BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2001

Aurora Plumbing Supply Co Inc

(206) 364-1140View Additional Phone Numbers14330 Aurora Ave N, SeattleWA 98133-6917

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers plumbing and electrical parts, accessories, fixtures and residential plumbing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2001

BBB has determined that Aurora Plumbing Supply Co Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Aurora Plumbing Supply Co Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Aurora Plumbing Supply Co Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
04/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I discovered I had a leak in my water line when I got my last bill from the City of Seattle. I wasn't able to find where on my property the leak was but I knew it was outside my home. Believing, my water line was broken somewhere, on March 3, 2014 I signed Aurora Plumbing Invoice #XXXXX to replace my waterline with Pex pipe. I was very anxious to have the work done ASAP because of the ongoing leak, and ***** (an Aurora Plumbing estimator?)assured me they would try to have the people who run the boring machine come to my home on Wednesday, March 5th. On Tuesday, March 4, ***** stopped by my house to have me sign the credit card portion of the invoice and give them my credit card information. The amount of the contract was for $3882.00 plus tax. ***** told me Aurora Plumbing would send a crew to dig the two holes the boring machine would need, and that the crew would be able to come that afternoon. The crew did come and did dig holes near the water meter and in my backyard. The hole near the water meter showed some water in it. ***** called me the next day, Wednesday, March 5th, to report that the digging crew had alerted Aurora Plumbing about the water near the water meter and ***** said that it was possible that the leak wasn't my pipe, but the City of Seattle Water Department's equipment. They would not send the boring machine until they learned if a new water line was still needed. I called the City of Seattle Water Dept., and they came out later that morning, determined the leak was from their equipment, and fixed the leak. The Water Dept. also backfilled the hole by the water meter to better ensure public safety, and I backfilled the hole in my backyard at the same time for my safety. I called Aurora Plumbing and left a message for ***** that the leak had been repaired by the city, and that the hole-digging laborers could get their equipment (2 traffic cones, yellow caution tape, plastic sheets). I also said it was a great relief for me to have the leak finally taken care of and that they should let me know how much the bill for the work done on Wednesday came to.

Later that afternoon, I got a call from ***** in the Aurora Plumbing office who said he was calling on *****'s behalf since ***** was very busy that afternoon. ***** told me that based on the number of people and the number of hours the bill would be $1250. I asked him if that amount included backfilling the holes as well as excavating them, and ***** said yes. I told him the amount should be reduced since the number of hours and laborers he'd quoted was inaccurate and couldn't possibly be accurate since they weren't going to be doing the backfilling and I knew they hadn't spent that many hours on Wednesday to dig the holes. ***** asked me why I'd even asked about the amount charged for the digging; he seemed to take umbrage with the question. ***** asked me if I wanted a new invoice that would reflect the work they'd done to be brought over or if he could just adjust Invoice #XXXXX. I was very tired and stunned by the amount he was charging me and I just told him he could adjust that invoice and confirmed that he could still use that credit card number. I never agreed to that amount, which I consider outrageous for the work done.

Desired Settlement
I indicated to ***** that I am prepared to take the matter to Small Claims Court; however, I hope that with the assistance of the Better business Bureau, that will not be necessary. Aurora Plumbing has long been used by my family for plumbing advice and supplies. (The older men in the store have terrific expertise and patience.) $1250 for digging two holes is a ridiculously high charge and even if reduced by half would be difficult to defend. I hope Aurora Plumbing will adjust that bill to reflect an accurate accounting of the labor and time truly expended.

Business Response
In response to case # XXXXXXXX which was filed by ****** *********:

On March 3rd, 2014 we responded to a call from ****** ********* regarding a main water service line in her yard that she believed to be leaking. On site, after dialog with Ms. *********, she signed a contract (inv # XXXXX) to replace her main water service for a total of $3882.00, which included 2-oversized holes dug at the main connection at the street side, as well as where the line will enter the residence. Also included was a boring machine to get from the street to the residence without major upset to landscaping. Once the holes were completed and the boring machine and tech were en-route, we saw that there was water coming from the meter location. At that point, Aurora Plumbing discussed the issue and decided to let the customer know that the issues might not be hers, but rather the City's. In keeping with Aurora Plumbing's standard of ethics, we informed Ms. ********* of the situation. We then informed and coordinated with the City of Seattle to come out to fix the leak in their line. We also discussed with the City that we should leave the holes until after the City was finished in case the line to the house was also leaking.

Upon the City's completion of work, it was determined that there was no issue with the line to Ms. *********'s house. At this point, Aurora Plumbing felt good about saving her over $2200.00. It is our opinion and experience that many companies would not have been as forthcoming about not needing to replace the main line in order to complete a "sale".

On this job site we had 2 of our service professionals, a field vehicle and hours of labor for: digging the 2 holes; calling to schedule the boring service; calling to cancel the boring, and calling to file a case with the City of Seattle, which amounted to $1250.00. Ms. ********* agreed to pay over the phone while she spoke with *****, our Sales Manager.

Aurora Plumbing does regret not coming back in a timely manner to backfill the holes and do our typical clean-up of the site.

We feel that $1250.00 is a fair price, given the fact that we did provide information that allowed Ms. ********* to save thousands of dollars. In addition, since Aurora Plumbing was to have 2 technicians and a boring crew on site for the entire day, and due to having the City complete the repair, Aurora Plumbing was not able to fill the rest of the day for those technicians due to low call volume at that point, resulting in a loss of business for the remainder of the day.

This being said: We do completely understand how, from a customer's perspective, it would seem ludicrous to charge so much for seemingly only digging 2 holes. Not knowing all that goes into a job such as this, and not seeing the time spent off-site with the City, boring crew, etc., would make us question the charge as well. For this reason, Aurora Plumbing will let Ms. ********* dictate what she feels is fair, and Aurora Plumbing will promptly issue credit for the difference. It is, after all, our mission to have happy, satisfied customers.

Thank you for your time and attention to this,

***** *******, Owner
Aurora Plumbing


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Without a doubt, Aurora Plumbing provided a service to me and should be paid for that service. On March 4, 2014 they dug two holes in preparation for their boring machine to come on March 5, 2014. Mr. *******'s response to my complaint makes it appear that the events happened on one day which was not the case. They may have intended to use 2 technicians and a boring crew on my site, but in fact, they did not. The only Aurora Plumbing personnel and equipment that were on my property were the man who wrote the initial contract on March 3, 2014, the crew who dug the two holes on March 4th, and on April 1st, the man who (finally) picked up the materials left by the digging crew.

Whatever equipment and personnel they intended to use for replacing the waterline and the "low call volume for that day" are not my responsibility and I should not have been charged for them. I think at least $1,000 should be deducted from the $1250 Aurora Plumbing charged; this leaves me with a bill for $250 plus tax for digging two holes. This amount still seems like a lot since the holes did not appear to be "oversized" by the length, width or depth from personal observation and from my photos, but the crew was polite and did a nice job in leaving the exposed areas with warning tape and traffic cones.

I continue to wonder why they did not notify me on March 4th (I was home) when they realized the possible City liability based on the presence of water in the hole (3-4' deep and 2-3' wide) they dug near the water meter. An ethical company behaves ethically no matter what other companies do and does so immediatelynot waiting overnight.

Aurora Plumbing billed me $1368.75. I continue to believe this is an exorbitant amount for what was actually done by them. If Aurora Plumbing will refund $1,000 plus tax on my credit card, I will consider the matter resolved.


Final Business Response
A credit of $1000.00 plus tax was posted by Aurora Plumbing on 4/15/14. As is typical of processing credits, the credit card company may not show the posting for up to 3 days. Nonetheless, Aurora Plumbing does this in good faith that Ms. ********* is now happy with the situation and all problems related to her leak are fixed.

02/27/2012Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbing Contractors, Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1967Business started: 01/01/1960
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW
Tumwater, WA98501-5414
(800) 647-0982
http://www.lni.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1961, WA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Brian Dressel (President)Ms Pamela J Dressel (Director of Operations)
Business Category

Plumbing Contractors, Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Aurora Plumbing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Aurora Plumbing Supply Co Inc has received 3.80 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Aurora Plumbing Supply Co Inc

14330 Aurora Ave N

Seattle, WA 98133-6917

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 14330 Aurora Ave N 

    Seattle, WA 98133-6917(206) 364-1140
    (206) 364-1141
    (206) 364-1145
    (206) 364-5223
    (800) 470-1760

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Aurora Plumbing Supply Co Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (206) 364-1141
  • (206) 364-1145
  • (206) 364-5223
  • (800) 470-1760
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.