This business is not BBB accredited.

Armstrong Roofing

Phone: (253) 221-7663 3108 S 9th St, Tacoma, WA 98405 http://www.armstrongroofing.com ! There is an alert on Armstrong Roofing !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential/commercial roof, chimney, skylight repair services as well as pressure washing services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Armstrong Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 13, 2013 Business started: 07/01/2006 in WA Business started locally: 07/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982
BBB confirmed that Washington Department of Labor & Industries suspended the license of Armstrong Roofing.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Troy A Wagner, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Troy A Wagner, Owner
Related Businesses
Armstrong Custom Roofing
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal Pressure Washing Chimney Builders & Repair Gutters & Downspouts House & Building Movers

Alternate Business Names
Armstrong Custom Roofing
Business Management

According to business license information from Washington Department of Revenue, Troy Wagner is the principal of several roofing companies in Washington. BBB files indicate that Troy Wagner is also affiliated with Armstrong Roofing. Separate BBB Business Reviews are available for these companies.

Armstrong Roofing: http://www.bbb.org/alaskaoregonwesternwashington/business-reviews/roofing-contractors/armstrong-roofing-in-tacoma-wa-22786111

Armstrong Roofing: http://www.bbb.org/alaskaoregonwesternwashington/business-reviews/roofing-contractors/armstrong-roofing-in-tacoma-wa-22027566

Armstrong Custom Roofing: http://www.bbb.org/alaskaoregonwesternwashington/business-reviews/roofing-contractors/armstrong-custom-roofing-in-tacoma-wa-90002398


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3108 S 9th St

    Tacoma, WA 98405

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1/12/13 they installed a new roof with new plywood that was rotten. now my roof is leaking and is trying to charge me 821.25 to fix a leak that was done by not having a pipe installed correctly by his people. the owner has been rude and uncooperative and expects me to pay for the damage done by his work.Also my ceiling in my spare bedroom is sagging from the leak and is also not being repaired. now i have damage inside and out from poor workman ship

Desired Settlement: needs to be fixed properly and no more out of my pocket.

Business Response: Two rafters broke and created an indentation in her roof where water could get in. I did replace her roof, but the rafters were not part of the work that was done. The rafters were broken after we completed the job and not by us. I personally spoke with Ms. ******** about this and she agreed that this was not my fault. I am a bit taken as to why this is being brought up like I didn't do my job correctly. If the damage would've been there, we would've fixed it. In short, someone broke the rafters afterward and now I am being blamed for it.

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: paid cash for roof repair. one hour work $265.00.i received no work order and no tax paid.i was told by the repair person to call **** at ************ (armstrong roofing) to get a copy of the repair order. i did and **** informed me to e-mail him with my needs.the e-mail no. ****************.copam is in invalid. i tried a second computer an got the same response.payment was made the same day of the pepair march 24 2015 check no. ****.

Desired Settlement: i need a copy of the work order and why was i charged $265 for one hour or less time spent on the repair?

Business Response: We were contacted via phone from Mr. ********, however, after we gave the email, which could have been heard wrong, we never heard anything back until now. However, sorry for the confusion and attached is the invoice he requested, as well as the check he paid with that we made a copy of and filed. If there are any other questions or concerns, you can contact one of our staff at any of the contact numbers located at the top right of the invoice. We can also be reached at ****************@comcast.net. Thank you 

1/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a leak in the roof of my garage during the recent December rains. I called Mr. ****** for an estimate. He came promptly, surveyed the problem and gave me a verbal estimate of $350 for repair of leaks in two different spots. I expected a written job bid to follow, as his website states this is part of the service. However, this was never produced. Mr. ****** stated that it might be at least a week before he could send someone out. Instead, three days later, he sent two workmen to my house on December 29, 2014 to make the requested repairs. I was given a call 20 minutes before they arrived, so if I had not been at home, I would have missed them altogether. They did not give me an estimate bid sheet. They did some work on the roof, I assumed the leak was fixed and paid the amount previously agreed upon with Mr. ******. When I asked for an invoice, I was told they didn't have any with them. I called Mr. ****** and he said he would email an invoice to me. I received an invoice, but no details of the work performed. There was only a box checked off which stated, "clean up." The rain had stopped by this time, but started again a few days later. The roof began to leak again in one of the spots that had supposedly been repaired. I called Mr. ****** again and reported the problem. He sent the same two workmen out on January 5, 2015. It was raining that day and the leak was obvious. The workmen again did some repair work. I thanked them and they drove away. The returned 5 minutes later and stated that they had spoken to Mr. ****** on the phone, and that he had angrily told them that they were supposed to collect money from me. Since he had never stated to me that I would be charged again for the same work, I was very surprised. The workmen stated that Mr. ****** had threatened to fire them if they did not collect the money. I asked how much they were supposed to collect, and they estimated it was an extra $200. Mr. ****** had not given them an amount to collect. I paid them, but then called Mr. ****** to complain about paying twice for the same service. He did not answer his phone, so I left a message. I stated that I was very disappointed in his service and if he could not resolve this incident in a fair manner, I would certainly not recommend him to anyone. He did not respond to my call. I emailed him later that day (1/5), asking for a detailed invoice of the work performed. I stated again how disappointed I was in his service. He did not respond to either my call or email. I emailed again on 1/7, asking for an invoice. He still did not respond. I don't expect him to resolve this issue, so I am lodging a formal complaint against him and his company.

Desired Settlement: I would like an itemized invoice with a full description of the work that was performed on both of the dates stated above. Since the work was not completed correctly the first time, I do not feel that I should have been charged a second time and would like a refund of the extra $200 which I was unfairly charged.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2015/01/20) */ We have returned the $2oo and emailed Mr. ****** his invoice. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/01/20) */ Armstrong Roofing returned my check for $200, which I received on 1/16/2015. On 1/20/2015,I received an updated invoice for the work performed on 12/29/2014. Since these are the two things that I was requesting, I consider this matter resolved. This case can be closed. Thank you for you attention to this matter.

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March 2011, Armstrong Roofing LLC tore off the existing roof and installed new 15# felt, flashing, and 30 year Owens-Corning laminant shingles. Armstrong also replaced several sheets of plywood sheathing. Approximately four months later, I thought the roof was beginning to sag around the sky lights. A few months later, several other individuals started to comment that the roof was sagging around the sky lights as well as other areas. I contacted **** ****** in the spring of 2013, and he came out and looked at the roof. **** acknowledged that the roof was indeed sagging around the sky lights, but did not comment the other areas. **** called later that day and suggested that some staples were rusting and causing the roof to sag. He offered to split the cost to repair the area only around the sky lights, but failed to address the other sagging areas. I called him back and agreed to have him proceed with the repairs as described around the sky lights. However, I have not heard back from ****, and several other areas are beginning to sag or worsen.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to properly repair all sagging areas on the roof.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/12) */ In response to this, this home has structural damaged around the skylights. These are repairs that have nothing to do with roofing. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/10/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In the response from Armstrong Roofing LLC, the contractor acknowledges that the roof is sagging worse now than before the new roofing materials were installed. I am willing to work with the contractor to correct the problem but, I feel I should not incur the cost associated with the replaced roofing materials (e.g., felt, composition, nails, labor, etc). Again, I believe the contractor should have identified any obvious structural defects by walking the roof and prior to installing new materials. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/10/04) */ I did not cause the saging, when we installed the roofing the saging was not or did not look as bad as it does now. Not sure how it is saging and not leaking. To resolve I think the homeowner should pay me to figure it out if it is a results of something I did I will correct it no charge if it is not my fault I do not think I should have to pay for fixing it.

12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service