This business is not BBB accredited.

Christian Prayer Center

Phone: (888) 435-1217   View Additional Email Addresses http://www.christianprayercenter.com View Additional Web Addresses

! There is an alert on Christian Prayer Center !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 9
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Complaint Information

On May 21, 2013, BBB recognized a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding billing issues. Consumers allege they believed they were making a one-time donation by submitting a prayer request to the Christian Prayer Center; however, consumers later discover they are receiving monthly charges from the company.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Christian Prayer Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 09, 2012 Business started: 04/19/2005 Business started locally: 04/19/2005 Business incorporated 03/17/2010 in WA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Category

Religious Organizations Online Retailer Books - New

Hours of Operation
7 days a week, 24 hours a day.
Refund and Exchange Policy

If you change your mind about your purchase before it ships, you may cancel your order for a 100% refund.

Returned items for refunds or exchanges are accepted within 30 days of purchase, as long as your product is returned in unopened, resalable condition. A 20% restocking fee applies to returned items.

We offer a toll-free phone line where you can leave a message.  We listen to all messages and respond by email, generally withing 24 hours. 

Service Area
International.
Additional Information


On February 16, 2016, BBB reached out to Christian Prayer Center. BBB only had the option to leave a message on its automated voicemail system and requested a return call.

As of February 26, 2016, the company has not responded to BBB’s request for background information.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Seattle, WA 98115

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is what I wrote to Christian Prayer Center Topic: ** Alert ** Over-Draft account because of Christian Prayer Bank Withdrawal Hi Christian Prayer, My name is ******* ******* and on May 14, 2014, I made a donation of $9 and asked for a prayer request to be able to conceive children. Not only have I not been able to conceive children, I am laid off from my job & will not be receiving unemployment. But the problem is that Christian Prayer Center has taken/withdrawn $9 several times from my account without my permission or knowledge. When I was working I overlooked the withdrawal but now this unauthorized withdrawal process has now put me in overdraft status. The bank can retrieve the money including the $36 over-draft charge fee but they said contact you first to see if the prayer group would put the money back in my account $36+$9+= $45 in total because they cannot or in my opinion will not retract the overdraft fee of $36. I've been trying for 2 days to get in contact with someone. The bank has stated charging me $7 a day for my account being in overdraft status. Today as a courtesy the bank manager took the $7 fee for yesterday & today off but she started the charge will start back again on Monday- August 31 & they will not be able to take the $7 charges off anymore. Hope to hear from you soon today because if not the bank will charge me $15 in order to retrieve $45 from you. Thanks In Advance because I am currently struggling until I start back to working again.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting & would like to receive the $45 to correct this issue. However if it's not resolved today (Aug. 28< 2015) then there will be a $7 overdraft charge each day until the money is returned back to my bank account. The other desired outcome is to close all ties with this company including deleting my bank account information that I didn't know they still had after 1 legit donation.

Business Response:

*******,

 

Thanks very much for contacting us regarding this issue and allowing us the opportunity to assist you.

 

We have gone into the system and refunded your card $27, which constitutes your $9 payments from June, July, and August.  We're terribly sorry to hear that your bank has charged you these unfair overdraft fees.  We recommend you call them to remedy this, and please let us know if it would help for us to speak with your bank directly.

 

Please know that our prayers have been with you to have a natural birth, as well as for your career advancement.  As you requested, we have kept you in our continuous prayers.

 

If there is anything else we can help you with, please contact us directly by email, or leave a message on our toll-free phone line:

***************

 

God Bless.

3/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Like the rest A one time charge turned into a monthly charge, already contacted them and they said I Checked yes to a monthly charge and will not be refunded my money. I rechecked the web sight and they are lying, I would never have checked something like that, this is a scam. A christian prayer center scamming people in need, wow.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back

Business Response: ****,

We really appreciate you contacting us for help. Our prayer center serves the needs of thousands of Christians who come together in prayer. Posting prayer requests is an option we leave to anyone who visits our site, as well as reading the prayer requests of others.

It is strict policy never to accept money that was not intended for us, and we'd be very happy to help you immediately with your situation. If you feel that money was taken from you in error, or that there was somehow a miscommunication regarding the terms you signed up for, we'd be happy to assist.

Please feel free to contact our 7 day a week support line by email or by calling into our toll-free phone line. It is important to us that you are happy, and that you can continue to enjoy the services that we have available.

God Bless.

1/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon a prayer request the website ask for a minimal donation of at least $9.00 using a credit card, which I submitted.Then I received an email confirming my prayer request along with my donation amount of $9.00.But it stated that this would be deducted on a monthly basis,which nowhere did it state that at the time of submitting the prayer request. I immediately called the 800# to try to cancel the request before it had time to go through but had to leave a msg with my email address and last four digits of my card #.Also sent an email to support site.

Desired Settlement: A full refund and cancellation of services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2014/12/05) */ ******, Thanks so much for contacting us, and for trusting our center with your important prayers. You did the right thing by contacting our support email and utilizing our 7 day a week toll free phone line. I can confirm that your request was granted within hours of when you sent it in. God Bless, and please let us know if we can assist you with anything else. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 22, 2014/12/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I feel like the web site was deceptive in automatically enrolling me into a monthly contract without stating that up front.So I don't believe it is a legit prayer site.I requested a full refund and will settle for nothing less. Final Business Response /* (4000, 24, 2014/12/16) */ ******, thanks for contacting us by using the 800# provided on our website and in our confirmation email to you. I can confirm that your request was received and your cancellation went through immediately. Be blessed and please visit our prayer center again soon. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 26, 2014/12/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) He is ignoring the fact that I have ask for a refund on the basis that I believe the site to be a hoax just to get money.If this was a real prayer center they would not have a problem with a refund just to show their sincerity of their mission.But I believe this guy's mission is to rip people off.I saw too many complaints against this place for the same issue I had with them and they continue to do it over and again.So He isn't even trying to fix the problem and that shows me it is a scheme.I still would like a refund and will donate to a more reliable source.Thank you

1/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was directed to this web site via the ************* site...there is a link there that I thought would take me to the ************* prayer page and in turn I was directed here. Upon making a prayer request I thought it was for a different site. The site asks for a donation in order to post a prayer request. I didn't want to make the pleadge...but was taken to the posting site anyway. There is no way to cancel your posting and it doesn't state anywhere on the web site that they will be taking money monthly out of your account but when I call I get an answering machine stating that if I want to cancel my monthly pledge I can by leaving my email and last four didget's towards my cc. I've done that.

Desired Settlement: I want my $15 returned because I didn't know that I was pleadging that amount. I thought that I was on the ************ site and I thought it was asking me for my recent pleadge amount to that organization.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/08/20) */ ********, thanks so much for your note. We want you to know that we are here to help however we can and we are sorry that you were confused when you first posted your prayer request. Please contact us at our 24/7 email or phone support line and we would be more than happy to help. Toll Free: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Email: ****@christianprayercenter.com God Bless, and be well. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/08/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have called the organization twice and no one answered the phone nor did they return my call. Either by phone or email.

1/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their web site is deceptive. We have a very sick child in our family and requested a prayer for $35. However, subsequent to this charge, they continue to charge our credit card for $35. We have left a telephone message and emailed them requesting they stop charging the credit card, and also reimburse our credit card $35 for the unauthorized second charge. They have not responded to our request. Also, other then their phone number (X-XXX-XXX-XXXX)which is not a live person, and their email, there is no other way of contacting them.

Desired Settlement: We want the second unauthorized charge of $35 credited back to our cred card, and for them so stop all future unauthorized charges. If not we plan to seek legal counsel.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/10) */ ********, Thanks very much for contacting us. We would be more than happy to assist you with this issue. For any issues with your offering, please feel free to contact us by phone or by email and we'll get back to you within 24 hours. You may dial us toll-free at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, or you may email us at info(at)christianprayercenter.com. It is never our intention to take money which has not been clearly authorized. We are here for you and our deepest prayers remain with your family and the health of your child. God Bless. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/08/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We called and emailed to cancel any future charges to our credit card. Mr. *******'s response is as if he never received any notification. This site is run buy *** ******* in Settle, not ****** *******. Mr. ****** is also responsible for another scheme where he used homeless people to make money called "***-Vertising" He was featured on the ******* ****** documenting his use of the homeless. As a retired investigator in the Federal Government, Mr. *******, while not doing anything illegal, walks that fine line. We have a very sick child in our family who we asked for prayers and mistakenly fell for Mr. *******'s site. Mr. ******* - like you, we too drive a Mercedes, and would bet we have more money then you. But, we didn't earn our money the way you did. All we can say is "Mr. *******, God is your final judge. We hope you change.

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I logged onto their website because I needed prayer for an important issue. I got all the way down to the end of their "prayer request" process. They then would not process my prayer request unless I sent them at least $9.00. Since when does a prayer request require you to pay for it monitarily? This company is a scam!

Desired Settlement: I think they should either stop requiring their prayer requests to be made with a payment, or shut their website down.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/17) */ ******, thanks so much for sharing your opinion with us. We do value the opinions of everyone who gives our ministry a visit. Please note that we do ask for financial support when posting a prayer request, but it is completely voluntary and not necessary to participate as a member on our site. We use these financial resources for outreach and support of the site. If you would prefer to use the site as a free member, we welcome you with open arms and kindly ask that you donate some of your time to pray for others who have made prayer requests with us. God Bless and be well.

4/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The center has taken money from my card without my permission. They are not answering the phone and email to contact them appears to be bogus as there is no response to queries

Desired Settlement: I want them to refund my $18 and desist from taking out money from my card. I also want them to cancel my account and all other information about me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/05) */ *******, thanks for reaching out to us. We are eager to help you resolve these issues. The Christian Prayer Center provides prayer support to thousands of faithful Christians around the world, and it is never our intent to take offerings that were not meant for us. We have a dedicated support staff who would be happy to get your specific issue resolved as soon as possible. Please feel free to give our toll free number a call or send us an email at info (at) christianprayercenter.com. Our toll free number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Be well, and God Bless.

3/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CPC charges my debit card for $9.00 each month. I have complained to then without results. They owe me $18.00.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a $18.00 debit to my account!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/18) */ ******, thanks very much for reaching out to us. We would be more than happy to help you resolve this issue as quickly as possible. We are Christian Prayer Center who brings together those who need prayer and those with the loving capacity to provide prayers for others. We are member supported, but it is never our intent to take offerings from those who are unable or unwilling to give. Please contact us by email or give us a call on our toll free phone line, and we'll be happy to help you right away. God Bless. XXX-XXX-XXXX info(at)christianprayercenter.com

3/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: MY account is being charged for a$15.oo amount for the last 7 months which I am not aware of kindly refund this amount back in my account.I have made a complaint to my bank and made them aware of the charges pertaining to my account.Kindly do the needfulThank you

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund refund the money back in my account amount of $105.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/15) */ ******, thank you very much for contacting us regarding this issue. We are very eager to help you resolve this as easily and quickly as possible. As a Christian prayer center devoted towards bringing Christians together, all offerings to support our center are voluntary and it certainly never our wish to take offerings unintentionally. Please email or give us a call and we can resolve this issue for you immediately. You may call us toll free at XXX-XXX-XXXX or email us at info(at)christianprayercenter.com. We are here to help, God Bless.

1/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i too like others assumed it would be a one time donation . But little did i know it has been charging my back account for 3 months . at 15 each . no where in the website does it say a one time or ongoing charge . please ad my complaint as of today . i did leave a message to stop my charge going forward . i believe in prayer and having a large group of persons pray for you is great but it needs to be asked:do you want a one time donation or a monthly amt and for how long? . thanks happy holidays

Desired Settlement: no settlement just a comment from the co. on there website to alert consumers of there intentions/ also a follow up call or email apologizeing for their behavior . thank you !!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/23) */ ****, We are deeply sorry that you had a negative experience. It is never our intention to take offerings that were not intended for us. Please send an email to our support address or call our toll-free line, and we will take care of this immediately for you. Be blessed, and remember that you are in our prayers. ****@christianprayercenter.com XXX-XXX-XXXX Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday - BBB Closed

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: visited the online website for christian prayer center for prayer request,would not allow for you to give your request unless you made a donation(9.00 being the least amount that you could make)made a one time donation of $9.00. and noticed that a second unauthorized $9.00 was charged on my credit card! called number listed on website regarding this matter,notified credit card company regarding this scam.did not recieve a e-mail or call back from company

Desired Settlement: refund of $9.00 back to my credit card

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/08/31) */ *******, We're very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with our prayer group. We respond to all emails and also maintain a 24/7 toll free phone support line, which we encourage you to call. We would be happy to help you out. God Bless. Toll-Free Support: XXX-XXX-XXXX Support Email: info(at)christianprayercenter.com


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Christian Prayer Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)