BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/07/2005

Guardian Roofing LLC

Phone: (253) 926-9966Fax: (253) 926-0974View Additional Phone Numbers417 99th St E, TacomaWA 98445-2017 Send email to Guardian Roofing LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing and roof repair, gutters, masonry work, and carpentry services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/07/2005

BBB has determined that Guardian Roofing LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Guardian Roofing LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Guardian Roofing LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
04/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Company was contacted for a leaking roof issues, salesman immeadiatly said the valleys needed to be cut back 2 inches and that was the cause of the water intrusion, I said it appeared that the water was coming from higher on the roof (chimney area) I was assured that this would fix the water intrusion at a cost of $2165.00 upon completion of the work which appeared to be clearly cosmetic and in no way changed how the water was directed into the valleys, again I had water coming into the house. The company was summoned again to diagnose the location of the water leak and this time he confirmed that the chimney was probably the issue after 3 guys climbed all over my roof wrapping the chimney in a tarp and cracking numerous tiles and ridge caps which I had to replace or repair myself, I shared my displeasure with the salesman who said they could redo the chimney siding for 2875.00 plus tax. I got 2 other estimates for the same job and materials both were in the 750.00 range. I am extremely displeased at how this company first did work that was only cosmetic in nature, and rather than doing the right thing to fix the real problem they came out broke a bunch of tiles and left me with a tarped chimney unless I wanted to shell out another 2875.00. I hope others that use this company have better luck than I did.

Initial Business Response
We appreciate the customer and want to make the customer happy. In this situation the work being "cosmetic" is untrue. The customer was told at the time of the estimate that the chimney could be a problem. It was clear that the valleys were clogged with debris, and would continue to be a problem. The customer chose to only do the valley work. We are willing to discuss this with the customer directly, and work towards a solution. It needs to be clear that using the BBB as leverage did not need to happen. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Company owners made very timely contact with me to resolve the issues- Owners were very proffessional and took the time to listen and took the steps to "Make it Right" This business I believe has done a good job to keep this customer complaint a priority.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Guardian replaced our roof 4/22-23. They damaged our vinyl siding during the install. The installers slit every vinyl corner on our upper floor to install metal flashing and left a hole in a piece of siding behind our chimney. It looked shoddy and we complained about it.

At first, they said that was the only way they could guarantee the new roof wouldn't leak, but sent their Quality controller to check. ***** determined that they had damaged the vinyl corners and scheduled a date to fix it.

Guardian called to say they could only find 3-1/2" corners, not the 4" corners we have. We found **************** who said they had 4" corners and passed the information to Guardian. Guardian waited until the install date to drop by **************** and found they weren't in stock, but had to be ordered. They called to cancel. I had taken time off to monitor the repairs.

On the 6/7 repair date, we were expecting a 10am arrival. It was 3pm before ******* arrived. That cost another day off. He brought 4" corners, but they do not match the existing corners. We agreed he'd replace the most damaged corner and would do what he could to fill, repair, paint and seal the rest. He was unable to fix everything in one trip and stopped another day to touch up other finish problems.

One thing that has never been addressed is the mess Guardian left in our attic. The old bathroom vent ducts were left hanging from the trusses. Insulation was not put back around one fan box, cardboard protectors are is disarray, and the plywood cutouts for the new roof vents and other refuse are scattered throughout the attic space. We sent an email with pictures, but received no response.

In the middle of this, Guardian sent an unsolicited $195 check marked "Reimbursement for damages."

Initial Business Response

Guardian Roofing
CASE ********
Customer : ***********

I would first like to say that we are shocked and dismayed by this complaint. The reason I say this is because although the **** family did express dissatisfaction, and there were a couple hiccups along the way we never rejected responsibility. We made numerous efforts to satisfy the homeowner, and would have continued with those efforts if we had known they were not happy. To our knowledge, (Which is documented and attached) they were happy with the solutions we provided. Otherwise we would have immediately done whatever would have made them happy. This is why we are so confused by this. We are willing and have shown the desire to do whatever is necessary to make them happy. Yet we are faced with a complaint? It doesn't Seem fair.

Myself, and the team at Guardian Roofing regret when any customer is less than happy with our service. We take our reputation as well as our record very seriously. (As demonstrated by serving over 1000 clients annually without unresolved complaints) We have several redundancies built in to Our job delivery system to insure that if a customer is not happy they receive the care they need to come to a fair and equitable solution. Included in the response to this complaint will be sections of that system that show that the customer was asked on several occasions if they were happy with the service. We will also respond to how we handled concerns the customer alerted us to , and then checked again if they were happy. And in closing we will address our proposed solutions to the issues in the complaint.


Attached are two different documents, one is a Guardian Roofing zero defects checklist (post job inspection), the second is the contractor completion certificate that signals the finance company to release funds for the job in the name of the customer. Both are dated 4/23/2013. Both state that the job was finished and is satisfactory to the customer. *********** signature is on both. In addition to that when the job was turned in from the crew our office called the **** residence the following business to ask if they were happy. At that point we scheduled (as is our procedure) our Quality control person to check out the entire project and make sure it is up to Guardian Roofing Standards. It was at this point that the customer mentioned they were unhappy with the look of the corners of the siding. It is important to note that this information was found by Guardian Roofing proactively checking in to make sure the customer was happy.

The corners of the siding are not damaged. The corners were in fact cut to put the flashing for the walls through. There are three choices in this situation. One would be to remove the trim and wrap the flashing under it. Typically this would involve removing two rows of siding, and trim. There is risk of damage at that point. In addition the siding and trim may or may not want to sit down correctly after the flashing is wrapped under it. In order for the roof to be installed with the manufacturers recommendations in mind it needs to go up the wall. The technicians on site were trying to install the best solution that would produce a warrantable roof and the best look. When our Quality Control person went to the home, he agreed to work through the situation and that we would get new corner pieces to try and make the corners look better. At that point we went to work trying to find new corner boards. It is important to note, the amount of nails in the siding made it highly likely that new corner boards would be needed. Also in the attached is a copy of the contract. Initialed in the contract is the extra work clause. This states that additional work not included in the contract (no corner board replacement was included) will be chargeable at $60 per hour plus the cost of materials. The customer was well aware of this. First the customer singed a change order for other extra work on the property, second, the customer signed the proposal review checklist, number 8 in that document states that the charges associated with extra work were explained. When the technician noticed that the siding and flashing under was installed incorrectly and would need to be altered, this in fact should have been a chargeable item to remove and install new corner boards. He instead tried to come up with a solution that would not cost the customer any money.

After *****, Quality control went to the home. We contacted our suppliers and asked them to find the corners needed. The suppliers checked with were **********************, *************, *** *****, and ****************. They all told us that the size of the corners did not exist. We were very thankful when ********** let us know he found them at the company that installed the siding. At that point it was ordered immediately. The supplier gave us the date it would be there. We scheduled the repairs for the next day. On the day that the material was supposed to be at the supplier we called to confirm that it was in stock. The company told us would be in P.M. we called again in the P.M. and they said it has showed up. At that point they were going to close. When we arrived at **************** they told us they had made a mistake and the material was not in yet. The assumption, and accusation that Guardian Roofing simply waited until the install date, is incorrect. In addition the customer did not need to be home for the work. If in fact work time was missed that was the customers choice.

0n the day of the final repairs, *******, the technician discussed with the ****s the fact that the installation o fthe siding made wrapping the corners problematic in some areas. He presented a solution to paint the flashing white to match the trim in some areas, and wrap the areas that did not have the siding nailed tightly in the corners. THE CUSTOMER AGREED TO THE SOLUTION so ******* proceeded and the client signed off on the work. Evidenced in the clients ownwords where it says in the complaint "we agreed he'd replace........" Late that afternoon the technician ran out of time. He came out on a Saturday (when the rest of Guardian is closed for the weekend) to finish some of the touch up.

We have checked all of our email address and have been unable to find any notice that there was anything left in the attic. We do try to prepare the customer that the attic space will in fact get some stuff in it. In the proposal review checklist this is item number 5. If in fact we missed an email we are very sorry. However if you look at the ends we go to and have gone to, communicating with the customers I would hope it is understood that it was not intentional.

When the company purchased the corner trim for ************** ****s siding it cost $195.00 The production department asked book keeping to issue a check for that amount, and that it was for the corner boards on the **** job, The invoice for **************** was attached. That invoice became unattached which lead the book keeper to believe that the check needed to be sent to the ***** residence. She then found the invoice and send another check to ****************. This was actually
confirmed at close out of Junes' books, which happened on the 10th, the same day we received the call that there was a complaint.

Guardian Roofing was above board on all communications with the customer and worked very hard to make them happy, and responded to EVERY item we were informed of that made them unhappy. In fact we found out about unhappiness through calling them and asking if there was anything we could do better. When they were unhappy we went to extra expense to try and rectify that. Ironically this is an expense that the customer agreed contractually to be charged for. The corner trim was ordered from the siding contractor that ********* informed us of. Not matching is unfortunate. We ordered the exact product ******** informed us of.********* did not have to he home during installation or any touch up work. With the debris in the attic, we would have been happy to send a person to remove it and hall it away, although it states in the proposal review checklist attached and stuff would fall in the attic. Unfortunately ********* does not want us at his home. The $195 should have never been sent.

At this point we have the rest of the corner trim that was purchased for the home in our office. We would be happy to ship them to the residence. At that point ************** can use the $195 We already sent them to do what they wish. It is important to note that any work on the flashing by another contractor or person, will void the warranty on that area only. In addition we would like the complaint rescinded. The people in our organization are not perfect, but we take pride in our record. To file a complaint without even letting us know there is an issue, especially when we have reacted to all other concerns makes us question the validity of the process.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the Guardian response for the reasons listed below:

First, Guardian sent a response that was faxed upside down. This was probably accidental, but made our response more difficult.

Paragraph 1 - I was just as shocked and dismayed with the damage to my home by a company who is so highly rated by the BBB and Angie's List. There were multiple hiccups that if I hadn't complained about would have led to future damage to my home.

Guardian made two efforts to satisfy us. The first one failed due to lack of parts. The second one was their "final repairs" which ******* performed on 6/3/2013.

Paragraph 3 - I regret signing both documents. I was asked to sign the zero defects checklist while standing on the roof of our two story home on 4/23/2013. I was told by the crew boss that they needed both signed before they could leave. I had already had them fix two places they left unprotected in our roof and siding. It was 8:00pm and I just wanted them to leave. I put my faith in Guardian's guarantee and reputation.

The Guardian office did call the following business day. *********** claims this was proactive. My phone records that show I called******, Quality Control, at 7:56am on 4/24/13 to express my dissatisfaction. When Guardian did call, it was to schedule****** to review my claim.

Paragraph 4 - The vinyl corners of our siding were cut with roofing knives. They are damaged. Both Guardian and I have pictures that any reasonable person would call damage. I can forward or post them for review.

The extra work clause was explained and agreed to for the 8-9 sheets of plywood and labor needed to repair damage identified by the crew. I agreed to the $1000 change order.

At no time was I made aware of the need for an additional change order. The crew expressed no concerns with the amount of nails in the siding or that the siding and flashing was installed incorrectly and would need to be altered.

Paragraph 5 - Guardian called around the time they were scheduled to arrive on-site to say the parts were not available and that they would have to reschedule. I stand by my assumption.

Due to prior performance, I did need to be there to review the work.

Paragraph 6 - ******* did not once mention an issue about siding nailed tightly in the corners. ******* spent 3 hours making repairs and camouflaging the damaged vinyl corners with paint and sealant. The repairs are the best he could do. They are as indicated on job form "okay."

******* called me directly on Saturday. He said he was in the area and it would save him a trip if he could stop by to repaint the vent cap.

Paragraph 7 - On 5/16/2013, I replied to ************* emailed E-Warranty with a description of the damage and two attached pictures. I received no response.

Pictures of the attic debris was texted to******'s cell phone. I received no response. I also mentioned it to ******* on 6/7/2013, but he ran out of time.

Paragraph 8 - Guardian did not and has not responded to the refuse in my attic.

Guardian did not call us. We called them.

The exact information I gave on the vinyl corners was the it was 4" wide and white. Not being a vinyl contractor, I did not expect different styles.

Would you let a contractor who had messed up, work on your home without supervision?

The attic debris is not little chips of wood or small pieces of roofing material, it is the vent cut outs and old vent ducting.

Paragraph 9 - We would like the rest of the corner trim. We will try to exchange it for the proper design or use it to replace all the corners so they match.

I'm sure our siding company will say their warranty was voided by Guardian's removal and reattachment process.

I know the Guardian crew worked hard. I watched them for two very long days. I believe the crew boss knew I wasn't very happy with the way the crew literally cut corners and I let the appropriate Guardian Quality Control employee know that the next morning.

No one is perfect. This complaint was filed to show that to other consumers.


Final Business Response
Guardian Roofing would first off like to thank our customer for picking us in the first place. Our response to the complaint was simply to show that we have processes in place to insure we do not have unhappy customers, and that we followed those processes. We can also understand that the customer "regrets" signing the zero defects form and the job completion form for the punch list item.
Items such as e-warranties are send on an auto basis and responses to those emails sometimes do not find anyone. It is our understanding that the customer already has been send approximately $190 dollars.
We content, and stand by the fact that this is a misunderstanding and the complaint did not need to happen.
Guardian would be happy to send the corners to the customer with a check for $250.00 for someone to remove and replace the corners. After that is done we could send a tech to take a look at the corners and make sure the customer does not have any problems with the fascia after some one else works on it. We would also be happy to send someone to clean the debris out of the attic.
We would like to complaint to be withdrawn, simply because if we had known we would have reacted.

thanks again,
************
Guardian Roofing

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/20/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Mason Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Carpenters, Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/07/2005Business started: 11/01/2005
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW
Tumwater, WA98501-5414
(800) 647-0982
http://www.lni.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Aaron Santas (Member)Ms Lori Swanson ( Member)Mr Matt Swanson (Member)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Mason Contractors, Gutters & Downspouts, Carpenters, Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Guardian Roofing LLC

417 99th St E

Tacoma, WA 98445-2017

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 417 99th St E 

    Tacoma, WA 98445-2017(253) 926-9966
    (253) 538-8000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Guardian Roofing LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (253) 538-8000
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.