BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1999

Infinity Mortgage Group

Phone: (425) 697-5955Fax: (425) 697-5988View Additional Phone Numbers601 Main St, EdmondsWA 98020-3029 Send email to Infinity Mortgage Group

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential mortgage broker services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/1999

BBB has determined that Infinity Mortgage Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Infinity Mortgage Group's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Infinity Mortgage Group

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
06/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband and I were first time home buyers, we gave Infinity Mortgage Group 45 days to complete our loan and we gave them every single piece of information they asked for. In return for our compliance and willingness to do everything they asked of us, Infinity Mortgage Group, mostly ******* ***** who is the owner and founder of the business, ignored our calls and emails, were rude and dismissive, shared our personal and financial information with parties other than myself and my husband, and they disregarded our timetable for closing on a house that we had offered on that they did not turn in any of our paper work to the bank giving us the loan until our actual closing date. They told us that they had turned everything in weeks before and were waiting. They lied to us about our loan in guaranteeing us a loan and cost us our house that we were wanting and needing to move too. Their blatant disregard cost us time, money and also our privacy as several people now our personal and financial business that have never been given authorization to know.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the appraisal, home inspection and loan process.
I also would like some disciplinary action taken against ******* ***** and Infinity Mortgage Group.

Business' Initial Response
The ********'s loan was turned down by the lender for inconsistent income. That was not determined until all of the borrower's conditions were reviewed.

The ********'s were given a complete application to sign and return on 3/29/2013. The application was returned on 4/10/2013 and submitted to the lender that same day. The lender came back and requested several conditions such as a P&L from the self-employed borrower, a letter regarding the disparity in the income from 2010, 2011 and 2012. There was also several addendums requested to be signed for the Purchase and sales Agreement which the seller was slow to take care of.

The sales price on the house changed during the process. Once the lender saw the conditions, they denied the file due to lack of consistent income on the part of the self-employed borrower. The ********'s were contacted immediately. The lender did give an option of adding a co-borrower to the loan for qualifying purposes but the ********'s declined. The loan was turned down within 16 days of the time that we received the signed documents from the borrower.

My staff and I were in constant contact with with the ********* either by email or by phone. Phone calls and emails were returned as soon as possible. My processor sent 96 emails over the course of 16 days to the **********

Mr. ******** came to me after talking with another broker. After getting my quote he was encouraged to go back to the company that he had been working with to see if they could compete with the pricing we were offering. I met with him and suggested a way to boost Mrs. ********'s credit score by seeing if a late payment could be removed. It was and my company picked up the cost for the Rapid Rescore of their credit profile.

We tried everything that we could to try to convince the lender to make the loan and we might have been able to find a lender who would make the loan if we had more time. The delay in receiving the documents from the ********'s left no time after the loan was declined to find another lender. The loan was sent to a particular lender because they would accept a CPA letter to validate the ********'s 2012 tax return in lieu of the IRS 4506T certification. Other lenders that I talked to would not. The lender cited the lack of consistent income - business income - as the reason for the denial. The lender caught other inconsitencies in the returns which I will not go into.

The ********'s were never guaranteed a mortgage. We are a broker and all of the loans that we do are subject to a final lender review of the borrowers complete loan package.

When the loan was declined, I offered to refund the borrower's appraisal expense of $515.00. I was emailed by Mr. ******** on 4/29/2013 to confirm that I would do that and I responded back that I would. A check was sent to the ********'s for the appraisal expense on 5/1/2013. I checked my email correspondence and I do not see anything regarding paying for an inspection since that is not something that we or our lenders would require to do a loan.

Our goal is to close every application that we receive and to not waste our time or an applicants time if they do not qualify. The ********'s loan was declined within 16 days of returning their signed application.

We did contact the selling agent and informed him that the ********'s loan was declined on 4/26/2013. This was our obligation.

We did not collect any funds from the borrower. They did not pay us any fees so I am not sure what they are wanting us to refund.

I have been in this business for 25 years. Most of my business is referrals and repeat business - such as Mrs. ********'s parents for whom I have done two loans. We have a great track record with the BBB because we have satisfied clients.

I would like to make Mr. and Mrs. ******** happy if possible. I took the step by picking up any upfront costs that we had to process the loan including appraisal, credit, automated underwriting costs and the rapid rescore fees.

This complaint that appears on 5/21/2013 is the first that I have heard from the borrowers since I refunded the appraisal costs over three weeks ago.

It is unfortunate that loans are declined. It does not happen very often. This was a tough one but my staff and I did everything that we could to try to make it happen for the ********

Sincerely,


******* *****

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/23/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate Loans, Mortgage Brokers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/1999Business started: 12/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Financial Institutions
PO Box 41200
Olympia, WA98504-1200
(360) 902-8700
http://www.dfi.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1998, WA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Michael Young (President)
Business Category

Real Estate Loans, Mortgage Brokers

Hours of Operation

8:30 am - 5:30 pm

Service Area

Washington State

Alternate Business Names
Berlind Corp

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Infinity Mortgage Group

601 Main St

Edmonds, WA 98020-3029

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 601 Main St 

    Edmonds, WA 98020-3029(888) 563-9234
    (425) 697-5955

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Infinity Mortgage Group is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 563-9234
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Real Estate Loans

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.