BBB Accredited Business since

Sound Oil Company

Phone: (206) 725-6300 Fax: (206) 725-5007 6346 Rainier Ave S, Seattle, WA 98118 http://www.soundoil.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers furnace repair services specializing in oil heating.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sound Oil Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sound Oil Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sound Oil Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1989 Business started: 10/01/1956 Business started locally: 10/01/1956 Business incorporated 10/30/1956 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Marilyn Jensen, President Mr. Dan Knelleken, General Manager Ms. Linda Williams, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Marilyn Jensen, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Dan Knelleken, General Manager
Business Category

Oils - Fuel Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Furnaces - Industrial Heating Equipment Heating Contractors Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)


Additional Locations

  • 6346 Rainier Ave S

    Seattle, WA 98118 (206) 725-6300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a house for my parents less than two months ago and we come from the midwest where oil heat is not an option, so I was completely unfamiliar with how it works. My parents' oil tank emptied on a Wednesday, so they called the sales representative on the card that was left for us when we first moved. They called daily and were told each day that they would have oil/heat by the next day. Finally, they got oil 4 DAYS LATER. In those four days, the nighttime temperatures were in the 30s. The person delivering the oil said that they should wait an hour, then turn the heat on. An hour later, it still didn't work. When my mother (who is legally blind and currently going through chemotherapy) called back, they said that the delivery person should have explained that the furnace needed to be reset and asked if she could just go do it since he did not. When she explained why she was unable to go to the basement, they then asked if her daughter could go and then her caregiver. (I was not at the house and her caregiver does not feel comfortable with doing that task.) After I called to find out about how it went and my mother explained what happened (or didn't happen), I called Sound Oil and spoke with someone said he would have to charge for sending someone back out, even though they should have taken care of it when they were there. My parents would also have to wait until hours later for the person to "possibly" return, but he would call to let them know for sure. (He never called.) When I stated that the "possibility" of someone coming back out AND them charging for what should have been done already was unacceptable, they were not willing to get someone there sooner or just fix the simple problem. I left a houseful of guests to drive a half hour to reset the furnace. When the representative showed up, without calling first, after I had already come and gone, he told my mother that he left his family to come out and needed to get back home. I'm not sure why he would try to evoke some kind of empathy from my parents when his family was probably warm those past 4 days and I also had to leave my home, even though I had already paid his company to take care of this matter. In the end, Sound Oil will not be called to service my home in the future. What could have been a simple fix was made into something much bigger by delayed service, "forgetting", and wanting to nickel and dime for a service that should have already been done.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking some type of refund for me having to do some of the work that the company was paid to do (getting the furnace reset) and for taking four days (even though telling my parents each day that it would get resolved the following day) in cold weather for getting my mother, who is disabled and battling breast cancer, her heat back. I am also seeking an apology for my parents.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/16) */ Sound Oil regrets this situation happened. We have mothers too and none of us at Sound Oil would like our mother to be treated in this manner. In review of the events in this matter it was not understood on our end that this customer was out of oil and had no heat. The order was written as a routine delivery without being noted it was out of oil. Had the order been flagged as being out of oil it would have been expedited. I do not know if the customer failed to express this point when placing the order or if the Sound Oil representative failed to enter that information into the order. Either way we are sorry that it happened. Sound Oil takes great pride in promptly taking care of situations where customers are without heat. Due to the inconvenience we caused, Sound Oil offers to provide customer with a $100.00 (one hundred dollars) credit for the delivery on 11-26-13. Additionally, we would like to extend an additional $100.00 (one hundred dollars) discount on customer's next order of oil. I would also like to recommend, athough it is not required, that customer considers signing up for our automatic oil delivery service in order to safeguard from running out of oil in the future. Sound Oil guarantees against oil run outs with our automatic delivery service program. If you have any questions feel free to contact ****** ******** or *** ********* at Sound Oil. In closing I want to again express our sincere appology.

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sound Oil came out and serviced our furnace in February of this year (2013). Our furnace has been in excellent working condition and we've never had any issues with it in the nearly 11 years we've lived here. Another oil company had come out previously and told us we had a very high quality furnace that tends to go and go and go. Sound Oil came out, serviced it and ever since then, it runs for about a day and then shuts off. We have to go down and push the reset button every day. We have a gal living downstairs so this invades her daily. We called the company and asked if they would come back out and fix it. They refused until our bill is paid in full. Each time they fill our tank, it costs about $1,500. It takes us time to pay that off. So until we can pay that off, they refuse to fix what they evidently broke.

Desired Settlement: We want them to fix our furnace for free and negotiate reasonable payment options with us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2013/11/08) */ After fully reseaching this case I have found that Sound Oil reversed all charges to this account on 9-30-13. In doing this, Sound Oil has forgiven $918.93 in heating oil, $201.48 for furnace contract, and $142.35 in service charges not covered under the contract. Sound Oil cannot make any further adjustments or concessions in this matter. Given the level of dissatifaction by customer we recommend to utilize the services of another company rather than to continue with Sound Oil. We appologize for anything we have done that caused customer dissatifaction.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sound Oil Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)