This business is not BBB accredited.

Port Townsend Inn

Phone: (360) 385-2211 2020 Washington St, Port Townsend, WA 98368 http://www.porttownsendinn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Port Townsend Inn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Port Townsend Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 12, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Business Category

Motels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2020 Washington St

    Port Townsend, WA 98368 (360) 385-2211

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to stay at this hotel on Oct 9th 2015. Upon checking in I noticed evidence of bedbugs so went to the front desk to leave and sought a refund. I was told due to technical reasons the refund would be processed the next morning. Now after several months and many communications the refund is being denied

Desired Settlement: I would like the 2 rooms paid for but not used to be refunded.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern at the Better Business Bureau,


I remember ****** **** and his short stay at The Port Townsend INN. ****** **** was a walk in customer with no prior reservations. He
requested two rooms the night of October 9th, 20I5, and I was happy to have Mr. **** and his friends visiting from *********, Canada,
stay with us. These rooms, which were adjacent, were not identical. One room had a single "Queen" sized bed, and the other had a "Queen"and a "Twin." They were priced at $88.79 and $99.89 after tax, respectively.


After I had finished collecting their pertinent billing information, and payment they left the office and I did not hear back from them for
several hours. ****** came to the front desk later that evening; and told me he had concerns about the room and requested that I come see what was worrying him.


I followed ******* to one of his rooms, where he pointed out a polka dot formation near the seams of some of the mattresses. He said he
believed it was caused by bed bugs, and that he no longer wanted to stay the night. He then stated that his friend who was also staying with us, was recently afflicted with a bed bug; infestation, and went on to say that he himself had come into contact with bed bugs in various living accommodations, so he "knew the signs." ****** and his friends continued packing up their things and loading their car. ****** then asked me if I could refund their payments, and I politely stated that I was unsure if the spots were bed bug related, and therefore l couldn't say for certain if I could refund the night for that reason. The rooms appeared as if they had been used, and would require cleaning, still I was willing to accommodate him in another room. He was not interested in this offer.


I understand that their recent exposure to bed bugs would have made them wary of additional encounters, perhaps even paranoid. Still, I
had to verity that their claims were not baseless, so I read a few articles on the matter. What l saw online did not match what I saw on our mattresses. The CDC.gov website listed common signs of bed bugs in their Frequently Asked Questions page, which included:

the bed bugs' exoskeletons after molting
bed bugs in the fold of mattresses and sheets,
rusty-colored blood spots due to their blood-filled fecal material that they excrete on the mattress or nearby furniture, and
a sweet musty odor.

I thoroughly inspected the rooms and found no signs of bedbugs, alive or exoskeletons. Furthermore, tho spots I saw were black, not
brown. Also no signs of "excrement" were found in other areas of the room where bed bugs are often found( i.e. furniture, and under
carpeting," and there was no musty odor. In addition to this evidence, we have never had complaints of bed bug bites before. This made me confident that our establishment did not have bed bugs, and that what ****** and I saw that night was actually ink that rubbed off from the mattress tag, where the ink was localized on all of the mattresses.


****** emailed us a month later stating that he had not yet received a refund, and furthermore that he didn't want to "make a fuss about
the bed bugs." At this time I notified my managers of the situation, and they said they could not give a refund for bed bugs if there were no bed bugs. I never promised Mr. **** a refund, and did not appreciate the demands and threats to discredit our INN. The next email he sent included this following message; "Of course l will inevitably going to trip adviser, social media and bed bug tracking sites with this if it is not resolved this week."


A few days later Mr. **** called and I spoke to him personally, for about 20 minutes. !listened to his complaints, and reassured him that
there were no bed bugs. Still he requested a full refund, and although I was disinclined to abide to his demands, I would not be in the
hospitality business if I was not prone to helping patrons with various complaints, Therefore, l was prompted to offer him a 112 refund to
settle the disagreement. Mr. **** denied this proposal, and then stated that he was busy, and had to call us back.


My original offer stands, and if Mr. **** would like to gather his l/2 refund, we would be happy to honor this agreement.


Sincerely,
John B****
Front Desk Clerk @ The Port Townsend INN

10/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked a motel room months in advance through ***********, according to the site, the motel was 4 star quality. Upon arrival, I saw painters working on one wing of the building. AFTER paying at check-in, the Customer Service Representative apologized for the work being done. I said it was not an issue, as our room was located in a different section of the building. After putting our things in our room, we opened the door, not 30 minutes after check-in, to find ourselves plastic-wrapped into the room. Trapped, with paint fumes. We called for someone to let us out, without any luck. And when we finally got a call back, we were asked to leave the room, and not come back for a few hours in order for the painters to paint the door. I then had to ask to be let out of the room again. After which, we weren't able to return for hours. When we came back to sleep we were kept up by workers talking outside of our window. In the morning I took a shower which was cold for 10 minutes, and lost it's pressure every time a neighboring room flushed their toilet. Not all of the lights worked in the bathroom, there was no fan, and no screen on the window, letting bugs in. The two-ply toilet paper was the least of my worries after being seen naked through the screen-less bathroom window on our second morning, when the workers had made their way into the backyard that the window faced. I asked for a discount that morning, and the Customer Service Representative actually LAUGHED at me, and told me NO. I paid $264.18 for this experience.

Desired Settlement: I am trying to get a refund. I asked for a discount at the ***********, and was denied. I contacted *********** to see if they could help, and they contacted Port Townsend Inn, which denied me again. So, I've contacted you, the BBB, and I will be disputing the charge on my credit. Hopefully, I will get something more than low-quality coffee and cornflakes at continental breakfast out of this situation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/09/19) */ No refund will be issued.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Port Townsend Inn
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)