This business is not BBB accredited.

Pacific Gynecology Specialists PC

Phone: (206) 965-1700 Fax: (206) 965-1736 View Additional Phone Numbers 1101 Madison St Ste 1500, Seattle, WA 98104 http://www.pacificgyn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers gynecology, fertility and oncology services, excluding obstetrics.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pacific Gynecology Specialists PC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pacific Gynecology Specialists PC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 2001 Business started: 07/01/1980 Business started locally: 07/01/1980 Business incorporated 08/31/1995 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Charities Program
PO Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/charities
Phone Number: (800) 332-4483
rsherrell@secstate.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tish Paolino, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tish Paolino, Office Manager
Business Category

Physicians & Surgeons - OB/GYN Physicians - Specialists Health & Medical - General Clinics


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1101 Madison St Ste 1500

    Seattle, WA 98104 (206) 215-3200 (206) 965-1700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made an appointment for an annual pap smear and was seen by a nurse practitioner and received said service which should have been billed as a preventative procedure when coded for billing. Instead I received a bill for a "pre-cancer screening" which is NOT the procedure that I should have been billed for. This is a preventative procedure and should have been coded as such as it was during my visits to this Clinic in past years. I contacted the Clinic on several occasions and brought this to their attention but was not able to reach a resolution. The answer I was given during my inquires was "we are working it". My Insurance company informed me that it was a coding error on the Clinics part and they had to correct it. The bill ($90.00) has since been sent to a collection agency with no further attempts to contact me directly on the part of the Clinic.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to be billed for a service that I did not receive as I went to the Clinic for a preventive procedure as I had in the past.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/23) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@pacificgyn.com Response to consumer's original complaint: 12/23/2014 Patient had an appointment on 02/10/2014. Patient states it was an 'annual pap smear'. When seeing a provider (MD or PA-C) (patient states she saw a NP; but in fact, saw a Physicians's assistant) within our Oncology department at our facility, the billing is never coded as a 'preventative procedure' but rather a cancer surveillance visit. The office visit was billed correctly and medical documentation supports that billing. History of communication with patient about billing issue: 03/13/2014- PT WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHY DOS 02/10/2014- WAS BILLED AS AN OFFICE VISIT. THIS IS COMING FROM ******** I TOLD HER THE REP I WOULD GET THECHART NOTE PULLED AND HAVE IT REVIEWED AND THEN CALL THE PATIENT. *** 3/21/14 - Rec'd email from ******* that they had received a VM from ******** at the patient's insurance that she was questioning the 2/10/14. This has been reviewed by ***** and confirmed Cancer Survaillance. I LM for ********* *** 4/4/14 LM FOR PATIENT REGARDING 2/10/14 DATE OF SERVICE, SERVICES CODED CORRECTLY ** 9.4.14 LEFT VM FOR PT TO CALL RE: PAST DUE BAL ** 10/29/14 PATIENT SENT TO COLLECTIONS ____________________________________________________________________________________ Patient had a procedure in 2009, resulting in a diagnosis of adenocarcinoma in situ - which required successive cancer surveillance visits - not preventative visits. Documentation was reviewed by a medical coder, ***** ****** at ***** ******* ************ and was found to be accurately billed by provider. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/01/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Why if all of my visits where cancer screening was I never informed of this? Every year, once a year, I call and make an appointment for a pap smear as all women are supposed to do for their health. I had an abnormal pap 5 years ago and have never had a abnormal one since. I have never been charged for any of my visits before so why now? If I call and make an appointment for a pap smear why am I being charged for a cancer screening without my knowledge? None of the P.A.s or receptionists or any one else I have spoken to at that clinic have ever said that my visits were anything but an annual pap smear. This is a very deceptive business practice. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/01/13) */ Complaint Report Case #XXXXXXXX Better Business Bureau Re: ********, **** Response to consumer's complaint response: 01/13/2015 The previous year, patient was seen and service was also billed as cancer surveillance. The 2013 visit, patient was responsible for copay, whereas the 2014 visit fell under patient's deductible. PGS's employees are instructed, for Gynecologic Oncology appointments, to relay to patients that it is our policy to indicate verbally if patient is scheduling a 'yearly appointment' to verbalize that it is NOT for an 'annual preventative visit, but rather a yearly cancer surveillance visit, in order so that the patient knows at the time of scheduling. Our PA's and MDs are also instructed if there is conversation at the time of visit inquiring about how the visit is billed, they are to relay same - indicating it is for yearly CA surveillance visit - even though part of the visit will have a pap performed. Patient Care Guidelines are established based on national care standards for diagnosing patients, patients undergoing treatment and in remission. Every effort is extended to patients to review and discuss plan of care, costs associated with services, insurance benefits, and payment plans. PGS would like to clear this matter up with the patient and is happy to discuss this at any time. It has been the patient who has been unresponsive to our calls. Thank you for giving PACIFIC GYNECOLOGY SPECIALISTS the opportunity to respond.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Pacific Gynecology Specialists PC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)