BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/06/2006

System Pavers

Phone: (425) 207-0080Fax: (949) 852-9303

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
09/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: We had a new backyard patio and bench completed last fall. In the round area of the bench the bricks are separating, creating a multi level gap in the pavers. The pavers in the round area were not overlapped The pavers have nothing to hold each other together.
We paid over $ 20,000 for the new patio and bench, and the quality of the workmanship is no very much in question.
It also took System Pavers over 5 months to pick up the three pallets of extra pavers. I tried several times to contact them regarding this also.
The business has NOT responded to 2 phone calls and an e-mail sent to the business, over the last three weeks.

Initial Business Response
System Pavers of WA Construction Manager ***** ******* was in the area so he stopped by the home today 7/9. The WA office recieved a call from the SP Corporate office a few weeks ago that ****** **** was in need of repair. The WA office called the customer, but never got in contact. The customer needs to call XXX-XXX-XXXX and ask for Construction Manager ***** ******** ***** left his busness card on the customers door this morning 7/9. Again, the customer needs to call the WA office at XXX-XXX-XXXX for any service whatsoever.

Final Consumer Response


Final Business Response
SP of WA responded very quickly to the complaint. CM ***** ******* met with the homeowners on tuesday 7/9. The customer stated that they are selling there house in three months... and need the repair done anytime between now and then. the schedule was already set for last week. Later this afternoon when scheduling occurs the customer would have and will be called to schedule this repair.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Systems pavers when paving an area in my back yard covered over with dirt and pavers my water shut off valve. After calling 3 times I finally received a call back and they stated that they would come out and correct the problem. So far after two weeks they have not called or fixed the problem.

Business' Initial Response
System Pavers of WA had an appointment with this customer and the customer was a no show. After inspecting the project, which was done in 2012, the water shutoff valve was found in the box on the side of his house. Pictures were taken of the situation and the fix should be quite simple. System Pavers of Washington Construction Manager, ***** *******, has left several messages this last week and has yet to hear back. ***** ******* can be reached at the Seattle office at XXX-XXX-XXXX. System Pavers of washington urges this customer to call ***** ******* as soon as possible as he and the company are very eager to address this issue. Thank you.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
System pavers only called 1 time and I answered and talked with ***** ******* and he wanted to come out that afternoon. I explained that I had a doctor appointment and could not be there on that day. He stated that he did not need me to be there for his examination. I called the next day to find out what he decided. He stated that he would get the people that placed the pavers to correct the problem. This was on the 20th of July. Since then there as been no contact or remedy to this problem. Seems as though every time I talk with them all I get are promises that never come true.

Business' Final Response
System Pavers of WA Construction Manager ***** ******* dug up the area of the project where the customer felt this "additional shut off valve" should be. nothing was found in or around the area the customer thought this valve should be. the customer is going to continue to search for it elsewhere and will call System Pavers of WA at XXX-XXX-XXXX when he would like the torn up area to be put back. ***** has been in constant communication with this customer and it is System Pavers of WA position that the situation is resolved.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: Complaint to the Better Business Bureau on System Pavers

We are having continuing problems with System Pavers honoring their commitment to repair damaged paving stones after their recent completion of our job. Most recently we asked that some leveling be done and some pavers replaced because of uneven surfaces and chipped stones. The workman did not show up on time as promised nor did they call to let me know when they would arrive if at all and I had to waste a ½ day of vacation waiting for them to finally show up. When they did show up they did a minimal amount of work, erased some of the chalk we had placed on the surfaces to indicate stones that needed replacing, and the vehicle the workman used to service our needs leaked oil on our recently installed stones. Our project manager was notified on 5-20-2013 and replied that he would be here on 5-21-2013 to replace the oil stained stones. He did not show up nor did he respond to calls or Text messages. This lack of courtesy is what irritated me the most and was plain rude. We feel that if there were extraordinary circumstances that prevented him from accomplishing the repairs that we should have at least had the courtesy of a reply and an attempt to reschedule but there were no attempts. This is not good customer service and a business that relies heavily on referrals should maintain good relationships with the customers they served. I would not escalate to the BBB level but with the amount of money we spent to get this job done and the scope of the job, System pavers should honor their commitments and I feel that the BBB should assist us in seeking a resolution to our problem.

Thank you,

**** and *** ** *****

Business' Initial Response
At System Pavers we strive for excellent customer service. It appears in this case we did not achieve exactly that. As you can see this situation happened only a few days ago. System Pavers of WA requests that you call at your convenience the System Pavers of WA office at XXX-XXX-XXXX, and ask for ***** *******. He is the Construction Manager of the System Pavers of WA office. At your convenience he will come to your property and inspect what needs to be done and schedule the repair as needed. We do apologize for the inconvenience... The situation can start to be rectified as soon as you call XXX-XXX-XXXX and ask for ***** *******. Thank you.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of repair

Complaint: In August 2011 I had contracted with System Pavers (of Seattle) to install pavers on my back patio. In early 2012 I began to have SIGNIFICANT issues with the pavers. The pavers or stones are coming apart, raising and separating from their original placement. I began to make phone calls about the repairs to the System Paver local office, every time being told, "someone would follow up, or get back to me". Of course (1 year and - 6 calls later) no one has.... I have attempted to resolve my System Paver repair challenge through many calls and other avenues, but no such luck. I am amazed at the very very poor "service after the sale" that I have received from the team at System Pavers. I am hoping that contacting you will be the last communication attempt I will need to make. This email truly does not BEGIN to share with you my level of concern with this issue!! There certainly is not enough room on this email for me to share with you my level of frustration over this past year with this issue


Business' Initial Response
Unfortunately, the repair was scheduled to be done, and wasnt. a Project Manager was at the customers home today and the repair should be accomplished this week. System Pavers of WA was not aware that the repair wasnt accomplished until Sunday, April 14th when an E-mail was sent from the corporate office to the WA Construction team. I have not found a record of repeated calls by this customer to the WA office. Regardless, proper follow up should have been done by System Pavers of WA, making certain the repair was accomplished. New protocol was put in place this morning, April 15th, to insure this doesnt happen again. Hopefully, once the repair is done, the customer will be satisfied by BBB standards and will pull down his statement which was copied to customer review site(s) on the internet.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, there is a complete record, which is verified by System Pavers, EVERYTIME we contact them. So for the respondant to this complaint to say that show no record, is concerning at best. We have had a number of calls placed, and yes a Project Manager did arrive at our home yesterday to say, ONCE AGAIN that it would be taken care of. We shall see of course. At thsi point, I will not be satisffied with just the repair being done. I expect for System Pavers to provide a fair cost reimbursement to me for the poor service after the sale, the amount of our time spent tracking, calling, following up as well as the grave inconvience of not being able to use our patio until teh repairs were complete.

Business' Final Response
System Pavers of WA has no issue with accomplishing the repair and the repair is actually done. System Pavers Project Manager has 2 calls into Mr. *******, and Mrs. ******* was very happy with the work. The repair was a small sink spot in the pavers and a slight bond beam failure. This type of repair would not prohibit use of the patio. Again, System Pavers of WA has no record of these "repeated" calls that the customer allegedly made. System Pavers of WA responded immediately after the corporate office received an email of complaint, and the issue was resolved in less than a week. it stands to reason that the same service would have taken place if a call was made prior. System Pavers of WA holds customer service as a high virtue, and is glad to resolve this issue/repair with this customer. System Pavers of WA does not agree with any monetary compensation, but encourages the customer to contact System Pavers of WA with any other warranty work @ XXX-XXX-XXXX and ask for Construction Manager ***** ********

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/31/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Paving Contractors, Patio & Deck Builders, Stone Setting

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.