BBB Accredited Business since

Atlas Van Lines International

Phone: (206) 526-1137 Fax: (206) 526-2434 View Additional Phone Numbers 9750 3rd Ave NE Ste 200, Seattle, WA 98115 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.atlasintl.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers international moving services for household goods.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Atlas Van Lines International meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Atlas Van Lines International include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Atlas Van Lines International
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 08, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1989 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 09/01/2001 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Gaw, President Ms. Laura Hatton, VP of International Commercial Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Gaw, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Laura Hatton, VP of International Commercial Operations
Business Category

Movers

Method(s) of Payment

Wire Transfer

Credit Card

Check

Alternate Business Names
Atlas International

Additional Locations

  • 9750 3rd Ave NE Ste 200

    Seattle, WA 98115 (206) 526-1730 (888) 669-6031

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: January 16th, we initiated communication, via email, with ***************. I originally expressed concerned about our Government Household Goods (HHG) being picked up from storage and shipped; specifically the crate and handling of our "Tempurpedic" mattress. ********** was very helpful and kept in touch. January 25th she forwarded documents, showing our HHG had been picked up from storage, nothing changed from the original storage inventory, and that our goods were shipped. March 24, our HHG were delivered by **** a German co-partner with Atlas. Unfortunately everything was delivered EXCEPT our mattress. We immediately contacted ******** and she promptly replied that it was not in the warehouse. After countless attempts to both Stateside Atlas, the German moving company, as well as German Customs I was told the same thing "They did not have it". Finally in a desperate attempt, we reached out the ******** for the third time regarding the mattress that was not delivered. March 28th, we received an email stating the mattress had been found in the storage warehouse in Texas. We received an email asking "How would we like to proceed" From ******************. March 29th, we responded asking what our options were and what is a realistic outcome since was are still without anything to sleep on. We asked for assistance and have yet to hear from anyone. March 31st and April 1st I contacted Ms. Nadia with the German *** company, to whom was more then willing to hear our concerns stated she would try to reach someone and help. As of today we have still not heard from anyone and submitted the claim for the mattress.

Desired Settlement: We want our mattress claim settled. We do not have anything to sleep on. The base for the bed was delivered and requires and "Memory Foam" type mattress. If there is any doubt as to what "Brand" the bed is, one could just simply look at the bed that is still left in storage. We paid a lot of money for that bed only to not have it. We are very limited in a selection here in Germany, however was successful in finding the proper mattress that fits this our base and deliver.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/04/10) */ We sincerely apologize to Mr.% Mr. **** that their mattress was left behind in Texas. The mattress was located, but we agreed with the ***** to not to ship to Germany. We have offered the ****'s a cash settlement, so that the ****'s can purchase a replacement immediately. At the moment, we have not heard back from the ****'s on whether this is satisfactory. We expect we will hear back soon. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/04/28) */ We have been offered a settlement that is nearly 50% less then our originally payment (receipt provided). They found the box in the warehouse and stated all the components weren't there. No pictures of the box prior to opening was taken. We are currently seeking assistance with the United States *** unit here in Stuttgart as well as filing a compliant with State of Washington Attorney General. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/05/09) */ ****** ******** Atlas World Group Manager International Claims, offered final amount of $2316.00 on April 10 to ******** ****. ****** needed the signed release returned from the member to process the claim. There were delays in completing the final settlement forms, as ******** **** had IT problems with her computer platform (MAC) and needed them notarized as well. ****** was out of the office and did not reply regarding the settlement dates during her absence. The wire transfer to the member was completed on May 2, 2014. Feel free to contact me for any further information. Sincerely, ****** **** Supervisor XXX-XXX-XXXX

11/5/2012 Delivery Issues