BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/26/2006

Armstrong Roofing

Phone: (253) 237-4726Fax: (253) 320-74984331 S Union Ave, TacomaWA 98409-4526 Send email to Armstrong Roofing

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential roof, chimney, skylight repair services as well as pressure washing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/26/2006

BBB has determined that Armstrong Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Armstrong Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Armstrong Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
12/31/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/04/2012Problems with Product / Service
03/06/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March 2011, Armstrong Roofing LLC tore off the existing roof and installed new 15# felt, flashing, and 30 year Owens-Corning laminant shingles. Armstrong also replaced several sheets of plywood sheathing. Approximately four months later, I thought the roof was beginning to sag around the sky lights. A few months later, several other individuals started to comment that the roof was sagging around the sky lights as well as other areas. I contacted **** ****** in the spring of 2013, and he came out and looked at the roof. **** acknowledged that the roof was indeed sagging around the sky lights, but did not comment the other areas. **** called later that day and suggested that some staples were rusting and causing the roof to sag. He offered to split the cost to repair the area only around the sky lights, but failed to address the other sagging areas. I called him back and agreed to have him proceed with the repairs as described around the sky lights. However, I have not heard back from ****, and several other areas are beginning to sag or worsen.

Initial Business Response
In response to this, this home has structural damaged around the skylights. These are repairs that have nothing to do with roofing.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In the response from Armstrong Roofing LLC, the contractor acknowledges that the roof is sagging worse now than before the new roofing materials were installed. I am willing to work with the contractor to correct the problem but, I feel I should not incur the cost associated with the replaced roofing materials (e.g., felt, composition, nails, labor, etc). Again, I believe the contractor should have identified any obvious structural defects by walking the roof and prior to installing new materials.

Final Business Response
I did not cause the saging, when we installed the roofing the saging was not or did not look as bad as it does now. Not sure how it is saging and not leaking. To resolve I think the homeowner should pay me to figure it out if it is a results of something I did I will correct it no charge if it is not my fault I do not think I should have to pay for fixing it.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Pressure Washing, Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal, House & Building Movers, Gutters & Downspouts, Chimney Builders & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/13/2013Business started: 07/01/2006New Owner Date: 12/30/2013
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission
1300 S Evergreen Park Dr SW
Olympia, WA98504-7250
(888) 333-9882
http://www.wutc.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW
Tumwater, WA98501-5414
(800) 647-0982
http://www.lni.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Contact Information
Principal: Ms Maribel Garcia (Owner)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Pressure Washing, Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal, House & Building Movers, Gutters & Downspouts, Chimney Builders & Repair

Hours of Operation

Monday-Saturday
7:00 am - 6:00 pm

Industry Tips
Planning a Cost-Effective Move
Relocating Across State Lines? Know Your Rights and Responsibilities
Spotting Rogue Movers Before They Have Your Goods

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Armstrong Roofing

4331 S Union Ave

Tacoma, WA 98409-4526

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4331 S Union Ave 

    Tacoma, WA 98409-4526(253) 237-4726

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Armstrong Roofing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.