BBB Accredited Business since

Ironman Moving Services

Phone: (360) 733-1023 4215A Britton Rd, Bellingham, WA 98226 http://www.ironmanmove.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving services, including packing and relocation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ironman Moving Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Ironman Moving Services include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Ironman Moving Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Ironman Moving Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 8
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 2000 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission
1300 S Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.wutc.wa.gov
Phone Number: (888) 333-9882
consumer@wutc.wa.gov

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Mr. Eric Stewart, Owner Ms. Kelly Stewart, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Stewart, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Kelly Stewart, Owner
Business Category

Movers

Hours of Operation
9am - 5pm

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ironman Moving Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4215A Britton Rd

    Bellingham, WA 98226 (360) 733-1023

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They damaged our couch when moving it. (bent the frame) We filed a claim back in February. It has been two months. They said they would act on the claim, and occasionally ask for more information (like photos of the damage). We have sent them everything they have requested. They just said it is pending. They have not responded to repeated recent emails. This is taking much too long, and they appear to be hoping that I will just drop the issue. I have tried to be patient, but this is very poor service.

Desired Settlement: They need to honor the insurance claim - -$150 -- and in a timely fashion. This is the minimum amount required by law for damage to the couch. The replacement value for the couch is of course much more than this.

Business Response: This claim was settled within the time-frame allowed. Also, it was settled according to the damage protection option the customer chose and signed for, which was the free basic value protection. There is no law indicating a standard $150 reimbursement for a sofa. The option the customer chose is based on the weight of the item, which is reimbursement at .60/lb. All moving companies in the State of Washington are governed by the Washington State Department of Utilities and Transportation Commission. Per their guidelines we are to notify customers of the different damage protection options available to them. We do over the phone, in writing, and upon arrival at the job site where they sign the bill of lading indicating their choice. While the experienced crew adamantly denied being responsible for the damage, (claiming the sofa was in the same condition when placed in the new residence as when it was loaded), we still honored the claim. We did ask for pictures of the damaged sofa - and it did have very noticeable damage. It seems like it would've been noticed by the customer or crew prior to leaving the job site during the final walk through. We researched the weight of a standard 3 cushion sofa and reimbursed accordingly. We strive to have our customers feel they received outstanding service from us. In the rare occasion damage occurs we want the customer to feel they were treated fairly. While we did adhere to the coverage option they chose, we will contact the customer and make attempts to come to a resolution they are satisfied with.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: they determined the compensation arbitrarily.  They say it is by weight (60 cents per pound); which is true, but they never weighed the sofa bed that they damaged. They made up a weight and paid me on the basis of that amount.  Based on the $90 check they sent me, they assumed my sofa bed weighs 150 lbs.  The item is MUCH heavier than that.  My research online is that a sofa bed typically weighs around 250 lbs.  This is what I based my compensation request on.  So they owe me approximately $60, or they can come weigh the sofa bed, and pay me the exact amount based on its weight multiplied by 60 cents per pound.



Sincerely,

***** *******

Business Response: This is the first time we were made aware that this was a sofa BED. The customer did not indicate this on the damage claim form - therefore, we were under the impression it was a standard 3 cushion sofa, and calculated the weight accordingly. Based on this new information we will send the customer the additional funds for settlement.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7/30/14 was my moving day, Ironman movers had quoted me $79.00, "the summer special" per hour for the move. My family has used them for 20 years without a problem. The charge starts with the drive time, it took them 45 min to drive from the************* to *************, about a 15 min drive. The truck was smaller than their usual one, there were 3 very young men and one spent his time standing around or sitting in the truck. I tried to direct them to move the heavy items first, they loaded the truck with a few items of furniture and the rest was boxes. I still had many items of furniture that could not be fit in. After they unloaded my items in my storage unit, they made a phone call and stated the hourly rate was actually $30.00 more an hour than what was quoted to me, I am a single mother of 3 boys and I had budgeted out the amount that was quoted. They then stated that they would follow me to the bank. I then had to rent a truck and me and my 10 yr. old son were forced to move the rest of my furniture. I had not arranged for anyone to help because the moving company should have taken care of my move! What we could not move, my father who has fractured his back and is not supposed to lift, helped me with the rest the next day. IronMan movers did not respond to my email or phone call, the customer service was horrid, they should refund the extra amount that was not the original amount quoted. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I should be entitled to a free move or a refund of the extra amount that I was charged unjustly.

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Quoted $1584 for move. They provided an estimator who came to our home. Charged 4,816.25. Claimed there was more things than they originally estimated however we didn't purchase anything from the time they quoted us (beginning of May) to move date which started 5/31/2014. Additionally there was damage which they acknowledged but they won't respond to my requests to come out and look at the damage. And they sent me an email (I have it if you want to see it) saying that was asking for free services. In fact, they moved slightly less than they bid on as we had friends move all of our clothing and fragile items.

Desired Settlement: A fair refund. $1584 to $4816.25 is ridiculous for the same amount of moving. BTW, I later learned that the estimator was the owner's nephew. Someone to evaluate the damage to our moved items. (Although I have already had to get one fixed - there are others). Also during the move when I was speaking to the movers about the overages and what could be done about it - they offered to stop the move. Really? We had to be out of the property. Thank you. I can provide documentation with the bid, the items they showed to be moved (which looks correct to me and they actually came to my home for the bid), the invoices and their email to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/04) */ An estimate was provided to Mrs. ****** for our moving services. The amount of goods we actually had to move was approximately 3 times the amount of goods that was agreed upon on their estimate. We had them sign a supplemental estimate as well. They were neither prepared nor organized for their move which added time. They also did not provide a fork lift for moving their 1300 lb. safe as they said they would. Nonethless the crew managed this task. Mrs. ****** has repeatedly threatened and harrassed us in emails and in dishonest negative reviews. We are retaining copies of everything as we feel this may need to be settled in court.

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the course of our recent move, our hardwood floors were damaged by the moving team at Ironman movers while I watched. I initiated the process of submitting a damage claim and obtained an estimate for what it would cost to repair the damage and passed this information along to the manager, *****. I delayed filling out the formal damage claim form as I have a new baby and recently moved and got behind on my correspondence. During this interval, ***** contacted me and stated that she would take no further action on my claim because her movers had told her that the damage was pre-existing. I responded to her with the email pasted below and received no reply. I then emailed her once more and asked her to work with me to resolve this issue and again received no reply. I am now filing a formal complaint because the business has refused to communicate with me any further regarding this issue. " Dear *****, I am continuing our conversation regarding the damage claim discussed below because I believe that it is important that you be fully abreast of this situation in order to make an informed decision. As I mentioned on the phone when I called to enquire about making a claim, both my husband and I felt that overall, your movers worked hard and were courteous and thoughtful, and we appreciated their efforts to get us moved across town. We were concerned, however that they seemed somewhat inexperienced moving large objects compared to the movers that we worked with through ***** ******** when moving to Bellingham one year ago. Specifically, as we mentioned to the movers, we have a heavy dresser in the upstairs that the previous movers propped on one of the railings in our stairwell and partially tore it off the wall/cracked the plaster. I was assisting with the previous move and watched this happen, and so was concerned that future damage might occur during our move with your. As a result, I warned them of this fact, asked them to remove the drawers from the dresser, and asked them to put down a pad on the stair landing because I knew that the dresser needed to be rotated in a specific fashion to avoid it hitting the ceiling or putting a gouge in the landing (the previous movers had used a pad of cardboard on the landing). I then watched as they brought the dresser down the stairs without removing the drawers, making it very heavy ,set it on the landing, rotated it, made a gouge, and then carried it the rest of the way down the stairs. I was upset that they had not considered my advice or taken appropriate safety precautions, especially with wood floors that we had refinished just prior to moving in the year previously. I was surprised by the estimate from ******** ********* and am not interested in seeking an excessive amount of damages and would be happy to discuss what would be an appropriate compensation. In addition, I ask that you consider my incentive in pursuing this claim: I am working full time, I have a 4 month old baby, and any time that I take to do this requires that I either take time away from work, childcare, or my basic necessities. Your movers, on the other hand, have an obvious incentive to deny that they caused this damage, which I observed them do and pointed out to them at the time of the incident. I am now concerned regarding the damage claim process and how you gather information as well as dishonesty on the part of your employees and I ask that you take this situation seriously and resolve it in an appropriate manner. Sincerely, ********* *******"

Desired Settlement: Resolution of damage claim process

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/23) */ This customer claimed our movers scratched her floor in the stairwell. The day prior to her move, our packing crew pointed out to her husband that there was damage to the stairwell area. Her husband informed us that he was aware of all the damage, and that it was caused by their previous movers. Nonetheless, we provided a damage claim form to our customer as she requested. Along with this form is a letter that explains the damage claim process. We MUST receive the damage claim form in order to open a claim. This form is required because it has the 'customer' describe the damage along with their 'signature'. Our customer has stated a couple times that she would be sending in the form - as of this date, (62 days and counting since her move) we still have not received it. She stated she is a new Mom and has been too busy to send it to us, however, she has time to send numerous emails to us, realtors, and BBB regarding this issue. All we did receive was a bill for $500 for repairs. Again we asked for the damage claim form. She did say she felt the $500 estimate might be an excessive amount and she would be willing to agree upon a different amount for reimbursement. (She didn't say that when she first submitted the estimate - I'm guessing to see if we were just going to pay her $500) We interviewed the moving crew separately three times and they stated they were extremely careful with the heavy piece that was being moved down the stairwell, even placing it to rest on their foot to avoid it touching the floor. We would like to have an opportunity to talk to the customers husband, since he was the one the crew discussed the previous damage with. We have invited these customers to come to our office to discuss this matter with the crew members involved, but they will not take us up on this offer. Having been in the moving business for 20 years we see red flags all over this situation. Her reluctance to talk with us with her husband present, not turning in the damage claim form with her signature, later stating she's willing to accept a lower repair amount then what was quoted, the FACT that damage was caused in that area previously by a different moving company, and bringing her realtor in on this situation (clearly as a means to make us feel threatened). I would assume she filed a damage claim with the previous moving company that did all the damage, why those repairs weren't done makes me wonder. Then she reports us to BBB prior to us reaching a resolution - which cannot be reached because of her reluctance to submit a signed claim form. If this customer would have been honest and upfront from the beginning, and followed the proper procedure for a damage claim, we may have been willing to work with her in the interest of customer satisfaction. At this point however, we are not willing to do so. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) A completed damage claim was emailed to the business on 3/18/14 at 10:40 PM along with requested photo documentation of the damage, the same day that I finally received communication from the business after a multiple week hiatus. I have forwarded this information a second time as of this evening 3/30/14. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/05/27) */ We have closed this claim. There was prior moving damage done by another company to the area, as pointed out by *********'s husband to our crew. The customer was present during the move and there were no complaints. We will leave an open invitation should *********'s husband want to come in to our office and have a discussion with the crew. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2014/05/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am heartened to know that the first step of the damage claim process has been completed. As stated in the original BBB complaint, my goal through this process was to receive a formal response & resolution from the company, so I hope that we are able to proceed toward that goal. My husband and I do not have time in our schedules to make a visit to Ironman and a face-to-face interview is not a standard part of the damage claim process per Ironman's policies; as such, we will look forward to resolving this issue through their usual process.

4/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted a formal BBB complaint form last week and never heard back from either party hence I'm submitting another form today with hope to bring closure asap. See attachment at the end that includes my email concerns and their response although I have no idea who submitted a response to my email as it wasn't signed.

Desired Settlement: Instead of the asking settlement price of $260.00 refund, I am asking only $150 just to bring closure to this matter. Their response to my email outling my concerns are unfounded, untruthful, and preposterous. The owners were never present to determine what was quoted to me in person or by phone. They never asked for pics for damaged TV and assume they're not responsible. They never offered a damage claim form and the office staff knows nothing about procedures when I asked.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/04/12) */ We received an email from ****** ****** and I will forward a copy of this correspondence to you as well. You will plainly see her concerns were addressed and we will not be refunding any portion of her invoice. ****** complained that she didn't receive the cash payment rate - she did. She complained that the movers didn't help her move her clothes which were not packed and ready - but they did (in fact she told them she would move them herself). She complained that her TV doesn't work - with the free insurance option SHE CHOSE, electronics are not covered unless there is visible damage, indicating that the item was dropped, banged, etc. - which didn't happen so I am confident we did not damage her TV. She complained that the movers didn't use a dolly to transport boxes downstairs, I explained it's quicker for them to carry the boxes down as opposed to using the dolly on the stairs - saving her money. In fact, she was so pleased and satisfied with the movers performance that she even gave them a gratuity. She had no complaints while the crew was present. We provided her an estimate of time/cost for her move IN WRITING, and we were within the confines of that estimate. Iron Man Movers has been in business close to 20 years now - we are very educated in policies and procedures for moving companies in the State of Washington. ****** initially requested a refund of $260.00 with no basis for how she arrived at this dollar figure, and now has reduced this request to $150.00. In closing we will not be refunding any amount, nor will we offer Ms. ****** our services in the future. Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 7, 2013/04/19) */ I responded to that case#XXXXXXXX this morning. I am in complete disagreement with IronMan Movers response to the BBB complaint. If that is their final stance, then they are taking the ''bully'' attitude without asking any further questions to validate my complaints and issues, therefore, I will probably pursue filing small claims. They deserve very low marks in the BBB portfolio since they've handled my case extremely poorly and unprofessionally.