BBB Accredited Business since

Seattle Talent

Phone: (206) 900-9800 View Additional Phone Numbers 509 Olive Way  Ste 303, Seattle, WA 98101 http://www.facebook.com/seattletalent View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Model/Talent development & placement, as well as local marketing to Actors/Models.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Seattle Talent meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Seattle Talent include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Seattle Talent
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1999 Business started: 06/01/1999 Business started locally: 06/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Henry Ritter, Managing Member Mr. Robert Keeling, VP, CFO Mr. Michael McKay, VP
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael McKay, VP
Principal: Mr. Henry Ritter, Managing Member
Business Category

Modeling & Talent Agencies Modeling & Acting - Training Talent Listing Service Talent Representation Fine Arts Schools (NAICS: 611610)

Hours of Operation
M: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: Closed
Alternate Business Names
70 Fahrenheit

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Seattle Talent has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 509 Olive Way
    Ste 303

    Seattle, WA 98101

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Seattle Talent engages in bait and switch marketing tactics. The company advertising and marketing offers a meeting with an agent after an "audition." There was no mention of classes or any fees. The result of the audition is a sales pitch for very expensive classes. The process also preys on vulnerability of young people wanting to advance in theater or show business, and the resulting pressure on parents when suggesting that the expensive classes are necessary for agent meetings. I wound up paying $4900 for these "classes" and hours later regretted my decision. I contacted the company less than 24 hours after writing a check for their classes and was told that policy required that they not provide a full refund. Instead they refunded $4400 and kept $500. The use bait and switch marketing tactics, hi pressure sales techniques, provided no service whatsoever, and didn't provide a full refund.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of the money I paid them as a result of their deceptive marketing practices and high pressure sales techniques. The amount that is still not refunded is $500.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/15) */ *** **** willingly signed a contract that states "Parent hereby acknowledges that she enters int and executes this contract voluntarily and without any reliance on representations, promises, or inducements made by any agents or employees of Seattle Talent". The contract that she signed also states "The Parent may cancel this contract within 72 hours after its execution by mailing a certified letter to Seattle Talent. The Parent will be refunded the tuition, but not the non-refundable registration fee". **** **** did not follow what the contract very clearly said to do, rather she phoned the next day. *** ******, the owner, accepted her cancellation, which **** **** said was because of a family matter, making no mention at all of "bait and switch", and *** ****** offered to help her in a way to salvage the situation where it would be fair to both parties, and told her to think about the option he offered her, and to give him a call back. She never phoned him back, unfortunately. *** ****** is still open to making certain this is resolved in a way that everyone would be pleased with the outcome, but this could have been resolved already if *** **** had followed the contract she signed, and followed up with *** ******* offer. **** **** can contact myself directly to help get this resolved satisfactorily as quickly as possible. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2013/12/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We never received the email from Seattle Talent (nor return phone calls from the vmails that we left for them). However, upon receipt of the BBB response today, we were able to verify the $500 refund with the bank. Thank you. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/12/12) */ *** **** is correct, in my response I indicated we had not received a letter. The person in the office who received the certified letter did not inform me of that until after I had written the response. I am copying and pasting the response from the Owner who *** **** dealt with on 11/26, on that same day, we refunded her $500, though we had no legal obligation to do so. Her reply on the 29th is curious. -----Original Message----- From: **** ****** mailto:****@seattletalent.net Sent: Tuesday, November 26, 2013 5:49 PM To: '*****@rocketmail.com'; '*******@yahoo.com' Subject: FW: Hello ******* and ******* I wanted to reach out to you since I haven't heard from you since last we spoke. When we did last speak, you told me that you were going to speak to your very upset husband and get back to me regarding my offer to have ****** participate in the photo shoot you signed up for, as well as attend some of our agency auditions . You did mention that he had no interest in having her pursue the entertainment industry and wanted you to cancel the contract you signed the previous day. I asked that you share my offer and get back to me. You agreed. I have not heard to date. I did however see the BBB complaint you filed. So unnecessary. My company, it's representatives and I have done everything we said would, and if given a chance you would have been very pleased with the results. I know ****** wants to do this, and as you mentioned several times in our office "this is all she has ever wanted", we didn't talk her or you into anything. You made a decision that your husband didn't like that is all that happened. A simple return phone call refusing my offer is all that needed to happen. Please see the above attachment as proof that I have refunded your husband's credit card. I am truly sorry this experience wasn't handled differently. I will be supplying the BBB with a copy of your refunded credit card. Attached is the CC refund that we did on the 26th, which was also attached to the above email, so the ****'s knew they had been refunded the monies before their response. Though we had no legal obligation too, the contract is nullified, all monies are returned, hopefully this matter and the miscommunications that happened on both sides are settled satisfactorily. We certainly feel they are on our end. Best regards, ******* ** ***** ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Seattle Talent
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart