BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers an eye clinic.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Evergreen Eye Center Inc PS meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Evergreen Eye Center Inc PS include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Evergreen Eye Center Inc PS
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2003 Business started: 08/01/1989 in WA Business started locally: 08/01/1989 Business incorporated 01/01/1994 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. John Jarstad, President Mr. Zachary Smith, Practice Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. John Jarstad, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Zachary Smith, Practice Administrator
Business Category

Physicians & Surgeons - Ophthalmology Laser Eye Surgery Contact Lenses


Additional Locations

  • 14031 Ambaum Blvd SW

    Burien, WA 98166

  • 2820 Griffin Ave Ste 101

    Enumclaw, WA 98022

  • 34719 6th Ave S

    Federal Way, WA 98003 (800) 340-3592 (253) 927-5646 (206) 212-2112

  • 700 M St NE

    Auburn, WA 98002

  • 716 S 348th St

    Federal Way, WA 98003

  • PO Box 25020

    Federal Way, WA 98093 (253) 874-3969

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Evergreen eye center offers free consultations for Lasik surgery. After consultation, they send me a bill. False and misleading advertising.

Desired Settlement: Adjust the bill to $0.00

Business Response: The patient scheduled and then received a refractive (Lasik) consultation, which is free.  The patient was not billed for this.  After that, the patient also scheduled and then received a cataract screening.  Cataract screenings are not free and the patient was told this.  We subsequently billed the patient, and the patient refused to pay.  We strongly feel that the fair resolution here is that the patient pay their bill.

10/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an unsigned letter from Zachary S****, Administrator, dated September 30, 2015, which indicated it was a 2nd notice. I called to speak with Mr. S**** on October 8 and was told by the operator that he was unavailable. I was put through to his voice mail. I had not heard back from Mr. S**** by the afternoon of October 9 so I again called and spoke with the operator. I was again told he was unavailable. I asked when he would be available and was told by the operator she didn't know but she would put me back to his voice mail. I said I did not want to be put back in the voice mail that I wanted to speak with someone. She said the only thing she could do was put me through to his voice mail. I asked to speak to the operator's manager and was told that she did not have a manager at the time.

Desired Settlement: I would like Zachary S**** to contact me in regards to the letter he sent to me. I would also like the operator to receive customer service training on how to deal with the public. Being an operator doesn't give you the right to stall people and she needs training in how to deal with this type of situation.

Business Response: This person is no longer a patient of ours, has already left bad reviews (in exaggerated fashion) about our firm on multiple review websites, and was simply calling to complain that she received a letter in the mail saying one of our doctors was no longer with us, a letter that was sent out to many of our current and former patients.  In addition, she complains about our receptionist being less than polite, but she herself was very impolite to our employee, a fact that our recording of the telephone call she references will clearly demonstrate.  Furthermore, I spoke with her today and very politely apologized for the minor inconvenience of receiving a letter in the mail, so the main basis of her complaint is satisfied already.  Her demands that we retrain our receptionist are unreasonable and unnecessary, especially since she is no longer our patient, has stated clearly as of today she wants nothing to do with our business (a request we have assured her we will honor), and has even gone so far as to be borderline libelous to our company on multiple public review websites.  This claim is completely frivolous and should be closed immediately.

7/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were told $1200.00 per eye would cover cost to fix astigmatism, cataract removal and lens implant, also asked if we wanted our insurance company to be billed to which we requested yes. After paying $1200.00 on 4/15/2014 and again on 5/21/2014 for a total of $2400.00 each eye was operated on. Since then our ****** ********* *** paid 80% of the charges and we were to pay the remaining 20%. ****** was charged $714.74 and paid $571.79 so we were to pay $142.95 per eye. The anesthesia was separate at $129.02 ****** paid $90.31 we were to pay $38.71. Currently Evergreen Eye has sent billing to say we owed $130.00 which we paid, then another billing was sent saying we owed $579.96 which we have not paid, because we asked what happened to or $2400.00. They have refused to acknowledge our $2400.00 so we are at an impasse therefore we are asking for help from you. We also have contacted ****** ******** ** ***** which we paid with their credit card and ****** ********* co. both are also following up. We would appreciate your help also waiting to here from you. Thanks Product_Or_Service: Eye Surgery

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Since we feel we over paid and our Insurance also covered the billing we feel Evergreen Eye should refund us $1820.04 either to our credit card or a check to us. Again Thanks

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/09/26) */ This is a very unfortunate mis-communication. There were two separate procedures performed. One was a medical procedure, cataract surgery, covered and paid for by the insurance plan at 80% of the allowed charge. The second procedure was a non-covered procedure to correct astigmatism which is an out of pocket expense paid for by the patient, $1,200 per eye. The First procedure, catarct surgery, had a 20% co-pay amount for the surgeon, a 20% co-pay amount for the facility (surgery operating room and recovery) and a 20% co-pay for the anesthesia. The second procedure, astigmatic correction at $2,400, or $1,200 per eye, was the non-covered charge for the correction of astigmatism and is a patient out of pocket cost. ****** does not pay for astigmatic correction and considers it an allowable service but non-covered. The billed co-pays at question are the 20% insurance patient co-pays after ****** has paid the 80% while the $2,400 is for the second non-covered astigmatic correction. It is a shame that the patient does not understand these services and charges. We have a complete set of informed consents and an Advanced Beneficiary Notice signed by the patient attesting to and accepting of these additional non-covered charges. Without written consent from the patient these documents are not available to BBB as per HIPAA requirements. We do hundreds of these special additional services and have not had a mis-communication issue like this. Because of the Federal Government requirements surrounding non-covered but allowed charges we are quite careful about explaining these issues to patients. Obviously in this instance the patient did not have a clear understanding of the services and charges as evidenced by the statement "we were told that $1,200 would cover the cost to fix astigmatism, cataract removal and lens implant". Why the patient went away with such an erroneous understanding none of my staff can understand. $1,200 would not even cover basic cataract surgery without any astigmatic correction. The two services are considered completely separtely and the charges and payments were appropriately done. The claim that Evergreen Eye Center owes the patient a refund of $1,820.04 is absolutely incorrect and not consistent with ******'s contract rates and covered services. We would encourage the patient to contact ****** with these concerns. The patient does not seem to understand the nature of the services and charges and in fact owes Evergreen Eye Center co-pay amounts for the cataract services performed following the amount paid at 80% by ******. My Billing Director has spoken to the patient a number of times and I am available to speak directly with the patient if that would be of benefit.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Evergreen Eye Center Inc PS
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)