BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1980

AAA Washington

Phone: (425) 646-2015Fax: (425) 646-2005View Additional Phone Numbers1745 114th Ave SE Ste 1, BellevueWA 98004-6930 Send email to AAA Washington

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers emergency road, travel information, financial and insurance services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1980

BBB has determined that AAA Washington meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AAA Washington's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on AAA Washington

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
02/17/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My brother attempted to use Emergency Roadside Assistance to secure a tow from the ******* in Everett to our home in Tacoma. With a Premier level of coverage we are eligible for up to 200 miles of towing per ESR, and the distance to our house from Everett was about 50 miles. He was told initially that a truck would respond in a little as 18 minutes. When 18 minutes passed he called again, this time he was informed that no AAA service providers were available within the area. With 200 miles of coverage he was naturally perplexed. When I called to confirm I too was told the same. I asked the service representative why it was they couldn't call a truck from Tacoma as there had to be plenty available. I was then informed that there are areas of service and that Tacoma and Everett weren't in the same one. I explained that even traveling from Tacoma it would be well under the 200 mile coverage. This did not sway her and I, like my brother was informed that we could be reimbursed for hiring a non AAA service provider. I explained that neither of us could afford to do so. I was then told that we could just wait until morning for a truck to become available. I should add here that my brother was told that trucks weren't available in the area because they had to be available to clear vehicles from the highway. So if he hadn't pulled off of the highway to be in a safer location, a tow would have been available. I might also add that he had earlier that day blown his rear driver's side tire, and that his spare is what blew on the highway. I must also ask, how does it make any more sense for a truck to leave from Everett, go to Tacoma, and return than for a truck to leave from Tacoma, go to Everett, and return?

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my membership refunded in full sooner than two weeks, as my brothers baby's birth, and the trip to Canada and back to bring my brother to his girlfriend's hospital, accompanied with being a part time on call has left me with little in my accounts. I saw that another customer had their refund posted within two days. I would greatly appreciate similar service. Especially as I have received no services since renewing. I would also like to have my gas to and from Everett refunded for having to rescue my brother myself. I would also like AAA to update their terms of service to explain the issue of service area, as it currently at 1/09/15 does not reflect what my brother and I were informed of. I would not have bothered buying 4 total memberships if I had known that the coverage area is misleading.

Business Response
********** was refunded his Premier membership dues, including Associate memberships, on 1/27/15. AAA's Guidelines are available for **********'s review at AAA.com, specifically the Alternate Service section. We apologize that service was not available at the time requested.

11/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Signed up for AAA service as my husband commutes to Bellevue from Spanaway. Needed tow service for a car purchased on Tuesday that broke down. We purchased the premier to cover 100 miles of tow. AAA would only authorize 5 miles on this breakdown and stated the 100 miles would be on the next one. 5 miles doesn't do us any good to get the car home none the less the dealership in Bremerton.

Desired Settlement
Cancellation of membership and full refund of $106 for a worthless policy.

Business Response
AAA Washington's policy is to provide only five miles of towing for new members signing up for any level of membership who have a pre-existing breakdown. Mrs. ***** was informed of this policy by our customer service representative and supervisor. This policy was unsatisfactory to Mrs. ***** and AAA has refunded her membership dues ($106) and cancelled her membership.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I, Mrs. *****, never spoke to any representative as I signed up for the policy completely online. The breakdown was not "pre-existing" as we had just purchased the car and discussed that AAA might be a good option for us as my husband commutes from Spanaway to Bellevue every day. Apparently since the sign up time was so close to when the car first acted up AAA chose not to honor their own advertised membership benefits.
The service representative and supervisor argued with my husband when he called for assistance. Apparently the vehicle had a weak battery and stale gas that caused a no start problem. We took care of it ourselves and AAA lost a member. We paid for a membership that should have helped with this situation.
AAA was purchased on 10/9/2014 and we cancelled the same day. The refund posted on 10/19/2014 and was accepted to my account out of pending status as of 10/20/2014. This was done only after I pushed with a follow-up email.
AAA does not provide the customer service it promises and there is NOTHING on their website stating the policy of only 5 miles of towing for a new member. I combed their website looking for this. So it is false advertising on their part.

Final Business Response
The member has been refunded and her account has been closed. She has also been contacted by our Vice President of Member Services, who has left a message with his phone number should she wish to discuss further. At this time, we consider this complaint closed.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received the voice mail but after discussion with my husband did not return his call. We feel we cannot put our trust in this company at all. If we requested to have the membership, we have no guarantees that they will honor the contract and leave us stranded as they did on our very first experience with them. Customer service is everything. I appreciate his call but feel that it came too late after the lies about speaking with me were submitted to the BBB. He is the only person that ever "spoke" with me even though it was through voice mail.

09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 8-10-14 we blew a hole in the brake line of our truck, and limped it via the hand break into a town close enough to take advantage of AAA services that we have paid for. We made it to Cle Elum and called AAA somewhere between 5pm and 6pm. We were told someone would be arriving to tow our truck within 2hrs. So, assuming we were in good hands, we told our friends that had followed us to go home. After the 2 hrs had passed, we received a message stating that no more trucks are being dispatched because of traffic, and that we will have to wait until morning. We were also told we could attempt to find a another towing company and they would possibly reimburse us. However, by the time they decided not to help us, all other local businesses were closed. We called AAA again in hopes of help in finding a car rental. Instead of calling around for us, we were given three phone numbers and told "good luck." With our cell phones running low in battery, we called the car rental locations, and again 2 out of 3 were closed. We had one hopeful, but that fell thru. So we called again, to let AAA know that we are completely stranded, and we were told someone will be coming to get us in 45min. AGAIN, 45min goes by, and were told notified yet again that there is no more service available until morning. It is now 9:30pm. We call AAA one more time, and were told that the previous employee should NOT have promised us a time, and they are not sure why they did, and that yes, service is discontinued until morning. I was told a supervisor will also be calling in the morning to discuss our dissatisfaction with their services. I have yet to receive such call. No one offered to call us a cab or anything. We were expected to sleep in our truck on the side of the road, or walk a couple miles to a motel in 95 degree weather in a strange town. Luckily we were able to call a friend 2hrs away to come pick up one of us as the other needs to stay with the vehicle. He arrived just as our second phone had completely died. So after a 4hr round trip for the friend, I had arrived home at 2am. And my husband was able to make it to a hotel. He has patched the vehicle enough to make it home, but AAA has yet to contact us, to be sure we are safe and if we still need services. This is also piled on top of another situation that took a day and a half to resolve in South Dakota in February of 2013. We have paid them for the security of roadside assistance, and yet they seem to refuse to render any services. They had put is in a possibly dangerous situation.

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement of membership fees for the last 3yrs. Reimbursement for gas to have a friend travel to pick us up. Reimbursment of the cost of the hotel. Better training for employees.

Business Response
Mr. and Ms. *******'s request for service on August 10 was not handled to AAA's high standards of excellence. Due to heavy volumes and business demands, AAA was unable to provide service that evening, and more importantly, we failed to provide accurate and proper updates and find a reasonable solution. We have contacted Mr. and Mrs. ******* directly to apologize and will be providing them reimbursement for membership dues, hotel accommodations and fuel expenses.

08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My vehicle was towed from a Bellevue repair shop to my home in Edmonds. The car was promised in 2-3 hours, it didn't get to my home till 7:00pm.
When the driver arrived with the vehicle I noticed the left rear shock absorber was torn off from the under carriage and laying on the bed of the tow truck. It was not that way when I left the vehicle earlier that day in Bellevue. AAA
claims "no fault" on their part. This was my first claim against AAA, since membership began in 1991. I drove the car to Bellevue earlier in the day and get it back in the stated condition.
I called AAA for a tow at 1:45 pm and get it at
7:00 pm.

Desired Settlement
Repair work compensation done on vehicle concerning rear shock absorber.

Business Response
Our Manager of Automotive Services has been in contact directly with the Member regarding the Service and the details of the claim. They have come to a mutual agreement. The Member has submitted a bill for the repair and a check is being sent this week.

We consider this complaint resolved and closed.


03/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased an AAA membership in 2011. In 2012 I cancelled my membership with AAA as I did not used their service the previous year. In March, 2012, I noticed that AAA charged my credit card even though I cancelled my membership. I called AAA and reminded them that I cancelled my membership. The refunded me the $56 charge and said they would cancel my membership and I thought the matter was closed.

In March, 2014, I noticed on my credit card statement that AAA auto-billed my credit card again for their annual membership even though I cancelled my membership with them two times previously. I also checked my credit card statement from 2013 and saw they had billed me $56 then, too! I called AAA and informed them of their error. The AAA representative told me they had no records of me canceling the membership. I told the representative to cancel my membership immediately. He affirmed that he would. I asked him to refund me for the unauthorized charge in 2013. He said he would not because they had no record that I ever cancelled my membership. I told him I had the proof that the membership was cancelled and I would provide that with a complaint to the BBB. This is that complaint.

I have my credit card billing statements from my credit card company for all of 2011 through today. They detail all charges since 2011, including the unauthorized charge on 2/22/2012 that was credited back to my account on 4/15/2012. I offer this credited charge as proof that AAA knew to cancel my account. I also offer the two subsequent unauthorized charges on 2/21/2013 and 2/21/2014 as fraudulent charges made by AAA. I can sent the monthly statements as requested.

Desired Settlement
Since AAA has already agreed to refund me the $56 membership fee for 2014. The outstanding and unauthorized $56 charge from 2013 needs to be refunded. Importantly, since I am canceling my membership with AAA for now the third time, they must stop automatic billing my credit card. I am not nor have been an AAA member since the end of 2011. I will also contact my credit card to insure that AAA is compliant.

I am hopeful that AAA will honor these most reasonable requests and behave in an ethical and legal manner in the future. If they choose to disregard my request. I will file a complaint with the Washington State Attorney General.

Business Response
We regret that Mr. ***** was unable to cancel his membership with AAA upon his first request. We have cancelled his membership and confirmed that automatic credit card renewal has been turned off. We will look into why this was not taken care of upon his initial request. A refund of $112, for the past two years of dues ($56 each), was processed March 24, 2014. Mr. ***** should see his credit card refund within two business days. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused Mr. *****.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for your professional response to my request. I sincerely appreciate it. Best regards. ** *****.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Road Service - Automotive, Travel Agencies & Bureaus, Insurance Services, Insurance Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1979Business started: 09/01/1904
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner
5000 Capitol Blvd SE
Tumwater, WA98501-4426
(800) 562-6900
http://www.insurance.wa.gov

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1
Tumwater, WA98501-6561
(800) 451-7985
http://www.dor.wa.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Ms Celeste Mustello (Executive Assistant)Mr George Johnson (VP, Marketing and Communications)Mr Kirk Nelson (President & CEO)
Business Category

Road Service - Automotive, Travel Agencies & Bureaus, Insurance Services, Insurance Companies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AAA Washington

1745 114th Ave SE Ste 1

Bellevue, WA 98004-6930

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1745 114th Ave SE Ste 1 

    Bellevue, WA 98004-6930(425) 646-2015
    (800) 562-2582

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AAA Washington is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 562-2582
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Road Service - Automotive

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.