BBB Accredited Business since

American Patio Covers Plus

Phone: (360) 658-7281 Fax: (360) 658-2569 View Additional Phone Numbers 14219 Smokey Point Blvd Bldg 4S, Marysville, WA 98271

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers patio covers, awnings, rails, sunrooms, solariums, vinyl deck covers and deck building services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Patio Covers Plus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Patio Covers Plus include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Patio Covers Plus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 15, 1999 Business started: 03/01/1996 Business started locally: 03/01/1996 Business incorporated 04/15/2004 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Tom Matthew, President Mrs. Traci Mathew, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Traci Mathew, Manager
Principal: Mr. Tom Matthew, President
Business Category

Patio Cover Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction Railings Awnings & Canopies Rails & Accessories Patio & Deck Builders Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures

Hours of Operation
Tuesday - Friday 8:30am - 5pm
Saturday 8am - 4pm
Refund and Exchange Policy
10 year warranty on labor; 30 year warranty on materials.
Alternate Business Names
American Patio Covers Plus Inc

Additional Locations

  • 14219 Smokey Point Blvd Bldg 4S

    Marysville, WA 98271 (206) 244-3109 (800) 556-0079 (360) 658-7281


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes


Dear BBB-- I was shocked to learn that American Patio Covers Plus in Marysville, WA is a BBB accredited business with an A+ rating. My experience with this company has been more like a n F, and according to our sales rep ****** ******* (who quit working for American Patio Covers because of all the complaints he received and which were never addressed), my experience of terrible customer service is typical. We had a patio cover installed in October 2012. It was a job which cost nearly $11,000. The patio cover is warrantied 10 years for labor and 20 years for material. The patio cover was installed at the end of the outdoor season in 2012. In the spring of 2013 as we readied our outdoor area for the season , we noticed a small hole in one of the panels. We couldn't imagine how it had happened, as the material is rated for hail storms (we hadn't had any). We assumed that there was an installation issue that caused the hole, but since it was warrantied, we contacted the company. Over and over again. I spoke with ****** in the office repeatedly and was repeatedly assured that they would be in my area (Gig Harbor) the next week and would bring by a new panel. That did not happen. I called Tom, the owner of the company, on his cell phone repeatedly and left messages. He never returned my calls. I gave up after the 2013 summer season ended, but started calling again in spring of 2014 and got no call backs. I called our salesman, ****** ******* in desperation (His number is ***-***-****; **********************.***). At this time, *** told me that he had quit working for the company in January and advised me that based on his experience of so many of his customers calling him to complain about missed appointments or no call backs or being ignored regarding needed warranty work, I should file a complaint with the BBB. In doing so, when I googled American Patio Covers Plus, I noticed one website which said American Patio Covers Plus Reviews. There was a site called "Ripoff Report," and the consumer who wrote this report detailed my issues with American Patio Covers uncannily. I hope you will read it. *** ******* can tell you of the dozens of complaints he received while representing this company. I sincerely hope you will contact him and consider the BBB's accreditation of American Patio Covers Plus.


Desired Settlement: What I request of American Patio Covers Plus is that they complete my warranty work or pay another authorized contractor to do so. I ask that my panel which has a hole in it be replaced by American Patio Company and assurances that should another panel break while under the 20 years materials warranty, they will replace it, too.

Business Response: On September 5, 2012 Ms. ***** ******* (the customer) signed a contract with American Patio Covers Plus (APCP) to supply and install a shed style patio cover.  The job was completed on September 29, 2012.

On April 17, 2013 a complaint was received by APCP from the customer stating workers, who were cleaning off her roof, had found some deficiencies in the patio cover’s flashing and drainage.  She asked APCP to cover the costs associated with her issue and requested payment of $300 to be sent to her as soon as possible so she could have the repair work done immediately by someone of her choosing.  One day later, on April 18, 2013, APCP responded to the customer and agreed to her request and apologized for any inconvenience.  On April 19, 2013 APCP in trying to give the customer excellent service acted in good faith, trusted the customer and mailed a $300 check to her and considered the issue resolved.

One year after the patio cover was installed, the customer only then informed APCP that there was a hole in the top side of one of the panels in her patio cover.  APCP staff informed her that this was not a warranty issue but would require her to purchase one
new panel.  She insisted, many times, that Tom M****** (owner of APCP which is based out of Marysville) drive to Gig Harbor to observe the hole in her panel.  Mr. M****** informed her that, if he was in the area, he would be more than happy to drop by to look at the said hole but communicated, with all due respect, that a hole is a hole.

Months later (spring 2014) the customer begins calling APCP again complaining about the same hole only to get the same response.  At this time, she contacted the salesman who sold her the job (and who is now an independent contractor and that APCP still
maintains a good working relationship with) and informed him that she found a bolt on her roof and presumed that this is what must have caused the hole.  He informed her that she needed to purchase a new panel and that APCP will not, now or ever, treat this as a warranty issue.

Warranty – the 16 mm twin wall acrylic is manufactured in Germany and used world-wide and is of the highest quality.  APCP imports this product directly from the manufacturer who was also contacted by the customer and told that it was not a warranty issue.  The customer included with her complaint a copy of APCP’s warranty which clearly states “ this warranty covers discoloration, fading, crazing, and blistering, cracking and peeling of paint…” as well as “this warranty does not cover deterioration, failure or other issues arising from misuse, abuse, neglect, alteration…”.  The customer is correct that the manufacturer does have a Thirty Year Hail Warranty but it too has its limitations on size and volume.  We have had customers from Denver, Montana and Calgary, AB purchase replacement panels for severe hail damage but APCP has never has such a claim on the West Coast.  APCP has had very few complaints about holes in panels.  When we do, they are normally caused by using a rake to remove snow, fireworks in the neighborhood, or crows or eagles dropping objects to break them open from high above the roof.  In all of these cases, customers were required to purchase new panels.  Another note, these panels are fluted which means if a hole had been created at time of installation the customer would have immediately seen the flute fill up with water and discoloration would have appeared in the panel.  This was, obviously, not the case and why APCP believes that this panel was damaged sometime after installation.  Since 1993, APCP has installed over one million square feet of acrylic and it is rare that something causes a hole thru the top of the panel but it does occur approximately three or four times a year for the reasons stated above.

APCP is prepared to sell the customer a new panel at a discounted wholesale rate to her contractor for replacement purposes.  This is what APCP offered to the customer and continues to offer as a resolution in this matter.  APCP recommends that the customer’s contractor refers to this project to get a new 4’ x 18’ replacement panel at a discounted price.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


Thank you for forwarding the letter from American Patio Covers Plus (APCP) which I received today.
I am afraid that they are not remembering all that has gone on accurately, but I appreciate that
they did respond in a timely fashion so that we can resolve this issue.

First of all, as noted in the letter from APCP, there was an issue with the flashing discovered by
my contractor (not window washers) when he was constructing the wooden frame designed around the
patio cover soon after the patio cover was installed. The flashing had been installed by APCP
incorrectly, so that rather than directing rain water away from the wooden beams and siding and into
the gutter, it was directing it right onto the wood. My contractor, *****
*********, would be able to discuss the exact issue if need be, but it's a moot point, long since
resolved and not a part of this claim. In short, after the flashing problem was discovered, APCP
offered to pay the contractor's price of $300 to make the repairs rather than take time out of
their schedule to do so. This matter has no bearing on the hole in my panel.

I did not notice the hole in my panel until spring of 2013, when we began to prepare the outdoor
area for seasonal use. I initially thought that dirt had somehow collected on the panel and asked
my window washers to squeegee it when they had their tall ladders out for cleaning the upper story
windows. It was they who reported it was a hole and not dirt. Dirt had collected in the bottom
panel due to the hole in the top one, and that was what I was seeing.

I began calling APCP about this issue and was told repeatedly that someone would come out to take a
look as they were often in my area. But no one did. I left numerous calls on Tom M******** cell
phone but got no call backs. He never called me and told me "a hole is a hole." He never called me
back at all. No one came to look at the hole that whole summer despite my many calls. By the time
fall rolled around, I gave up.

The next spring I tried again. I did get the same response as stated in APCP's letter: my requests
for someone to come out and take a look at the hole were ignored. My voice mails did not receive
call backs. I was not told that this was not a warranty issue, as no one ever called me back at

Not knowing how to get a response from APCP, I called *** ******** our salesman, and he was the one
who suggested I contact the Better Business Bureau. He also told me that he had stopped working
with APCP due to the number of complaints that came his way because their issue had been ignored by
the company. I contacted the APCP one last time and said that my next call would be to the Better
Business Bureau. This seemed to get their attention, and that very afternoon, they sent two
installers who were working in Gig Harbor to my house who found a small screw and nut lying on the
panel. They assessed this to be the cause of the hole and said that this wouldn't be covered by the
warranty. I was skeptical, as if the screw had hit the panel
hard enough to make a hole, I would think that it would have rolled down in the chamber between the
two walls of acrylic and lodged there. Nevertheless, I asked for the price of a replacement panel
and was told that the office would call me. No one ever did.

I next contacted ***** ******* of *** ***** in Tacoma, WA, who is an installer of this patio cover
and who was recommended to me by *** *******. ***** is booked out for many months but eventually
came and looked at the hole. He was also skeptical that a small screw could put a hole in a
material that is supposed to withstand a major hailstorm, and he contacted APCP and asked for a
panel to be covered under warranty. The company told him that they would not be willing to do
this. I still had no price for a replacement panel.

I did NOT contact the manufacturer about this matter (I don't even know who the manufacturer is),
so I wasn't told by them that holes are not covered. I expect I an1 being confused with another
customer who has a hole in a panel of her patio cover.

I cannot say how a hole got in my panel. I did not misuse, abuse or alter it. Could a crow or
eagle have dropped something from a great height and damaged it? Perhaps, but hail falls from a
very great height and at great velocity, and since the cover is said to be able to withstand a
heavy hailstorm, why would a single nut or other object in a bird 's beak put a hole in it? The
salesman also thought it highly unlikely that a bird dropping something would break the panel.

My biggest complaint about APCP is that they have been unresponsive on this issue with the hole
for years. Mr. M****** never called me back at all, and certainly never told me "a hole is a hole."
As I said, perhaps he is confusing me with another customer. If Mr. M****** had responded to my
many voicemails two years ago, I expect we could have reached a solution long ago that did not
involve the Better Business Bureau.

I feel I was misled about the durability of the patio cover material and that I was misled by the
warranty as explained to me by the salesman. But at this point in time, I just want a new panel.  I
would be willing to settle this dispute by purchasing a new 4' x 18' panel for a wholesale
price and which would be delivered to my home. Please note that I will also have to pay for the
installation of the panel out of pocket as this was not offered by APCP, though I think that in the
name of customer service and all the time that has elapsed with this issue unaddressed, they might
have offered to replace the panel as well.

Thank you for your time-


Business Response: APCP stands by its comments regarding this case and is very clear on who this customer is and, as we've stated from the beginning, agrees to sell the customer a new panel at a discounted wholesale rate.  APCP will be more than happy to not only supply the replacement panel but is willing to deliver and install the panel at our cost.  Please keep in mind that this will require two installers to travel from Marysville, WA across the ferry, replace the panel and return back.  We hope this meets the customer's satisfaction and resolves the issue.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Dear Ms. ********--


I received the message from American Patio Covers Plus in yesterday's mail. Here is the solution they are offering:


1) I will purchase one new panel at the wholesale price.


2) APCP will deliver and install the panel at no charge to me.


3) I would like to know the wholesale price of the panel in advance, as I've not been told this amount.


4) I'd also like to request a "date certain" for installation of the panel as part of resolution of the claim. It is fine with me if APCP wishes to combine this work with another job they may have in South Sound, but I'd like to be given a date I can count on. I think both parties would like to put this behind us.


The above would satisfactorily resolve the issue for me, and I appreciate APCP's good faith effort in resolving this matter and the BBB's help in coming to an agreement.


***** *******

2/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Patio Covers (AMP) has failed on several occasions to respond in a timely manor to my requests for warranty service. Those requests were for repairs of leaks in the cover they had installed at my home. I first called AMP about my most recent leak on 10/20/14. That leak HAD been first repaired by them on 4/1/2014. On 10/27/14 I called again and the receptionist "put me on their list". Since I then had no response for nearly one month, I stopped in on 11/24/14 at the AMP office hoping my personal appearance would finally get some action. The receptionist said she would tell **** my story. Today is Monday, December 15, 2104 and I have still not heard back from AMP. My American Patio Cover was in installed on April 30, 2012 with a five year warranty on labor and gutter sealant. An earlier leak on 7/12/12 was not repaired until November 2012. Another leak on 8/30/13 was repaired on 9/23/13. The repair on 4/1/14 was in response to my request of 2/25/14.

Desired Settlement: I want my most recent leak repaired now, with no more delays.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/12/18) */ Out of the country for the holidays and not due back in the office until January 7, 2015. Sorry for the delay but, understandably, I can't respond accurately without reviewing Mr. ****'s file. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/12/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I won't consider my complaint to be resolved until the leak is repaired. Please see my update of 12/19/14. All I can do now is wait for the owner to return. Final Business Response /* (1000, 18, 2015/02/17) */ In the spring of 2012 Mr. **** **** had American Patio Covers (APC) build him a small 12 x 12 shed style patio cover for approximately $3,500. Six months after installation APC received a service call from Mr. **** complaining of a small leak at gutter. APC installers went out and serviced Mr. ****'s cover and simply cleaned off dirt and debris from the cover and all gutters. Approximately one year later, APC received another call from Mr. **** concerning the same problem in which APC went out again and remedied the issue the same way by cleaning off the debris from the patio cover and gutters. Fall 2014 APC received another call about the same issue. He also visited our office to explain to us that he is "a 78 year old man who should not be on a ladder having to fix his patio cover issue". He explained to us that his family does not want him up on the roof and we agree. Having said this, however, it is not APC responsibility to go out on an annual basis to clean off the roof and debris that has accumulated (see pictures attached). The leak is caused by extreme debris build up on his cover causing the water to back up and leak at the attachment to the house. We also believe it is possible that his house roof may also be leaking at the eaves due to the amount of debris sitting on his roof. We have, once again (since receiving this formal complaint) dismantled his patio cover, cleaned out all the water tracks, cleaned off all the debris, cleaned out his gutter and sealed it back up. As you can see in the pictures it is very clear that the debris will build up yet again and we are quite sure that we will get another call about the patio cover leaking. We appreciate you helping us bring this to a close as we are at a bit of a loss on what to do but know that we cannot be responsible for continually going out and cleaning Mr. ****'s patio cover. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 21, 2015/02/18) */ Today, February 18, 2015 I called the American Patio Covers and received an explanation from *** there. He has now satisfied me that his technicians have shown that the leak is NOT caused by any defect in their work or materials, and I will now contact my roofing contractor for assistance. My complaint with American Patio Covers should now be considered closed.

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern: On June 19, 2014, my wife and I hired Mr. *** ******* and American Patio Covers Plus to build a "shed-type" patio cover for the side area of our house. The work was to be done the upcoming Saturday June 21, 2014. Mr. ******* quoted $3,400 for the cover which was to include a skinny wind/rain wall and special connection to the gate. We shook hands on this deal at my house with my wife present. The work was performed on schedule but the wind/rain wall was not completed because the lead technician said the brackets needed to be fabricated at the shop. The lead technician said they could return to complete the project as early as the next weekend. Upon inspection visually and with water, I discovered the following issues: 1. The gutter did not have eastward slope causing the water to not drain out of the gutter down pipe. 2. Water was leaking down the side of the cedar siding wall of the house 3. Water was leaking at a seam point of the gutter 4. 5 screws holding the structure to the wall of the house did not penetrate the studs in the wall but rather missed them While the lead technician had many years of experience with American Patio Plus, the technician helper also on the installation job did the majority of the installation work. He had only two weeks of experience! I witnessed the lead technician catch a big mistake of his and they had to fix it. The four issues above were not noticed by me until after they departed. I paid the lead technician $3,200 that day for the work completed but held back $200 until the wind/rain wall was to be completed. In hindsight, I should have held back more money. He and I talked about how much the hold back as neither of us knew how much to hold back. I notified American Patio Plus by phone and email and they performed a non-scheduled, unannounced and unsupervised repair of the patio cover around July 14, 2014. Unfortunately, these items were not done or completed: 1. The gutter still did not have eastward slope causing the water to not drain out of the gutter down pipe. 2. The wind/rain wall was not installed 3. The screws were not fixed. (Someone at their office said it's not important if the screws connect to the studs but it makes me wonder) I notified American Patio Plus again by phone and email and after about 10 weeks, on September 3, 2014, they attempted to repair the slop of the gutter. The eastern half of the gutter drains well now but not the western most half. Again, this was an unscheduled, unsupervised and unannounced repair. If the technician would have called or let us know they were on the property, we could have communicated the issue first-hand and supervised. Furthermore, the wind/rain wall was not installed and ****, their office manager, said that *** is not going to have the wind/rain wall installed. During the 10 weeks to come back out for the 2nd attempt to complete the job, I called and spoke to ****, left messages, called ***'s mobile phone and emailed over 30 times. They rarely called back or replied to email and their general tone was that the problems were my fault. There was never an attitude demonstrated of sympathy and urgency to complete the job before moving on to other customers. The lacked a sense of ownership regarding the issue. Overall, I'm very happy with the product, but the project has not been completed yet and there were issues with the installation. I hope they can fix and complete the patio shed. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I request the following from American Patio Plus in order for this job to be complete: 1. Fix the gutter so it's sloped and drains rain water like it should even if this requires redoing the project entirely. (I suspect the middle pole was not reduced in height.) 2. Install the skinny wind/rain wall as was the original deal and included in the scope of the original deal/estimate. This needs to be done in the way that the lead technician described it to be best installed considering the unique patio shed. 3. Fix the condensation that's now building up inside the Evonik Acrylite near the gutter seam. I'm not sure what's causing that, but the Evonik Acrylite should not have condensation in the channels. 4. Perform these tasks in the next week or two as I've yet to be able to move into the space and use it as I hope. 5. Notify me of when you'll they will be there and accept inspection of the job before leaving the job site. Thank you. Kind regards, ******

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/19) */ Subject: ****** ****** Project In mid-June ****** ****** contacted ********************, a Do-It-Yourself website, and inquired about a Do-It-Yourself patio cover. Mr. ****** was interested in purchasing a 20' x 8' shed style Do-It-Yourself patio cover at a cost of approximately $3,400 (or $19/square foot). There were many conversations back and forth between Mr. ****** and Mr. *** *******, installation manager for American Patio Covers Plus (APCP). Mr. ****** expressed that he was having second thoughts about installing the patio cover himself and was very price conscious. He asked Mr. ******* for an installed price for his cover from APCP. Mr. ******* informed Mr. ****** that APCP would charge $4,320 (plus applicable taxes) for his shed style patio cover to be installed. This installed price would include any service and warranty issues thru APCP. Mr. ****** was told that this installed price is listed directly on the 2014 APCP price flyer that is handed out to all prospective retail customers. Mr. ****** informed Mr. ******* that that was not in his budget. Upon further conversations, Mr. ******* suggested that if Mr. ****** was not comfortable with himself and his friends installing the Do-It-Yourself patio cover he might consider purchasing the product and have our independent installers assist him with the work on a Saturday. It was made clear during this conversation that Mr. ****** would be home and assisting the independent installers with the job for a total price of $3,200 (including tax). Discussions ensued and Mr. ****** asked if something could be put in place to block the wind in approximately a 2' section. Mr. ******* indicated he could sell him a piece of acrylic (including fasteners) for this small section at an additional cost of $200 provided the piece of acrylic was fastened at the time of the patio cover installation. Mr. ******* asked Mr. ****** to pay the additional $200 to the installers for the wind break, if he chose to go that route and on the day of installation. All monies were to be paid directly to the independent installers on satisfactory completion of the job. On Saturday, June 21st, 2014 independent installers helped Mr. ****** install his Do-It-Yourself shed style acrylic patio cover and received payment of $3,200. During the installation, Mr. ****** made it clear to the installers that he did not like the fasteners for the wind break and requested that the installers make a custom bracket to fit his needs. Mr. ****** did not pay the additional $200 for the wind break and paid the full amount of $3,200 for his shed style patio cover. The wind wall was not installed or paid for on June 21st. Because this was a Do-It-Yourself job, and Mr. ****** paid independent installers direct on their day off, APCP is not liable to service or warranty the work. APCP warrants and services all retail customers who pay APCP direct at our installed pricing. Our Do-It-Yourself warranty is for defective product only not installation issues and repairs. The independent installer himself went on his own time and tried to rectify Mr. ******'s issues. Mr. ****** stated "that this was an unscheduled, unsupervised and unannounced repair" and he is absolutely correct. APCP is not responsible for repairs on this Do-It-Yourself patio cover. On September 18th, 2014 APCP did, however, send two of its installers on company time to rectify Mr. ******'s gutter issue. Mr. ****** was present during this visit and relayed to our installers that he was happy with the fix to his gutter and his issues with his patio cover were resolved. APCP completed its end of the deal by selling a Do-It-Yourself patio cover kit to Mr. ******. Issues with the gutter have now been rectified and the wind break was not paid for and APCP is not in the business of making custom brackets. APCP considers the ****** ****** project complete. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While the shed portion has finally been installed properly and to my satisfaction (less the wind wall), I reject the false story described by ******************** above. Below I'll share the factual account as communicated to me by Mr. *** ******* in person with my wife as witness. I also request a refund compensation of $200 for failing to complete the job (not installing the wind wall) or that the wind wall be installed as promised with an extra $200 payment by me as originally discussed and promised. Mr. *** ******* offered me a wholesale price of the shed at $20 sq ft (20'x8') which is $3,200. He included a "cash discount" and installation of a wind wall which totaled $3,400. That was the deal and there was no mention of tax. It was $3,400 firm for the shed, wind wall and installation by a crew. There was no mention that this was "do-it-yourself" sale/project, or that the independent installers would be helping me install the shed. The independent installers install sheds for American Patio full-time and they drive an American Patio truck. I was not aware this was their day off and I did not take part in the installation of the shed in any way other than what a typical homeowner would be involved in observation and making sure the job was done right - which it was not. A sunny Saturday in the summer is not a day off in the patio installation business. This was not their day off. I was not told that the wind wall had to be installed on the day of installation. The technician who did the installation could not decide himself how to install the wind wall, so we opted to think it over and he said he could be back as early as the following weekend to complete the job. He said he needed to fabricate the fasteners to fasten the acrylic. That's when the drama began and discovery of the improper shed installation (which has been fixed). Furthermore, I was not aware this was a sale outside of American Patio as Mr. *** ******* sold it to me and it was installed by installers who work for American Patio. The two technicians are not "independent" from my perspective and knowledge. Again, to honor the cash discount and wind wall installation, I request the job be completed with the additional $200 payment by me, or that Mr. *** *******'s refund me $200 to cover the cash discount. As of right now, APCP has not completed its end of this deal. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/17) */ APCP is happy that Mr. ******'s patio cover is now completed to his satisfaction. As far as the he-said, she-said, we-said disagreement APCP feels it is in everybody's best interest to pay Mr. ****** $200 and resolve this matter. Upon approval of this proposal, APCP will send Mr. ****** a final check in the amount of $200 and consider this matter rectified. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/10/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I approve the proposed resolution of a $200 refund final check from APCP and I would also then consider this matter rectified. Thank you.