Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AAA Washington

Phone: (800) 562-2582 Fax: (425) 646-2005 1745 114th Ave SE Ste 1, Bellevue, WA 98004 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.aaa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers emergency road, cruise and travel services, financial and insurance services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAA Washington meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for AAA Washington include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAA Washington
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1979 Business started: 09/01/1904 in WA Business started locally: 09/01/1904
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Celeste Mustello, Executive Assistant Mr. Harry Thomas, Vice President - Marketing Mr. Kirk Nelson, President & CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Celeste Mustello, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Harry Thomas, Vice President - Marketing
Business Category

Road Service - Automotive Travel Agencies & Bureaus Insurance Services All Other Travel Arrangement and Reservation Services (NAICS: 561599)


Additional Locations

  • 1745 114th Ave SE Ste 1

    Bellevue, WA 98004 (800) 562-2582

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: COMPLETE FAILURE TO DELIVER WHAT I PAY FOR!!! HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. I called for roadside assistance at 9pm, was told a tow would be there before 1am. An HOUR later, AAA called back and said there is NO TOW COMING AT ALL!!!! I was given a list of numbers to call, and forced to pay $200 OUT OF MY OWN POCKET! The first number was a veterinary hospital, the second was a non-working number, and the third was actually a towing company. I was stranded until well after midnight, wearing shorts, COLD, and ALONE with the dead deer I hit. I never received the reimbursement form, it has been OVER 10 DAYS. I called my agent, was transferred to customer service, waited on hold for 30 minutes, and gave up...... UPDATE: I printed a reimbursement form and mailed it in 2 weeks ago, still NO RESPONSE from anyone at AAA.

Desired Settlement: Refund all my membership fees, and the cost of the Tow as shown on my receipt.

Business Response:

We have listened to the calls AAA had with Mr. ***** for emergency road service on July 26, 2016. AAA unsuccessfully attempted to locate a towing provider for Mr. ***** and called him back 25 minutes later with the option to find service for himself and AAA would reimburse him for the expenses. Often this results in faster service when AAA’s towing contractors are all assisting other motorists. We apologize for not providing prompt service to Mr. *****. AAA received Mr. *****’s reimbursement request on August 23 and a check for his out-of-pocket towing expenses was mailed on August 26. If Mr. ***** would like the AAA membership to be cancelled, the primary member on the account will need to contact AAA.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

AAA tries to put the blame on ME, by stating that they didn't receive my request until 8/25. However, AAA did NOT provide the APPLICATION for reimbursement in a timely manner!! It is ridiculous that I even needed such an application. AAA should have called the towing company directly, and paid them directly!! THEY DID NOT MENTION THE FACT THAT THEY GAVE ME 2 WRONG NUMBERS, and made ME DO THEIR JOB, by finding my own tow! AAA also completely ignored my request for the membership fee refund!!

Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response:

AAA has apologized to Mr. ***** for the poor experience he had with receiving emergency road service on 7/26/16. Mr. ***** is an Associate member on another person’s account, his membership dues have been refunded to the primary member.

We also apologize that Mr. ***** didn’t receive a reimbursement form right away. Mr. ***** called on 8/5/16 to make us aware he hadn’t received one yet and our customer service representative walked him through how to download one from the website and also mailed him one. We received his request from reimbursement on 8/23/16 and the reimbursement check was mailed on 8/26/16.

As for the inaccurate phone numbers give to Mr. ***** to find service on his own:

As is written in AAA’s guidelines, when AAA’s network of towing providers is not able to assist a member, members can find their own towing provider and be reimbursed. AAA does not arrange this service for the member or pay the towing company directly. The Terms & Conditions that the primary member agreed to when signing up for AAA membership included:

Alternate Service: There may be times when AAA ERS is not available and a member may need to obtain service from a provider not associated with AAA. If service is not available and the member has followed the procedures outlined in these terms and conditions, the member may obtain service elsewhere, pay for it and submit the original itemized receipt to AAA within 120 days for reimbursement consideration. AAA will reimburse the member up to the limits of the membership level at prevailing commercial rates for the region.

If AAA ERS is available but is not requested or utilized through AAA and the procedures outlined in these terms and conditions, AAA will reimburse members at the prevailing contracted rate that AAA pays to its service providers, subject to the procedure set forth below for Reimbursements.

Reimbursements: When requesting reimbursement for ERS, please scan and email the original itemized receipt indicating the date and the type of service provided, along with the service reimbursement form, to *************************. If requesting a prorated refund under the battery service warranty program, please include the battery sales receipt, failed battery test report and warranty paperwork. Alternatively, the original receipt, service reimbursement form and other relevant documents can be mailed to: AAA Washington, Automotive Services Department, **** *** ****** ********* ** **********

AAA attempted to assist Mr. ***** find a towing provider by doing an internet search for towing providers close to where Mr. ***** was located. Mr. ***** was provided contact information for three providers based on that search. Unfortunately, the phone numbers for two of these towing providers is inaccurate online. See below. AAA has no control over the accuracy of information listed on the internet, our intent was to help the member.

**Redacted info**

Mr. ***** has been reimbursed for his towing expenses and a refund for the annual dues of his Associate membership have been reimbursed to the primary member. If there is anything else we can do for Mr. *****, please have him call our Automotive Services department at ************, Monday – Friday between 8:00 AM and 5:00 PM.

 

 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

The Internet DOES have the correct info, the FIRST Google hit is the towing company that I used. Please don't blame the internet for your own incompetence. That's pathetic.                

Your member guidelines contradict your website!! That's FALSE ADVERTISING!!!! Please see the jpg screenshots. "If we can't get you going, we'll take you someplace that will." False. "We will either enable the vehicle to operate under its own power or move it to a safe place." ... More LIES, you never mentioned the 3rd option: Leave me stranded and give me incorrect info.

Sincerely,

***** *****

9/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We booked a family vacation to Hawaii via AAA travel. It supposed to include the following $ in parenthesis are the cost we can find online, totaling $1459.16 instead of $2200): 1. shuttle transfer from Oahu airport to **** **** ***** ($88.24 actual cost) 2. 4 nights at **** **** ***** (4*$119) 3. Airfare to big island (3*$79) 4. Rental car from Kona airport to the hotel ($119.78) 5. 3 nights at ****** **** **** ****** (3*$179.38) The issues we found are: 1. they charged $2200 for the items listed above. They claimed that they couldn't provide itemized cost. later we found the total cost would have been ~ $1459 if we booked on our own. Is this price gouging? 2. When we arrived Oahu airport. No shuttle arrangement was there. We called AAA and ******** ********, got no answer. We ended up paying the shuttle ourselves. They told us it would be cheaper to rent car from hotel instead of at the airport; but we found that renting at the hotel is 3X more expensive and almost no cars were available. 3. when we arrived ****** **** **** hotel, they had no record of our reservation. We had to find a room in a nearby hotel on our own in a hurry. We left a message for ******** ******** about the issue and they still haven't called us back yet! 4. after we came back, we went seeing AAA for resolution. AAA started contacting ******** ******** asking for compensation. It took them 2 weeks to get back with little more than refunding the cost of the shuttle and the hotel we had to book ourselves.

Desired Settlement: Total refund of the cost of the trip

Business Response:

We have been working on a resolution with Mr. **** since he made us aware of the situation on July 21. We apologize for the delay, we are working with ******** ********, the travel package provider, to get the best possible resolution for Mr. ****.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

AAA only offered refund for the hotel expense we paid, and $200 refund for the shuttle/rental car expenses due to their mistakes, and $500 voucher for future trips with ******** ********. And they said that this was the final offer.

Attached please find the detail financial impact to us. It is worth $2082.2 plus $45 taxi expenses. They did not provide the accommodations that we paid for, so they need to refund for those instead of the actual expenses we incurred. And because they hide the itemized costs behind the total package, there is no way for us to know how much we paid for the hotel and everything else. 

Beside of the financial impact, they didn't consider compensating us for the time we spent on finding our own shuttle, finding our own rental car, finding our own hotel, calling AAA, calling ******** ********, calling hotels, and the emotional distress associated with all the disappointments. The sluggish response we got after our trip, the low ball offer are just adding more salt to the injury.

 

I requested refund of the cost of the trip that we paid to AAA at $2200. I believe this is a very reasonable request. The $500 voucher is worthless because nobody in the right mind will use AAA/******** ******** again for future trips.

 

 

 

 

 


Sincerely,

****** ****

Business Response:

“AAA Washington has offered resolution to Mr. ****’s claims.  Mr. **** has accepted payment from AAA Washington, and ******** ******** has credited his account for his additional hotel cost in Kona. This is a generous reimbursement toward the actual costs of his trip.”

 

Thank you,

 

 

Celeste M*******

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

AAA is correct that they have provided a check to me and I have cashed the check. ******** ******** has also refunded the hotel expenses that we incurred on our trip. However, the total refund I have received so far are still inadequate for the damage that they have caused.And I have made it clear many times to AAA.

1. Their agent told us that we should rent a car from the hotel instead of from the airport. What we found was that renting cars from hotel costed 3 times of airport rental. If we have received the correct information, we would have saved the shuttle cost, and paid 1/3 of the car rental cost.So I believe it is very reasonable to expect AAA to reimburse us the car rental cost and the taxi cost that took us to the rental place.

2. Their math didn't account for the precious time we lost looking for shuttle, finding rental car, finding hotel room, and the stress associated with the disappointment and desperation. It is shameful for AAA to claim the resolution 'generous'. No money is enough to reimburse for a ruined family vacation.

3. When we booked our trip, AAA refused to share the itemized cost. They insisted that it was a single vacation package. If we had seen the itemized cost that they recently provided, we would have walked away booking the trip ourselves. I travel on business often and I have a good idea of how much things should cost. The shuttle cost alone could have paid for the car rentals for the entire trip. Since they insisted on selling us a package, when the package falls way short, I have every right to ask for 100% refund of the package. It is like buying a TV that has a failed connector, the store can't reimburse me for the cost of the connector, they need to refund for the whole TV.

 

 

 

 


Sincerely,

****** ****

7/20/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called AAA on 07/06/2012 to replace a dead battery under warranty, as it was a battery installed on 04/22/2010 by AAA (Ref. #*******). The warranty is for 36 months (3 years), but it was not honored. Had no choice but to pay full price to get the battery replaced. I think this is because a Club Assist by AAA provider was sent out (Spiveco Roadside Services of Everett, WA) and they did not understand and did not even fill out the AAA form at all, but I was given an empty copy (Ref. #*******) along with the receipt. This copy was also not the right one (Yellow - File Copy, rather than the White - Customer Copy I had from before).

Desired Settlement: Honor 36 month free replacement under warranty and refund $120.45

Business Response: AAA Washington has researched **** *****’s battery purchase history. We have record of the 2012 purchase; but not the 2010 purchase, which may not have been purchased locally. We have left a voice message for *. ***** requesting a call back to our Automotive Services Manager with additional details. To date, we have not received a call back. Once purchase documentation is established the warranty process can proceed.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

AAA did not look at my documentation to verify 4/22/2010 purchase.  I have re-attached to this message.


Sincerely,

**** *****

Business Response: We have received the necessary information from the customer and have processed a refund for the amount of the original purchase of the AAA battery in California ($128.71). The refund should reach **** ***** within 7 to 10 business days.

6/23/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We Book our Reservation thru AAA to stay at the Hampton Inn Ellensburg, WA for Saturday June 4th. We showed up to check in and they could not find our reservation that I paid in full (non-refundable) thru AAA. After giving them the reservation number the gal at the counter said the reservations was booked for the night before and we did a no show so we were charged. I informed her I booked it online and it was for Saturday June 4th not June 3rd. Since they have the wrong date no one will help us with a refund.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the $144.52 that we paid AAA for a hotel room we never received.

Business Response:

Upon review of Ms. *******’s email confirmation and the hotel report, Ms. ******* booked the Hampton by Hilton in Ellensburg for checking in on June 3 and checking out June 4.  The reservation was made at 11:10pm on May 30.

 

During the review process of booking a hotel, and before it is confirmed, the check in and check out dates are clearly displayed. The pre-paid rate policy clearly states, prior to confirming the hotel booking, the cancellation policy and that the dates cannot be changed.


Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I was booking online for June 4th not June 3rd.  Somehow on one of our ends there is a Typo when I was submitting the reservation.  If I would have caught this I would of changed it ASAP, instead of showing up at the hotel on June 4th to check in.  If the Typo was on my end, of a honest mistake, it means you get to keep my money without providing the service  (A Room for the night)?  I am requesting that AAA and or Hampton who has my money without providing the service for the intended June 4th Date, either refund it or provide a gift certificate.  It seems like an honest mistake is allowing you to keep my money, instead of providing quality customer service.  I would never not show on a reservation.

Sincerely,

****** *******

Business Response:

AAA Washington has been in contact with the Hampton Inn to discuss the situation. They confirmed the reservation was made for June 3 and that they have also discussed the situation with Ms. *******.  This rate was a prepaid rate which secures the best possible rate, but also comes with a no-refund policy.  All records show the reservation was made for June 3, so no refund will be processed at this time. Ms. ******* should contact the Hampton Inn, the receiver of the payment, with any additional inquiries.

 


Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is what it is, and will be careful who I do future transactions with.

Sincerely,

****** *******

5/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday, April 16th, I drove my Toyota MR2 to Gold Mountain Golf Course in Gorst, WA to play a round of golf. After I paid my fees, I went back to my car and put my key in the door lock to open my car so I could load my golf clubs on the cart. When I removed the key, I saw the end of the key stiin the door lock. With a broken key, I could not lock/drive my car so I called AAA at 1-800-222-4357 where a Customer Service Rep. by the name of Lynda answered my call. After explaining my situation, she tried to call a couple of locksmiths but no one returned her call. Then she called Port Orchard Towing who sent a tow truck but when they finally arrived, the driver told me he could not tow my car because I have a two-seat sports car and it is very low to the ground. Then I called AAA back and spoke to a supervisor named Kendra who finally called Apex Lockout and Locksmith Services who came out and made me a couple of duplicate keys and then I drove home. I asked the man from Apex if they were open at 10 a.m. and he said yes. I spent 5 hours waiting in my car because Lynda was incompetent and untrained because she should have called Apex from the beginning when I called at 10 a.m. and the situation would have been resolved in 1 - 1 1/2 hours instead of 5 hours.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that AAA not charge with the towing call (limit of 3 per year) because it was Lynda's fault and was not necessary as she should have contacted a locksmith when I called at 10 a.m.

Business Response:

Mr. ********* is accurate in his complaint it took 5 hours for AAA Washington to provide locksmith service on April 16th in Gorst, Washington.  This is not acceptable and a full discovery of the issues that contributed to this lack of service delivery has been done.   An apology letter addressed directly to Mr. ********* has been written acknowledging the failure to provide timely responsive service, his resulting dissatisfaction, and AAA Washington’s response to his desired settlement.


3/8/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Despite repeated requests to be removed from all mailing, telephone, and email lists, and to NOT sell, lease, or rent my information, including name, address, telephone, and email to any person, organization, or entity, I continue to receive solicitations from AAA partners. I have used the on-site form to make these requests, and they do not even respond to my request. I believe they have compromised my safety, privacy, and security by giving out my personal, private information without my prior knowledge and consent.

Desired Settlement: I want a response by email that my name, address, telephone and email have been completely removed from every solicitation list. I want confirmation in writing that they have done this and will not in the future disseminate any personal and private information about me to any person or business. I do not want them using my information except for the express purpose of providing the service for which I've contracted with them by having a yearly membership. I do not want any other contact from them or by them for any other purpose. I want an apology for being so careless with my personal and private information and endangering my safety and security.

Business Response:

Ms. ******* is already on our opt-out list to not receive any mailings from AAA Washington except the member magazine, Journey, and her yearly dues statement. It takes 30-60 days from when she submitted her request to take full effect, as some mailings may have already been in progress. AAA does not sell our members’ information to any company. However, many people confuse other company’s mailings with AAA Washington, such as AAA Automotive Repair, AAA Plumbing or AARP. We have left a voicemail message for Ms. ******* to contact us and let us know specifically what solicitations she is receiving so we can more specifically address her concerns.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I received a solicitation for LIFE INSURANCE!!!  I specifically advised your representatives that I did NOT want my name, address, email, or phone handed out to anyone for any reason, and here's yet another solicitation!  

I DO NOT WANT ANY SOLICITATION.  I DO NOT WANT THE MAGAZINE YOU SEND OUT.  AND I DO NOT WANT THE YEARLY MEMBERSHIP MAIL BECAUSE THERE IS NO REASON WHY YOU CANNOT SEND THAT BY EMAIL.  I DO NOT EXPECT TO BE AT THIS ADDRESS WHEN MY RENEWAL IS DUE, AND I DO NOT WANT MAIL WITH PERSONAL INFORMATION COMING TO THIS ADDRESS.  

I want to know what insurance company was given my personal and private information to send me this solicitation.  I want them to be advised to delete my information in its entirety from their database.  

I also want AAA to pay attention when I request NO MORE MAIL and DO NOT GIVE OUT MY NAME, ADDRESS, EMAIL, OR PHONE NUMBER!!!  

If AAA cannot send a notification for a renewal by email and accept an electronic payment, please advise so I can refrain from any future interaction with AAA.


Sincerely,

**** *******

Business Response:

We apologize that Ms. ******* is unsatisfied with AAA’s communication methods. We have cancelled her membership and a refund of $73 has been applied to the credit card she used to purchase the membership.


Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *******

1/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I asked for a tow from AAA via their phone app. I requested a flatbed tow truck due to the fact that there was a problem with the front passenger wheel on the car. When the tow truck showed up it was not a flatbed. I told the tow truck operator about the problem with the front tire and he still insisted on towing it with a hook type tow truck When they were towing the vehicle the tire apparently came off. I was not following the tow truck they were going to meet my friend the location I requested the car to be dropped off. The tow truck operator said insurance person will be contacting me I waited for an insurance person to call and never heard from anyone I finally called AAA and they weren't even aware of the accident with the vehicle. When I contacted Ballenger towing they were the company who towed the car for AAA they had already sent my vehicle to Macco for repairs. I was never able to see the damage on the vehicle nor was I informed what the damage was. They said not to worry and that everything would be taken care of. My car was returned to me today and it is still damaged and I have been treated very badly by Ballenger towing and Triple A. They have been very rude on the phone, they have been difficult to deal with aand they they have not followed through with what they promised.

Desired Settlement: There's still damage to my vehicle from the tow. I would like my vehicle repaired.

Business Response:

AAA has been working with the Member and the owner of the vehicle in order to rectify this situation. The vehicle was damaged in transport by Ballinger Towing. One of AAA’s District Automotive Managers met the vehicle owner at Ballinger Towing on December 28, 2015. The owner inspected his vehicle and verbally indicated he was satisfied with the repairs. The vehicle was then towed to the destination of the owner’s choice at AAA’s expense. The owner was given the direct contact information for our District Automotive Manager at the time of inspection and asked to call him if there were any further issues with the repair. No contact has been made to AAA since that time by either the Member or the owner of the vehicle. Ms. ****** is encouraged to contact our Automotive Services department at 800-430-9003, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., to discuss any concerns she has with this situation.


10/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted AAA to have use my roadside tow service to move one of my cars from an auto shop to another. After speaking to the agent I was told that they would not tow one of my vehicles because the engine was no longer in the car. I told them I will have the engine put back into the car for towing. After the cars engine was placed back into the car I called back and was told that they did not know when a tow would be in the area due to there being a back up and I could pay for a tow then be reimbursed. I did just that I called another tow company and had a 3 vehicles and 2 engines in total towed. I submitted the receipt for the 1 vehicle that was complete to AAA and received a letter stating that they would not reimburse the tow expense because I called before and at that time the engine was not in the vehicle. I called back and asked to speak to a manager to explain to them that the engine was in the car then was questioned as to why does the submitted document have 2 additional engines on it. At that that time I explained there were multiple vehicles moved and the tow company didnt have a truck large enough to move them all at once so in turn moved what they could on the trucks available. My reimbursement was still disapproved.

Desired Settlement: I would like to my tow expense reimbursed as written in my contract.

Business Response: AAA has reviewed all of the calls with Ms. ********** and it was made clear to Ms. ********** during those calls by the AAA representatives that AAA only tows intact vehicles and this situation is not covered under AAA ********** Terms & Conditions. AAA’s T&Cs specifically state in the Excluded Services section “Vehicles purchased in an inoperable condition or missing major components (e.g. engine, transmission) are not covered for emergency road service” and in the Service Guidelines section “Service is intended to provide emergency assistance to enable a vehicle to operate under its own power or to transport it to a place of repair or safekeeping. It is not intended as a
solution for a pre-existing condition or a substitute for proper maintenance.”  AAA’s T&Cs are available 24/7 at AAA.com (www.aaawa.com/automotive/emergency_service/ers_terms_conditions.asp).  Ms. ********** is encourage to contact our Automotive Services department *************; 8am – 5pm) if she has any further questions.

Business Response: AAA has reviewed all of the calls with Ms. ********** and it was made clear to Ms. ********** during those calls by the AAA representatives that AAA only tows intact vehicles and this situation is not covered under AAA ********** Terms & Conditions. AAA’s T&Cs specifically state in the Excluded Services section “Vehicles purchased in an inoperable condition or missing major components (e.g. engine, transmission) are not covered for emergency road service” and in the Service Guidelines section “Service is intended to provide emergency assistance to enable a vehicle to operate under its own power or to transport it to a place of repair or safekeeping. It is not intended as a
solution for a pre-existing condition or a substitute for proper maintenance.”  AAA’s T&Cs are available 24/7 at AAA.com (www.aaawa.com/automotive/emergency_service/ers_terms_conditions.asp).  Ms. ********** is encourage to contact our Automotive Services department *************; 8am – 5pm) if she has any further questions.

8/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 5/29/15 I switched carriers for my insurance. I have had aaa for about 3 years. they are like a middle man if you will. for 3 years I have had no laps in insurance and not even a late payment. so on 5/26/15 I switch to ********* insurance still threw aaa. that day I payed $141.36 to get it started. the next month I get a bill and I pay 146.42 on 6/26/15. witch is what it is supposed to be now. then the next month I get a bill for 169.00. so I called them. a lady named Candice was very rude and was telling me that travlers dosnt think I had prior insurance so that is the issue. well as I said I have had aaa insurance for about 3 years with no laps or late payments. so this is false and they could see this in the computer if they would simply look. i call back to speak with a manager. her excuse was that ********* doesn't recognize the insurance i previously had. witch was commerce west. then i told her that ******** it doesn't work like that figure this out. i have to call them back to try to see whats going on when she tells me i should prob just find new insurance. no. they can do what they need to. iv been with aaa a long time and a lazy manager that doesn't want to do her job isn't guna make me leave. nothing has changed on my driving record for 2.5 years. no tickets, accidents, nothing. and all that's on there was 2.5 years ago and was only an hov lane by myself ticket. and im 25 years old now. so the increase is not warranted. and i do not beleave they can decide what is insurance and what is not for saying i had previous insurance. i payed them, if i got in an accident it was covered. that's called insurance. don't see how they can say its not. my bill should be around 146 not 169. i signed contracts saying i would pay that much. i get it can increase but that is i do wrong such as tickets or acidents. witch i have not had any of at all

Desired Settlement: i want the difference i payed paying them 169 this month back as well as my billing to be corrected back to where it should be as they had no right to change it. it shoud be 146.42 or so. not 169.

Business Response: On 8-3-2015 we received your notice of a customer complaint from Mr. *******.  We have researched the complaint thoroughly and provide the following information as a response.  At his request, we agreed to find insurance coverage for Mr. ******* at a price he considered to be more reasonable than what he was currently paying.  During this process, his policy briefly lapsed for non-payment.  In the process of securing new coverage, from ********* (which was our lowest cost provider), they increased the premium that was initially quoted to Mr. ******* due to their complete evaluation of risk during the underwriting process.  Both AAA and Mr. ******* were unaware of this increase, until the new policy was re-rated. 

We have explained this situation to Mr. ******* and informed him that ********* cannot change its decision due to the nature of their current rate plan as filed with the State of Washington Department of Insurance. We also notified and explained to Mr. *******, that even with the increased premium, the premium from ********* would be the lowest premium that we can find among our list of companies that we can provide to him.  If Mr. *******’s primary concern is finding a lower cost of insurance than we can provide, he may find this outside our agency with another company and agent.

 

2/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My brother attempted to use Emergency Roadside Assistance to secure a tow from the ******* in Everett to our home in Tacoma. With a Premier level of coverage we are eligible for up to 200 miles of towing per ESR, and the distance to our house from Everett was about 50 miles. He was told initially that a truck would respond in a little as 18 minutes. When 18 minutes passed he called again, this time he was informed that no AAA service providers were available within the area. With 200 miles of coverage he was naturally perplexed. When I called to confirm I too was told the same. I asked the service representative why it was they couldn't call a truck from Tacoma as there had to be plenty available. I was then informed that there are areas of service and that Tacoma and Everett weren't in the same one. I explained that even traveling from Tacoma it would be well under the 200 mile coverage. This did not sway her and I, like my brother was informed that we could be reimbursed for hiring a non AAA service provider. I explained that neither of us could afford to do so. I was then told that we could just wait until morning for a truck to become available. I should add here that my brother was told that trucks weren't available in the area because they had to be available to clear vehicles from the highway. So if he hadn't pulled off of the highway to be in a safer location, a tow would have been available. I might also add that he had earlier that day blown his rear driver's side tire, and that his spare is what blew on the highway. I must also ask, how does it make any more sense for a truck to leave from Everett, go to Tacoma, and return than for a truck to leave from Tacoma, go to Everett, and return?

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my membership refunded in full sooner than two weeks, as my brothers baby's birth, and the trip to Canada and back to bring my brother to his girlfriend's hospital, accompanied with being a part time on call has left me with little in my accounts. I saw that another customer had their refund posted within two days. I would greatly appreciate similar service. Especially as I have received no services since renewing. I would also like to have my gas to and from Everett refunded for having to rescue my brother myself. I would also like AAA to update their terms of service to explain the issue of service area, as it currently at 1/09/15 does not reflect what my brother and I were informed of. I would not have bothered buying 4 total memberships if I had known that the coverage area is misleading.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/02/03) */ ********** was refunded his Premier membership dues, including Associate memberships, on 1/27/15. AAA's Guidelines are available for **********'s review at AAA.com, specifically the Alternate Service section. We apologize that service was not available at the time requested.

2/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 5, 2014, I phoned AAA to get a quote for the rates on becoming a member. I phoned (XXX) XXX-XXXX. The phone number was referred to me by a Washington member of AAA. I explained that I live in Florida, and also work at times in Washington. The woman in customer service told me that the rate in Washington for a classic plan was $76.00, however, since I reside in Florida, she said she would transfer me to a Florida office and they would give me a rate there and sign me up over the phone. I signed up with the Florida customer service agent at their classic plan rate of $66.00. She then gave me my new membership number which is XXXXXXXXX. I received nothing in the mail from them and considered that odd. Usually you receive a brochure and a confirmation statement or something like that. I phoned on 9/19/2014, and ****** said she would send a statement right out. All I have received in the mail since then, was a one page membership guide. I received my bank statement in the mail and noted that they charged me $76.00. I phoned again on 11/7/2014, and spoke first with ***** who claimed that they charged me the Washington rate due to a pre-existing condition that they did not disclose over the phone. I asked for a supervisor. ***** then spoke with me and said that it was just an error on their part as they thought I resided in Washington which is why they over-charged me. She said that I could not have signed up in Washington as I reside in Florida. She transferred me to *****, a supervisor, who said that ******* her supervisor, felt that I must have called the wrong number. However, ***** did state that they did not want my money and felt that they would credit me the full amount that they charged me. She gave me the same "800" number again for me to call back. Product_Or_Service: AAA membership Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would appreciate a full refund of my monies that I paid as they over-charged me. Also, the membership guide I received in the mail stated that the New Primary Member membership rate was $56.00 per year for Washington (probably $46.00 per year for Florida). Thus, I was over-charged even more, with written evidence. I would appreciate your help. Thank you.

Business Response: After reviewing all of the call recordings with Ms. *****, she did not inform our customer service representative that she lived in Florida and gave us a local Marysville, WA, address for the membership. Ms. ***** purchased a AAA Washington Classic membership for $56 and accepted the pre-existing breakdown fee of $20, because she needed emergency road service at the time of signing up for membership. The service provided to Ms. ***** that day had a cost of $36.96. To settle this complaint, we offer to refund Ms. ***** $19.04 to her credit card, which is the cost of her membership ($56) minus the cost of the service she received ($36.96). The $20 pre-existing fee is nonrefundable. Each AAA club sets their own pricing and provides a different membership package. She was not overcharged. We could not find calls from Ms. ***** on 9/19 or 11/7. We believe she may have contacted Florida's AAA Club on those dates.

Consumer Response: I signed up for a Florida membership (number *********) on September 5, 2014. I never received a membership packet or even a receipt in the mail. I phoned and they sent me a Membership Guide in the mail. One page which stated that the new member rates were $56.00 per year. I was billed $76.00, although on the phone I was told it was only $66.00. In Florida, I heard it is really only $46.00. I phoned and spoke with several supervisors who claimed that they billed the rate in error and it would be corrected. Lilly, a supervisor in Florida, told me on November 7, 2014, that I would be credited in full. I have never received any credit or anything from them in the mail. I would appreciate your assistance. Thank you.

11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed up for AAA service as my husband commutes to Bellevue from Spanaway. Needed tow service for a car purchased on Tuesday that broke down. We purchased the premier to cover 100 miles of tow. AAA would only authorize 5 miles on this breakdown and stated the 100 miles would be on the next one. 5 miles doesn't do us any good to get the car home none the less the dealership in Bremerton.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of membership and full refund of $106 for a worthless policy.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/20) */ AAA Washington's policy is to provide only five miles of towing for new members signing up for any level of membership who have a pre-existing breakdown. Mrs. ***** was informed of this policy by our customer service representative and supervisor. This policy was unsatisfactory to Mrs. ***** and AAA has refunded her membership dues ($106) and cancelled her membership. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/10/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I, Mrs. *****, never spoke to any representative as I signed up for the policy completely online. The breakdown was not "pre-existing" as we had just purchased the car and discussed that AAA might be a good option for us as my husband commutes from Spanaway to Bellevue every day. Apparently since the sign up time was so close to when the car first acted up AAA chose not to honor their own advertised membership benefits. The service representative and supervisor argued with my husband when he called for assistance. Apparently the vehicle had a weak battery and stale gas that caused a no start problem. We took care of it ourselves and AAA lost a member. We paid for a membership that should have helped with this situation. AAA was purchased on 10/9/2014 and we cancelled the same day. The refund posted on 10/19/2014 and was accepted to my account out of pending status as of 10/20/2014. This was done only after I pushed with a follow-up email. AAA does not provide the customer service it promises and there is NOTHING on their website stating the policy of only 5 miles of towing for a new member. I combed their website looking for this. So it is false advertising on their part. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/11/05) */ The member has been refunded and her account has been closed. She has also been contacted by our Vice President of Member Services, who has left a message with his phone number should she wish to discuss further. At this time, we consider this complaint closed. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 14, 2014/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received the voice mail but after discussion with my husband did not return his call. We feel we cannot put our trust in this company at all. If we requested to have the membership, we have no guarantees that they will honor the contract and leave us stranded as they did on our very first experience with them. Customer service is everything. I appreciate his call but feel that it came too late after the lies about speaking with me were submitted to the BBB. He is the only person that ever "spoke" with me even though it was through voice mail.

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8-10-14 we blew a hole in the brake line of our truck, and limped it via the hand break into a town close enough to take advantage of AAA services that we have paid for. We made it to Cle Elum and called AAA somewhere between 5pm and 6pm. We were told someone would be arriving to tow our truck within 2hrs. So, assuming we were in good hands, we told our friends that had followed us to go home. After the 2 hrs had passed, we received a message stating that no more trucks are being dispatched because of traffic, and that we will have to wait until morning. We were also told we could attempt to find a another towing company and they would possibly reimburse us. However, by the time they decided not to help us, all other local businesses were closed. We called AAA again in hopes of help in finding a car rental. Instead of calling around for us, we were given three phone numbers and told "good luck." With our cell phones running low in battery, we called the car rental locations, and again 2 out of 3 were closed. We had one hopeful, but that fell thru. So we called again, to let AAA know that we are completely stranded, and we were told someone will be coming to get us in 45min. AGAIN, 45min goes by, and were told notified yet again that there is no more service available until morning. It is now 9:30pm. We call AAA one more time, and were told that the previous employee should NOT have promised us a time, and they are not sure why they did, and that yes, service is discontinued until morning. I was told a supervisor will also be calling in the morning to discuss our dissatisfaction with their services. I have yet to receive such call. No one offered to call us a cab or anything. We were expected to sleep in our truck on the side of the road, or walk a couple miles to a motel in 95 degree weather in a strange town. Luckily we were able to call a friend 2hrs away to come pick up one of us as the other needs to stay with the vehicle. He arrived just as our second phone had completely died. So after a 4hr round trip for the friend, I had arrived home at 2am. And my husband was able to make it to a hotel. He has patched the vehicle enough to make it home, but AAA has yet to contact us, to be sure we are safe and if we still need services. This is also piled on top of another situation that took a day and a half to resolve in South Dakota in February of 2013. We have paid them for the security of roadside assistance, and yet they seem to refuse to render any services. They had put is in a possibly dangerous situation.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of membership fees for the last 3yrs. Reimbursement for gas to have a friend travel to pick us up. Reimbursment of the cost of the hotel. Better training for employees.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/21) */ Mr. and Ms. *******'s request for service on August 10 was not handled to AAA's high standards of excellence. Due to heavy volumes and business demands, AAA was unable to provide service that evening, and more importantly, we failed to provide accurate and proper updates and find a reasonable solution. We have contacted Mr. and Mrs. ******* directly to apologize and will be providing them reimbursement for membership dues, hotel accommodations and fuel expenses.

8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle was towed from a Bellevue repair shop to my home in Edmonds. The car was promised in 2-3 hours, it didn't get to my home till 7:00pm. When the driver arrived with the vehicle I noticed the left rear shock absorber was torn off from the under carriage and laying on the bed of the tow truck. It was not that way when I left the vehicle earlier that day in Bellevue. AAA claims "no fault" on their part. This was my first claim against AAA, since membership began in 1991. I drove the car to Bellevue earlier in the day and get it back in the stated condition. I called AAA for a tow at 1:45 pm and get it at 7:00 pm.

Desired Settlement: Repair work compensation done on vehicle concerning rear shock absorber.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/04) */ Our Manager of Automotive Services has been in contact directly with the Member regarding the Service and the details of the claim. They have come to a mutual agreement. The Member has submitted a bill for the repair and a check is being sent this week. We consider this complaint resolved and closed.

3/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an AAA membership in 2011. In 2012 I cancelled my membership with AAA as I did not used their service the previous year. In March, 2012, I noticed that AAA charged my credit card even though I cancelled my membership. I called AAA and reminded them that I cancelled my membership. The refunded me the $56 charge and said they would cancel my membership and I thought the matter was closed. In March, 2014, I noticed on my credit card statement that AAA auto-billed my credit card again for their annual membership even though I cancelled my membership with them two times previously. I also checked my credit card statement from 2013 and saw they had billed me $56 then, too! I called AAA and informed them of their error. The AAA representative told me they had no records of me canceling the membership. I told the representative to cancel my membership immediately. He affirmed that he would. I asked him to refund me for the unauthorized charge in 2013. He said he would not because they had no record that I ever cancelled my membership. I told him I had the proof that the membership was cancelled and I would provide that with a complaint to the BBB. This is that complaint. I have my credit card billing statements from my credit card company for all of 2011 through today. They detail all charges since 2011, including the unauthorized charge on 2/22/2012 that was credited back to my account on 4/15/2012. I offer this credited charge as proof that AAA knew to cancel my account. I also offer the two subsequent unauthorized charges on 2/21/2013 and 2/21/2014 as fraudulent charges made by AAA. I can sent the monthly statements as requested.

Desired Settlement: Since AAA has already agreed to refund me the $56 membership fee for 2014. The outstanding and unauthorized $56 charge from 2013 needs to be refunded. Importantly, since I am canceling my membership with AAA for now the third time, they must stop automatic billing my credit card. I am not nor have been an AAA member since the end of 2011. I will also contact my credit card to insure that AAA is compliant. I am hopeful that AAA will honor these most reasonable requests and behave in an ethical and legal manner in the future. If they choose to disregard my request. I will file a complaint with the Washington State Attorney General.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/25) */ We regret that Mr. ***** was unable to cancel his membership with AAA upon his first request. We have cancelled his membership and confirmed that automatic credit card renewal has been turned off. We will look into why this was not taken care of upon his initial request. A refund of $112, for the past two years of dues ($56 each), was processed March 24, 2014. Mr. ***** should see his credit card refund within two business days. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused Mr. *****. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for your professional response to my request. I sincerely appreciate it. Best regards. ** *****.

11/14/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a AAA customer in 2010 and chose a mechanic garage in Port Angeles based upon the AAA guarantee of repairs. However, after I had a fiasco at the garage and lost a large amount of money - I wrote a letter to AAA - WA, and they only took the side of the garage and would not invoke their AAA guarantee even though what I was saying was backed up by the Factory Owner's Manual. It was a matter of repair procedure that was at issue and I was supported by the manual, but it didn't matter to them. At the time, I lived at **** ** ***** ***** Forks, WA 99831. This was during the Economic Panic of 2008/09 and the money at stake was considered a lot. But they weren't there for me when it counted.

Desired Settlement: Please mail me a refund check for the dues I paid for membership.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/07) */ This complaint was made in October 2010 by a former AAA Washington member against an Approved Auto Repair Facility in our network. Communication with this customer was exceedingly difficult as he had no address, phone, or e-mail. The only way we could communicate with him was when he would contact us. The member's vehicle, a 1995 Jeep Cherokee, was having brake issues (grabbing on the right rear wheel). The member only wanted to have the hydraulic brake system "bled." He was initially quoted $97 (level 1brake flush), however, that escalated to $197 (level 2 flush) which the member approved and paid. Before the work was completed, he was told his vehicle really needed a complete brake job - including resurfacing rotors and drums. The shop quoted $425 or $618 for this recommended service, depending on whether or not Jeep parts were installed. The member elected not to have any additional work done. Unsurprisingly, the member later experienced "grinding and scraping", and said his brakes were down to the rivets. The repair facility advised us that the customer did not want the recommended service completed due to the fact he felt their prices were too high. It is our belief that the brake issues the member experienced were all due to normal brake wear. We made ourselves available to investigate the member's claim at a predetermined date and time but he did not contact us at that time, nor after the fact. We considered the case closed as we had no way to contact him directly. AAA Washington takes pride in our Approved Auto Repair program. The aforementioned repair facility in this case has had an excellent reputation with us for many years. In fact, they have received the "Top Shop Award" from us for several years in recognition of their consistently high customer satisfaction scores. AAA is not only the largest and most recognized Emergency Roadside Service organization in the nation, we are the most trusted. We provide our members with the very best in service, including high quality Approved Auto Repair Facilities in our network that have met rigorous standards and have a solid business reputation. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2013/11/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thanks for a great resolution. Please mail me a check in MI. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/13) */ AAA Washington could find no wrongdoing on the part of our Approved Auto Repair facility regarding your concern in 2010. As a gesture of good faith, we are refunding your membership dues, not at the proposed 75%, but for 100% from 2010 as resolution of your complaint with our Approved Auto Repair Facility. We now consider this case closed.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AAA Washington
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)