on our site, we will be more than happy to remove an individual's information upon request.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this issue and apologize for any inconvenience.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is typical. Your organization should be investigated by the FBI. I will not be providing my information to you. You are not an credit agency and only exist to provide sleazebag creditors and identity thieves with the information to do their worst. I would never provide you with anything let alone my drivers license. You need a cat scan if you think that people who are not bottom feeders would do anything in conjunction with you.

Business' Final Response
As previously stated, we have removed the information from our website as requested by Ms. ****.

To accurately suppress data, we recommend that individuals follow the 'opt out' process found on the Intelius website at http://www.intelius.com/privacy.php . Please review the "How to Remove your Information from the Intelius Public Records Databases" section of the policy. They can submit an opt-out request online at https://www.intelius.com/optout.php, fax to XXX-XXX-XXXX, or submit it via mail to:

Intelius, Inc.
Attn: Opt Out Dept.
P.O. Box 808
Bothell, WA XXXXX-XXXX

We do require an individual's identity to be verified prior to processing an opt-out. To do this, we request that proof of identity be submitted along with the removal request. Proof of identity can be a state issued ID card or driver's license. When uploading, faxing, or mailing a copy of a driver's license, we require that the photo and the driver's license number be crossed out. However, we do need to see the name, address, and date of birth to ensure that all information is removed from our database. If an individual does not feel comfortable faxing us their driver's license or other state issued identification; they can send a notarized statement of their identity.

We appreciate your cooperation in resolving this issue apologize for any inconvenience.

Complaint Resolution: The parties could not provide sufficient information to support their positions nor were they agreeable to make reasonable efforts toward resolving the issues of the dispute.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Searchers of Records, Screening - Background & Employment, Information Bureaus

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/28/2008Business started: 01/01/2003
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2005, WA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Naveen Jain (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Amanda Hardwick (Lead Offline Specialist)
Business Category

Searchers of Records, Screening - Background & Employment, Information Bureaus

Hours of Operation

Monday-Friday
5:00am-6:00pm
Saturday-Sunday
6:00am-4:00pm

Alternate Business Names
Intelius Screening Solutions, Talent Wise, PublicRecords.com, Inome Inc, CreditReportsAndScores.com, eLookup.com, PublicRecords360.com, TrueRep.com
Industry Tips
LexisNexis Risk Management Engages With Better Business Bureau To Help Verify Validity Of Small Businesses

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Intelius

500 108th Ave NE Ste 1660

Bellevue, WA 98004-5500

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 500 108th Ave NE Ste 1660 

    Bellevue, WA 98004-5500(425) 974-6100
    (866) 338-6739
    (866) 974-6188
    (425) 974-6194

  • PO Box 4145 

    Bellevue, WA 98009-4145

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Intelius is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 338-6739
  • (866) 974-6188
  • (425) 974-6194
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.