BBB Accredited Business since

Bekins Northwest

Additional Locations

Phone: (425) 775-8950 Fax: (425) 775-8761 View Additional Phone Numbers 6501 216th St SW, Mountlake Terrace, WA 98043 http://www.bekinsnorthwest.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers moving and storage services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bekins Northwest meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is in an industry that requires licensing and its license has been suspended.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bekins Northwest
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 13, 2004 Business started: 11/01/1923 Business started locally: 11/01/1923 Business incorporated 01/15/1999 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission
1300 S Evergreen Park Dr SW, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.wutc.wa.gov
Phone Number: (888) 333-9882
consumer@wutc.wa.gov

US Department of Transportation
1200 New Jersey Ave SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.dot.gov
Phone Number: (202) 366-4000

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982
On 6/13/2015 BBB confirmed that Washington Department of Labor & Industries suspended the license of Bekins Northwest.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Jill Ihly, Vice President Mrs. Julie Betts, Customer Service Manager Mr. Dave Gray, Vice President of Marketing Kris O'Bannon, Member Lauri O'Bannon, Member Mr. Steve Suhre, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Jill Ihly, Vice President
Business Category

Movers Movers - Office Movers - International Moving Services - Labor & Materials Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing Moving Supplies Piano & Organ Moving Storage Units - Household & Commercial Seniors Moving & Delivery Services Travel & Moving Services Moving & Storage Company Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Hours of Operation
Monday - Saturday
8:00am - 5:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Bekins Moving & Storage

Additional Locations

  • 6501 216th St SW

    Mountlake Terrace, WA 98043 (425) 775-8950 (253) 336-3709 (425) 374-1010 (866) 872-7965

  • 7010 150th St SW STE 101

    Lakewood, WA 98439 (253) 200-0206

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Bekins to move our household goods from Cheney, WA to Oak Harbor, WA with a delivery date of 4/13/15. The move seemed to go well. We had a number of items that broke or were scratched and a claim was filed for those items and Bekins agreed to pay. However, the night before the arrival of the goods, I had taken off my wedding rings and watch and put them in our master bathroom on the counter with the intent of putting them on again in the morning. The morning came and with the arrival of the company I forgot to put them on. Four boxes were delivered to the master bathroom by the two younger movers (I know this because they asked me personally where to put the boxes). That night, after dinner, I went into the bathroom and found that the rings were gone and the watch remained. The watch was inexpensive, but my expensive rings were missing. I looked everywhere and when it was apparent that they had been taken I called the police and filed a report, called my insurance company and filed a report and called Bekins in Spokane and told them what happened. I then went through the claim process. It took Bekins three weeks before asking for the police report and upon receiving that report denied my claim on the basis that the Police Officer had found nothing and that there was no proof. What is really important in this situation is that one of the young movers had been hired the week before, after walking into the moving companies offices in Seattle. He had just moved from Hawaii where he said he had worked for *********. I know this because I spoke with him. However, the other movers kept teaching him how to move things. He was not dressed professionally and his manner was not like that of the other Bekins movers. My complaint is in how Bekins handled the loss. Did they investigate on their end? Did they do a background check on the new employee? From doing many military moves, I know that moving companies hire people off of the street when needed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to know what Bekins did to investigate my theft claim and I would like to know what their hiring policies are and what they will do to stop this common practice of hiring untrained movers off of the street when they need extra help.

Business Response: We were surprised to hear about Mrs. ********** complaint.  We take all customer complaints very seriously and respond swiftly with a sense of urgency.  In the event of an allegation of theft, we begin investigating immediately, involving our Vice President of Operations, the Manager, other appropriate company executives, and question each employee separately.  In this instance, we treated this report of the alleged missing ring with utmost priority and care, and followed our procedures accordingly.

Following the investigation, the reports from the employees delivering Mrs. ********** goods, were consistent in stating; there was a lot of activity in the house, including a plumber and an employee from the cable company that was there for about three (3) hours setting up service throughout the entire house.  In addition to the other contractors being in the home, each of our employees stated that they never entered the master bathroom nor did they see anyone in the master bathroom. 

There were four (4) employees on-site during the delivery.  These were in fact employees of Bekins Northwest, not helpers 'hired off the street' as suggested by Mrs. ********.  Upon hire, we conduct both pre-employment drug screens and background checks, including criminal history, on all employees.  In addition, all employee's are put into a random pool for drug testing.  When appropriate, we speak with past employers to verify history, however, this is not always a guarantee that we will receive a response and receive pertinent information regarding past work performance (most employers will only release dates of employment).  During the investigation, we pulled all background checks for the four employees that were at Mrs. ********'s home.  The criminal background checks showed no prior criminal activity over the past seven (7) years.

All of the employees that were at Mrs. ********** home on 04/13/15 had experience in transportation and/or working in a warehouse environment moving household goods prior to joining our team.  In addition, our employees receive training at time of hire, and continual on-the-job training by supervisors.

As the customer specifically had concern about one specific employee, we asked the other employees, who work with him regularly and whom we have grown to trust as core members of our team, about any concerns they would have regarding this employee's conduct.  They were adamant that this employee has shown strong character and integrity, and felt strongly that he, nor any member of the team, had any involvement.

As the customer had signed that she received a copy of 'Your Guide to Moving in Washington State', and as stated in WUTC Tariff 15-C, the legal regulating body regulating moving companies, 'Customers may include the following items in a shipment however, the carrier is not responsible for the condition or safe delivery of: Jewelry, precious stones, or precious metals,' we denied compensating for the missing ring.  Customers are informed prior to their relocation, that these type of items are not not be included in their shipment.  Following our investigation, there is no evidence to indicate that this alleged theft occurred by one of our employees.  We take this situation seriously and will fully cooperate with law enforcement officials as needed.


Sincerely,

 

******* ****

Vice President 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

1.  Bekins states that on the day of delivery there was a plumber and a cable person.  There was no plumber at all and the cable installer was with my husband the entire time, hence why I was monitoring where things go.
2.  Bekins states that the movers stated that no one entered the master bathroom.  That is incorrect.  Four boxes were delivered to the master bathroom by movers.  The two younger movers asked me where (2 each) these boxes should go and I stated, "The master bathroom."
3.  Bekins states regarding the mover that I suspected of taking the ring that they had worked with him regularly.  He told me, himself, that he had just been hired the week before.  The other movers were also telling him how to lift boxes and move furniture appropriately up the stairs.  How could they have worked with him regularly?
4.  Bekins states that we had been the given paperwork about the company not being liable for jewelry stolen that are packed and transported by Bekins.  I never said that the rings were packed, I was very clear that they were in the bathroom on the sink prior to the movers arriving and gone after the mover left.
5.  Bekins states that allegedly the ring had been stolen.  I have filed an insurance claim.  I did not file a fraudulent claim.  Therefore the ring is not allegedly missing, but actually missing/stolen.

Sincerely,

****** ********

5/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Bekins NW to handle a double move in Sept 2014. From our house in Bellevue to an apt in Seattle and our house in Bainbridge. The Seattle crew damaged some stuff. I contacted our sales person and even wrote a note in the final bill regarding the damage. I was promised a refund and a repair person to come and fix my dining table. I finally got an answer back in April 2, 2015 saying that my claim is being processed. Its now almost 7 months after the move and I feel that they are just stringing me along hoping that I go away.I am asking for a $400 credit and my table to be repaired.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a $400 credit and my table to be repaired.

Business Response: Bekins Northwest has been in contact with Mr. ***********, to resolve his concerns immediately. Repairs have been scheduled for the damaged table, which should be completed within one week.  We have offered a credit of $400 for Mr. ***********'s upcoming move, which he has agreed is sufficient.  Bekins Northwest always strives for customer satisfaction, and takes all complaints and concerns seriously.  Thank you for allowing our response and ability to rectify this concern.

2/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service