This business is not BBB accredited.

Gateway Inn

Phone: (360) 569-2506 38820 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Gateway Inn include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gateway Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 11, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989
Business Management
Kenny K. So, Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Kenny K. So, Owner/Manager
Business Category

Motels

Alternate Business Names
Gateway Inn at MT Rainier

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    38820 State Route 706 E

    Ashford, WA 98304 (360) 569-2506

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We stayed at this Motel for one night, and we did not even last the whole night. We checked in and it was nothing like what we expected. We reserved a "2 bedroom suite" and they gave us a horrible and small room above the main office. There was only 1 bedroom and a futon in the living room. I went downstairs to complain and they said it's 2 bedrooms because of the futon. When we returned in the evening from Mt. Rainier, the office was closed. We had dirty towels so we couldn't dry ourselves off and we found these big black insects all over the room. There was no one we could speak to. But the worst part is that the futon had bed bugs! My friend was infested and she had bites all over. We had to leave at 4am. Also, we tried to shower and the water was not running, only a few drops were coming out and it was freezing cold water! When I called the hotel the next day the employee said I could only talk to the owner and he wasn't available. I kept getting the run around. That place is infested with bugs! We want a refund.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund.

Business Response:

I would like to address the complaints from this guest for their stay on June 5, 2015.
1. If the guest came in concerned about the size of the room, we could have changed her to another room that would
have met her needs. We make assignments to rooms based on the number of individuals. She booked a room based
on 2 adults. We had other rooms availability and could have made a change. She did not ask.
2. The towels were clean. Rooms are cleaned and inspected after each guest checks out.
3. Water: We did not have a problem with water that we were aware of. No other guest complained that they had no
water or low pressure.
4. Bugs. On occasion a guest may see an ant or a mosquito, afterall we are in the National Forest at the gate of Mt.
Rainier but we DO NOT have bed bugs of any kind. On 6/10/15 this guest called Expedia who in turn called us
and made this allegation. We immediately went to that room and checked the bed and futon in this unit and there
were NO bugs anywhere.
All these allegations are very upsetting to me as I have owned this business for 26 years and no one has complained
like this before. I take it very personally that someone could be so unhappy at my establishment. All her complaints
are untrue and not valid. I have an after-hour buzzer on my front office door. If someone needed assistance, all they
had to do is ring the bell. If the person had come to me immediately I would have tried to make her happy. As it is
she waited 5 days after her stay to complain. I do not feel a refund is warranted as she is making false accusations.

Sincerely,

 Kenny K. So

Owner/Manager

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AT around 11 pm the night we checked in, we discovered the sewage from the upstairs room was backing up into our shower! Our toilet also started to fill up as well as our sink, leaving our bathroom completely unusable! The stench was almost unbearable. I am 7 months pregnant and was unable to use the bathroom all night. We had no recourse as we had no cell service, no phone in the room and the front desk had been closed since 8 pm. First thing in the morning we complained and were told they had become aware of the problem the night before as the sewage was also backed up in the owners bathroom. We asked to speak to the owner who was unapologetic to say the least. When I saw that he was going to make no effort to correct the problem, I asked for a refund. He started yelling and cursing at me and had the audacity to accuse us of "planning this for trick for no pay" (English is a second language for him) He KNEW about the problem, yet he was so unwilling to do the right thing, that he called us liars. We have never been so offended nor have we ever been treated this way. Due to the small size of Ashford, we had no other options than to stay in that room. We feel strongly that our money should be refunded under these extreme circumstances.

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund.

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 'I recently booked this hotel 6/2/14 and stayed there one of the two nights that I had reserved. My family and I have frequently stayed at what we would term mom and pop type motels and have never had a bad experience until now. Let me first state that we dont feel the need to have a 4 star room , as long as its clean and safe we are good. Upon arrival we noticed that the room was definetly older and need of updating. The shower stall was so small that we couldnt lift our legs to wash our feet without opening the door, and the floor had a slant to it. All this as far as we are concerned was not a problem. We consider it just part of the experience. The slant in the floor turned out to be a big problem. It was so severe that we were trying to sleep with our feet above our heads. There were boards under the head board to try and even it out, and the mattresses were apparently worn out. It was a miserable night for all of us.The next morning we decided that we could not do this another night and informed the owner that we would not stay another night and asked to be refunded for the remaining night. He refused and told us to contact *********** about a refund. He never even asked why and apparently has been through this before. I realize there is a cancellation policy but I also feel that this room was unacceptable. I feel that if he doesnt provide the expected service that he shouldnt be allowed to take our money. Additionally he charged an extra $30 a night for our children which we were not expecting. We are definetly not satisfied with the accomodations and feel like if hotels can charge you for unacceptable conditions that there is no reason to book hotels with booking companies if they are unable to guarantee satisfaction. We did contact one of ********** reps about this that night and he was very apologetic and offered us a $50 voucher. This is very nice of ********** but the fact is that this is less than half of what we spent. and we had to find another place. Moreover the hotel owner got to keep our money for nothing. also as far as I know there is no threat for him of not being able to do business with booking companies. Basically because we booked and payed in advance it doesnt matter if the room is unacceptable they get to keep our money. I have contacted ********** to try to get a resolution but have not heard back from them yet, I dont expect anything more to be done by them since there rep told us all he could do was give us a voucher. i really dont think it would be right if ********** refunded all my money since the condition of the accommations were not their fault. I would like for hotel owners like this to not be able to take peoples money when all they offer is sub standard accomodations.

Desired Settlement: I want to have the $130 plus tax for the second night that we did not stay refunded


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gateway Inn
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)