BBB Accredited Business since

Rhapsody

Phone: (206) 707-8100 Fax: (206) 682-1783 701 5th Ave STE 3100, Seattle, WA 98104 http://www.rhapsody.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers an online music subscription service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rhapsody meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rhapsody include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 47 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

47 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 28
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 19
Total Closed Complaints 47

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Rhapsody
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 06, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1999 Business started locally: 01/01/1999 Business incorporated 05/11/2010 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Epstein, President Mr. JR Gast, Director of Customer Support Mr. Tim D Jewell, Program Manager Customer Support Mr. Brian Ringer, Vice President Mr. Ethan Rudin, Secretary Mr. Greg Spils, Director of Traffic and Demand Mr. Paul Springer, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Epstein, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Greg Spils, Director of Traffic and Demand
Business Category

Music & Messaging Services Other Direct Selling Establishments (NAICS: 454390)

Alternate Business Names
Napster.com Rhapsody International Inc
Additional Information

BBB generally reports 100% of all reportable complaints except for those businesses who maintain a large volume of complaints. BBB currently publishes 30% for Rhapsody.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rhapsody has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 701 5th Ave STE 3100

    Seattle, WA 98104 (206) 707-8100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in a free trial and cancelled within the free trial so that I would not be billed. Now a little over a year later, I see that Rhapsody has been charging me $9.99 every month after the trial, despite my cancellation. I talked to a customer service representative who said they could refund me for 3 payments but no more, because there was no evidence that I made an attempt to cancel the account. I talked to a supervisor and he said the same thing. There was no allowance for a glitch in the system, or a server error on their end, which would easily explain why my cancellation didn't take effect and why they can't see any cancellation attempt. This is incredibly frustrating because I haven't used the account since my trial.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of all charges from Rhapsody, as I cancelled my account during my free trial and should never have been charged.

Business Response:

Hello *****,

Thank you for recently contacting Rhapsody Customer Support. 

We are in receipt of your complaint through Better Business Bureau. Firstly, I apologize for all the inconvenience which has been caused. 

One of our representatives tried to contacted you multiple times regarding this complaint, but reached voice mail. There was account under the email address ****************, that was created on 01/29/2014 in the $1 for 3 months promotional offer and was charged monthly from 04/01/2015. As per your request, we had canceled the subscription and refunded the last 3 charge on 02/01/2016,however since we did not see any usage on this account, we had also processed the refund for the remaining 8 charges in the amount of $79.92($9.99*8). Since the account was canceled, we will ensure that you will not be billed for this account in future.

If you have additional questions or concerns please contact help.rhapsody.com.

Thank you,

Rhapsody Customer Support.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ******

12/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I agreed to take the free trial (where they ALWAYS need your credit card). When I went in to cancel several opportunies came up, none of which I wanted. I mistakenly hit the button for one year service at $95.30! I immediately realized my error and tried to contact Rhapsody through the phone number provided. It is impossible to contact a live person and the internet has no information to remedy this situation. Inhave contacted my bank and determined that because it was my error, they will not follow up on this problem. I am a senior living on Social Security and need these funds returned ASAP. Help!

Desired Settlement: Return of the $95.30 to my Visa at once

Business Response:

Hello ******,

Thank you for recently contacting Rhapsody Customer Support.

We are in receipt of your complaint through Better Business Bureau. Firstly, I apologize for all the inconvenience which has been caused.

One of our representatives contacted you regarding this complaint. There was account under the email address ****************@hotmail.com, that was created on 12/09/2015 for 14 days free trial and was charged annual fee on 12/14/2015. The account was canceled online as confirmed by you. As per your request, we have canceled the subscription and refunded the last charge in the amount of $ 95.90. Since the account was canceled, we will ensure that you will not be billed for this account in future.

If you have additional questions or concerns please contact help.rhapsody.com.

Thank you,

Rhapsody Customer Support

12/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: For months Rhapsody music has been billing my credit card $9.99 for services I did not subscribe to. An attempt to access customer support via account login was impossible since I did not create an account. I emailed the company and received a letter that said that Rhapsody would only bill an individual after receiving accurate subscription information, however they were unable to locate my account. Per the instructions of the email, I phoned the service center. After being placed on hold for about 15 minutes, a call center representative said, "Hello", then they hung up. I phoned back and resumed a similar hold time. Once I was connected to a customer service representative, he also told me Rhapsody does not bill except after receiving accurate billing information and account creation, yet he was unable to locate my account as well. He did cancel the billing service but told me that Rhapsody does not accommodate refunds for erroneous billing.

Desired Settlement: A refund for all services billed.

Business Response:

Hello ****,

Thank you for recently contacting Rhapsody Customer Support.

We are in receipt of your complaint through Better Business Bureau. Firstly, I apologize for all the inconvenience which has been caused.

One of our representatives contacted you regarding this complaint. There was account under the email address ************************, that was created on 01/31/2013 for a month free trial and was charged monthly from 03/03/2013. The account was signed up by Ms. ******* *******. As per your request, we have canceled the subscription and refunded the last charge in the amount of $ 9.99. Since the account was canceled, we will ensure that you will not be billed for this account in future.

If you have additional questions or concerns please contact help.rhapsody.com.

Thank you,

Rhapsody Customer Support.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *******

12/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a free acct with rhapsody about 2 years ago where they asked for my debit info. I cancelled out my account three times now and they still continued to take money for a subscription that I never agreed to, to begin with. I have asked for a full refund of $169.83 that rhapsody continually charged me for for something I NEVER AGREED TO IN THE FIRST PLACE. I spoke to three representatives,Jason,John, Richard and then Hamilton. Hamilton called me a liar, told me blatantly no I was not getting nothing from them. I said you took money illegally that I did not give you consent to do. Hamilton said you are not getting nothing. He hung up on me twice, yelled at me and was very disrespectful.. Called me a liar on more than one occasion, which is uncalled for

Desired Settlement: I want $169.83 cents refunded back to my personal bank account

Business Response:

Hello ********,

Thank you for recently contacting Rhapsody Customer Support.

We are in receipt of your complaint through Better Business Bureau. Firstly, I apologize for all the inconvenience which has been caused.

One of our representatives contacted you regarding this complaint. There was an account under the email address "********@hotmail.com", that was created on 10/13/2013 for a month free trial and was charged monthly from 11/13/2013. As per your email on 29th March 2015, we had canceled the account.

As per our policy, we do not refund the charges for non-usage and as a one-time customer exception, we would refund the last transaction. Considering you as a very special case, we have processed refund in the amount of $169.83 (17*$9.99) and the same will be credited back to your account in the next few business days.

If you have additional questions or concerns please contact help.rhapsody.com

Thank you,

Rhapsody Customer Support

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Where is the refund? You only refunded $39.00

Sincerely,

******** **********

Business Response:

Hello ********,

We are in receipt of your updated complaint through Better Business Bureau. Firstly, I apologize for all the inconvenience that has been caused.


Upon checking our records, I see that only 4 charges have been refunded and the other 13 charges, which we did refund, do not appear in your PayPal account. We are currently investigating this issue with our financial department and working on a possible resolution for the refunds. After this investigation, we will be contacting you to update you on the status of the refund.


If you have additional questions or concerns please contact help.rhapsody.com.


Thank you,


Rhapsody Customer Support.

11/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attmpted to register a new account for a trial subscription in February 2015. Registration process said I would receive a confirmation email. When I did not receive the email, I contacted customer care. I was never able to log in to the account and never accessed Rhapsody in any way. They assured my the account was not activated and put in writing that my subscription did not go through. I was charged monthly for six months in spite of this. Rhapsody refuses to refund the charges. They offered only to refund me for one month.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund for all charges incurred.

Business Response:

Hello *****,

Thank you for contacting Rhapsody Customer Support. We are in receipt of your request through Better Business Bureau and apologize for the inconvenience caused. 
One of our representatives had contacted you recently, regarding your Rhapsody account cancellation and refund request. The representative observed that your account was under the email address *********************" instead of "********************" and our representative had cancelled the account and processed the refund for all the 6 charges in the amount of $65.46(6*$10.91) on 10th November 2015.


If you have additional questions or concerns please contact ****@rhapsody.com or reply to the same email.

Thank you,

Greg S*****
Rhapsody Customer Support.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that the end result was somewhat satisfactory to me. The process which I had to endure prior to receiving a refund included long telephone hold times and an extremely unpleasant, unhelpful customer service representative.  Only AFTER I had filed my BBB complaint did a customer service manager grant my request.

Sincerely,

***** *********

8/1/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was not able to cancel my subscription, either through the website (rhapsody.com) or by telephone. The instructions on the website for account cancellation link you to a webpage that does not exist. I also tried calling, and received a recorded message referring back to the website, without any option to speak with someone.

Desired Settlement: Rhapsody should change its website and telephone support to make it possible for people to cancel subscriptions easily.

Business Response:

Hello ******,
 
Thank you for contacting Rhapsody Customer Support. I am in receipt of your request through Better Business Bureau and apologize for  the inconvenience  caused.
 
One of our representatives had contacted you recently, regarding your Rhapsody account cancellation issue. The representative observed that your account under email address *********@yahoo.com had been cancelled in the year 2009. However there were two Rhapsody accounts found under your wife’s name with the email addresses  **********@gmail.com and *********@yahoo.com and as per your request both accounts have been cancelled.
 
If you have additional questions or concerns please contact ****@rhapsody.com or reply to the same email.
 
Thank you,
 
Greg S****,
Rhapsody Customer Support.

6/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a customer of rhapsody for about 10 yrs. They are changing their format to a version that no longer provides most of the features that it presently has and has had in the past...for the same price. I have over the last number of years purchased several hundred dollars of audio tracks from rhapsody. One of the features that will no longer be available is the ability to burn an audio cd from the purchased tracks and that i ostensibly own. Now i find out that no rights to burn were ever assigned to the tracks so i cannot burn these tracks except in rhapsody which of course will no longer be allowing that in their new program

Desired Settlement: While i will be discontinuing service when the new rhapsody program(ver. 6) becomes effective and the current version is no longer usable, I believe that i should be able to download those tracks that i have purchased with the appropriate rights or repay my costs. I feel that rhapsody has in effect stolen money from me for services not fully rendered.

Business Response: Hello ******,

Thank you for contacting Rhapsody Customer Support. We received your request through the Better Business Bureau.

We understand you had purchased several tracks from Rhapsody and you are unable to download and burn these tracks since we discontinued support for purchase tracks in the .Rax format in October 2010.  We had sent four emails between 2010 and November 2011 to all consumers who had purchased .Rax tracks through RealNetworks or Rhapsody.  Each of the four emails alerted .Rax tracks owners that Rhapsody would be discontinuing .Rax support and we provided instructions on how to safe guard the .Rax tracks to ensure access to the music after the .Rax server was turned off.

On November 7th 2011, thirteen months after Rhapsody provided initial notice that .Rax tracks owners needed to back up their music files to audio CD,. Rhapsody provided a grace period of 30 days after the server shutt-off to provide customer support and refunds for .Rax tracks that consumers had not backed up.

I'm sorry to hear your frustration in not being able to burn audio cd’s from the Rhapsody purchased tracks in the new version of the Rhapsody software, however, as our product and technology itself evolves, we add new technologies and end support for others. As stated in the Rhapsody Terms of Use: "RI also reserves the right to modify or discontinue, temporarily or permanently, functions and features of the Application and Service(s) with or without notice." (See the full terms at http://www.rhapsody.com/terms_of_use.)

Unfortunately, at this time, we are unable to refund any music purchases or restore .Rax files because we stopped supporting this format and no longer offer downloadable music files in any format. We apologize for any inconvenience, and we will continue to our best efforts to properly notify customers when changes such as this are imminent.

We appreciate you as a long term valued customer with Rhapsody.  If you have additional questions or concerns please contact help@rhapsody.com or reply to the same email.


Thanks

*** ******

5/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had been a member for 10 years and at the end was being charged 13.99 for the primier plan which is only 9.99 and the same credit card was charged three times in The previous month.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for the 27.98 that had been fraudulently billed to my account.

Business Response: Hello ********,

Thank you for contacting Rhapsody Customer Support.I am in receipt of your request through Better Business Bureau.Once again, I apologize for all the inconvenience  caused. 

One of our representatives had contacted you recently regarding your billing Issue. 

As per your request, We have processed a refund for the amount of $27.80(13.90 x 2charges) for your Premier Rhapsody account. Depending on your financial institution please allow a few days for the refund to appear. This will appear on your next credit card statement issued following this processing period.

If you have additional questions or concerns please contact ****@rhapsody.com or reply to the same email.

Thank you,

**** ******
Rhapsody Support.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******** ******

5/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Apparently, Rhapsody Online Music company changed it's billing tiers sometime in the spring of 2010. In 2009, the highest subscription level was $14.99 a month. There was no notification to customers or, if there was, it was not widespread or obvious. In 2010, according to complaints on the internet, the company changed it's billing so that the services that had been available for $14.99 were now only $9.99. However, if you did not go in to your account, and change services, they continued to charge customers the higher amount but did not upgrade the accounts to include the new services. They also did not start charging the lower amount to receive the same level of services. If that is not outright theft of money, I don't know what else is. It would have been a simple matter to tell customers already paying $14.99 that they could now receive the extra services or they could lower their monthly subscription if they didn't need the upgrade. How dishonest. Customer loyalty and service are obviously not high in their corporate ideals.

Desired Settlement: I would like $333 refunded to me (rough estimate) as I was overcharged approximately $5.55 a month for 60 months, depending on the actual month of the subscription change.

Business Response: Ms. *******

Per our terms of service in Reference Section 2(o) and that we have right to change service at any time, however, in this case we made no changes to Ms. *******'s services.

Instead, it appears that Ms. ******* registered for a Rhapsody To Go in Oct 2009, and was charged the monthly subscription fee of $14.99 each month until March 2015.  In April 2010, Rhapsody began offering a new subscription tier to new customers known as “Rhapsody Premier” which cost $9.99 a month. However, this new offering had no impact nor did it make any change to Ms. *******'s existing subscription.

In the interest of resolving this amicably and efficiently, we are willing to refund Ms. ******* back $5.00 X 60 months= $300 so long as, Ms. ******* accepts this refund as a full release of all claims that she believes she may have against Rhapsody. The subscription rate difference between your subscription ($14.99) and the subscription in question ($9.99) is $5.00.

If Ms. ******* agrees to the terms of this refund, please have her confirm acceptance of release in exchange for refund by replying back to this email. After receipt of Ms. *******'s confirmation we will release the refund amount to Ms. *******.

This refund is purely offered as a courtesy and should not be construed as admission of liability with regard to any claim that Ms. ******* believes he has against Rhapsody.

****

3/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rhapsody has been double charging my debit since December 2014. I can only go back to Dec 2014. It has been charged on the 8th and 18th of each month. I only have one account under the email of ******@GMAIL.COM. I cancelled a recent account under *********@gmail.com several years ago. The card I used then has been destroyed and new card with new number issued in Feb 2014

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. I will be checking with my bank to see just how long this has been happening. I expect every dime refunded

Business Response: Hello *******,

I noticed that you have contacted our support department today.  It looks like they were able to find the duplicate account and refunded you for the double-billing. Is this issue now resolved for you after talking to our support department? 

-****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Case is considered closed as soon as I get the refund in my bank account. 

Sincerely,

******** ******

2/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
8/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a Rhapsody Premier (Napster conversion) customer for several years. This type of account is billed directly to my credit card, and I use it on 3 devices, including both of my mobile phones. Last week, while examining my **** phone mobility phone bill I noticed a charge from Rhapsody for $9.99. Upon inquiring with **** I was informed I would have to deal with Rhapsody for a refund of anything over the current month's bill. The **** representative I worked with researched as far back as October 2013 and found that this has been a recurring charge. I contacted Rhapsody by email and have had several exchanges, all with different representatives, and I seem to be getting different answers each time. First, I found that the **** version was set up with my minor child's email address, which was likely directly entered into the Rhapsody app she downloaded onto her phone. The app requests this information. The app should have just asked for logon information so the current account could be used. By the way, further investigation on my part showed that her mobile phone is currently running off of the original rhapsody account, not the **** account. SO, I have been double billed for my service for several months. One answer from Rhapsody was that I would have to have **** refund the billing. Another answer from Rhapsody was that I would have to have **** cancel the subscription and then Rhapsody would refund the balance of one of the accounts. I followed that advice and had **** cancel my subscription only to have the Rhapsody representative tell me that because I had already cancelled the **** Rhapsody account, that there was nothing Rhapsody could do for me.

Desired Settlement: I need a refund from every month that was double billed. In another words, I need a refund from all months billed through **** for Rhapsody services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/16) */ The billing of a Rhapsody subscription through **** is solely controlled by **** and is subject to **** refund policies and procedures. Any questions about subscriptions on an **** bill must be directed to **** customer care. Due to both contractual requirements specified by **** and because **** controls actual collection of funds, Rhapsody is unable to refund or credit any payments made to ****. The relevant sections of the Rhapsody Terms of Use as as follows. Section 1 ENROLLMENT IN THE SERVICES: If you are a parent or guardian paying on behalf of a minor or other person, then you hereby agree to the terms of this Agreement and agree to take responsibility for the actions of such other person, any charges associated with that person's use of any of the Services, and that person's compliance with this Agreement. You agree to take such steps as are appropriate to ensure such compliance and will indemnify and hold RI and its affiliates and distribution and syndication partners harmless from any breach of this Agreement. Section 2 (c) TERM, FEES AND PAYMENTS ; Automatic Subscription Renewal: Unless you notify us of your decision to terminate your subscription, your subscription will automatically renew at the end of each subscription term. Your renewed subscription will have the same duration as the subscription being renewed (e.g. one month, one quarter, etc.). Section 2 (i) No Refunds: All fees paid and charges made prior to termination as provided herein, including any advance charge or payment for the subscription term during which you terminate your subscription, are nonrefundable. Termination of your subscription shall not relieve you of any obligations to pay accrued charges. See the full terms at www.rhapsody.com/terms. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Section 1 of Rhapsody's service agreement states: "If you are a parent or guardian paying on behalf of a minor or other person, then you hereby agree to the terms of this Agreement and agree to take responsibility for the actions of such other person, any charges associated with that person's use of any of the Services, and that person's compliance with this Agreement." The fact is, I did NOT agree to any such agreement, nor did I cause the service to be signed up for, so this "Agreement" is not in force. The minor child was simply attempting to make an existing service work on a replacement phone. I was told in the email, which I can provide a copy of, that I would be refunded, and I just had to tell them which account I wanted a refund of. I was then misled by your representative, by email, who told me I first had to cancel the **** subscription. Then I was told that because I cancelled my **** subscription, nothing could be done. FACT: I was getting the run-around. FACT: No representative presented me with the terms above that state only **** is able to adjust their billing. FACT: Rhapsody ultimately received the funds for this subscription. FACT: I have an existing account that is used daily that is NOT an **** billed account that covered all of the devices used. **** will not refund anything and claims all refunds have to be handled by Rhapsody. If Rhapsody is not willing to Refund the account billed through **** and retain a customer that enjoys their service, then the only alternative I will agree to is to cancel all subscriptions and they can refund the equivalent duration of my Napster migrated account and I will simply find another music service to use. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/02) */ The Rhapsody subscription under username "*************@yahoo.com" has been refunded 8 charges of $10, which represents all charges on that account since Oct 2013. Rhapsody cannot refund the charges on *** account for the reasons already explained and consider this matter closed. Consumer Response /* (2000, 16, 2014/08/22) */ Despite this company's negative response to my BBB complaint, they did follow through and make the appropriate refunds. I am satisfied in the end result, although they could have done the following to make the experience more pleasurable: 1) It would have been easier if each customer service representative were on the same page, instead of getting a different answer each time communication was made. 2) It would have been nice to get an apology or at least some sort of communication that they were doing the refund so I could have given them a thank you... WITH THAT, I WOULD LIKE TO GIVE RHAPSODY A FORMAL THANK YOU. You are retaining this customer, and I will still recommend your service.

7/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to file a complaint with Rhapsody. I allowed my son to open an account with Rhapsody several years ago, he used my bank card information, and email address and set the account up in his name. The account was cancelled in 2011 and recently I noticed that Rhapsody has continued to take out the monthly payment even after the account was cancelled in 2011. The last withdraw from my account was 6-1-2014. I called the customer service for Rhapsody on 6-9-2014 and spoke with a service representative. The representative informed me of the cancellation of the account in 2011, he was still able to pull up my account using my email address, and I gave him my card number that was used, and that was the one on the account. I inquired about why has Rhapsody continued to take out the monthly payment even after cancellation for almost 3yrs, the rep. asked if maybe there was another account opened, and I informed this was the only account that was opened with this business. The rep. then asked to speak to my son since he was the user of the account, I informed the rep. that my son was at work, and that I had given him permission to open the account and once my son quit using the account we cancelled it. The rep. informed me he must speak to the ****** my son and that if he was not available there was not much more he could do. I asked to speak to a supervisor regarding this and was told that was not possible and that someone would be in touch with me in 24 hours. Product_Or_Service: Rhapsody streamed music Account_Number: ***********@yahoo.co

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I was billed 9.99 monthly since my account was cancelled in 2011, and I want a full refund from that time until the last monthly payment was taken out on 6-1-2014, or any future withdraws from my banking institution until this matter is resolved. As of todays date the amount taken out over the course of three years is 359.64.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/20) */ The Rhapsody subscription under username ***********@yahoo.com was a free trial that expired in 2011 with no charges. Continuing to see Rhapsody charges means there is another active subscription. If you know the username of the other active account, please reply with it and we can cancel it. If you do not know the username, please call Rhapsody phone support at XXX-XXX-XXXX and have the credit card you see the charges on available. Rhapsody support representatives can times find the account by looking up the credit card number. For your safety do not send credit card information through email.

6/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When Rhapsody bought out ********* music services, the monthly rate went up 100%. While that's hefty, that is not the issue entirely. I did not want to continue service with Rhapsody, which took over ******* overnight, so I cancelled my billing information. All the music that I purchased from *******, prior to Rhapsody's buyout, is now cut off from me. I can not download the music unless I pay for a subscription from Rhapsody. I am being forced to purchase music that I have already purchased. Rhapsody has Rhansomed my music and I want it back.

Desired Settlement: I want a way to download the music I have already purchased. Only the music I have purchased, nothing more and nothing less. If they cannot provide a method of doing this, then each individual song should be sent some other way.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/27) */ ******* stopped support for their WMA music file products in September 2010, more than a year before Rhapsody took over the ******* brand. ******* sent the email below to their members informing them of their product change and how to keep those kinds of songs playing after the shutdown. The text of the email sent to ******* users in August of 2010... "Important Information About Your Secure WMA Digital Music Purchases. We're writing you with an important message about any music downloads you purchased from ******* prior to May 2008. Due to evolving digital music technology and related rights, ******* will no longer be able to provide support for these downloads as of Sept. 1, 2010. Be aware of reasons your DRM-encoded WMA downloads may stop playing: Changing or reinstalling your operating system, Purchasing a new PC, System crash or failure, or DRM corruption. Back up your WMA files. If you haven't already, we strongly recommend that you back up all of your DRM-encoded WMA files by burning them to audio CDs. Doing this will allow you access to your music on any CD player and generally have a maintenance free permanent copy. Please note that if you don't back up your files, you risk permanently losing access to your purchased music." ...As this change was made to a product Rhapsody did not create or control, and was done more than 3 years ago, before Rhapsody had any connection to ******** while ******* was still a competitor of Rhapsody's, and ******* informed their users about the change, Rhapsody is not offering credit, refunds or replacement songs.

1/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I noticed an unauthorized charge of 9.99 on my cellular phone bill. I have never subscribed to their services & do not know how long I have been billed for them. I called their number & was told that they would have to see my phone bill for them to remove it from my phone.

Desired Settlement: i want this to be removed from my bill & not charge ever again in the future without subscribing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/16) */ We are unable to find a Rhapsody subscription with the information provided. Rhapsody does offer the ability to pay for our service through some mobile phone providers, however it has no way to independently create subscriptions. If you are being billed for Rhapsody by your mobile phone provider, please contact them for assistance canceling the account or see cancellation instructions here https://help.rhapsody.com/entries/XXXXXXXX

1/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Subscription service was cancelled in July but they continue to bill me. Customer support in non-reachable.

Desired Settlement: Credit

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/03) */ There were 2 accounts. Once cancelled, one active. One under *************@bellsouth.net and one under *************@bellsouth.com. Both are now cancelled and the charges on one of the accounts refunded for all of 2013. Rhapsody customer support is available by phone Mon-Fr 8am to 5pm Pacific time and by email anytime. Average speed of answer for phone calls is less than 30 seconds. Response time to email is less than 2 hours. Links to support are available on Rhapsody.com and in every mobile app under settings. There is a "Submit a Request" button on every page of the Rhapsody help website. Support is also available at ****@rhapsody.com, and information on contacting support is also provided on each credit card bill with a Rhapsody charge. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
5/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company was taking money from my bank account without my permission. They had done so since February 2012. If they would check their records, they would see that I did not access my account since 2011. My personal computer was hacked sometime the end of December. I did not have access to a computer until recently. It was then I discovered this company had been taking funds from my online Ing Direct account since February.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. $96.21 I am fairly sure the company can handle that loss.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/15) */ Hello BBB, Since this is a case of fraud, we sent the following to the consumer at the email address provided. --------------------------------- Hello ******, A Rhapsody Premier account using your name, credit card number, billing address and email address was re-opened on 12/24/2011. This account was re-opened by downloading our PC software and resubscribing to Rhapsody through the PC software. Rhapsody has no way to obtain this information automatically, meaning someone has to manually enter this information. I have confirmed this account is canceled to prevent further charges. As mentioned previously, since this account was re-opened fraudulently, by your own claim, you need to contact your bank. They have a process in place to investigate and resolve fraud claims and get your money back. We will cooperate with your bank in its investigation and comply with its findings. Regards, ***** K.

4/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service