BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Guest House Inn

Phone: (360) 863-1900Fax: (360) 863-1901View Additional Phone Numbers19103 State Route 2, MonroeWA 98272-1531 Send email to Guest House Inn

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a motel offering a pool, jacuzzi, Internet services, laundry facilities, exercise room, continental breakfast and full lodging services for travelers.

BBB Accreditation

Guest House Inn is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Guest House Inn's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Guest House Inn

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
12/01/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged for hotel nights I did not reserve or stay at the Guesthouse Inn. Reservations were made by ************* for two rooms August 18 and 19 under "*******" and ********** I (*******) called Guesthouse Inn on August 13 to confirm these accommodations since I never received the requested email confirmation. At this time I was told that only one room was reserved for ****** with no rooms reserved for *******. I then asked her to search under ********** which yielded no results. At this point, I made a reservation for ******* for the original dates August 18 and 19. In addition, I made a reservation for ********* for August 19. ********* read back the reservation, supplied me with confirmation numbers ****** and XXXXX) that match the dates I ask for. I asked ***** for email confirmation, but again did not receive email confirmation.

Monday August 18 ******* and ***** arrived at the Guesthouse Inn and took possession of their rooms. ********* arrived on August 19 but was informed he did not have a room reserved for him. ********* was able to procure a room for August 19.

Upon checkout on August 20, I was informed that I was being charged for a "no show" for ********* on August 17, a night which was never discussed or reserved. ******* spoke with ***** regarding the mistake but was told she did not have the power to reverse the charge and that ******** would review it that morning and I would be contacted. I gave ***** my number but never heard back from her.

I called back in the afternoon of August 20 and spoke with ****** ***** said she had not spoken with ***** but would she would speak with **** on the Morning of August 21. ******* called Guesthouse Inn at 11:30 am on August 21 and was told by ***** that **** reviewed the confirmations and would not reverse the charges. **** was unavailable for comment and I was told that he would be available on Monday August 25. I informed ***** that I would contact **** to dispute the charge and contact the BBB as well. This is where the issue stands as of now.

Desired Settlement
Refund of one night's charge for *********** on August 17.

Business Response
***** had informed me about the reservations with Mr. *******'s party soon after he was billed for a no show charge for ************** After reviewing the reservations history this is what I had to go with when making this decision. There was one reservation made on July 31st 2014 for Mr. ***** with the confirmation number XXXXX, and two other reservations for "*******" and ************** which were made August 13th 2014 with the confirmation numbers XXXXX and XXXXX respectively. All three reservations also had email confirmations letters sent to ***************@hdrimc.com that Mr. ******* that had provided.
The reservations for ********* and "*******" were both for August 18th-20th while ************* was for August 17th-20th. This information was read back the guest and was emailed to him along with a 24 hour cancellation policy that states that the guest must call before 3pm a day prior to the check in date of the reservation to be able to cancel without penalty. Somewhere in the midst of all this Mr. ******* failed to inform us of the date change for **************** reservation. When ************* failed to check in on the August 17th his reservation was cancelled, but luckily when he showed up a room was still available and ************* was able to check in. The policy is clear and the reservations were communicated in written and verbal form along with our policy about no-show reservation. We are not able to refund Mr. ******* for the no-show charges.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The email address is incorrect. My email address is ***************@hdrinc.com. This address was given to the Guesthouse three times, the last time it was written (by me) and handed to ***** so that **** could contact me. **** either did not look at the address given to him (which I wrote) or did not contact me. He was also given my phone number (no call-not a surprise).

As far as the response from Guesthouse above, my reservation were read back to me, but not with the information provided above. For instance, ************ reservation was for August 19, checking out August 20. This is a ONE NIGHT reservation, never at any point were multiple nights for ********* requested, which somehow has turned into a THREE NIGHT reservation in the response above. This hotel is determined to charge me for nights not received while at probably 1/3 capacity.

I have not receive the good or services I'm being charged for and this discrepancy clearly did not prevent the hotel from renting the other 2/3's of their rooms. The right thing to do in this situation is for the hotel to drop the one night rate. If this occurs I will agree not to provide any reviews on the hotel/travel websites. You have my word.

I travel for business from Alaska to California annually making reservations for multiple guests. Logistics is a large portion of my job duty and I have never had any issues with any other hotels, but somehow the Guesthouse has managed to err in two seperate reservations within a week. This dispute has not cost the Guesthouse anything, yet they wish to charge me for their mistake.

I ask that the charges be reversed and we go our seperate ways.

Final Business Response
I have called the guest and we spoke over the phone about this matter. All issues have been resolved.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Business refunded the charge.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Motels, Motels - Reservation Service, Motel & Hotel Management, Motel & Hotel Consultants, Hotels

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/19/2006Business started: 01/01/1998Business started locally: 06/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE
Tumwater, WA98501-5570
(800) 525-0127
http://www.doh.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2007, WA

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Charlinna Walser (General Mgr)Mr Lacey King (Assistant General Manager)Mrs Myungsook Shin (Owner)Mr Jeang Shin (Owner)
Business Category

Motels, Motels - Reservation Service, Motel & Hotel Management, Motel & Hotel Consultants, Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Guest House Intl

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Guest House Inn

19103 State Route 2

Monroe, WA 98272-1531

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 19103 State Route 2 

    Monroe, WA 98272-1531(360) 863-1900
    (503) 419-8519

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Guest House Inn is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (503) 419-8519
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Motels

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.