This business is not BBB accredited.

Aspen NW Property Management

Phone: (253) 584-8200 Fax: (253) 683-4549 View Additional Phone Numbers 15 Oregon Ave Ste L4, Tacoma, WA 98409

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers property management and real estate services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Aspen NW Property Management include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints

Factors that raised the rating for Aspen NW Property Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Complaint Information

On April 9, 2014, BBB recognized a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding billing and customer service issues. Consumers allege after moving, Aspen NW Property Management engages in questionable collection practices and fails to return their deposits. Consumers further allege the company does not respond to their phone calls for assistance.

On April 17, 2014, BBB notified the company of the complaint pattern. To date, the company has not responded to BBB's request to address the pattern.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Aspen NW Property Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 09, 2010 Business started: 12/01/2009 Business started locally: 12/01/2009 Business incorporated 12/01/2009 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Elliott, Member Mr. John Church, Member Mr. Lyle Crews, Member Mr. Sean Hummel, Member Mr. Eric Smith, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Elliott, Member
Customer Contact: Mr. Eric Smith, Member
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm
Saturday 10am - 4pm
Alternate Business Names
Aspen Real Estate & Property Management Group NW LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Aspen NW Property Management has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    15 Oregon Ave Ste L4

    Tacoma, WA 98409 (425) 255-0510 (253) 584-8200


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is not the first time we have had a big problem but it is the first time I have reported it. Aspen has been taking care of our WA house for 1 1/2 years. This is the second tenants we have had. Three weeks ago, the tenants woke to find the refrigerator broke a pipe or something and the kitchen, dining room and part of the living room is flooded. Aspen sent in a company to inspect the damage and remove damaged materials. The kitchen cabinets have been removed, the kitchen floor, the dining room floor and part of the living room floor. The sheet rock along the full north side of the kitchen and dining room, appliances have been removed. Since Oct 14 we have had no movement, no communication and nothing more done. We have reached out to Aspen and asked that they send someone to look at the refrigerator, find out what happened and see if it can be fixed. No Word. We have asked if they would contact the company that put the carpet in to get that put back together. No Word. Aspen NW has not stepped on site. Oct 22 we sent a personal friend over to see what is going on. The report is the renters are very frustrated that nothing is getting done. The house is a wreck, they have had no refrigerator. He went to ***** and purchased insulation and dry wall and fixed the full north wall in the kitchen and dining room so they can get their heat bill under control. We pay Aspen to take care of our house, we are out of state due to a job transfer. Aspen has dropped the ball and this is not the first time.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) DO THERE JOB and let other people know what kind of company they are. If the tenants leave Aspen will pay the mortgage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/25) */ From our understanding the confusion that arose was lack of communication between the owners. Between the owners and there insurance co. and there handy man. The owners insurance co and handy man did not report to us, so we did not have any control over the repairs that are/were in progress. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/11/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The day BBB contacted Aspen we recieved a phone call, surprise. We were told the carpet would be replace the next day. Asked if we wanted two bids to replace the kitchen floor . We said yes, although this conversation had already been discussed and we never saw any results. The said there was nothing wrong with the refrigerator. The result: the carpet was not replaced the next day, it was a week later, we never to this day got the two bids for the kitchen floor, our handy man that we hired to do all the work, replaced the floor and the refrigerator still did not work. We, from out of state, contacted a company to fix the refrigerator and it was explained what was wrong and why it was behaving the way it was, over a month after the flood, they finally have a working refrigerator. We did everything from our end, Aspen never stepped up. If we waited for them to get the work done, the renters would still be in limbo, I would not pay rent and live in a house and treated the way Aspen took care of them. I still do not understand what we are paying them to do, deposite a rent check in the bank? Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/01/05) */ In response, we at Aspen NW Property have responded to this letter once before, with that said, The property had damages due to a cracked refrigerator filter on the water line and damage occurred. The Insurance Co. for the owner did not communicate with us and took charge of the mitigation. The owner own handyman also did not communicate with us and spoke mainly with Mr. ******** the tenants also did not communicate with Aspen NW, we were not part of the repair process as insurance co. took the responsibility. I feel the communication between the owners was not clear. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2015/01/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Did they respond when we asked them to get the refrigerator fixed? No, we hired someone to do that. Did they respond when we asked them to get two bids to replace the kitchen floor? No, we hired someone to do that. We are not interested in going further with this, the house has been repaired by us, with no help from Aspen even though we asked them for help. Nothing else can be done at this time.

12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My rental property needs attention. I spoke with **** *******, one of the partners, over two weeks ago when we did a walk-through. New tenant was moving in and the unit had not been professionally cleaned. The patio slider has vanes missing and the unit screens need replacing. These problems have been ongoing since the previous tenant moved out in Aug. The unit's washer and dryer are gone. **** stated he'd find out what happened to them. The tenant next door in the other half of the duplex has had trashy boxes on his patio for months. **** stated this tenant would receive a certified letter asking him to remove the boxes or Aspen would do it for him and charge him. Aspen seems to be unresponsive. Work doesn't get done in a timely manner. My email goes unanswered and my phone message to **** has not been returned.

Desired Settlement: I want Aspen to take care of my property in a professional manner. I want them to communicate more about providing solutions to my issues. I am to the point of seeking a different property management company.

12/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is under the "collection" category because that was the last straw that forced me to take action against Aspen NW. The truth is, I can list legitimate issues under each category. While living at property, I had made numerous requests for small repairs to the home. Somebody would respond by saying we'll get right on it, but then weeks would go by without any more contact from Aspen whatsoever. I would continue to call and email them to get somebody completely different responding to me by saying "we were never aware of any issues". I had to invest some of my own money to do small repairs so the house wouldn't fall completely apart. I had gotten so fed up with Aspen's lack of communication/effort to resolve any issues that I finally made threats to call building/code inspectors because I had learned that Aspen was renting out a "duplex" that wasn't legal. Aspen realized what that would cost them, so they reluctantly released me from my lease without any penalty. At the exit inspection, their representative told me of the possible issues that could result in me losing some of my deposit. About two weeks later, I get a check for only about 10% of my deposit. This was completely surprising to me because the charges on that list were not at all discussed prior. But it was not at all surprising that Aspen told me one thing and then goes ahead with something completely different. After contacting somebody from their office, I was told that they misplaced our revision of the initial inspection report. Really?! Your office doesn't even have any filing cabinets. Everybody's desk was stacked with manila folders to the ceiling. How is that my fault? Why am I being punished for Aspen's poor business practices?

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of my security deposit in the amount of $735. Not just because that is my money, but also because I had to endure 8 full months of dealing with these people. I had left that property in better shape than when I moved in, I should be asking for more.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/25) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** This issue has been mutually resolved with the former tenant as of 11/21/2014. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) the company refunded the full amount.

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. Absolutely chronic inability to respond to emails. Aspen averages about a 30% response rate to emails. Multiple requests for responses are only infrequently addressed. 2. Inability to respond to maintenance issues in a timely manner. I handled tenant repair issues myself while Aspen continued to collect payment. 3. Aspen actually billed for work not performed. An invoice billed on 3/16 for over $100 was not associated with any actual work performed on the unit. 4. Tenants report rude treatment by staff when attempting to report problems.

Desired Settlement: Refund of all fees drawn associated with service; termination of agreement.

4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had a 4-plex apartment managed by Aspen NW since November 2011. The apartment I am writing about is in *************************** in Tacoma, WA. In May 2012, the tenant moved out of this apartment and over the next few months I had called to enquire about the unit and was told that it was a slow market so that is why it had not been rented out. However, in October 2012 I decided to check on the apartment online and saw that the apartment was not advertised for rent. When I called in again to address this fact specifically, someone finally listed the property around October 10, 2012. I also saved the website information showing when the property was added as a listing. When I called to question why the unit had not been advertised from May 2012 - October 2012, the answer has always been 'I don't know.' At this time in October 2012, I was working with a property manager named *******. After a few attempts to contact him at the beginning of October, I got an email reply from him on October 21, 2012 that he was no longer managing the property and that **** ***** and *********** were in charge of his units that he had been managing (my property included). At this point, I did not have a property manager for *******************, but I contacted ***** ***** as the alternate to enquire about ****** for the next several months, only to find out in April 2013 that she was not replying to me because she had also left the company without me knowing. The lack of a property manager to account for why ******, ******************* in Tacoma was not advertised between May 2012 - October 2012 was a big concern for me. I brought these issues up with everyone possible that works at Aspen NW and in the past month of emailing and calling, I still have not received a response addressing this issue. Below is one string of emails that shows the issues I have been dealing with in getting the property management company to address this in addition to other concerns about having a property manager responsible for this property. I have been trying everything I can to work this out directly with the property management company. I am currently deployed, so that has meant staying up past midnight in order to call their office during office hours. I do not know what other options I have left to get this resolved and to get a responsive property manager to take care of this property while I am out of the country.

Desired Settlement: The property was vacant for 10 months. While most of that time was likely due to a slow market, the first 5 months of its vacancy was directly related to personnel changes and a property manager that left the company and who was not replaced. This 5 months represents $3,100 in lost rents because the company did not advertise as a property management contract states they would.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/07/01) */ Please find below, our most recent response and proposed resolution to *** ******'s concerns. We do not feel that all efforts we have made with respect to *** ******'s property, and the management of it, have been in good faith. Our offer to work with him in resolution is not out of any sense of responsibility, although we do take our fiduciary responsibility to our owners very seriously, but rather out of an expression of our desire to continue serving him as the manager of his property. Please feel free to contact us/me, if you in the future. Best Regards, ****** Original Message Subject: RE: (FWD: language for **** *) From: <*******> Date: Thu, June 27, 2013 10:54 am To: "* ******" <********> Cc: "**** *******" <****>, "**** *****" <****>, "**** *****" <****>, ****, "**** ********** <****> ***** We would like to continue working with you. We would like to waive the lease-up fee for the next four lease-ups that take place on your units and we would like to waive the management fees for the next 6 months, but this is what we feel reflects our obligation. I am assured, the properties have been marketed (shown) consistently, when vacant. The legal process on the unit that **** ******* was in was implemented in good faith. There are positive outcomes beginning to take hold with regard to collections on this particular account, but it is too early to get excited about them. As this develops we will let you know. **** ***** will provide the information for you on the whole chronology of the ******* issue. He will also be providing the latest update regarding ***** *********** Best Regards, **** * Original Message Subject: Re: (FWD: language for **** D) From: * ****** <********> Date: Sun, June 23, 2013 5:03 pm To: "*******" <*******> ****? From: * ****** <********> To: "*******" <*******> Sent: Tuesday, June 18, 2013 11:46 PM Subject: Re: (FWD: language for **** D) ****, Can you please reply to this? If not as a property manager, please at least reply to me with something as a decent human being. I have been getting ignored for so long on this and I cannot understand why I cannot even get a response. From: * ****** <********> To: "*******" <*******> Sent: Thursday, June 13, 2013 9:58 PM Subject: Re: (FWD: language for **** *) ****, When we talked on the phone early last week, I thought that we were on the same page after our conversation. Do you know why nothing has gone forward beyond that? This does not really address any of the main area of concern that we talked about and what will be done about it. Can you please reply to this email and at least let me know where the breakdown is on seeing any action around these two cases? **** From:** ****** <********> To: "*******" <*******> Cc: **** ***** <****>; **** ***** <****>; **** ******* <****> Sent: Saturday, June 8, 2013 9:39 PM Subject: Re: (FWD: language for ******) Just to clarify on the advertising, the property was not advertised on the internet in any from from May to October 2012. Perhaps there was a sign in front of the house, but it was nowhere on the Internet. This was an issue addressed over email and over the phone in October 2012 and I also have the ****** property history of when it was first advertised in October 2012. This is the fact that I wanted addressed, but that email below is only skirting around this fact. I have been frustrated with this because nobody is taking any accountabilty for the shortcomings to the management of this property. In addition to this situation with ****** above, for ****** paying the rent income that has been withheld from me since October addresses that one either. To keep rent income from a property owner is a very serious issue in itself for legal and ethical reasons, but the other issues that came from mishandled court paperwork and months of non-action after the case was thrown out of court is another issue that I still have not gotten addressed in the past 2 months. ****, I thought today that I would get some action from these issues. This is what we talked about on the phone. Getting excuses forwarded to me over email about your difficulties in managing 40-50 properties, or stating that you understand my concerns do not do anything to address them. I really expected that you would tell me how you were going to rectify these issues and address the losses that I have sustained as a direct result of this mismanagement and the lack of a property manager. **** ****** From: "*******" <*******> To: * ****** <********> Cc: **** ***** <****>; **** ***** <****>; **** ******* <****> Sent: Friday, June 7, 2013 11:36 PM Subject: (FWD: language for ******) **** I am forwarding this to you now so that you have in front of you ****'s response when we talk later. I did not find any record at the bank of the deposit of the partial payment, but it may have been buried in a batch. None the less it was not posted to your account by ***** when the notification of it's receipt was drafted, which is what **** fond in the file as a hardcopy document. I will trust that those dollars were deposited and have those monies deposited in your ledger for disbursement. I look forward to speaking with you later. ****** Original Message Subject: language for **** * From: "**** *****" <****> Date: Tue, June 04, 2013 10:26 am To: <*******>, "'**** *******'" <****>, <****> During the period of time you are under the perception that your property was not being marketed and not being shown. After communication with the staff in our office we have determined that after ******* was activated back into Active Duty, we continued to market and show the property. **** ***** and **** ***** took over showing the property after ******* was activated. The property was continually shown during this period (many times), without success to having a successful applicant. To our understanding, there was not any point and time that the property was not being marketed and shown as you believe. We typically market 40-50 properties per month, and with the various online tools that are utilized, it is difficult to recreate a marketing history for a specific unit. The marketing strategies we use are constantly evolving as the marketing results vary. We understand your frustrations and your desire to have your losses justified. However, as we market and show properties, having to do multiple showings is very costly for us as well, and empty units aren't profitable for anyone. Our goal as your management company is filling vacant units for our owners as fast as possible to keep cash flow coming in. We work very hard here to accomplish that goal and we clearly understand your frustrations. One of the challenges with your property is that is on the low end of value in terms of the bedroom size, location, and condition. The quality of the applicants was not very good, and this is part of why we had difficulty filling the unit. Your property was repeatedly shown, and it is also apparent, that after ******* was activated, communication with you deteriorated. In addition, we understand that you would like to have a specific person to be accountable to your property, so that information can be delivered to you in a timely, and efficient manner. **** ** *****, ** Managing Broker/Certified Property Manager Aspen NW Real Estate & Property Management, LLC ** ****** *** ***** *** Tacoma, WA 98409 Office: XXX-XXX-XXXX Cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX Visit our website! www.aspennwcom "What Can Smart Do For You" We here at Aspen NW are looking forward to hearing from you with any questions or concerns you may have, please know that we also have the following programs available for you should you be interested in them: Lease Option / Rent to Own; Real-Estate Sales; & Investment Property information Electronic Privacy Notice: This e-mail, and any attachments, contains information that is, or may be, covered by electronic communications privacy laws, and is also confidential and proprietary in nature. If you are not the intended recipient, please be advised that you are legally prohibited from retaining, using, copying, distributing, or otherwise disclosing this information in any manner. Instead, please reply to the sender that you have received this communication in error, and then immediately delete it. Thank you in advance for your cooperation, Aspen Real Estate & Property Management LLC. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2013/07/02) */ The string of emails that the property management company forwards as their response exemplifies my frustration in dealing with this issue. I appreciate their efforts to waive property management fees and leaseup fees and I would also like to continue working with them in the future. However, the response still does not address the core issues. The response futher stated that **** ***** would provide information on ******'s issues from last year, as well as an update on a current tenant issue. I have been trying to get this information on ****** since October 2012 and still have not received a reply, so I am not sure that this followup information will come. In fact, when I did receive a partial reply, I found out that the tenant did make a payment in late 2012 that was never applied to my owner account. I am not sure why the office would have collected rent without applying it to my property account, but that brought up another issue that I have not received clarification on. The string of emails that the property management company sent is only one example showing how I have repeatedly tried to contact them for weeks and months without receiving a reply on a serious issue. Final Business Response /* (1010, 60, 2014/01/22) */ For ******, I have only received the January 2014 court judgment for rent owed of $3,170 and court fees of $718. I do not have any information beyond this. I have asked for information concerning the collection process and information on the total amount due by the former tenant, but the property manager is not disclosing this information on my property. The former tenant has been turned into collections and has started making payments, the owner has received all monies we have collected to date. In addition, there is an additional $613 that has been placed into collections for this account for sequential fees incurred. We will continue having the collections agency pursue this account and forward any funds received to *** ******. The court judgment in January 2014 covered the rent owed of $3,170 and the January court fees of $718 were also noted. But, the court fees for the case that was mishandled in September 2013 was never accounted for.. As stated in former responses we as Aspen NW have taken it upon ourselves to try to be fair and in a good faith effort to the owner Aspen NW has not taken any monthly fees or rent up fees since August of 2013. The monies earned as of today's date is $ 903.00. We believe this is more than fair for the compensation to date, to accommodate *** ******. For ******, I have not received either the court judgment or information on the collection process. There are thousands of dollars associated with this unit, as well as court fees, but I have never received any information on this unit other than bills. I would like full disclosure of information on this property, the court judgment, and collection process information as well. The tenant moved prior to going to court so we only have a writ of restitution. The tenant file has been turned over to our collections company and we will seek a judgment only if it is financially feasible to do so. As to this latest response stating "we will get the information to him as soon as possible," I really hope that is true. However, in the course of several months of my repeated calling and emails, it has not happened. We have compiled all corresponding information, fees, and collection data, and will resend this information to *** ******. The last sentence in Aspen's response is irrelevant. The transition from *** ******** ********** to Aspen took place before the tenants of ****** and * moved in. The issues I have here - in this complaint - took place entirely under Aspen. We have and will continue to serve *** ****** as well as all of our property owners as diligently as we possibly can, with the goal of helping him maximize the income, take care of maintenance, and minimize challenges. This has been our ongoing commitment, and we understand the challenges our property owners experience in paying their mortgages, especially when rents are not coming in consistently. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2013/07/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response did not resolve the issue that I was charged court fees for a case that was thrown out of court because of the business' mishandled paperwork. Additionally, the timeline stated after the September 20 case was thrown out of court does not match the 2+ months that it took to reapply for the summons (as it was clearly laid out in my third bill for legal proceedings against the tenant). I would like a resolution that addresses these main issues. Below is the email reply that I sent: ****, I understand this timeline, but I don't seem to understand why I am liable for the mishandled court case from 8/23/2012 to 9/19/2012. If the attorney did not correctly modify the paperwork or the contract language was not correct, it still does not make sense to me why I would be charged $613 for this error and for all of the issues following this mishandled case. Also, if the tenant was supposed to pay in full for the five months that she was late by October 8 and did not follow through with that, following ****'s timeline the next preparations would have started late October, but according to the third court bill that I received the preparation of summons was only started on November 27th. That's over two months after the September 20th case was thrown out of court. These are not new questions that I have, but the core issues that I have been trying to get addressed from the beginning. These two issues around why I would be liable for the mishandled case and concerning the time gap in taking action after the case was thrown out of court is still something that has not been directly accounted for. As far as the rent collection at this point after the final court decision, I had asked several times on the details of that (as with the current case with ******), but have not been getting any response. Was there a court decision for ******? What is the process for this collection? What about the case of ****** where the tenant and the person occupying the property were not the same person? I normally wouldn't have to ask all of these details, but if I would not have inquired about ****** I would not have known that the tenant had actually made a payment of $565 that was kept from me for some reason last year. The same goes with the ******'s security deposit that would also not have been given to me if I had not discovered that discrepancy and asked for it several times months after it should have been applied. I am worried that if I do not get the details on these collection activities, the rent money may be collected by Aspen but not transferred to me in the same way that the others were not transferred to me. ****

12/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved out of a property managed by this company in March. In order to break our lease we still needed to pay rent until a new renter was found. Aspen has had a renter in place since May 1st. They have auto debited my account for $1802.20 in May and June. We never recieved notice that they had found new renters until they called us over a month ago to tell us we owed more money for electric. My wife then found out they had renters in place after asking why the place was still not rented. We have called Aspen multiple times to get them to handle this and even emailed to no response. I talked to ****** yesterday and she said the company was well aware of this situation and the accountant would call me back yesterday. Once again I have not heard from them. I can not continue to wait for my money. I never balked at paying any of your ridiculous fees and lease cancellation policies so why are you playing games with my money when we have been complient in every way from start to finish. This is horrible service and I hope it is resolved immediately.

Desired Settlement: I would like Aspen to refund me my $3600 for rent plus the interest I should have been earning on my money and I believe at this point is fare for them to waive my lease termination fees.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/08/02) */ Hello We spoke with Mr ***** ***** on or about July 5, 2013. I let him know that as of that point there were still outstanding utility bills coming in from utility providers to the property that he had been in for time periods for which he was responsible. We let him know that there was still one utility that had not reported a period from 4/17 through 4/30 for which he would be responsible. He stated that he had paid the utilities directly, but the utilities and the owner sent billings from the utilities showing no such payment. We sent Mr. ***** in the amount of $1,803.95, which was the amount due him after the outstanding utility charges, costs of cleaning the property, marketing and early termination charges, as per his signed lease. These costs came to a total of $1,796.05. Details are available to the BBB upon request. Details of these costs were provided to Mr ***** as an attachment to the Deposit Distribution form sent with his refund check. We suggested that if there is a refund due Mr ***** for having paid a utility directly, that we paid as well upon receipt of billing, he might contact the utility directly for refund of payment of that/those bill(s). We never drew monies directly from Mr *****'s bank account to pay his rent. Mr ***** set up a payment arrangement with a third party, service provider we work with called ********, whom he authorized. We suggest that Mr ***** discontinue the service. As far as we know this issue has been resolved. ** ***** has cashed his refund check. Best Regards, **** ****** for Aspen NW Property Management Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2013/10/10) */ This issue has not been resolved. ** ****** is misinformed. Ii have not cashed a refund check because this is still in dispute and I am actually looking at the check sitting in my lap dated 7/8/2013. According to my legal council there are some violations from Aspen. On instruction from my attorney I will try one last time to resolve this outside of court. One, the money paid that was withheld was designated for rent. Being that I did not owe any rent Aspen was not entitled to withhold that money. Two, Washington law states (RCW 59.18.280) that the landlord must provide in writing within 14 days of me vacating the property, a list detailed breakdown of any money being withheld. Aspen was notified I was vacating the property as of 3/1/13. I didn't receive anything from them until July. Also, Aspen is in did not provide a written checklist describing damages and cleanliness which is in vialation of RCW 59.18.260. According to my attorney I will be entitled to my original deposit as well. There are more Codes of Washington law that we have found the landlord in breach of. I am willing to work this out without filing suit. I paid $3600 in rent for May and June. I would like my money in full. Aspen sent a check for $1803.95 that has yet to be deposited. I am requesting the remaining $1796.05 be refunded as well. If we can not come to an agreement I will file suit. Business Response /* (1000, 31, 2013/11/25) */ We have been in contact with the tenant and as of Friday Nov 22, 2013 we are in an agreement and resolution.

10/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I never chose Aspen NW as my management company for my property located in Tacoma. They came into play when *** ******** ***** went bankrupt. All was good for the first few months, but then all communication was lacking after that. My tenents were always late and I had and still have to call every month to see if rent was received. If i didn't request them to charge a late fee, which I told them to every time, they wouldn't charge the tenants. They wouldn't call or send pay or vacate paperwork until I called and inquired if it had been sent. Tenants have moved out as of 07/02/13, and I called on 7/8/13 to see if a walk thru had been completed since charges needed to be submitted to the collections dept for rent/fees owed by the tenants. I have requested a call back, and I never get a call from anyone. I was told on Tuesday when I called back, 7/9/13, that I needed to talk to **** since he conducted the walk thru and no one apprarently can give me any information regarding what is going on with my property. Very rude personnel, specifically ******, which I've had to talk over on many occasions because she doesn't stop talking to listen and cuts me off when I'm trying to explain to her what I need, since they are being paid by me to manage my property. I've had several conversations with ****, ****, and other people throught the time they have managed my property and things don't seem to get any better. I live in Texas and work long hours, and It's hard for me to be taking time out of my busy schedule to take care of this when that's what they get paid for by me.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate that they take the time, just like I do from my extremely busy schedule to answer or return my calls and not blow me off. I'm not going away by them ignoring me. I have been out of the state for several years and really don't have the time to look for another Management company to take over my property. They witheld viable information regarding funds (security deposit) that were gone missing when they took over for ***********************. They just apologize, but don't take any action in trying to solve the issue. If the deposit information wouldn't of been questioned by me, since I requested to tenents be served a 20 day notice to vacate, I wouldn't have found out about the missing funds, which total approximately $1800.00. I requested them, Aspen NW to take care of the painting and cleaning to prep the house to get ready for new tenants. This request was done at the end of June, 2013, before the tenants moved out and to this day, 07/11/13, I haven't received a response from ANYONE....

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2013/10/10) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ** ***** Gen. Mgr. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **** We have been in contact with the owner, her home has been re rented and we have waived some of our fees to resolve most of the issues that the owner had.