BBB Accredited Business since

T-Square Properties

Phone: (425) 485-1800 Fax: (425) 275-4065 18500 156th Ave NE Ste 104, Woodinville, WA 98072

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers residential & commercial property management.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that T-Square Properties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for T-Square Properties include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on T-Square Properties
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 11, 2007 Business started: 02/01/1996 Business started locally: 02/01/1996 Business incorporated 07/01/2005 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
Phone Number: 800-451-7985

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Thomas Tollifson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Tollifson, President
Business Category

Property Management Offices of Real Estate Agents and Brokers (NAICS: 531210)

Alternate Business Names
T-Square Real Estate Services Inc

Additional Locations

  • 18500 156th Ave NE Ste 104

    Woodinville, WA 98072 (425) 485-1800


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repeatedly charged to fix same problem heater, problem was never fixed. 2012-10-30 197.71 2012-11-8 248.54 2012-12-10 245.96 2013-11-25 260 we we charged 952.21 to fix this heater. When we put the unit up for sale, the heater was still broken. On 2014-9-14 We paid 262.8 to a third party and the problem was fixed. T square promised us expertise in managing our property and should have found a competent, reasonably priced repair person as promised.

Desired Settlement: refund of 952.21

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/12/10) */ T-Square Properties utilizes only qualified, licensed, bonded and insured vendors to conduct work on Properties managed by T-Square Properties. All vendors are continuously evaluated based on workmanship, cost effectiveness, reliability, and communication. Mr. *****'s complaint was previously unknown to us or brought to T-Square Properties attention. We take comments regarding our services very seriously and, as such, have attempted to conduct an evaluation of the validity of his claims. Our management agreement was mutually terminated with Mr. ***** in July 2014. Several months before he claims to have had it repaired. The wall heater in question worked well upon the final inspection of the property that ****** ***** was present for. As it turns out, Mr. ***** is unable or unwilling to provide an invoice showing that he paid a third party, several months later, to fix the wall heater properly for $262.80 as claimed. In fact, the invoice he did produce when recently requested, only showed that the service call was to fix an improperly installed garbage disposal (This was installed prior to our management). As indicated by his vendor, the wall heater simply needed to have the reset button pushed due to his tenant keeping furniture too close to the wall heater causing it to overheat and temporarily shut down. The previous charges outlined in Mr. *****'s complaint are quite misleading. They were for work orders not specific to the wall heater although over the course of our management two different wall heaters did require replacement. One was missing all together when we took over management and one was very old and had simply reached the end of its useful life. We believe the wall heater was properly installed by our very competent vendor at a very competitive price but can understand why Mr. ***** might be confused. As such, I'd be glad to meet with Mr. ***** and/or his vendor if there is additional information that would indicate otherwise. If so, I know our vendor would be willing to make it rectify the issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/12/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Even if the heater had been working at the time of the home inspection, 952.21 is too much to pay. Several years ago we had a similar new heater installed that cost less than three hundred including labor and materials. A partial refund is something we would consider. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/12/21) */ As previously mentioned, Mr. *****'s complaint is quite misleading. The four service calls over the course of a year were not specific to just the wall heater, although over the course of our management two different wall heaters (not just one) did require replacement. One was missing all together when we took over management and one was very old and had simply reached the end of its useful life. While the dates and amounts listed by ****** ***** are accurate, his claim does not fully reflect all of the work needed to be completed on his Tenant's property. In a nutshell, the $952.21 for four service calls, over the span of a year, included: Purchase and installation of two new wall heaters (not just one as claimed), Purchase and installation of new stove burner receptacles, remediation on clogged faucet restrictor valve, purchase and installation of new tub drain with pop-up stopper, tub re-caulking, and purchase and installation of a carbon monoxide detector to be in compliance with code. The amounts attributed to the wall heater issues were only a portion of these service calls. By comparison, his vendor charged over $262 for simply rewiring a garbage disposal and pushing a reset button on the wall heater. This would appear to be a very high labor rate and not one that we would let our vendors charge our clients. Our preferred vendor estimates that it should cost less than $80 for the work performed by his vendor for $262. From our perspective, Mr. *****'s claims are illogical and unfounded; similar to comparing apples to oranges. However, as previously offered, I'd be more than happy to meet with Mr. *****, to review any information and get a better understanding of his perspective. If there is something we're missing, I'd be glad to take it into consideration. I think he'd find we are very open-minded, transparent, and fair. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/12/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There does not seem to be a proposed resolution in T square's response.

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are extremely disappointed in T-square. We are owners renting out a single unit condominium. When we signed on with T-square, they sold us on the idea that they could keep maintenance costs down. Instead, nearly every single maintenance incident has been more expensive than when we were self managing. We asked to use a less expensive vendor and they refused. We replaced some windows, a large scale and expensive capitol improvement project. They never sent anyone to see if the windows had been properly installed. I called T-square to ask how it looked and was told "If there were any problems the installers would have called". When thousands of dollars are on the line they should pay at least a little bit of attention. They recommended an installation schedule they could not meet and we were penalized. When we complained, we were told that "T-square is proud of the successful management if this property". The property is loosing money since they have taken over management. They also misrepresented facts in one of their emails. It's doubtful it was a deliberate lie, but it makes it hard to trust them. Less seriously, the accounting is inconvenient. There are no paper statements. The online statement all have to be downloaded individually. They all come with the same name in .zip format and have to be unzipped and renamed and dates added individually.

Desired Settlement: Essentially, we would like for them to stop overcharging us. We are very concerned about when the existing lease is up in October. Moving tenants out is always difficult and we are afraid with T-square involved it will be unnecessarily expensive.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/12) */ We appreciate the feedback from Mr. *****. Our Clients' satisfaction is very important to T-Square Properties. We've addressed Mr. ****** concerns with him on multiple occasions via e-mail. We've also offered to address his concerns in person but have not received reciprocation for a meeting. While his opinions are important to us they are also unfounded. T-Square Properties systems and processes have proven to be effective many times over. We utilize a network of vendors that are licensed, bonded, and insured. Our vendors are continuously evaluated, not only on price competitiveness, but also reliability, communication, and workmanship. It is sometimes the case a vendor with the lowest published rate is not the best overall value to the client. While it is never pleasant for a client to incur operating expenses, maintenance costs should be recognized as a necessary element of owning rental property that will preserve value over the long run. In Mr. *****'s case, his property has much deferred maintenance and is at an age that he will need to spend money to make the home habitable for his Tenant if he would like to keep it as a rental property. To date, he has been resistant (or perhaps financially unable) to maintain his home to this condition. Not attending to habitability repairs is not only a violation of the Washington State Landlord Tenant Act but also a poor business practice. It is not something T-Square Properties would want to be a part of. Mr. ***** has authorized T-Square Properties to make maintenance decisions on his behalf which has been done prudently and cost effectively. Vendor invoices are not marked-up by T-Square Properties. Mr. *****'s complaint is inaccurate and misleading on several accounts: --While we believe we utilize the most cost effective vendors in the industry offering the best total value for our clients, T-Square Properties is always open to working with qualified vendors that can show they are more cost effective. Mr. ***** did not provide any alternatives. If so, we certainly would have taken them into consideration. --A periodic interior survey was conducted on the interior of the property on December 27, 2013 shortly after his window installation. The new windows were observed to be installed correctly. --Our client surveys have indicated that our financial reporting is widely applauded by our clients. It provides them with fast and accurate information wherever they have an internet connection without the need to print the paper unless they choose. We've attempted to keep a very open and transparent dialog with Mr. ***** about his issues but have received little constructive communication in return. While we acknowledge that T-Square Properties may not be the right fit for Mr. *****, I would also note that he is certainly not obligated to continue using our services. We've re-established with him required parameters should he want T-Square Properties to continue to manage his property but have not yet received his reply. We would certainly understand if he were to elect to self-manage his property as he had done prior to our management. Again, I'd welcome the opportunity to personally meet with Mr. ***** to discuss, and hopefully resolve/clarify his issues and review any past vendor charges that he may be concerned about. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/03/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We have agreed not to pursue our complaint with T-square. They have offered to refund the goodwill payment that we paid the tenants to compensate the tenants for their inconvenience do to scheduling problems. We appreciate that and are willing to accept. But we would like address some of the issues raised in their reply. All of our concerns have been honest as we experienced them, not misleading or inaccurate. We do agree with T-square that we have given them several opportunities to address our concerns. Their response has always been that they stand by their record. It is also true that they have pressured us to meet in their office. When it comes to keeping maintenance costs down, we had several specific suggestions. T-square frequently called a company that charges a high trip fee and hourly rate. On 11/1/2013 we asked that they not use this company on our behalf any longer, and suggested Sears or another similarly priced company. They refused, saying the more expensive company worked better with their office procedures. We have also asked that they combine some of the trips to take care of two repairs at once. The copy of the periodic inspection we received made no mention of the windows being checked for proper installation. The property was not only habitable, but judged to be in good condition when T-square took over management. We deny deferred maintenance. The periodic inspection also said the property was in good condition. We have always paid the bills that T-square has incurred on our behalf.

10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm leaving one month early from the apartment (October 4) before my lease ends (October 31) but am paying rent through the end of my lease. They sent me an email telling me that I had to pay utilities through the end of my lease or they will charge me back for it. They tried to tell me that I have a contractual obligation to pay the utilities, however my lease does not say that at all. It says that I'm required to pay for utilities during my residence on the property, but does NOT say I have to carry utilities through the life of the lease. In fact the lease gives provision, very specifically I might add, that rent is due through the end of the lease whether you voluntarily move-out before the lease ends or not. I have paid the rent. They are taking a very hard stance on this issue. It doesn't make sense that I pay for utilities after vacating so they can show the unit to prospective tenants and consume utilities to get the place ready for new tenants. They continue to threaten me with deducting utilities from my deposit and have now resorted to telling them I will be seeking legal counsel for double the amount of my deposit should they deduct and will be taking pictures of the entire property to make sure they don't retaliate against me and try to charge me for something I haven't done.

Desired Settlement: No deduction of utilities from my security deposit and a full refund of my deposit since there are not damages. RCW allows for normal wear and tear items; however this property has been left in better condition than when I received it. The place was dirty in areas and I had to recaulk the tub myself after moving in and unclog drains that were clogged. Never asked for a dime from them even though I didn't clog the drains.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/03) */ We have explained to *** ******* that she is welcome to vacate the home early as a lease break but as indicated in the lease and the RCW's, vacating the home early does not relieve her of her lease obligations until the end of her agreed upon lease term (October 31st). The exception would be if we are able to find a new viable tenant prior to the end of the month's lease termination date, in which case they would only be responsible for lease obligations until the new Tenant takes possession. In any case, it would be impossible to assess the condition of the property for damage or cleaning until *** ******* has vacated and surrendered the premises which she is apparently going to do on October 4th. At that time, as the Landlord's Agent, we will conduct a thorough inspection of the property to determine if there are any tenant caused damages, charges, or cleaning required (beyond normal wear-and-tear). If so, these charges may be deducted from the Tenant's Security Deposit in accordance with RCW 59.18. Specifically regarding utilities: Like rental payments, the establishment and payment of utilities is one of the tenant lease obligations for the agreed upon lease term with the Landlord, in this case, October 31st. I've attached a copy of the Lease Agreement between *** ******* and the Landlord which shows the agreed Lease Term ending on October 31st in paragraph 3. This agreement also outlines the Tenant's obligation to pay utilities during this lease term in paragraph 5. Without this provision, the Landlord would be unfairly left with utility payments due to this unplanned period of vacancy caused by *** *******'s decision to vacate early. As described above, if a new viable tenant is found prior to the end of the lease term then the new tenant would be responsible for these utilities as well as any of the other lease obligations and *** ******* would have no further obligation. Of course, it cannot be predicted if a new Tenant will be found prior to October 31st. If *** ******* does not feel that the assessment is accurate or fair, then there is a process for her to request a secondary review of the all of the facts, even to submit additional information that she feels may have been missed. In short, *** ******* is requesting a commitment that her entire security deposit be returned even before she has vacated the property on October 4th and any assessment completed. Our hope is that we can return 100% of her security deposit but this of course cannot be determined until she has fully moved out of the property. We can, however, assure *** ******* that after she vacates, a fair and accurate assessment will be completed and well documented. She will also have the opportunity to dispute any of the findings through our secondary review process. Our objective is always to provide a fair and equitable assessment and disposition of the Security Deposit between the Landlord and Tenant. Prior to receiving this complaint, I have invited *** ******* into our offices to personally discuss her concerns but she was unable/unwilling to do so. I did, however, have a phone conversation with her in which all of this was discussed. I would be glad to again extend an invitation to meet in our offices at her request if she would find this beneficial to her understanding. I'm confident she will be satisfied with our process. *****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*****

4/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues