BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/18/2012

Rover.Com

(888) 453-7889View Additional Phone Numbers808 Howell St Ste 100, SeattleWA 98101-1357 Send email to Rover.Com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers dog sitting, care, walking and boarding services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/18/2012

BBB has determined that Rover.Com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Rover.Com's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Rover.Com's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Rover.Com

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
11/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We left ****** and our other dog (**), in ****'s care because we were out of the country for nearly two weeks. **** contacted us the second week and told us she had taken a shower and left ****** out of his kennel (which we provided with many additional items to keep him safe and occupied when she couldn't be with him). While she was in the shower, ****** knocked over her purse and accessed ****'s prescription medication (inhaler). **** was concerned that he had ingested a large amount of this steroid so she contacted our vet at ******** ********. Apparently there was not a doctor available and they suggested that she take ****** to the emergency vet which she did. ******'s heart rate was almost double his normal rate and they had to keep him overnight. **** was asked to pay a deposit which she did and then came back the next day to pick ****** up once he was released and paid the difference. When we returned we had to also take ****** back in for a follow up appointment to learn that this could have been an even more tragic ending if he hadn't been treated right away. We left our dogs in the care of **** and provided her with everything she would need to keep them safe and out of harms way, including his kennel. We trusted **** to use the kennel to keep ****** safe when she was unable to watch him. He is a naturally active and curious puppy and should not be left unsecured access to anything that could harm him, as in this case, ****'s prescription medicine. We specifically brought the kennel we use for ****** at home to ****, to prevent such an incident. Additionally, **** stated in previous messages regarding this incident, that ****** was starting to chew on a shoe and a pillow which we think should have been a clear message to **** not to leave him outside the kennel unsupervised. We are thankful that ****** appears to be fine at this point but clearly this could have had a much more serious ending. We would respectfully question why the pet owner would be responsible for the deductible when **** was provided with everything required to keep our dogs safe. If ****** or ** had a medical problem while we were away, we, as the pet owners, would be responsible for the incurred costs. However, we paid for a service in good faith and left two healthy and happy dogs under ****'s care. We then received a message while on vacation that one of our pets was ill due solely to ****'s decision to leave ****** unsupervised and exposed to potentially harmful medication. **** has apologized and taken responsibility for this mistake and we feel very strongly that we should not be held financially responsible for any of the additional cost associated with this mistake including the deductible. We sincerely hope that we will be able to come to a mutually acceptable resolution. Now Rover.com has repaid **** and we have been asked to pay for her mistake - in addition we have insurance and a program with ******** Hospital which would have covered this cost. We could have been disussing the death of our dog due to a negliant mistake from our dog sitter and even though she has taken complete responsibility now the company is refusing to do what is right.


Desired Settlement
Quite honestly, this experience has become increasingly problematic as it appears that now we are expected to characterize the facts to Rover.com as they already know them to be able to satisfy their insurance company. As we understand the definition of negligence, it is the failure to behave with the level of care that someone of ordinary prudence would have exercised under the same circumstances. If we agree that is the definition, than yes, this resulted from a negligent act by ****. Having said that, we see this being resolved one of two ways. Either **** refunds the amount she was paid for ******'s care directly to us and we will pay the deductible or she can refund it to you with the same result. In either case, we are extremely frustrated and concerned not only by what happened to ****** while in ****'s care, but by the way this is now being handled.

Business Response
Dear *****,

First of all, thank you for reaching out and explaining this situation. There's nothing more important to us than the health and safety of Rover dogs. We're sorry to hear about your experience, and grateful that our pet insurance plan was in place to cover the majority of ******** expenses.

Our insurance plan dictates that the deductible be the responsibility of the pet parentbut we understand your unique situation and we'd like to help further by waiving the cost of your deductible. Under these circumstances, we're able to supersede our insurance plan and incur the deductible cost ($250). We don't want you to shoulder any of the insurance costs associated with this incident.

We will work directly with our insurance company to have this deductible paid on your behalf.

There's no further action necessary for you. Thank you again for contacting us about this difficult situation. We're glad we were able to assist with this matter, and especially heartened to hear that ****** is doing well. If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We know that there are more instances than not that would require the pet-parent to pay but as you stated this was a unique circumstance and I appreciate Rover.com taking care of us as customers. It does make us feel much more inclined to use the service again. I am only disappointed that it took this complaint to fix this situation as we have had three other opportunities to board our dogs and have had to use other services because we weren't sure how this would turn out.

We greatly appreciate your quick response and your understanding that this situation was not typical.

Thank you for taking care of this Rover.com and BBB.

09/23/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Rover advertised on Facebook with a link to become a dog walker or pet sitter. You follow link electronically enter all information. Then I contacted the main customer service number to ask them the day I put in my electronic application and all personal and business info on there. Resume etc etc. SS# etc etc. I spoke with customer service and a supposed recruiter on the phone the day I started my rover page and application. The csr/recruiter advised that I didnt need a license or an EIN or anything to start as a dog walker. Nothing. However when reading according to VA state requirements different information posted and ********** ******* ****** advised me of different information. I was told I need a license to be a Walker DBA Rover or sitter as sole proprieter-even as an employee. On their website you had to check off if licensed bonded or other such options or certifications. I was told several phone calls no license as employee. I would just walk client dogs. Then told I had to get business or clients in Centreville. In other words I created page with rover. Paid for and passed background screen. Paid for Bond. Have to pay for business cards on their site eith their printer. POst tutorials which I did 2 from family. Had to post pics of my home pets I had -foster/owner etc. I did. I had to create a rover email and special URL code to offer discounts to get clients. I did and posted on facebook and twitter. I tried and URL invalid Email invalid. My face and all personal info on there. Costs of all flyers, cards, posting to webpages. Background check. Putting flyers up at local businesses. NO phone calls. NO contacts. No clients. I was told to then reduce my rates all of them to 30.00 for overnight sitting, puppies or adult dogs. Not competetive and with cost of living here. VA. ALso told many false information and mislead that I was employee so would receive paycheck. Then hourly rate I post on site for clients. Not so. Cost of gas, bond, flyers, cards, having to create sales to attract clientel, never told proper insurance, tax form or important business as employee information. Mislead to beleive they had a set number of cleints here and would walk dogs for a set fee competetive with others here in VA. NOt so. They hen proceeded to post on Twitter and when I tweeted my questions and concern with costs and no business. They private messaged me and said they would get back to me and never did. I had to call several times left on long holds. Bad customer service turnaround and bad information. Costed me time and money and no paycheck plus false advertisement of my name and invalid url codes and email address. Please advise thank you **** ******

Desired Settlement
Reimbursement of time to create page. Bad customer service turnaround. Twitter feed false advertisement and ussage of my name and time line. I helped them to get business. Cost me to join as a pet sitter dog walker and loss of any salary due to false and bad business advertisement and bad information. Plus my reputation on line. I got my bond, Pet first aid CPR class certificate. In process of getting insurance and when I can start my own business all paperwork in order to do so. I wanted to walk dogs while attending college and Mom to 2 elementary school children. Im very disappointed, upset and frustrated.

Business Response
As a marketplace website, Rover.com seeks to provide dog sitters with an outstanding website to help them advertise and run their pet-sitting businesses. We are always disappointed when a sitter has a confusing experience with our site.

We assisted Ms. ****** with many aspects of using our site over the course of August 5 through August 19. Throughout this process, it became clear that Ms. ****** misunderstood the intention of the site and mistakenly believed that she was applying for employment. We made several attempts to clarify that our site is a marketplace website, as well as to help Ms. ****** improve her site profile to attract clients to her business. We also advised her that we require sitters to comply with their local laws and regulations. During especially busy periods, we apologized for long wait times and offered to schedule dedicated time to answer Ms. ******'s questions.

On August 10, Ms. ****** asked Rover to help her remove her listing for her sitter services, which we did.

Again, we are very sorry that Ms. ****** had a poor experience using Rover.com. We wish her the best in her pet-sitting business.

07/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A Place For Rove, Inc. (Rover.com) website continues to publish false, defamatory, and misleading information about myself and my services. In particular, the Rover.com website states that "Sitter rarely sends photos" which is false. They have been told both verbally on 6/25/14 and in writing on 7/27/14 that their statements are false and damages my good reputation but they continue the false and misleading publication.

Desired Settlement
As of the time of this complaint I ask only an apology and they agree to cease making false statements which cast my good reputation in a poor light.

Business Response
Rover.com is a website where dog sitters can list their dog-sitting services and dog owners can search for a dog sitter.

On June 25, Rover added a statistic to dog sitters' profiles listing the frequency with which dog sitters send photos to dog owners. We added this statistic in response to feedback from dog owners, to help provide dog owners with the information that they need to make a decision about hiring a dog sitter.

The wording on this feature was initially imprecise, and therefore incorrect, as it did not specify that the sitter sent a photo through the Rover.com site. We have now updated the language to be clear that the statistic describes the percent of stays (dog-sitting reservations) that include a dog-sitter's photo sent through the Rover.com site. We have also made other improvements to the feature based on feedback from Mr. ****** and other sitters. For instance, because the feature is new, we have set the statistic to default to 100% on sitter profiles, and sitters will be evaluated on future services only. Mr. ******'s profile now shows: "100% of stays: Sitter sends photos through Rover on every stay."

We have spoken and corresponded via email with Mr. ****** several times to listen to his feedback and apologize for his experience. We look forward to continuing the conversation.

09/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had an email from ***** with Rover.com regarding an "emergency" need for a dog sitter.

I responded promptly via email and the dog owner contacted me and brought the dog to my house the next day. It was a day earlier that the time that ***** had told me, so I called her during the time I was sitting the dog and told her that their system on the computer didn't allow me to put the actual date that dog sitting started. (She was unable to correct it.)

After the dog owner picked up her dog (Tali) on Sunday evening the owner asked me how she was supposed to pay me. I informed her that it had to go through Rover.com (so that I was in compliance with their rules).

It has been over 2 weeks now and I have not been paid. I have called a couple times and emailed and was told that they have been unable to reach ***** ***** at either of her numbers and they asked ME to attempt to reach her. I have called SEVERAL times (performing collection services now) and have also been unsuccessful.

I do not believe that I should be performing their collection services. And, further, I believe that since ***** is the one who bypassed their program/system that they have in place, that Rover.com should honor my fees and pay me for the services that I rendered in good faith, for someone who had an "emergency". I did everything that I was able to do - through their system and even notified them that I did, but was only able to do so much, since the dog owner hadn't signed in.

I feel like I have been completely scammed by Rover.com.

Not only should I be paid for the services that I performed, but I should ALSO be given a substantial credit for all of this time it is taking to try to remedy this problem. I didn't sign up to be a collection service. And, I was not informed that the pet owner didn't already pay their system, so that I could be paid PRIOR to taking care of the "emergency dog care" situation. I was working in good faith, but obviously Rover.com is/was not!!!

Desired Settlement
I want to be paid for my services rendered. I dog sat for three full days, and I believe I should be paid for those three days. ($50 x 3 = $150.00) In addition, if they are a reputable company, they should be addressing this inconvenience to me and pay me extra (as a credit on my account or SOMETHING) because I am NOT a collection service company!!! This entire situation is NOT my fault and I really resent them leaving a voice mail informing me that "because the dog owner did not register on-line, they will not be able to pay me". THAT is NOT my problem!!!

Business Response
We are devastated to hear that any user of Rover has had a negative experience, and we continue to work with ***** ******** to resolve this situation.

There are four important factors in this situation: 1) No reservation or booking was ever made with Rover in regards to the incident in question. Engaging in a sitting without the stay being booked through Rover is against the terms of service accepted by all members. Rover regularly reminds members of this policy, which is in place to specifically avoid these types of incidents and disputes. Paying through the site prior to taking custody of a dog provides both the sitter and owner with protections; 2) Despite repeated attempts, we have been unable to reach the owner in question to determine whether a sitting took place and whether the owner was satisfied with the service; 3) Because of our commitment to our customers, and our genuine desire to make things right, we have offered to compensate ***** for her time and feedback. Our compensation to date has exceeded the payment that ***** would have received from the owner; 4) When ***** contacted Rover after taking custody of the dog without a reservation or booking, we offered to assist her in contacting the owner at that time, but she declined this offer.

These circumstances in no way diminish our grief over hearing *****'s continued frustration. We will honor the offer we have made her and will continue to attempt to engage the owner. More details are included below.

We have carefully reviewed all records of our communication with ***** and the owner. All calls to our call center are logged and recorded and all emails or other contact are tagged with the customer's name and contact information. Our records show that our customer experience team assisted the owner in using the Rover.com website to follow the normal process of messaging dog sitters and requesting dog-sitting services. Several sitters, including *****, responded to the owner's requests, but the Rover customer experience team was not involved in making plans for ***** to take custody of the dog.

On Aug 12 we received a call from ***** telling us that she was currently sitting the owner's dog. Since the booking was not completed in our system, we offered to contact the owner and help the owner confirm the booking and payment at that time. ***** suggested that we wait a few days and asserted that she would follow up with the owner at pickup time. During this call ***** also declined to adjust the dates of the original request, which was for two nights at a price of $50 / night-$100 total-because the stay began one night early as a result of construction near *****'s home.

After Aug 12, neither ***** nor our customer experience team have been able to reach the owner despite multiple, regular attempts. On August 27, in accordance with our policies regarding probable stays in which an owner has not paid, we offered ***** the maximum concession of $50, as well as a reimbursement of her subscription to Rover's Protection Package, a $49.95 value, for a total compensation of $99.95. If ***** had instead received the owner's payment for the stay, she would have received $85-the $100 price of the stay less Rover's 15% fee of $15. Through Rover's compensation, ***** received $14.95 more in value than she would have received in payment from the owner. Additionally, we want to be very clear that Rover.com does not receive any revenue unless sitters such as ***** are paid through our site. Consequently, the assertion that Rover participated in a "scam" is incorrect. As a result of this transaction, Rover has lost the profit that we would have received if the members had followed the terms of service, as well as the additional $99.95 of concessions provided to *****.

We continue to assist ***** in her communication with the owner, and we would greatly appreciate her continued feedback about opportunities for improving the website.


Description of the company: Rover.com is a website that matches pet owners with pet sitters. Independent pet sitters apply to list their services on the Rover.com website. These independent sitters provide profile information and determine their own price per night.
Dog owners search the Rover.com site to find pet sitters. Dog owners communicate with the sitters and pay for sitting through the Rover.com site. Rover.com collects a commission fee from all transactions, in a similar model as eBay or Amazon Marketplace.


Final Consumer Response
9/24/2013 I was contacted by Rover.com that the person who didn't pay has finally paid AND left me a $50 tip for the inconvenience.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pet Sitting Services, Pet Services, Social Media, Advertising - Internet, Pet Services, Dog Daycare, Pet Day Care

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/16/2012Business started: 06/01/2011
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2011, WA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Aaron Easterly (CEO)Customer Contact: Brandie Gonzales (Director of PR) Brittany Deal (Customer Service Mgr)
Business Category

Pet Sitting Services, Pet Services, Social Media, Advertising - Internet, Pet Services, Dog Daycare, Pet Day Care

Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm
24 hr Barkline

Alternate Business Names
A Place For Rover Inc, Rover.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rover.Com has received 3.93 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Rover.Com

808 Howell St Ste 100

Seattle, WA 98101-1357

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 808 Howell St Ste 100 

    Seattle, WA 98101-1357(888) 404-3648
    (206) 257-0571
    (888) 453-7889

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Rover.Com is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 404-3648
  • (206) 257-0571
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Pet Sitting Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.