BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/1987

Tacoma RV Center Inc

Phone: (253) 896-4401

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
09/02/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased a used 2008 trailer from this dealer May 24, 2014. In June, a third party service technician discovered extensive water damage confirming the unit was structurally defective and unsafe upon purchase and would have been visibly obvious to anyone working at a dealership. I spoke to the owner of the dealership and she was obstinate and unwilling to help resolve the problem stating it was sold AS IS. The law clearly states that the Implied Warranty of Merchantability covers the consumer from damaged, defective, and unsafe recreational vehicles.

Desired Settlement
I am asking her to pay for the cost of repairs, and remit payment to the RV service shop within 2 weeks.

Business Response
The customer did call and I did say that used trailers are sold as is. I told her we make sure all the appliance are working when the unit leaves our dealership. I ask her to bring the unit back to us and let us look at it. She would not do that. We would have worked with her and given her our shop time at a reduce rate and saved her a lot of money, but she would not give us the chance.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The dealership owner repeated that the trailer was sold as is and passed the smell test. When I explained the extensive damage of the rotten floor, she repeated, "If you WOULD HAVE brought it in to us, we COULD HAVE fixed it for less." However, I CLEARLY communicated that the entire back end of the trailer was off and being worked on so that was NOT a viable solution. It is a blatant lie that I wouldn't give her a chance to make this right. Does it REALLY seem like I'm trying to get something for free here when I have 5 kids at home, an extremely busy schedule, missed travel and camping opportunities, and serious family health issues to deal with yet I have wasted hours of my time trying to track down a solution to this problem?? I can read her response and again I ask, what will you DO to make this right?

Final Business Response
I am sorry the customer is unhappy with the discussion we have made on this complaint but a used unit is sold as is at Tacoma RV and the only thing we made sure is that all the appliance are working at time of delivery

*******
Tacoma RV

02/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Required me to prepay for a service call fee of $ 135.00 and diagnostic fee of $ 135.00 plus $ 40.38 tax, totaling $ 310.38. Did the improper repair work and then charged the insurance company for the same service and diagnostic fee, plus an addition service call fee totaling $ 405.00 which was paid. Have refused to to address the issue.

Desired Settlement
$ 310.38, plus $ 135.00 returned to the insurance company for improper billing

Business Response
I will list the Service calls that we have done.
June 4, 2010 we worked on leaking kitchen sink we didn't charge a servce call.
2. August 15, 2012 we worked on several iems she paid service call
3.Dec,19 2012 She paid service call and diagnostic fee warranty paid to replace whole refer 2 trips out there warranty will only pay one and will not pay diagnostic.

Oct 18, 2013 looked at refer didn't charge for service call corrected the placement of where the tube was put on refer tube
We are correct on all charges to her and warranty company.

*******



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It appears that Tacoma RV is going to justify their billing procedures. They failed to mention that had they submitted the diagnostic and service call fee to my insurance company, which I had to pay in advance, $ 100.00 of each request would have been paid by the insurance company, therefore leaving my responsibility at $ 70.00 not $ 270.00. They, however, chose not to act in my best interests. I have had extensive conversations with the Insurance Company and they were very apologetic with Tacoma RV not requesting reimbursement on my behalf as I have paid a lot of money for this Insurance Policy. I should not have to call ******* for warranty service. They improperly installed the unit, and it has not worked properly since the installation. I feel it is their responsibility to come to my home and either install another unit or fix the current unit they installed. I have spoke with ******* and they have told me it is not usual for the unit to have to be defrosted every 10 - 14 days. Tacoma RV has been paid for the unit and installation with the assumption the unit was installed properly, which it was not.

Final Business Response
After reading **** ****** newest complaint I contacted ************************* and spoke with ******* on 2-7-14. ******* and I reviewed the claim that was filed and verified their notes incorrectly show that they had paid for one service call and the diagnostics, but the actual labor dollars paid do not reflect those charges. The labor paid was the standard labor amounts for the refrigerator replacement and the thermostat repairs. ********** did not even pay the one service call portion we deducted from **** ****** bill. If **** ***** feels she should be reimbursed those charges she would need to speak with ********** ************** for any refunds.
As for the refrigerator freezing up, this would not be a installation issue. This would be a warranty issue in which case ******* provides a two year warranty on the refrigerator. Any licensed RV repair facility can apply for ******* warranty repairs. ******* does request that the owner call them first before any repairs are done. Please call them at XXX-XXX-XXXX .
Tacoma RV will not be reimbursing **** ***** for any of the repairs that have been made at this time.

07/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The complaint is ofr repair work on a 2012 Montana Bik Sky fifth wheel.

This is the second time they said work was performed and it was not. The first time in Sept. of 2012 was replacement of a scratched microwave. They tried replacing only the bezel with a less scratched one even though I was told to bring the trailer in becuase the new microwave was in. the service rep. even threw out my paperwork and walked away.

I took the trailer back in on June 1st, 2013 to have the wheel bearings repacked, two slide outs adjusted (the seal on the front bottom of the slides was not compressed and a slide-topper tightened.

I picked the trailer up on June 15th, 2013. after talking with the service rep. and paying I went to hook up the trailer and found that the slides had not been adjusted as told and billed for. The gap was the same as when I brought it in.

I also had to bring the service rep. back out as the whole rear ledge on the back of the trailer was covered in bird ****. the rep. just said wow and had it washed.

I asked him why the slides were the same and not adjusted and he pointed to the rear of the slide, said it looked good and went back inside.

I was billed for work that was not performed and I am now wondering if they even repacked the wheel bearings.

Desired Settlement
Refund of the slide adjustments and reimbursement of diesel fuel. Slide adjustments were $65.00 each for $130.00.

Roundtrip of 100 miles. Truck gets 11 miles per gallon towing. Diesel is $3.99 per gallon. At 11 miles per gallon that is 9.09 gallons used for a total of $36.27.

Business' Initial Response
The slides were adjusted we found the front slide bracket was bent we removed the bracket and straighted it out and the sldied close properly.
we did pack the wheel bearing. I am sorry the birds **** on the unit but we did wash the unit for the customer. Can't do much more. I think the customer thought the slide would be covered under warranty but warranty doesn't cover adjustments. We did want we were asked to do so we will not be refunding the customer money.
*******
Taomca RV

12/09/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/27/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
10/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tacoma Rv has had our trailer for over 3 weeks they are saying that the parts have not arrived they promised the trailer to be done within 2 weeks. The people at tacoma rv are very rude!!!!! When we dropped the trailer off we explained that we have an event in 3 weeks and needed the trailer for this event. Now the event is here and the trailer is not ready. They will not provide a loaner.

Desired Settlement
I just want the work on my trailer to be done in a timely manner with people that don't treat us like ****.

Business Response
The customer has their trailer and they are using it. Yes we are wanting for cabinet parts and it does take 4 to 6 weeks to get them in. I am sorry but we have no control over the parts coming from the factory. We do the best we can to keep the customer out camping in their units during the camping season.
*******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It has been over a month and they still have not finished the repairs on our unit. When the work first started they had ordered the parts and they said they had all come in and come to find out they had not and the work is still not done.

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
this unit has been finished on Sept. 10th and the customer has picked it up
*******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business has never said they are sorry for the way that we have been treated while at there place of business. Every time we go into there store we are treated like ****!!!!!!! This is not ok and we will make sure to tell everyone we know about this.

04/03/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Recreational Vehicles - Dealers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.