BBB Accredited Business since

Chipman Relocations

Phone: (425) 251-0562 Fax: (206) 251-9437 View Additional Phone Numbers 8939 S 190th St, Kent, WA 98031 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.chipmanrelo.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving, storage, and packing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chipman Relocations meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chipman Relocations include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Chipman Relocations
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1939 Business started locally: 01/01/1939 Business incorporated 10/22/1979 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission
1300 S Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.wutc.wa.gov
Phone Number: (888) 333-9882
consumer@wutc.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Chipman, President Mr. Ken Antonich, Operations Manager Mr. Tom Chipman, CEO Mr. Rob Schmidt, Vice President of Sales and Corporate Development Mr. Jeffrey Suth, Vice President/Genera Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Chipman, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Tom Chipman, CEO
Business Category

Movers Moving Services - Labor & Materials Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Alternate Business Names
Chipman Corporation Chipman Moving & Storage Inc Chipman Moving and Storage Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Chipman Relocations has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8939 S 190th St

    Kent, WA 98031 (800) 228-9604 (425) 251-0562

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/26/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved from Washington to Arizona. Our goods were lost and heavily damaged during the move. Our guarantee/warranty per Chipman Movers was "Straight Talk Price Assurance" $0 deductible Full Replacement Value Protection. We paid for a 100% pack of all goods. I have now received a settlement offer from their California Trucking company...parent owner of the Washington LLC moving company for significantly less than the value of goods damaged or lost. Their offer is for $700 and my detailed claim has remaining items of over $4,500. I detailed out everything that was lost or damaged and did the research on the items showing exact replacement value if the item was still available or a reasonable comparative price from the merchant or similar merchant from which the item came from. Our items were transferred several times from moving van to eventual rented small Penske moving vans. In their settlement offer they ignored our claim for lost/stolen items. And gave partial values or settlement for damaged goods. In two cases they claimed that the damage couldn't be proved as caused by the move. Yet they packed and noted scratches or damage on items before packing.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the amount of my claim that is unresolved. The amount outstanding for the missing and damaged goods for which they offered $721 is $4,665.

Business Response:

We were able to come to an amicable solution with Mr. ******.  See below. Please let me know if you have any questions.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:

hi,

I did not respond to the update complaint request as I was awaiting their check settling the claim.  They have committed in writing to an acceptable settlement; however, I don't consider the complaint settled until the money is in my possession.  Per their representatives the check has been sent and I should anticipate receiving it early next week.

Sincerely,

***** ** ******

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

Hi,

I was traveling and unable to respond to your email or BBC automated message.  I have looked at the response from me and I would like to amend.  I am satisfied with the business's resolution of the matter and would like the complaint amended to reflect that.  I feel they have acted in good faith to resolve and I don't want a "no response" or unsastifactory response on my complaint.

Please record as requested.

***** ******





Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Chipman Relocations
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart