BBB Accredited Business since

Cortiva Institute Seattle

Additional Locations

Phone: (206) 282-1233 Fax: (206) 282-9783 View Additional Phone Numbers 425 Pontius Ave N STE 100, Seattle, WA 98109 http://www.cortiva.com/locations/seattle-massage-school/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a massage therapist school.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cortiva Institute Seattle meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cortiva Institute Seattle include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cortiva Institute Seattle
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 18, 2010 Business started: 06/01/2005 Business started locally: 06/01/2005 Business incorporated 10/19/2011 in FL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Shana Seim, Campus Director Ms. Leanne Dowe, Campus Director Mr. Leonard Fluxman, Member Mr. Stephen Lazurus, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Shana Seim, Campus Director
Business Category

Massage Therapists School Information Schools - Business & Vocational Schools - General Interest Massage School Educational Consultants

Hours of Operation
Monday - Sunday
8:00am - 10:30pm
Alternate Business Names
SEG Cort LLC

Additional Locations

  • 2030 S 314th St

    Federal Way, WA 98003 (206) 282-9783 (253) 237-5300

  • 425 Pontius Ave N STE 100

    Seattle, WA 98109 (206) 282-1233 (206) 204-3175

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for the part-time 52-week evening program at Cortiva Institute on January 8, 2015 and withdrew from the program on April 1, 2015. Given that I completed less than 25% of the program, according to page 7 of the school contract, I owe only 25% of the tuition costs: "...If a student's enrollment is terminated between 11% and 25% of the payment period, the school retains 25% of the tuition cost for the payment period plus the registration fee and any accrued finance charges..." My exit paperwork does not seem to reflect this, and emails to ******* ************* ******** ******* *** **** ***** have not resolved the issue.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that my exit papers, loan documents, and all records be amended to reflect 25% tuition, plus fees and finance charges, and that a copy be forwarded for me to sign.

Business Response: Attached please find a "word document" version of our response.

We are in receipt regarding a complaint filed with your office on May 5, 2015 by a former student at Cortiva Institute located in Seattle Washington. As described below, we have investigated the allegations and we welcome the opportunity to respond. However, in consideration of the student’s privacy we will attempt to respond to the complaint in a general way. We will, however, continue to reach out to speak with the complaint so that we can answer any specific or general questions about her refund and she is always welcome to contact the campus with any follow-up questions.

The former student signed up for the part-time 52-week evening Professional Massage Therapy training program at Cortiva Institute on January 8, 2015. At the time of her enrollment she signed an enrollment agreement which clearly discloses the school’s refund policy. She also received a school catalog which includes information about the program; the school’s policies and procedures; payment information; and it explains the school’s refund policy in detail.

In early April, 2015 student did withdraw from the program. Her last date of attendance at the school was March 31, 2015 and this was the date used in the refund calculation. The refund calculation was performed according to the “Instructional Refund Calculation” policy which is clearly disclosed on her signed enrollment agreement. The exact refund policy is below (emphasis added):

Institutional Refund Calculations

Institutional Refund Policies are based upon the portion of the program or term attended by the date of withdrawal or dismissal.

After entering class, refunds of tuition, whether the student withdraws or is dismissed, are prorated based on duration of a student’s enrollment within the current payment period (as measured in the total hours offered within the payment period divided by the total hours in the payment period). Calculated through the last date of attendance, the school is entitled to retain tuition and fees in increments as follows:

• If a student’s enrollment is terminated within the first 10% of the program, the school retains 10% of the tuition cost for the payment period plus the registration fee and any accrued finance charges.
• If a student’s enrollment is terminated between 11% and 25% of the payment period, the school retains 25% of the tuition cost for the payment period plus the registration fee and any accrued finance charges.
• If a student’s enrollment is terminated between 26% and 50% of the payment period, the school retains 50% of the tuition cost for the payment period plus the registration fee and any accrued finance charges.
• If a student’s enrollment is terminated after 50% of the payment period, the school retains 100% of the tuition cost for the payment period plus the registration fee and any accrued finance charges.

The student completed 54.67% of the first payment period therefore, as described above, the school is entitled to retain 50% of the tuition cost for the payment period plus the registration fee and any accrued finance charges. A complete explanation of these charges was mailed to the former student on April 9, 2015. As a result of this complaint, the refund calculation was internally reviewed and double checked by both a Compliance Specialist and a Director of Financial Aid at the Corporate Level and found to be correct.

In reviewing the language in the complaint, the complaint states that she believes she owes 25% of the tuition costs because she completed approximately 25% of the program. However, as stated in her enrollment materials, refunds are not based on the total length of the program they are instead based on payment periods. Please note our institutional refund policy and our return to Title IV policy does comply with state, federal and accrediting requirements.

The school has made several attempts to call the complainant and we will continue to reach out to her and answer any questions she may. As previously stated, we have mailed her copies of the various refund calculations worksheets. If the complaint has any further concerns about the school she may file a formal complaint according our published complaint and grievance policy which is also published in our school catalog.

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in a Continuing Education Class to be held on April 25th, 2015 on January 14, 2015 through the schools website. I filled out the online form and submitted payment for $140.00 through my checking account. Time passes, I remember I have a class coming up but can't remember when it is, so i dig through my desk and find my original receipt and realize i have missed the class. I missed the class because there were no follow up communications from Cortiva. I received a 2 line auto receipt on January 14th, that said 'thank you for registering for the following courses: Professional Ethics for Bodyworkers Saturday, April 25, 2015: 9:00am to 4:00pm - Seattle WA.' - I also received an email thanking me for submitting my registration and that more info was on its way. On January 22, i received an email talking about the class substance and to bring note taking supplies, nothing about the class date, time, location. As the class was 4 months away..i filed the info away and moved ahead. In February i signed up for another class from the same school, went though the same auto email process as before, only 4 days before that class i was sent an email informing me of the specifics of the class, to which i went and had a good experience. I called and talked to **** about the issue and she told me that it is my responsibility to put it on my calendar and that sometimes they send out more information as they did with the other class i attended and sometimes they don't. She said something about not having enough bandwidth to send more info to all the classes.. just some of them. This is absolutely ridiculous.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of $140.00. I did not receive the product. I feel like a company that charges people for education classes, especially professional ethics classes, should do what they can to help ensure their product be delivered.

Business Response:


May 14, 2015


***** ********
**** ******* ****** *****
Seattle, Washington 98103


Dear Mr. ******** –

We are in receipt of the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau regarding your experience with a CEU class offered by the Cortiva Institute located in Washington State.  In your complaint you indicated that you registered and paid for a CEU class back in January 2015 which was scheduled to take place on April 25, 2015.  You indicated that you receive a receipt and confirmation from our CEU office which included the class name, the date, time and location. You also stated that you received a follow-up e-mail a few days after your registration with a class description and information about the supplies to bring to class. However, you state because you registered in January for an April class that you forgot about the class and missed it.

In your complaint letter, you also state that you believe that you are entitled to a refund because you believe you should have gotten a reminder e-mail about the class from the school.  Unfortunately, in general, it is not our policy to remind students to show up for class that has been confirmed and paid for.  

We are very sorry that you are disappointed that you missed your class.  As you indicate in your letter, our CEU classes are enjoyable and educational for our students and we do get a lot of positive feedback about them. However, as disappointing as it may be, we cannot issue refunds to students who forget to come to class.  “Seats” in our CEU classes are reserved based on the number of students who register and pay for class. Therefore, instructional materials are  purchased based on the number of students enrolled and the instructor is paid to teach the class based on an expected number of class participants.

Again, we are sorry that you missed your class and we hope that you choose to take future CEU classes in the future.

Sincerely,

Cortiva Management

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I accept this resolution as I'm surprised they were able to pull themselves together to write one, I would hate for them to have to do it twice, might take up too much 'bandwidth'.   

I'll just know where to not take my CE business in the future.

Sincerely,

***** *******

1/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Transfered from **** ******* Of ******* and came to Cortiva stating that I did not want to spend more then 13,000 on tuition because that is the price of Cortiva program and the financial aid officer that would happen. Now that I am done with school school they found out that they made a mistake with submitting loan paperwork and now they have sent me to collections saying I owe about 2,000 more making my tuition 15,000 dollars in total. I have been in contact with the school and they passed me on to someone in Corporate ****** ********* ***** and it have been over a month and I have called and Emailed her with no response.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to drop what they are trying to charge me for in collections. It was not my fault that they made a mistake for my loan paperwork and that they did not receive funding. why should my credit have to suffer for their mistake? As well as the fact that I told them that I did not want to start the school if it was going to be over the amount above for all of my schooling.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/12/18) */ We apologize for our delay in responding to this concern. We conducted a full internal investigation into this matter and found that tuition and fees were correctly charged. However, because of some unique and extenuating circumstances will not collect the portion of the balance owed to us as requested by the complainant. In order to protect this individual's privacy we will respond to this individual directly regarding the specifics of our decision. If any further information is required, however, please let us know. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2015/01/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am accepting the response because the fees were dropped.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cortiva Institute Seattle
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)