BBB Accredited Business since

Hometown Property Management

Phone: (360) 456-7368 Fax: (360) 412-4953 View Additional Phone Numbers 1600 4th Ave E, Olympia, WA 98506 http://www.hometownpm.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers real estate and housing management services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hometown Property Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hometown Property Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Hometown Property Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 16, 2006 Business started: 08/01/1998 in WA Business started locally: 08/01/1998 Business incorporated 12/14/1999 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing
PO Box 9020, Olympia WA 98507
http://www.dol.wa.gov
Phone Number: 800-451-7985
profquery@dol.wa.gov

Washington Department of Licensing Real Estate
2000 4th Ave W, Olympia WA 98502
http://www.dol.wa.gov/business/realestate
Phone Number: (360) 664-6488
realestate@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Andrew Barkis, President Ms. Daniela Anderson, Associate Broker
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Daniela Anderson, Associate Broker
Principal: Mr. Andrew Barkis, President
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Rental Service All Other Business Support Services (NAICS: 561499)

Method(s) of Payment
Check, Money order, Online payments, Credit cards
Alternate Business Names
Hometown Property Management Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hometown Property Management has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1600 4th Ave E

    Olympia, WA 98506 (360) 456-7368 (877) 456-7368

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In my opinion, Hometown Property Management Company has violated RCW 43.44.110. Background: My family and I had lived in a rental home managed by Hometown Property Management from March 2013 to December 2015. Several smoke detectors were missing when we moved into the home. There were holes in the ceiling with wires hanging down where the smoke detectors should have been hardwired into the house. This was noted by the property manager on the day of the move-in inspection. I later found a couple loose smoke detectors in a kitchen cabinet. Within the month (from move-in), the smoke detectors were attached to the ceiling. Currently: I have received a statement 62 days from when my family moved out of the home for two smoke detectors that needed replaced. This leads me to believe that the smoke detectors that I found almost three years ago in a kitchen cabinet, and were reinstalled by Hometown Management Property's staff never worked in the first place. I am thankful that there was never a fire in the time that my family lived in that home. However, Hometown Property Management advertised and rented an unsafe home.

Desired Settlement: There seems to be a disconnect between what Washington State Code says property management is allowed to do compared to what this company is doing. I believe open communication can resolve this issue.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern. 

The move out inspection was completed on December 7, 2015.  On December 14, 2015 a preliminary report on deposit was sent to your address at ********* due to not being provided with a forwarding address, however on December 15, 2015 an email was received with your new address.  A final report on deposit cannot be finalized until all work has been completed and invoices received.   Per an email request we were also pending receipt of the garage door opener that you still had possession of which was mailed to Hometown from ** on January 4, 2016.  Had I closed the final deposit out without receiving the garage door opener a new one would have been ordered and applied against the deposit.   Please see the attached preliminary report and envelope that was returned to Hometown.  To clarify your comment regarding smoke detectors, per your lease residents are responsible to maintain batteries in all smoke detectors, however I overlooked the fact that the smoke detectors were charged to you.  I will immediately have the invoice revised to adjust for the smoke detectors.   When we completed your move in inspections it was noted that there was 1 smoke detector in the family room and 1 in the master bedroom that needed to be addressed.  The smoke detectors were promptly addressed and no further issues with the smoke detectors were brought to our attention.

Thank you,

Lori D*****

Property Manager

Hometown Property Management 

11/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Hometown Properties to rent my house out. I had one of their employees come look at my house and told me what I could get for rent. I was never told about any fees, early terminating fees, not told about the contract fully. the company was unprofessional. never once did I get a copy of my tenants contract until I asked for it several times. I never met with my property manager until after the contracts were signed. i always left messages with her assistant, and the front desk. it would take her several days to get back to me. the assistant is the only one who i had more contact with. i finally went to the owner to complain about my experience with the company and i thought it was the worst mistake to hire them. i did ask to get out of my contract early and was told she would waive the early termination fee. i never was told about other fees. i was just told last week that i owe them mgmt. fees, an invoice for a bee problem that my tenants had in the summer. i never ever received that and my address never changed. the company wants me to pay the early mgmt. fees, pest invoice,tax packet fee, carpet cleaning fee and and reimburse money to my tenants that have nothing to do with them. my sister also has them as they rent one of their properties and she has the same complaints. the front office is very rude and unprofessional. i had the front office gal roll her eyes at me. i just feel that yes i did try to contact them numerous times in a day but that's because i never got a call back. im very disappointed i was treated like this.

Desired Settlement: just to pay the mgmt. fee not the pest invoice,carpet cleaning

Business Response:

It is always unfortunate for a customer to leave unhappy.   However, there are so many half truths in this complaint that 30 minutes is an unfair time frame to put together documents and time periods.  So, I will do my best.

 

Our policy is to communicate as swiftly to our clients as possible.  The Property Managers are managers of homes, thus they are not at their desks to take calls at all times.  And in the summer months, our busy season, they are in the field for most hours of the day.  Thus we have assistants that navigate the  calls. 

 

****** came to me to complain about her property manager not calling her back in a timely fashion.  I listened to her and took action.  She had decided to cancel the contract because due to circumstances in her life she needed to sell the home.  I explained to her that the tenants have a lease and that we would have to work with them to see if they would be willing to vacate the home early.  I also told her that I would negate the fees we charge for breaking our contract.  I never said that she would not be charged her monthly management fees for the time we managed.  She told me at that time she had not received the contract, which had indeed been sent to her.  I asked for another to be sent.  No one in our office was aware that she had not received the contract, and would have sent her one had she asked.

 

****** and I then talked about what we would offer the family to end the lease early.  We agreed that they would have 2 months of free rent, in order to save for the move, and also the pet fee would be returned to them.  Lori then called the tenants and explained what was going on and asked if they would accept this offer.  They asked for a few days to think about it.  ****** called numerous times asking for the decision, not allowing them even one day to think about it.  They did agree, unhappily. ****** had agreed to pay them the pet fee October 15.

 

Then the phone calls started coming in about how what where when on the move out.  Information that would not be determined until the tenant had procured a new home.  We probably received more that 30 to 40 calls.  And if I had more than 30 minutes to answer this I could go to the log book and give you the exact amount.  I do know that I reviewed 19 pages of emails back and forth on many of these matters.

 

Bottom line is that ****** emailed us and told us that she would not be able to pay the pet fee to the tenants as she had not received child support. 

 

The tenants moved out, left the home in good condition.  They were unable to schedule the carpet to be cleaned because ****** needed to move in ASAP. (not selling the home) We agreed to take the amount of the carpet cleaning out of the pet fee that was owed to the previous tenants for having to move out of the home early.

 

When ****** received the final billing, which included our management fees for the two months rent free, a pest bill from August, and the balance of the pet fee she send an email stating her displeasure.  I explained everything as clearly as possible.  We were still managing the home for her, we were still expected to work for her, taking her calls, responding to her emails, working with the tenants on days and times, but we were not expected to get paid for our time?

 

I have no idea where ****** has come up with the figure she is asking to be the final accounting.  I guess her promise to the tenant, and the contractual payment to us, and the payment to a vendor who provided a service are at her whim.

 

In closing, this has been a trying transaction for everyone concerned.  The women who run our front desk are saints in my book as they deal with so many people who come in angry, with an agenda.  It would really surprise me to see one of them roll their eyes at any customer. As I told ****** in my letter to her, we did what she asked, we did it in a timely manner, we did everything legally and ethically with all parties, and ultimately she got her home back exactly when it was expected.  I am not sure why we are in this position.

 

 

 

 


Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Not everything the business said was true. i'm not the type of person to complain. Ive worked in customer service for many years and this was probably the worst experience i've ever had. from the receptionists and managesr.

Yes did i ask for my tennants to break there lease a couple months early yes and i shouldnt have. i did that cuz at the time i thought i was going to sell my house but due to circumstances i decided to keep my house.  I offered them 2 months free. They saved almost 2500-3000 plus there deposit back.They had 2 months to find a place. Did i offer to give the pet fee back but at the end i didnt have the money for it and i didnt agree i should have to give them their money back without looking at the house incase their pet made any damages.  I gave them a week to get back to me about if they accepted my offer to get out early. I never called 30-40 times. Did I call a couple times per week probably. A nice phone call that they got my message woulda been nice. The business has 2 property managers that have hundreds of rentals. They shouldnt have that many because i rarely heard from my mgr. there was barely any communication. Like I said I never received my tennants contract or the contract i signed until i asked for several times and months later. My sister has the same complaints against the company to. so if you dont believe me about the business services fill free to call her. 

 I wasnt aware of the mgmt fees and that i would have to pay that back. Nobody went over my contract ever. According to the business the tennants had a pest problem this summer and hired someone to take care of that. I WAS NEVER AWARE OF THAT and DIDNT GET AN INVOICE. Plus how can they have that done without my permission? That's what I want resolved. I dont feel that i should have to pay that back. I got an email last week from the mgr that i owe the pest invoice, a packet fee, mgmt fees, pet fees,etc totalling 571.00  i dont have the money. i'm a single parent and have been paying 2 mortgages for the past 2 months. 

Bottom line I feel that I wasnt treated right, wasnt informed about all the fees, that there was no communication. This was a horrible experience for me and its sad that's its come to this.

Sincerely,

****** *****

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hometown Property Management Company has repeatedly failed to notify me when maintenance or repair work was to be performed on my house; despite the fact that their own contract stipulates that they are to notify me before work over $250 is performed. Again this month, my payment is almost $500 short; with no notice. I have been diplomatic and patient, and explained that this is unfair and just plain bad business. My account representative, ***********, has promised to adhere to the contract and to my expressed wishes; and has utterly failed to do so. Additionally, I find the amount that I have been charged for minor maintenance/repairs to be seriously over-priced; and in short, predatory.

Desired Settlement: A financial credit to my account is in order; as well as a formal apology and re-assignment to a competent, professional account representative.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/18) */ To whom it may concern. It is evident there is more to this complaint than presented by *** ******* Per *** ********* statement "As I am already losing money monthly on the home rental." It is obvious that the necessary maintenance performed in accordance with her contract for service has created additional financial burdens for her. We sympathize with her situation, however it does not negate the responsibility of HPM to maintain her home in compliance with the Landlord Tenant Act and the management contract. I have attached the following: Copy of the contract, issued work orders and the invoices. I will explain as necessary per page. We have acted on the behalf of the owner and the resident in good faith to remain in compliance with our obligations as the managing agent. WORK ORDERS / INVOICES From 10/16/2012 thru 12/23/2013 are as follows: Pages 1 thru 3 Owner / Agent contract. Page 4, Work order approved by owner to address home to rent ready conditions. Page 5, Invoice for work performed. Page 6, Work order for toilet running. Page 7, Invoice for work performed. Page 8 & 9, Report of Fall / Winter inspection. Page 10, Invoice for the Fall / Winter inspection. Page 11, Invoice to have the roof and gutters cleaned. Standard to follow with Fall / Winter inspection. Page 12, Work order for a blown irrigation head. Page 13, Invoice for work performed. Page 14, Report for Fall / Winter inspection. Page 15, Invoice for Fall / Winter inspection. Page 16, Work order to address broken fence post. (WHICH HAD BEEN NOTED ON THE PAST ANNUAL INSPECTION) It was deemed necessary to repair to prevent further damage. Page 17, Invoice for work performed. Page 18, Invoice to have the roof and gutters cleaned. Standard to follow with Fall / Winter inspection. WORK ORDERS / INVOICES From 1/1/2014 thru present are as follows: Page 19, Invoice for a thanksgiving weekend no heat call. Page 20, Work order to address an inoperable dead bolt on the front door. Page 21, Invoice for work performed. Page 22, work order for garbage disposal and sink sprayer. As you can see by the Work order it is annotated to be a partial tenant charge. Invoice has not been received at this time. As is evident by the attached work orders and invoice, we have performed within the management contract on behalf of the owner. Nothing done on the home can be deemed excessive or unnecessary. None of the invoices have been found to be inaccurate or excessive. In addition, as can be clearly seen, none of the invoice would fall anywhere in the category of " Predatory" All the vendors that have been used are Licensed, insured vendors. The rates charged are market rates for the particular vendor and skill set. *** ********* chief complaint is the fact the on 2 separate occasions spanning over a year, multiple invoices have occurred and been processed in the same billing month. With multiple invoices the totals for the work completed on the home exceeded $250. This is not in violation of the contract. It is unfortunate. We do work to notify owners when we see this is going to happen. In the first instant *** ****** was not notified and subsequent conversations she voiced her dissatisfaction with this. We apologized and did note the system to reflect her wishes to no longer participate in the Fall winter inspection program. However, she did not ask and it was not changed in the system to notify her on every maintenance request. This has been put into place based on this last issue. This issue in the last month that created this problem, is again multiple work being done and invoice coming in together in a single billing period. As one of the issues was a "Emergency No Heat call" it was processed differently. I did not catch the fact that we had another work order in the queue and that it would all hit at the same time. I can only express apology for this sequence of events. As it has been over a year the previous conversation was not immediately recollected. Upon her notification of this happen again we responded with explanation and apology. We will work in the future and have taken the necessary steps with in our systems to ensure *** ****** receives proper notification. However , we cannot guarantee she will not have instances in the future that will impact her financially with multiple work orders and invoice in a given month. This is the nature of the business. In addition, we are happy to release *** ****** from her contract if she feel these steps taken are non-satisfactory. Best Regards, **** ****** Hometown Property Management Property Manager *************** ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/12/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To Whom It May Concern: I was promised a financial breakdown on the work done on my home; and had been offered this previously. It has not materialized. In addition, I have not been offered any financial compensation for the fact that the account representative broke the agency's rules with regard to repairs in excess of $250 each and owner notification. Yours truly, **** ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/01/30) */ TO whom it may concern. *** ****** is provided monthly statements documenting all income and expenses. I also attached to our original reply copies of work orders, the invoices and *** ********* contract. Hometown PM is not in breech of our contract for maintaining *** ********* home. As previously stated if *** ****** is dissatisfied with our professional services, upon written notice we will discontinue our services. Sincerely, **** ****** Property Manager Hometown PM

12/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have failed to keep me informed about my deposit past the 14 days allowance of returning my deposit on the rental **** ***** ** ** ******* Tumwater WA. Final inspection was done on 10-23-2014. Returned the keys 10-30-2014 because I replaced the stove burners, and cleaned the stove. The place wasn't painted when I moved in, carpets weren't cleaned, stove didn't work, etc. Want to charge me $100 for excess damage on 2 small wholes caused from move out and I couldn't match the paint if they wanted me to. The place has black mold from a leak they never fixed in the wall when I lived in the place. Management ignores phone calls, and fixes never happen in a speedy manner. My old neighbor could testify on the Property Management Agency. The place was cleaner when I moved out compared to when I moved in. My parents could testify on that.

Desired Settlement: Seeking my full deposit return of a $1000

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/11/18) */ The move out inspection was scheduled to be done on October 23rd. When the property manager arrived the resident was not ready for the inspection and wanted to be able to complete a few more items, the tenant kept the keys and possession of the residents. On October 28, 2014, the house keys and a letter were dropped off at our office that he completed cleaning of the stove but not the patching of the holes in the walls on the stairs. We have no record of report of mold or a leak not addressed. Prior to our company taking over management the lease that ************* signed noted that $200.00 dollars of the deposit is none refundable and allocated for carpet cleaning.

10/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They charged me for shampooing carpet, when I had already done so. Their paperwork states that it must be done by a professional, I worked for *** ******** ******** from XXXX-XXXX cleaning carpets professionally. I was later informed that I must provide a receipt, but the paperwork doesn't state that. And further more it was not professionally cleaned prior to me moving in, The home was infested with flees that tore me up pretty bad, I was informed to get rid of the flees myself. Which I did because I have experience doing such. Considering I left the home in better condition then I moved in I don't feel I should be charged a carpet shampooing fee as I professionally cleaned it. There is nothing on the paperwork stating that renter may not clean it even if they professionally do it or that a receipt is required. I feel they still owe me 134.99 that they took from the deposit.

Desired Settlement: I want the 134.99 they state is a carpet shampooing charge.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/30) */ Hometown Property Management has a clear policy that the carpets must be professionally cleaned at the end of tenancy and a receipt is required to be provided. This is documented in the lease agreement that is signed by the resident, section 9G. Resident(s) agrees, upon vacating, to pay for the cost of professional carpet cleaning and provide Lessor receipt at time of move-out. If Resident(s) professional carpet cleaner's performance is less than satisfactory, Lessor will have carpets cleaned by Lessor's preferred professional carpet cleaner. Tenant is not allowed to use rental carpet cleaner or their own cleaner. It is noted again that the carpets be professionally cleaned on the move out letter that is sent to the resident when they turn in their written notice. AT THE MOVE OUT INSPECTION - The home must be completely empty and ready for inspection at time of scheduled move out appointment. If home is not ready at the time of scheduled inspection or if the appointment must be re-scheduled with less than 24 hours notice, you will be charged a re-scheduling fee of $45.00 and/or rent until the inspection is conducted or through the end of the following month. You must return all keys (including house, mailbox, garage, common area keys, etc.) and any remotes (garage, alarm, etc.). You must provide forwarding address and current phone number. You must provide a copy of the carpet cleaning receipt from a professional carpet cleaning company. Garbage cans must be empty. If your garbage provider requires the cans to be returned to them, it is your responsibility to ensure this is complete to avoid fees/charges from your garbage provider. We keep all documentation that residents have the carpets cleaned or that it has been done by Hometown. The previous resident did have the carpets cleaned and was charged for flee treatment of the home. The resident would not be responsible to handle the flea treatment. If that was the condition at move in, we have professionals we would send out when notified of a problem. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The carpet was not clean when I moved in, also no where does it state that we must provide a receipt, just that it must be professionally cleaned and it was. You need to rewrite your paperwork to include requiring a receipt. Otherwise your statement above is false for now and I still have the paperwork that shows it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/08) */ In Hometowns lease agreement that was signed by the resident in question it states in article G. Resident(s) agrees, upon vacating, to pay for the cost of professional carpet cleaning and provide Lessor receipt at time of move-out. If Resident(s) professional carpet cleaner's performance is less than satisfactory, Lessor will have carpets cleaned by Lessor's preferred professional carpet cleaner. Tenant is not allowed to use rental carpet cleaner or their own cleaner. I have attached a copy of the lease agreement and the move out letter that states a receipt is to be provided as well. Attached is a carpet cleaning receipt that proves the carpet was cleaned prior to residency. We understand that you were in the profession of cleaning carpets when living in California and you feel that it was "professionally" cleaned but as it is not your current profession and could not provide the documentation necessary, we are required to have them cleaned professionally.

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They replaced 1/2 the fence around the back yard of the house. I was told it would take 2 days. Due to bad weather the concrete did not cure and needed one more day. At the end of day 3 I called to ask why the fence had not been finished. They said that they were booked, and would not be able to finish the fence for 2 weeks! They ran me in circles trying to find someone who could fix the problem. When I attempted to call back later, no one would answer the phone.

Desired Settlement: Repayment of doggy daycare required for my dogs when I did not have a back yard fence. Each day cost $40 per day. I work 5 days per week. I am seeking $400 repayment for delay of work completion and cost associated with the delay.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/06/19) */ In response to the complaint by former tenant *** ******: First of all I would like to apologize for the delays and confusion surrounding this situation. There are many issues pertaining to the move out. The tenant gave notice to move on the 20th of July 2013. The notice received was improper notice as it was not the required 20 day notice as required by her lease and landlord tenant law. She was responsible for the rent and unit for the month of August. Due to this, my property manager at the time did not properly begin the turn over process. He initiated some preliminary processes on or about the 5th of August and again on the 12th of August. These were pertaining to the condition of the property, including the fence. We did not however do the formal walkthrough until the 27th. I agree the delay was caused by the system showing the home occupied until the 31st with rent paid. With an improper notice and access from the tenant we could have treated as early move out and conducted the move out earlier in August. The tenant left and was not in the area for the final walkthrough. No keys were returned from the tenant, no relinquishing of occupancy. We had to have the locks changed after the final walkthrough. These issues combined to delay the final until the end of the month With regards to the 2 main items of concern by the tenant, the fence and the carpet: 1. The fence. The fence was newly installed during ***'s tenancy. She is correct in her secondary complaint that extra time was needed to complete the job. As with any construction project there are circumstances that did arise. In this case there were issues with the concrete setting. We were aware of the dogs, which she left in the home during this process. As far as no one returning calls this is inaccurate. *** was informed before, during and at the completion of the job. She was difficult at times throughout the process of getting this required work done. I will not be reimbursing for the doggie daycare as requested. 2. After she vacated we had several items to address in the home. Locks changed, cleaning, yard cleaned up, repair fence. The fence repair was not 2 boards as indicated. There were 30 fence pickets scratched up, dirt piled up against the fence etc. Remember this was a brand new fence. We did not replace all, only the most severely scratched up, and removed the dirt etc. 2.5 hours, $23 in material, total by no means excessive at $187.51. The carpet was the main issue. The property manager scheduled the carpets to be professionally cleaned. They were done on the 11th after the interior cleaning. Although a slight dog smell was noted before it was until after the carpet cleaning that a very overwhelming "wet dog" smell came out. This is not caused by the carpet cleaner as she has indicated. This is a professional using the best equipment that has been used by our company for over 15 years. He is the best. Days later it was very bad as reported by leasing agents showing the home. We contacted the cleaner to hit it again. He went out and probed for pet urine and to treat it on the 17th. We allowed a week to see if it would dissipate after a thorough drying. Unfortunately it did not. Our only other option to rectify was to replace affected area. We solicited bids, contacted the owner and worked out to replace the affected area. We are within our rights to take this approach. We have time by law to rectify. A preliminary report on deposit was sent out on Sept 9th to notify tenant there were items pending. As the carpet was only a few years old in the front living area, the main area affected, we only replaced that specific area. We charged the tenant 70% of the total cost to replace. In addition before, we negotiated with the carpet cleaner to reduce his second billing for services from$296.50 to $148.29. The owner of the home paid for the remaining portion of the carpet even though they were not at fault for the damage. This is not an uncommon experience. It happens frequently when people have pets. They are not aware of the smell when they live there. The smell gets into the carpet and is activated by the steam during the cleaning of the carpets. Sometimes it dissipates; sometimes it can be treated with chemicals, other times it has to be replaced. This house was shown on numerous occasions and because of the smell it would not rent. People complained of the smell. We tried to address without replacing which took more time to resolve. Once it was replaced the smell was gone, the home rented shortly thereafter. This was not unreasonable. We acted with due diligence for our owner of the home and within the guidelines of Landlord tenant with regards to the deposit. In good faith I will review the additional charges for the other repairs. I will look into it with the proper personnel in my office. Unfortunately they are not in until next week (Vacation for the last 2 weeks) If there is anything to review and can be adjusted I will take it into account and respond with additional information. The tenant received the final report on November 7, 2013. Again the last delay was waiting for the final invoices for the carpet. We have provided all receipts to the tenant. She can see that all other work was completed within the first 2 weeks of September. The delay was waiting to see if the smell would go away and then once addressed the final carpet billing. Upon receipt of the final, the tenant had the opportunity to contact us at that time and make arrangements etc. As she did not, it was sent to collections. Upon being contacted by Collection Company she did notify our office by email demanding information. Beginning on May 27th through the first week of June a series of emails were exchanged between the tenant and ******* ********. ******* provided the information she was requesting and tried to explain. The last email threatened a BBB complaint, of which was submitted. Please consider the above information. In addition I will provide additional info or revisions in the next week. ****** ******- ***** HPM

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented from Hometown Property from 6/2011 until we received PCS orders in 4/2014. We gave proper notice per the contract and did our final walk thru on 5/21/14. As of today, we have not received our deposit back. We have sent multiple emails to Hometown to determine what the issue was. The initial email was answered with vague statements of "it should be to you in a few days." After two more weeks passed, another email was sent. ***, our property manager, stated that she would forward our concerns on to one of the owners. There was no indication of any reason for the delay of the return of our deposit. She would not answer any questions regarding the status of the deposit. We have not received any information from Hometown that indicates what we are waiting on or if we are being charged anything from the deposit.

Desired Settlement: We would like our deposit back, or at the very least an accounting of the reason for the delay and the status of our deposit.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/16) */ Let me begin by apologizing to Mr. and Mrs. ******. This closing has taken far too long by our own standards. My understanding is that *** did reply to the phone calls and emails, but it is true that she could not give them complete information. We were working with the owner handling the majority of the work orders. We contacted the owner on multiple occasions to get a final billing. The owner had many maintenance items done to get the home ready for sale. We were going back and forth with her on charges that she wanted to forward to the tenant that we were not willing to charge. To complicate matters I was out of the office for two weeks in June. When I got back I once again called the owner. On the 10th of June we received an email from the tenant expressing his frustration. On the 11th I called the owner and told her that we were out on the dates, the tenant is upset and this needs to get resolved immediately. We got the verbally and sent out the finalized report within days. I also spoke with Mr. ****** and personally apologized for the delay in getting this closed.

6/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are receiving letters of balances due on a property that we moved out of before December 1 2013. We have sent off official letters and asked for our deposit back within the correct amount if time. And I return received letters saying that we owe money. After this back and forward of letters my up husband and I stopped all contact, and decided to take it up with onpost housing office. We have not spoken to the company are anyone from the company at all. So after nothing was said about getting our deposit back due to he contract not begin honored, no response. Now almost five months. Later a letter and still the dates are not correct and the statements wkcose are not right either, they have that we put a hoie in the wall and unpaid rent, also that we owe for propane even through it's not in our contract that we pay propane and we was not told that we had propane but giving a list of bills to pay nit to include propane. At all, after living in a house with not heat in November and also no working stove, we let them know by letter

Desired Settlement: To not have anymore letter sent to my home. Also my deposit back and not to have any negative remarked on credit .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/15) */ To whom it may concern. To address the matter of the move out final letters: a 14 day letter was sent 12/12/2013, Final report was sent on 1/29/2014. No contact was made to make payment arrangements nor to pay. File was tagged for collections, however before sending to collections one more notice was sent on 4/03/2014 to collect the outstanding funds. The ***** family took occupancy of the said residence on 8/10/2013. The 12 month lease was signed by all parties, however it was later discovered that there was an error on the lease end date of the year. The lease start date was 8/10/2013 with an end date of 7/31/2013. Due to this error the ****** were on a month to month term. They are being held responsible for rent due for the month of December for the reason that they gave notice 11/22/2013 and delivered keys to Hometown on November 27, 2013. Proper move out notice was not given. The stove was reported not working on 10/24/2013 and a work order was promptly issued to ******'s ********** When they arrived they reported that the cost to repair the stove would be as much if not more than to just replace. Due to the cost the owner had to be contacted for approval. Owner approved and a new stove was ordered. Upon delivery it was reported that the stove needed a propane converter. Residents were informed at all times of the progress of the replacement of the stove. The converter was ordered and promptly installed. The residents did have a microwave for a means to cook. Hometown was sent a request from the resident at 7:08 PM on 11/19/2013 regarding no heat, hot water, stove inoperable. The morning of 11/20/2013 **** ****** promptly started addressing the issue. It was determined that the propane tank was empty. **** ****** contacted the propane company that the owner used and set them up with the ****** to address refueling the tank. It was at that time that they chose to give their move out notice. The residents used the fuel from the time they moved into the home on 8/10/2013 until the end of 11/2013. The residents are billed monthly from ***** ***** ******* *** billing statements itemize electric and gas usage. They were never billed for gas from **** therefore not being billed from *** and a large 100 gallon propane tank in the back yard would be very clear that the property is Propane GAS fueled. As well as they were aware that the new stove needed a PROPANE converter. In essence the amount due in the amount of $722.37 is to close out the monies owned from their cost to turn the home over to rent ready condition, reimbursement to the owner for non payment of rent and for improper move notice which is governed by Washington State law. We would gladly put this matter to rest with payment in full to close out the residents account and recover monies owed to the owner of the property that was occupied by the ******. Thank you, **** ****** Hometown PM Property Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have all emails and most if all the leases agreement, in it it does not stare anything about propane are how much was in it at the time of signing are at anytime before we notified the company about the stove not working and no heat. The response was in a timely manor nor was it resolved in a timely manor. After address the stove (which doesn't matter we still didn't have a proper stove to cook food which is apart of the lease and living of my family). We where told tht someone would come out and they would contact us, at this time no one said anything about the propane still. Also I have all paperwork from the start of our speaking with Home Town. Also I have all the pictures and video of before we moved in and after we moved out. The notice was put in and also a letter that was done by a lawyer was sent in the mail certified to Home Town. Also we have paperwork work from ***** where she put stars by all bills we are to pay and also the lease agreement where propane was not on it. Not even in the part of the agreement where there is a a lot space for it. In conclusion we do not except the reason for the move out was breaking our lease, due to Home Town breaking the agreement first, by no heat ( in the winter with four kids) no stove for over a month ( microwave isn't a stove) and also not having propane in our agreement for what we are responsible for. We are asking to resolve this issue, and to receive our deposit back in full. Thank you *** & **** *** ***** *** XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Business Response /* (1000, 28, 2014/06/18) */ To whom it may concern. Per the consumers statement above "It to be fair to both parties." In all fairness the owner incurred a severe financial burden. They have lost rent for the month of December in the amount of $1,595.00, the propane tank was full for your use which was depleted during your occupancy and left empty at the time you vacated the property. The current balance on your account that is owed to the homeowner is $722.37. In fairness to all parties the homeowner has agreed to forgive the amount owing of $722.37 and zero out your account. Thank you. **** ****** Property Manager Hometown PM Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) As far as a hole in a wall, we are not responsible for any damages we improve on the house, as far as painting and keeping all of it clean. We have video and also paperwork that was signed by our property manger and ourselves on regards to the damage that was already done to the home before any of on property even enter the home. As for as turn over I have proof of the home begin rented out in December of 2014 and taking off the website as available to lease proving that it didn't take the four month turn on as stated. Also the point on the stove and heat are incorrect and was not address and handled at the prompt time as stated, However we will agree to the settlement under these terms which we feel are fair and right. 1. Cleaning of the carpet as we understand this has to be done when a new tenant moves in due to the laws and just cleanliness. 2. As far as the hole if paperwork are pictures are needed to be upload I can provide them. 3. As far as the turn over how long was it and how do you determine it in a price point. Also I accept your apology and hope that this issue is resolved very quickly Thank you *** & **** *** ***** ***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Hometown Property Management
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart