BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2002

South Hill R V Sales

Phone: (253) 435-7751Fax: (253) 435-1730View Additional Phone Numbers12414 Meridian E, PuyallupWA 98373-3416 Send email to South Hill R V Sales

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers RV sales and service for both new and used RV's.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2002

BBB has determined that South Hill R V Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised South Hill R V Sales' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on South Hill R V Sales

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
02/24/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
09/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
While on family vacation, on July 10, 2013 we arrived at South Hills Rv with our Palomino trailer. We disclosed that the hitch was bending and that is was unsafe for us to tow. We gave a conditional offer that we would buy a new Rockwood Freedom 1910 for $10,000 if they took a trade in on our unit. They agreed and the paper work was drawn up. We paid for the new unit in full the agreed amount. We were told that the title would take a few days and to stop back on our way to pick the title up. I called the office (the next day I believe) and spoke to ***** (the financial officer) about having the title mailed since it would take us 3.5 hours out of our route to return. She agreed. ***** on the phone she did leave a general message on our voicemail at home on the 12th asking that we contact her (no mention of the reason). I called several (4 or 5) times asking for her always being told she was out. I called our friend on the 25th to ask if she received any mail from the RV dealership and she told me she did. Thinking that everything must've been resolved, we arrived at our friends house and opened the letter to find no title but rather a demand for an import custom form 7501 or 3641. We decided to continue to the border to inquire. We were turned back at the Canadian border because they will not allow a tent-trailer to come in the country without a title. We spoke to an agent at the US border showing her the letter we received from the RV dealership. Officer ****** tells us that we don't need a form since we did not have the intention of selling our tent-trailer at the time of entry but rather the issue presented itself during the trip to became necessary to come up with a solution to sell it. We ended up taking the new trailer to a business for storage thinking we could resolve the situation from home. Once home I spoke to ***** who expressed once again the need for a customs importation form completed for the title to be released. She has told me that they did not know they needed a customs form for issuing a title in the U.S. for our trade-in. But at no time took ownership of that. She insists we are the ones that should have known. I cannot understand a business that makes a mistake and blames the customer. The request for a customs form was not once mentioned when they sold the new trailer to us and let us drive off the lot and leave our old trade-in with them. It is a condition made after the sale. Which in my humble opinion makes them a dishonest business. Further makes me sick to think they gave us the impression they were helping us out. We have since found out that we cannot get this customs form after the fact, as the trailer must be presented at a port - so we are unable to get this form for them. They have said they will not accept the new trailer back and give us our old trailer and money back to undo the deal.

Desired Settlement
We would like to return the the new trailer. Reverse the agreed deal. We would have not purchased the new trailer if they didn't take our trade-in. The onus is upon the dealership to make sure they have all that they need for the trade-in. They live in the United States and are in the business of dealing with Rv's and therefore should be aware of what is required.

Business' Initial Response
My name is *** ***** Sales manger and Family member here at South Hill RV Sales! We follow every rule & guideline laid out by Wa State and federal law. We Work very hard at making EVERY customer happy, With no exception here. We tried hard to accommodate ***** and **** ******* when they came to us looking to upgrade Tent Trailers. We were only showed a bend in the frame on the trade in and made the deal going on just that, Her words were everything else is perfect. We hold every Tittle for our units new and used and apart of making this deal was for the *******'s to stop back by here after the two week trip to get their tittle ( I explained it's needed to enter Canada)and they agreed. We do this to make sure all money's clear and the trade in is in fact legit/legal etc etc. (they left a message here a day or so later saying they will not be back by) The next day as my Licencing gal started on this deal & we realized their was no vin# plate (HUGE RED FLAG) so we started calling the *******'s and leaving message after message. (Now clear why they did not want to come back and would not return a call) They did not call myself or ***** the Finance Gal back but left a message for the Salesmen stating got your messages and you must have noticed no vin plate on the trade and we "*****" have it with us and assume you will need it or maybe for us to pay the $1488 you gave us on trade..?"we also saved & have this recorded message of admittance of not disclosing this very important fact" #1 it's illegal to ever take any vin plate off any unit and see NO reason to ever do so & #2 this should have been mentioned at time of sale, and this makes this Trailer unable to be licensed and useless/no value to us/SHRV. Mr *******'s 2nd or 3rd excuses was "out of site and out of mind" ( I also have every e-mail admitting/saying this as well) They also mentioned what a wonderful cross country two week trip they had and now they are done and after misleading us to get what they wanted at the time of sale now want their money back. I feel they knew this Trailer was not legit nor could it pass inspection and is why this most important information was withheld. I have tried a number of times to explain this and help them but they have refused and feel I should pay for their admitted mistake. I also told them as nice as I am I will not be bullied or intimidated and only ask them to do what is obviously the right thing and pay what was given for this trade I was 100% mislead on & That I am now unable to resale because of the vin being taken off by these customers and not being able to pass inspection because of this. As soon as they pay what is owed ($1,488) I will release the Tittle/MSO for the new Trailer and we can all go our separate ways.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This business does not accept responsibility for it's own mistakes but made their mistake my problem. Of course we remitting the trade in value not because we accept blame but rather the cost was mounting daily and we had no choice. I would like to add that I am not angry but rather feel it my duty to warn future customers that this company does not act in good faith. The recording that Mr. ***** refers to is one of a desparate woman at the US border not able to take property that she purchase at $10,000 not home with her. I would like Mr. ***** to maybe sympathize just a little with my situation and not attact my character for which if I was what he claims would just be done with this but sorrily he is mistaken once again.

Business' Final Response
We have wasted enough time and have proven the fact these customers tried to pull one over on us. (it is on a recorded message) I called them out and they were forced to do the right thing. Why the BBB is letting them continue this is beyond me as we have done nothing wrong except call their bluff and this is the way ***** ******* is going to hurt SHRV after I jumped thru hoops to get her family Camping the same day and overnighted the title as I said I would after they fixed their admitted mistake. She is angry she was not able to rip us off and this is how she feels she can hurt us? This is frivolous and with NO merit what so ever. I will state it again we follow the law to a tee and will do about anything for our customers and sorry this Canadian customer mistook my kindness for weakness. I still wish them many years of Happy Camping even though they are doing everything she can to hurt my good name with nothing to back it except spite..

Industry Comparison| Chart

Recreational Vehicles - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/2002Business started: 07/01/2001
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2001, WA

Contact Information
Principal: Lisabet Tatum (President)Customer Contact: Mr Ted Tatum (Sales Manager)Mr Rich Hopson (Assistant Manager)Mr Lon Tatum
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
L L Tatum Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for South Hill R V Sales

12414 Meridian E

Puyallup, WA 98373-3416

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 12414 Meridian E 

    Puyallup, WA 98373-3416(866) 435-7751
    (253) 435-7751
    (253) 435-1249
    (253) 435-1557
    (253) 435-1781

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*South Hill R V Sales is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 435-7751
  • (253) 435-1249
  • (253) 435-1557
  • (253) 435-1781
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Recreational Vehicles - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.