This business is not BBB accredited.

Aspen NW Property Management

Additional Locations

Phone: (253) 584-8200 Fax: (253) 683-4549 View Additional Phone Numbers 4142 6th Ave, Tacoma, WA 98406 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.aspennw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management and real estate services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • The business is in the process of responding to previously closed complaints.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Complaint Information

On April 9, 2014, BBB recognized a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding billing and customer service issues. Consumers allege after moving, Aspen NW Property Management engages in questionable collection practices and fails to return their deposits. Consumers further allege the company does not respond to their phone calls for assistance.

On April 17, 2014, BBB notified the company of the complaint pattern. To date, the company has not responded to BBB's request to address the pattern.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Aspen NW Property Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 09, 2010 Business started: 12/01/2009 in WA Business started locally: 12/01/2009 Business incorporated 12/01/2009 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Elliott, Member Mr. John Church, Member Mr. Lyle Crews, Member Mr. Sean Hummel, Member Mr. Eric Smith, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Elliott, Member
Customer Contact: Mr. Eric Smith, Member
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate

Alternate Business Names
Aspen Real Estate & Property Management Group NW LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15 Oregon Ave South
    #111

    Tacoma, WA 98409

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15 Oregon Ave South
    #111

    Tacoma, WA 98409

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4142 6th Ave

    Tacoma, WA 98406

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My rental property needs attention. I spoke with **** *******, one of the partners, over two weeks ago when we did a walk-through. New tenant was moving in and the unit had not been professionally cleaned. The patio slider has vanes missing and the unit screens need replacing. These problems have been ongoing since the previous tenant moved out in Aug. The unit's washer and dryer are gone. **** stated he'd find out what happened to them. The tenant next door in the other half of the duplex has had trashy boxes on his patio for months. **** stated this tenant would receive a certified letter asking him to remove the boxes or Aspen would do it for him and charge him. Aspen seems to be unresponsive. Work doesn't get done in a timely manner. My email goes unanswered and my phone message to **** has not been returned.

Desired Settlement: I want Aspen to take care of my property in a professional manner. I want them to communicate more about providing solutions to my issues. I am to the point of seeking a different property management company.

Consumer Response: I did hear from Aspen regarding the trash left on the patio by one of the tenants. A certified letter was not sent, but Mark made a phone call to the tenant and he took care of the problem.
Regarding the screens, I was told that they weren't fixed because I had wanted to pay by credit card (not enough money coming in from 1 tenant at the time)and that company does not do that. I told Mark that I wanted to treat the screen repair bill just like all the others for carpet cleaning, vinyl replacement, etc.
Regarding carpet cleaning, I learned from getting a carpet cleaning bill that the carpet was cleaned in mid-October before the new tenants moved in. That makes more sense than John E****** telling me that the tenants would do their own cleaning (with their furniture already moved in).
I am still not happy with the delays in service and I will pursue changing management companies after Jan 1.

Business Response:

In answer to the concerns addressed, the party associated with Aspen NW has been reassigned a different department in our company.

We as Aspen NW tried to work with the owner after the fact, it was of no avail, and we mutually agreed that it would be beneficial that we go our separate ways.

Closed out the account March 2015.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: see copy of email to Aspen below dated 3/21/15.  Aspen did not attempt to arrive at a "mutual decision to part ways."  They did not have answer about my tenant's being without a washer and dryer for over 2 months.  I had no knowledge of John Elliot's transfer even though I was emailing him and I received no satisfactory answers from Aspen.

 

 

Sincerely,

****** ********

 

 

 

4/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. Absolutely chronic inability to respond to emails. Aspen averages about a 30% response rate to emails. Multiple requests for responses are only infrequently addressed. 2. Inability to respond to maintenance issues in a timely manner. I handled tenant repair issues myself while Aspen continued to collect payment. 3. Aspen actually billed for work not performed. An invoice billed on 3/16 for over $100 was not associated with any actual work performed on the unit. 4. Tenants report rude treatment by staff when attempting to report problems.

Desired Settlement: Refund of all fees drawn associated with service; termination of agreement.

Business Response:

In regards to the complaint filed, this property was a challenge.  The tenant per our records would schedule some form of work to be done and then cancel at the last minute, “stating he did not want anyone in the home unless he was there.”

The Owner also became involved by insisting on doing some of the repair himself, and yes if the owner wishes to act as his own vendor, they may do so, (that does not change anything in the contract with the owner) because the Owner did repair himself, in turn the tenant started calling the Owner directly and bypassing Aspen NW and were not part of the conversations.

The statement being treated rude by the staff,   the tenant locked himself out of the home and wanted Aspen NW to drive a set of keys to him, He was informed that if we did that he would be assessed a trip charge for someone to come and let him in, he then threatened to break the door in, we then explained to him that if he did break the door in, we would have the door repaired, charge him for the repair and start an eviction based on willing destruction of the home.

We terminated management April 2014.

11/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a homeowner. I hired AspenNW property management to rent out my single residential home in Tacoma, WA. I live out of state in California. After my last tenants moved out, I switched to a realtor, not associated with AspenNW property management, to sell my home. The last renters did not pay their last month's rent. Therefore, their security deposit was forfeit to me. AspenNW property management has refused 6 requests to tranfer the last tenant's security deposit of $1,550 as well as my own $250 for incidentals back to to me. Instead, they closed my account, and basically stole a total of $1,800 from me and my account.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is for AspenNW property management to return the $1,800 it stole from me and my account.

Business Response:

At this point with the severity of her allegation of Aspen NW stole her money, we have our Attorney responding to Mrs. ***** directly.

It will be a day or two, for the formal letter of response to be drafted.

 

Our Attorney is ****** **** **** *** **** ******* ** ***** ************

Hold this till such time that the attorney responds.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This is just an attempt to get me to remove my BBB complaint, which will not be happening.  I have enough e-mails from them detailing their confirmation of my complaints, as well as their own assurance that the previous tenants security deposit as well as my own $250 would be deposited into my personal account over the past several weeks.  Not a single cent of this has been deposited. Instead, they sent me an email as well as a letter in the mail that my account was closed. They thought they could get away with this, but are now upset because I have exposed them.  I would happy to go to court, to get my money back, charge them with fraud, and also charge them for my time and expenses.  It will also expose the deplorable conditions in which they left my home.  My realtor has already taken numerous photos of my home and the complete lack of repairs. After reading all of the BBB complaints, this company has a history of cheating both the homeowners and the renters,  They have essentially no response to my complaint because they know what they did is wrong and against the law.  

Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response: **** Please See Attached Documents ****

Re: Request for Release of Funds
Dear Ms. *****,
I am writing to you in regard to the above referenced matter on behalf of my client, AspenNW Property Management LLC. I have had an opportunity to review youT Property Management Agreement dated 6/18/14 and discuss this matter with my client. I am responding to your email dated 10/22/15, I would ask that you direct all further correspondence to this attorney and not deal directly with my client.
It is my understanding that you are asking for the tenant's security deposit, personal money for incidentals, late fees, and reimbursement for time, wages, travel, and lodging. Frankly, I am rather puzzled as to how you could possibly believe that my client is responsible for paying you time, wages, travel, lodging, and money for incidentals. I would direct your attention to the above referenced Property Management Agreement. Specifically, please review Paragraph 4.14 of your agreement concerning agent's responsibility for monies that are uncollectable. I am not aware of any gross negligence or willful misconduct by my client in carrying out its duties under the agreement.
I believe my client has previously explained to you the issues concerning the security deposit and clearly the late fees are split at best pursuant to Paragraph 3 of the rental agreement. Moreover, you would always have to come up to Washington from Los Angeles to deal with your real property if you do not have a management company. My client has the right to terminate the agreement, please see Paragraph 10.2 in regard to the Notice of Cancellation; that should give you sufficient explanation as it relates to the security deposit.
The bottom line is, apparently you are frustrated because the Property Management Agreement did not go as you had hoped. My client is also frustrated with your actions. Nevertheless, there is no basis in law or equity for reimbursing you anything other than the funds as set forth in attached EXHIBIT A. If you pursue this matter further or continue to make false allegations against my client I will have no recourse but to defend my clients vigorously.
Unfortunately Dr. *****, you have now made a false complaint to the Better Business Bureau. My clients mailed out to you the return of all the monies you were due totaling $1,676.00 as set forth in attached EXHIBIT A in their statement to you. Please confirm in writing that you have not received the check and we will stop payment on the check sent to you (Check No. ***** and *****) and issue new checks. I am sending a copy of this letter to the Better Business Bureau to let them know my clients did not steal $1,800.00 from you and frankly the remainder of your allegations are baseless.
Sincerely,
*** **** *** ***** ****
Sent without signature to expedite
****** ** **** 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Number of requests made since October 2, 2015 for payment of the $1,800 legally owed to me by Aspen NW Real Estate and Property Management: 10 Amount received: $0 I had ACH transfer set up to deposit money directly into my personal checking account. Instead of making the deposit as I requested, and which they agreed to with e-mail documentation, they decided to CLOSE my account, and STEAL my money from my account. Their so called "Exhibit A" which they came up with was only provided AFTER my complaint was filed with the BBB. My STOLEN money still sits in their account to this day. Not a single cent has been received. They are well aware of this through multiple documented e-mails. I have EVERY RIGHT to document the illegal actions of Aspen NW. I have EVERY RIGHT to take them to court to charge them for my time and expenses trying to recover my STOLEN money.
Sincerely,

***** *****

1/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is not the first time we have had a big problem but it is the first time I have reported it. Aspen has been taking care of our WA house for 1 1/2 years. This is the second tenants we have had. Three weeks ago, the tenants woke to find the refrigerator broke a pipe or something and the kitchen, dining room and part of the living room is flooded. Aspen sent in a company to inspect the damage and remove damaged materials. The kitchen cabinets have been removed, the kitchen floor, the dining room floor and part of the living room floor. The sheet rock along the full north side of the kitchen and dining room, appliances have been removed. Since Oct 14 we have had no movement, no communication and nothing more done. We have reached out to Aspen and asked that they send someone to look at the refrigerator, find out what happened and see if it can be fixed. No Word. We have asked if they would contact the company that put the carpet in to get that put back together. No Word. Aspen NW has not stepped on site. Oct 22 we sent a personal friend over to see what is going on. The report is the renters are very frustrated that nothing is getting done. The house is a wreck, they have had no refrigerator. He went to ***** and purchased insulation and dry wall and fixed the full north wall in the kitchen and dining room so they can get their heat bill under control. We pay Aspen to take care of our house, we are out of state due to a job transfer. Aspen has dropped the ball and this is not the first time.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) DO THERE JOB and let other people know what kind of company they are. If the tenants leave Aspen will pay the mortgage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/25) */ From our understanding the confusion that arose was lack of communication between the owners. Between the owners and there insurance co. and there handy man. The owners insurance co and handy man did not report to us, so we did not have any control over the repairs that are/were in progress. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/11/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The day BBB contacted Aspen we recieved a phone call, surprise. We were told the carpet would be replace the next day. Asked if we wanted two bids to replace the kitchen floor . We said yes, although this conversation had already been discussed and we never saw any results. The said there was nothing wrong with the refrigerator. The result: the carpet was not replaced the next day, it was a week later, we never to this day got the two bids for the kitchen floor, our handy man that we hired to do all the work, replaced the floor and the refrigerator still did not work. We, from out of state, contacted a company to fix the refrigerator and it was explained what was wrong and why it was behaving the way it was, over a month after the flood, they finally have a working refrigerator. We did everything from our end, Aspen never stepped up. If we waited for them to get the work done, the renters would still be in limbo, I would not pay rent and live in a house and treated the way Aspen took care of them. I still do not understand what we are paying them to do, deposite a rent check in the bank? Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2015/01/05) */ In response, we at Aspen NW Property have responded to this letter once before, with that said, The property had damages due to a cracked refrigerator filter on the water line and damage occurred. The Insurance Co. for the owner did not communicate with us and took charge of the mitigation. The owner own handyman also did not communicate with us and spoke mainly with Mr. ******** the tenants also did not communicate with Aspen NW, we were not part of the repair process as insurance co. took the responsibility. I feel the communication between the owners was not clear. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2015/01/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Did they respond when we asked them to get the refrigerator fixed? No, we hired someone to do that. Did they respond when we asked them to get two bids to replace the kitchen floor? No, we hired someone to do that. We are not interested in going further with this, the house has been repaired by us, with no help from Aspen even though we asked them for help. Nothing else can be done at this time.

12/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is under the "collection" category because that was the last straw that forced me to take action against Aspen NW. The truth is, I can list legitimate issues under each category. While living at property, I had made numerous requests for small repairs to the home. Somebody would respond by saying we'll get right on it, but then weeks would go by without any more contact from Aspen whatsoever. I would continue to call and email them to get somebody completely different responding to me by saying "we were never aware of any issues". I had to invest some of my own money to do small repairs so the house wouldn't fall completely apart. I had gotten so fed up with Aspen's lack of communication/effort to resolve any issues that I finally made threats to call building/code inspectors because I had learned that Aspen was renting out a "duplex" that wasn't legal. Aspen realized what that would cost them, so they reluctantly released me from my lease without any penalty. At the exit inspection, their representative told me of the possible issues that could result in me losing some of my deposit. About two weeks later, I get a check for only about 10% of my deposit. This was completely surprising to me because the charges on that list were not at all discussed prior. But it was not at all surprising that Aspen told me one thing and then goes ahead with something completely different. After contacting somebody from their office, I was told that they misplaced our revision of the initial inspection report. Really?! Your office doesn't even have any filing cabinets. Everybody's desk was stacked with manila folders to the ceiling. How is that my fault? Why am I being punished for Aspen's poor business practices?

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of my security deposit in the amount of $735. Not just because that is my money, but also because I had to endure 8 full months of dealing with these people. I had left that property in better shape than when I moved in, I should be asking for more.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/25) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ** ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@aspennw.com This issue has been mutually resolved with the former tenant as of 11/21/2014. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/12/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) the company refunded the full amount.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Aspen NW Property Management
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart