This business is not BBB accredited.

Bay City Motor Inn

Phone: (360) 676-0332 View Additional Phone Numbers 116 N Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225 http://www.baycitymotorinn.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bay City Motor Inn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bay City Motor Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 16, 1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Business Management
Mr. Joe Briere, Vice President Lakhbir Dhami, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Briere, Vice President
Customer Contact: Lakhbir Dhami, Owner
Business Category

Motels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    116 N Samish Way

    Bellingham, WA 98225 (360) 676-0332

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We checked into the Bay City Motor Inn on 5/14/16. Upon checking in that morning, the man at the front desk asked for a 50$ deposit. We complied, gave him my debit card. We were reassured that we would get our deposit back in the form of cash. However, that wasnt true. When checking out the lady at the front desk, informs us that we will not be getting our deposit back due to a cigerattes ash on the sheets and on a towel. One cigerattes ash, not a burn but an ash. She said that we received the towels clean and they wanted them back the same way. We reminded her of housekeeping and we're still denied. I know this ash would've washed out in the wash. I've worked in housekeeping numerous years at different hotels and have never witnessed this kind of pettiness. After every attempt at rectifying the situation and getting our deposit back, she threatened to call the police. She wouldn't give her name when asked. It was then woman at the front desk who went and checked the room. And denied us our deposit. The condition of the Smoking room we had been in for 2 days was good. She went out of her way to find something wrong with the room. We had asked for a later checkout and were giving 15 minutes. We asked for extra towels and a blanket. Simple request a made everyday in the hospitality industry. I believe this is why we were denied. I don't understand why else because the ash on a towel just is not acceptable. I feel we were taken advantage if and were not the only ones this has happened to. While checking out I overheard her telling another guest that they wouldn't be getting their deposit back as well. She told us that we could come back the next day and talk to the management. She knew we were from out of town and couldn't do that. I feel if she was in the position to deny us our deposit then she should also be in the position to return us the money. I would go as far to say that they do this to alot of people and it's ridiculous. I want my deposit back. Thank you

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to return to my debit card the 50 dollars they took.

Business Response: ***** ** ****** checked out on 5/15/16 from our hotel Bay City Motor Inn. ***** signed our paperwork
at check in time that clearly states, "Guests are responsible for any damages to the room during the
· term of rental." We usually charge a room deposit of up to $100, in this case $50, to cover damages
done to the room. If there are no damages, guests receive their deposit back in full. Two women and
three children checked out of the room that morning. We explained to one of the women that we
would not be returning the deposit, as there were damages to the room upon Inspection. She seemed
to understand, and left without the deposit. Later, the other woman returned and asked why she
wasn't getting the room deposit back, she asked to see what damages had been done and we went up
to the room together. The sheets and towels were stained, there was cigarette ash on the beds, and
one of the towels had a red stain on it. I explained that we give our towels and sheets clean to guests,
and expect to get them back used1 not stained or ruined. The woman complained that this was
ridiculous and she didn't understand why we weren't returning her deposit. She began to get out of
control and aggressive, saying she was not ok with us keeping her deposit and that we were going too
far. I tried to explain to her that she was welcome to come In the next day and talk to one of the
managers' one on one, but she did not like the options I presented her. Instead, she began to yell at me
and use vulgar language, calling me names in the lobby in front of other guests. She even referred to me
as, "The ***** at the Front Desk." And flipped me off. I didn't appreciate the way that she was talking to
me.and was uncomfortable and agitated. I had done everything I could to neutralize the' situation, and
. still felt threatened. I told her that if she continued with this behavlor I would have to call the police, not
as a threat, but more of a statement letting her know what my next step would be, The housekeepers
are witness to the damage done in the room, which is easily over $100. She signed the terms of the
roam at check in, knowing that the room deposit would go towards damages if damage is done. I was
only doing rny job and following through with our procedure as fair as I could.
Ana A*********
Front desk Clerk
Bay City Motor Inn
360-676-9191


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bay City Motor Inn
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)