Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Motel Puyallup

Phone: (253) 845-8825 View Additional Phone Numbers 1412 S Meridian, Puyallup, WA 98371 http://www.motelpuyallup.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Motel Puyallup include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Motel Puyallup
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 19, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Amanda K., General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Amanda K., General Manager
Business Category

Motels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1412 S Meridian

    Puyallup, WA 98371 (253) 845-8825 (800) 921-2700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fianc and I stayed at the motel 03-21-15 until 03-24-15. On our 2nd night my fiance found 2 really weird looking bumps on her shoulder but at the time, which now I totally regret doing, we thought nothing of. We continued our stay until we woke up on our check out day in a complete panic on all the rashes and and scary oversized bumps we had on ourselves. My girl checked my back and immediately burst into tears bed bugs are her greatest fear. We started research and sure enough it was bed bugs not some it was an infestation. We started shaking our clothes over the white sink to see bugs falling off the clothes we had laying on the chair right next to the bed. I ran down to the office and they sent a cleaning lady to investigate. My girlfriend stayed with the cleaning lady who searched the bed and under her breath said oh no. She came back to the office and asked ****** the Manger to come to the back room. When ****** came back out she said well it looks like it's not bed bugs. I started pleading for help with her to come look she of course said no I'm not going up there I'll send the maintenance up. We ran back to the room to find 2 cleaning ladies and a man tearing our room apart while all our stuff was still in. We asked to keep a sheet for proof they told us no One of the cleaning ladies told us she was so sorry for what has happened to you then told us some things we should do for bed bugs but please don't say anything or she'll be fired. Back at the office we demanded our refund for the whole stay and for how traumatized my fiance is. The Manger was so rude calling us liars that they are the professionals and we know nothing and there will be no refunds but she said she'll wash our clothes. I told her she needs to report this and treat the problem she again said no. I am worried for people staying here since it's not getting fixed. I couldn't believe how ****** just didn't care at all it was heartbreaking and I don't see how she keeps her job or this buisness

Desired Settlement: We need the motel to professionally take care of the bug problem. We would like to see the place under new leadership that not only knows how to treat there customers but also their staff by not forcing them to lie and feel threatened. And last I would like and deserve a complete refund for my entire stay along with any medical bills caused from this experience

Business Response: The guests did stay with us from Saturday March 21st, to checkout on Wednesday March 25th. Upon checkout they reported bedbugs in the room. We take these types of issues very seriously and my Housekeeping Coordinator (HC) on shift went up to the room immediately. At this time we assumed that the room had been vacated, since it was approximately 10 minutes shy of checkout time. Initial inspection showed no sign of any kind of pest in the room. Housekeeping staff involved have stated that they did not say or discuss any of the described interaction with the customers. To state that there is disciplinary action on staff for reporting a serious issue is libel. They are encouraged regularly to report any maintenance issues, room issues, in addition to suspicious customer activity.

The HC returned to the office and reported zero findings. By that time the Maintenance Supervisor (MS) had been contacted and was onsite. He has worked with our contracted pest control company, *******, to detect bedbugs. He went up to the room directly, and pulled all of the linens for closer inspection in our laundry facility. He also checked the mattress, bed frame, and headboard, with zero findings. The General Manager (GM) personally inspected all the bedding and linens once it was brought down, with the MS and HC. There were no signs or indications of pests. None dead or alive, no feces, no eggs, and no blood spots.

Due to our small staffing there is only one staff member present at the front desk at any given time. The GM was unable to leave the office to inspect the room herself, but the staff who did are trained specifically to look for these types of issues.  
We explained to the guests that regardless of any findings, or lack thereof, of pests in the room that we would be happy to treat any/all of their belongings in our commercial dryers to ensure that there were no potential pests taken home. The guests adamantly refused. They stated that they would treat their own belongings at a laundry mat. They were informed that any expenses for such would not be reimbursed or any other potential cleaning/sanitation costs, as we have offered to provide that at no charge.

At no time were we presented with any photos of bedbugs, dead insects, or alive specimens. They never provided photos of injury resulting from ‘bites.’ At one point the customer did lift up his shirt in the lobby, but he was both too quick and too far away for anything to be seen. The information provided by the guests was inconsistent. They stated that they had read up all about these pests on the internet from a lawyer’s site, but never mentioned if they went to the Washington State Department of Health’s.

They demanded a full refund for their entire stay, the equivalent of $305.92. When they were told they would not be getting a refund as there was no issue found with the room, they stated they were “going to the emergency room, because that is what a lawyer had told them to do”, and that they would be suing us. Despite this threat, we again offered to treat any personal belongings of theirs, for their peace of mind. They again refused.

Despite having found no indication of pests, it is our protocol to treat every report seriously, and the room was down for treatment until the following night as a precaution. The guest in the room prior, who was here for a week, reported no issues. The guests in the room since have reported no issues, and there is still no sign of any pests.

The Washington State Department of Health does not take reports from Hotels about bed bug issues, but takes reports from customers if a pest issue has not been addressed. We did reassure the customer(s) that it was being taken seriously, and that we would be treating the issue. They demanded a report, since the ‘internet told them there should be one. We did offer to provide them with documentation on their folio receipt, but that to generate anything more would take a day or two. The
refused.

The room’s furniture was moved and inspected, with no findings. Regardless of lack of evidence all items were treated with a hand held steamer. All baseboards and picture frames in the room were treated as well as the headboard. The carpet was vacuumed (the vacuum bag removed and cleaned immediately afterward) and shampooed. A mattress and box-spring protector were added to the room as a precaution.

We would be happy to provide direct testimony from the HC or MS in writing. If the customer does decide to bring any personal items in we would still be happy to treat their effects as a courtesy, for their peace of mind.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Over half of what was just stated is false we did show you picture and we showed you our bites in person it. I have been in contact with the health department who also has told me other wise. 

Sincerely,

****** **********

Business Response: No refund for the room will be issued. No other monetary amount will be given to the complainant. 

The Heath Department came and inspected the property on Monday, April 27th, 2015. The inspector was ***** ********, with the Transient Accommodations Program. He specifically inspected room 225, the unit in question. Zero sign of any pests were found. Other units were also inspected, as well as our laundry facility and staff rooms. Other than a fire/carbon monoxide detector issue in a staff room(which has already been fixed) we passed the inspection completely.

If the customer does decide to bring any personal items in we would still be happy to treat their effects as a courtesy. 

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stayed at the motel Puyallup,on 09-05-2014.I was very upset when I saw my room.There was nothing as far as utensils,nothing to eat with,or eat on if you brought food.I complained to the person on duty,he didn,t say a word.Later that night I appolized because I could see he wasn,t feeling good.The next morning when I checked out,the so called manager was there.I told her what I thought of her motel and wanted my credit back on my credit card.I explained the situation she could have cared less.Told me if I needed something I should have come to the office. That's nuts,why should the people have to run to the office everytime we needed something?All she could say was that's the way it is,your not getting your refund.I did tell her that I talked to the other guy,she didn,t believe me.It cost me $107.69 for what???

Desired Settlement: I believe that I,m entitled to my refund of $107.69.I,ve never heard of a motel that runs that way.The Puyallup fair is going on,that was the only place that had a room. ******* *****

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/09/13) */ ******* ***** did stay with us on September 5, 2014. When she was checked in she was informed that there was no coffee pot in the room, and that coffee was provided in the front lobby 24-7. She stated that was fine. According to the desk clerk that assisted her that evening she did mention it again later that night, at that time she was told that we do have one for her to borrow but we do not provide filters or grounds. She declined. We have utensils and cooking implements available for guests to borrow and will provide them upon request. They do need to be requested though, we are not able to anticipate every guests' needs. They were never requested. We also have disposable cutlery and plates available in the lobby at all times. *** ***** had also asked about a hairdryer, which the clerk offered to bring to her, and she also declined. When she asked about ice, the clerk brought some to her room, a courtesy we do not usually extend to guests. Upon checkout she demanded a refund. When pressed for a reason she stated the room was not what she expected. When a customer has an issue or complaint with a room we do our utmost to fix it immediately, and if it cannot be rectified they are at that point compensated. The issues she stated had A) not been brought to our attention to address when she discovered them (ie the lack of dishes and utensils), and B) we were denied the opportunity to accommodate her requests when she did make them. We did everything in our power to accommodate *** *****' requests and complaints as soon as they were brought to our attention. We did offer her a discount on her next stay, as well as a free room upgrade. She stated that the only restitution she would accept was monetary and immediate. A refund will not be given, however the offer of a discount for a future stay is still available. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/09/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes I stayed,only because there was no where else. Even if I would have left,the so called manager would have been the same way.I did complain to the guy on duty,the manager didn,t believe me. I wouldn,t go back there in a bet,no matter what she offered to make up for all this.They should inform a person when they check in,regarding supplies for the room,not wait till after its paid for.I,m not a little kid playing games,i deserve my refund back. ******* ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/09/17) */ When the customer notified our staff that specific items were not included in the room, they were offered to her and she declined. We sadly cannot provide customers with non-standard items when the items have not been asked for. There will be no refund.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Motel Puyallup
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)