BBB Accredited Business since

South Hill R V Sales

Phone: (253) 435-7751 Fax: (253) 435-1730 View Additional Phone Numbers 12414 Meridian E, Puyallup, WA 98373 http://www.southhillrv.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers RV sales and service for both new and used RV's.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that South Hill R V Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for South Hill R V Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on South Hill R V Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 2002 Business started: 07/01/2001 Business started locally: 07/01/2001 Business incorporated 07/01/2001 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Lisabet Tatum, President Mr. Rich Hopson, Assistant Manager Mr. Lon Tatum Mr. Ted Tatum, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Lisabet Tatum, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Ted Tatum, Sales Manager
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
L L Tatum Inc

Additional Locations

  • 12414 Meridian E

    Puyallup, WA 98373 (866) 435-7751 (253) 435-1249 (253) 435-1557 (253) 435-1781 (253) 435-7751

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 29 October 2014 my wife and I went to South Hill RV to look at their products. After looking we asked if they had a specific model on order. The Associate "Jay" told us that he would talk to the owner "Ted" to see if they had it on order and call me in a few days. A few days later "Jay" called me and told me it had been ordered a few weeks before that and should be on the lot in 4-6 weeks. We had been waiting for the product to arrive for over a month after multiple sales associates said the product was on order. I called Coachmen RV in Indiana on 5 December 2014, the associate had told me that the product hadn't even been purchased yet let alone "ordered". I then called South Hill RV and a female associate over the phone said that this product hadn't even been ordered yet and all the associates that I had talked to said it was on order and there are 3 other people wanting this trailer. On 16 December 2014, I called Coachmen RV and they confirmed that the trailer had been purchased by the dealer and is set to ship on 19 December 2014. On 23 December 2014, my wife and I went to look at a travel trailer (product) from South Hill RV. We hadn't been approved for a loan for the product yet. The sales associate "Rich" said sign this purchase order and take it to your bank to see if you get approved. I then asked him "By signing here I am not buying this trailer, correct?" He then tells my wife and I that this is just so the bank can see how much the product cost and approve us for that amount, if approved. I then asked him "By signing here we didn't just by a trailer?" He says no again and explains it the same way he explained it before. On 27 December 2014, I went to see "Rich" at South Hill RV. I handed "Rich" the cashier's check assuming that I was going to get the trailer, but "Rich" said no. After leaving, you had called me and I asked you to return my $500 that I had put down to hold the product at "Rich's" request and also asked for my check back. You stated that you would work on getting it back to me. On 29 December 2014, "Rich" disrespected my wife when she spoke to him over the phone and in person when she asked "Rich" numerous times to return our cashier's check before it was deposited. After calling and talking to Union Credit Union (South Hill RV's Bank) and Boeing Employee Credit Union (Our Bank), it came to light that our cashier's check which is same as cash was deposited into Union Credit Union on 31 December 2014. Our $500 deposit was deposited back into our account on 31 December 2014. After more and more back and forth with "Ted" the sale manager, also known as the owners son he dropped the product off in front of our house on 27 January 2015. The product is supposed to have a warranty and a start up kit, and now it doesn't.

Desired Settlement: The Settlement that my wife and I are seeking is to take the product back and refund us our $41,000; $10,000 for wrong doing, harassment and disrespect; and a hand written apology letter from Ted and Rich addressed to my wife.

Business Response: The ***** family came to our Lot at "12414 Meridian E Puyallup WA 98373" in search of a specific floor plan .The original Salesperson showed them everything we had in stock that was similar to what they were looking for. After some hours they decided they liked the quality and exact floor plan of the 320BHDS Freedom Express by Coachmen. At this time we were sold out but had this unit on order and we were to call Mr ***** the moment it arrived as with a couple other families. (that was not good enough) Mr ***** continued to call almost daily checking the status of this unit. He originally offered the first sales person to put a deposit on it to get first right. "We are very fair here and having two other sets of families waiting also I thought it would be an even playing field if we called each customer waiting for this rig when it arrived and first come, first serve" He told that sales guy he agreed and understood and respected that. The first sales person went on a family planned vacation and he handed me (the sales manager) the phone number and worksheet to call MR ***** when it arrived! Mr ***** continued to call almost daily about the unit, now I am talking to MR ***** and again explain he will get a call when it arrives. He again says he would like first right and would like to give me a deposit, I repeated what the First Sales person has already stated "I assumed this coming from the sales manager he would listen,respect and appreciate this honest & Fair way of doing business". "I was wrong" He continued to call and got a hold of yet another Sales person on 12-22-2015 (we run a tight crew and stagger our days off) and convinced him to take the deposit of $500 on this incoming unit because he wants it and does not want any chance of missing out as he stated. (this sales guy knew no different on this unit or future customers situation and gladly accepted his money).Fortunately the Unit in fact showed up the next day Tues the 23rd of Dec, I called the Sales person who took the deposit as he was now off this day and asked him to call MR ***** and meet him in here if necessary as he has been overly excited to get his unit. They ***** Family and my Sales associate met here at the lot on 12-23-2015. After spending a couple/few hours here in the unit together they proudly stated how much they love it and its even better then expected and proceeded to ask us to see what we can do to get them financed! Our Finance dept worked on it for a couple days trying to get the lowest rate and best possible term for the ***** current credit rating/status. she did just that. They were not happy with our lenders interest rate and applied at their own bank on 12-26-2015 and called us to say they were approved and at a better interest rate. "the standard in the industry to have our RV tech's go threw, test, fill LP tanks, install deep cycle house battery's, & operate all the systems in hopes of finding any new bugs that may need to be worked out and overlooked at the factory, unlike a car with a same day delivery, same day delivery only happens when we sell something AS-IS". Unexpectedly Mr ***** shows up that next day Saturday 12-27-2015 before opening with the check in hand from his credit union. "As he is waiting for his sales person with a few more questions on his new trailer and to pay the trailer off in full, he makes a point to find my office, walk in & introduce himself shake my hand as he is thanking me and explaining how happy he is with the Trailer and with our Company and how everything has went down so smooth." He met the sales guy, paid,scheduled his walk threw class and we refunded his initial $500 deposit at this time as well, as he brought a check for 100% of the balance owed. This is a large check, with any large deposit we take that to our bank immediately. At this point Mr ***** owns a Trailer. The next call we get is a couple days later, actually Mon the day before his scheduled pickup/orientation class saying his wife now feels she was insulted because the salesmen was curt with her the day they came and viewed the Trailer when he met them on his day off. I explained to MR ***** that you came and thanked me and said how happy your were with EVERYTHING days after this incident and that does not make any sense. He seemed to understand and agreed, the next call I get was from Mrs. ***** on three way call with MR ***** both very belligerent & threatening, I again calmly explained at least 6 times as they kept repeating themselves and not seeming to understand, once they started threatening and screaming so loud the office next door could hear, There was nothing else I could do. They bought This beautiful Trailer they sought after and wanted so badly, At the cost of SHRV we had it delivered to their residence. We follow all rules of the state and went above and beyond to do the right thing and help the *****, Why these folks changed their mind after they found the Trailer they wanted, happily paid in full only they know. I spoke a number of times in hopes of helping them threw this but obviously something else is the underlying cause that I cannot help with. There in fact is a starter kit that was in the trailer and the ***** have been registered through Coachmen for their warranty and can get work done at any Dealer who will accept them. We try very very hard to make every customer happy and in this case although we have done nothing wrong that is obviously not possible. We wish the ***** many years of good times and creating memories and hope they are out there camping as I write this!

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While on family vacation, on July 10, 2013 we arrived at South Hills Rv with our Palomino trailer. We disclosed that the hitch was bending and that is was unsafe for us to tow. We gave a conditional offer that we would buy a new Rockwood Freedom 1910 for $10,000 if they took a trade in on our unit. They agreed and the paper work was drawn up. We paid for the new unit in full the agreed amount. We were told that the title would take a few days and to stop back on our way to pick the title up. I called the office (the next day I believe) and spoke to ***** (the financial officer) about having the title mailed since it would take us 3.5 hours out of our route to return. She agreed. ***** on the phone she did leave a general message on our voicemail at home on the 12th asking that we contact her (no mention of the reason). I called several (4 or 5) times asking for her always being told she was out. I called our friend on the 25th to ask if she received any mail from the RV dealership and she told me she did. Thinking that everything must've been resolved, we arrived at our friends house and opened the letter to find no title but rather a demand for an import custom form 7501 or 3641. We decided to continue to the border to inquire. We were turned back at the Canadian border because they will not allow a tent-trailer to come in the country without a title. We spoke to an agent at the US border showing her the letter we received from the RV dealership. Officer ****** tells us that we don't need a form since we did not have the intention of selling our tent-trailer at the time of entry but rather the issue presented itself during the trip to became necessary to come up with a solution to sell it. We ended up taking the new trailer to a business for storage thinking we could resolve the situation from home. Once home I spoke to ***** who expressed once again the need for a customs importation form completed for the title to be released. She has told me that they did not know they needed a customs form for issuing a title in the U.S. for our trade-in. But at no time took ownership of that. She insists we are the ones that should have known. I cannot understand a business that makes a mistake and blames the customer. The request for a customs form was not once mentioned when they sold the new trailer to us and let us drive off the lot and leave our old trade-in with them. It is a condition made after the sale. Which in my humble opinion makes them a dishonest business. Further makes me sick to think they gave us the impression they were helping us out. We have since found out that we cannot get this customs form after the fact, as the trailer must be presented at a port - so we are unable to get this form for them. They have said they will not accept the new trailer back and give us our old trailer and money back to undo the deal.

Desired Settlement: We would like to return the the new trailer. Reverse the agreed deal. We would have not purchased the new trailer if they didn't take our trade-in. The onus is upon the dealership to make sure they have all that they need for the trade-in. They live in the United States and are in the business of dealing with Rv's and therefore should be aware of what is required.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/08/06) */ My name is *** ***** Sales manger and Family member here at South Hill RV Sales! We follow every rule & guideline laid out by Wa State and federal law. We Work very hard at making EVERY customer happy, With no exception here. We tried hard to accommodate ***** and **** ******* when they came to us looking to upgrade Tent Trailers. We were only showed a bend in the frame on the trade in and made the deal going on just that, Her words were everything else is perfect. We hold every Tittle for our units new and used and apart of making this deal was for the *******'s to stop back by here after the two week trip to get their tittle ( I explained it's needed to enter Canada)and they agreed. We do this to make sure all money's clear and the trade in is in fact legit/legal etc etc. (they left a message here a day or so later saying they will not be back by) The next day as my Licencing gal started on this deal & we realized their was no vin# plate (HUGE RED FLAG) so we started calling the *******'s and leaving message after message. (Now clear why they did not want to come back and would not return a call) They did not call myself or ***** the Finance Gal back but left a message for the Salesmen stating got your messages and you must have noticed no vin plate on the trade and we "*****" have it with us and assume you will need it or maybe for us to pay the $1488 you gave us on trade..?"we also saved & have this recorded message of admittance of not disclosing this very important fact" #1 it's illegal to ever take any vin plate off any unit and see NO reason to ever do so & #2 this should have been mentioned at time of sale, and this makes this Trailer unable to be licensed and useless/no value to us/SHRV. Mr *******'s 2nd or 3rd excuses was "out of site and out of mind" ( I also have every e-mail admitting/saying this as well) They also mentioned what a wonderful cross country two week trip they had and now they are done and after misleading us to get what they wanted at the time of sale now want their money back. I feel they knew this Trailer was not legit nor could it pass inspection and is why this most important information was withheld. I have tried a number of times to explain this and help them but they have refused and feel I should pay for their admitted mistake. I also told them as nice as I am I will not be bullied or intimidated and only ask them to do what is obviously the right thing and pay what was given for this trade I was 100% mislead on & That I am now unable to resale because of the vin being taken off by these customers and not being able to pass inspection because of this. As soon as they pay what is owed ($1,488) I will release the Tittle/MSO for the new Trailer and we can all go our separate ways. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 23, 2013/08/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This business does not accept responsibility for it's own mistakes but made their mistake my problem. Of course we remitting the trade in value not because we accept blame but rather the cost was mounting daily and we had no choice. I would like to add that I am not angry but rather feel it my duty to warn future customers that this company does not act in good faith. The recording that Mr. ***** refers to is one of a desparate woman at the US border not able to take property that she purchase at $10,000 not home with her. I would like Mr. ***** to maybe sympathize just a little with my situation and not attact my character for which if I was what he claims would just be done with this but sorrily he is mistaken once again. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 21, 2013/08/21) */ We have wasted enough time and have proven the fact these customers tried to pull one over on us. (it is on a recorded message) I called them out and they were forced to do the right thing. Why the BBB is letting them continue this is beyond me as we have done nothing wrong except call their bluff and this is the way ***** ******* is going to hurt SHRV after I jumped thru hoops to get her family Camping the same day and overnighted the title as I said I would after they fixed their admitted mistake. She is angry she was not able to rip us off and this is how she feels she can hurt us? This is frivolous and with NO merit what so ever. I will state it again we follow the law to a tee and will do about anything for our customers and sorry this Canadian customer mistook my kindness for weakness. I still wish them many years of Happy Camping even though they are doing everything she can to hurt my good name with nothing to back it except spite..


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on South Hill R V Sales
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)