BBB Accredited Business since

ALLEN Realtors

Phone: (253) 582-6111 Fax: (253) 582-6119 View Additional Phone Numbers 9805 Gravelly Lake Dr SW, Lakewood, WA 98499 http://www.haroldallen.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers real estate brokerage and property management.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ALLEN Realtors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ALLEN Realtors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ALLEN Realtors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1983 Business started: 10/01/1940 Business started locally: 10/01/1940 Business incorporated 10/10/1945 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Larson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Larson, President
Business Category

Real Estate

Alternate Business Names
ALLEN Realtors Harold A Allen Company

Additional Locations

  • 9805 Gravelly Lake Dr SW

    Lakewood, WA 98499 (253) 582-6111 (800) 995-6111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rented a home from Allen Realtor's and entered a contract with them starting Oct 2012, in which, should have ended on Oct 1, 2013. We misunderstood that we had to not only give 20 days notice before moving, but had to fulfill the full lease at the same time. We ended up moving and giving back the keys to them on Sept 15, 2013. According to our contract, we would have still owed them the rest of the months rent, in which, would be half of $1425.15 at a pro-rated amount (2 weeks). We gave them a deposit of $1350.00. Upon leaving the home, we had the carpet professionally cleaned, in which, they have the paperwork for it. They knew that when we moved in the blinds were damaged. We asked them several times to replace them, but, upon moving in, we filled out a form that showed the damage that has been accrued prior to the home. The home was completely cleaned out. Upon leaving, it was also in our contract with them that we would be contacted within 2 weeks with the return of our deposit. Instead, a MONTH later we receive a letter from ***** ****** stating that we owed them money for sporadic cleaning fees, blinds, painting (not covered in our contract as well as not damaged in ANY way), and unpaid utilities. It turns out, that we over-paid our utilities before we left and received a refund from the State of Washington, City of Dupont for the overage.The never did any upkeep to the home ie; pruning and cutting trees, gutter cleaning, or blind replacement. They are extremely hard to get in contact with (***** ********** never return phone calls.We understood in the end that we would owe the rest of the rent, but, the other charges were made up. We have the check back from the city that shows that we paid an overage, and the carpet cleaning receipt would show that the home was clean. We left no junk or anything at the home, and made complete sure that it was clean so that we could receive out deposit back. Over month later after finally getting in touch with ***** ******* she basically could not explain what went wrong or why the charges were made, and then stated, "I was in full extent of the law". SOLDIERS BEWARE!!! Being that the home is located near ***** it is a shoe-in for soldiers and their families as they will surely be targeted. Even at this point, we still do not receive any return contact from ***** ******* There are Rip-Off reports of ***** (Sometimes spelled ******** or *********** for ****** ***** Realtor's. This is not the first time that it happened as we are now realizing.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking $712.39 because we understand that we had to pay to finish our contract with Harold Allen Realtor's. $712.39 would be the remaining amount from the $1350.00 deposit minus the amount that would have been from 15 September to 30 October 2013.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/22) */ The tenants completed a Move In Condition report upon moving into the home. The home was clean, the yard was in good condition. One set of blinds was noted on the condition report that was broken. A few slats in the blinds were slightly cracked but the blinds still functioned. Upon moving out of the home, there were several sets of blinds that were broken to the point of not functioning and needed replaced. The tenants were charged for three sets that needed replaced. They were not charged for the blinds they damaged that still functioned or the blinds that were damaged prior to occupancy. Some photos of the property are attached for your review. The tenants provided a receipt for the carpet cleaning. They were not charged for carpet, however they were charged for cleaning needed in the home. Bathrooms needed cleaned, the stove was dirty, floors were not cleaned, windows were dirty, etc. Pictures are attached. They were charged for the debris they left outside under the stairs. It was not there when they moved into the home. They were charged to have the yard restored to the move in condition. Per their rental contract page 13, Section cc, "...tenants are responsible to maintain the plantings and lawn and to keep the grass, lawn, flowers, plantings beds, trees and shrubs in good condition and repair by watering, fertilizing and otherwise maintaining those elements in good health and in an appearance consistent with the character of the surrounding neighborhood... " The tenants had their utilities taken out of their name when they moved. Because they moved prior to their lease end date, they owed for the remainder of the month. We billed them for the $31.03 ***** ***** ****** bill. They also did not pay their sewer for September which is $45.25. We paid the utilities and charged the tenant. We sent a statement within two weeks of them moving out, stating the refund/amount due was still to be determined. Due to the amount of work needed at the home, we did not have all the invoices back from the vendors doing the work. We sent a final statement on October 14th stating they owed $161.63. Their deposit was $1,350.00. We charged $200.00 for cleaning, $130.00 to haul debris, $302.13 for yard cleanup, $165.61 for blinds, $637.31 for rent and $76.28 for utilities. We feel these charges are fair and the responsibility of the tenants to pay. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/01/07) */ ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Business Response /* (1000, 33, 2014/02/07) */ To Whom It May Concern, We have exchanged responses a few times and it is our position that we treated *** ***** fairly and appropriately. I understand that she is expecting a different response, but the facts as we see them have not changed and we consider this matter closed. Thank you for your assistance. Sincerely, ******* ** ******

4/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service