Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Compass Management

Additional Locations

Phone: (425) 424-3153 Fax: (425) 424-3825 10028 Main St, Bothell, WA 98011 http://www.compass-mgmt.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers management consulting services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Compass Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Compass Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Compass Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 02, 2007 Business started: 07/01/2005 Business started locally: 07/01/2005 Business incorporated 07/13/2005 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sherrie Moore, President Ms. Stephanie Bencic, Associate Manager Ms. Sara Vermillion, Secretary, Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sherrie Moore, President
Business Category

Management Consultants

Hours of Operation
Monday-Thursday
8:30am-4:30pm
Friday
8:30am-1:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Moore Management Corp

Additional Locations

  • 10028 Main St

    Bothell, WA 98011 (425) 424-3153

  • PO Box 1325

    Bothell, WA 98041

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We used Compass Management as our Property Management company. One of their responsibilities was to record and report on our Association's finances. They messed up our records so badly it has taken 8 months to clear all but 1 issue. The remaining issue is a $22,000 mistake in recording, although for all I know it may be them stealing our money as they cannot tell us where this money is or what the appropriate coding is. We may be failing our audit for 2015 due to this. Clearly there is a problem here with not having experienced people doing bookkeeping.

Desired Settlement: Explain what exactly happened to this $22,000.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the complaints from ****** ******* and ******* ******* with ******* *****. The ID that was assigned to us is ******** and ********.

We terminated the contract with ******* ***** where ****** and ******* are on the Board of Directors. After months of phone calls, emails and person to person visits, we found that the Board to be unreasonable on most everything that required the day to day management for the association.

There is no money missing. If there was, there wouldn't be a discrepancy on the amounts that ****** and ******* mentioned. We gave them detailed financials every month including bank statements. They have always known where every penny went with their
association's money. If there was truly money missing, this Board wouldn't hesitate to sue us. No case has been opened up by ******* ***** regarding Compass Management.

We have always had E&O coverage. It is through HUB International. However, with our contract that ****** ******* signed, it states "The Association shall indemnify, defend and save Agent harmless from all loss, damage, cost, expense (Including attorneys' fees)
liability, and claims for personal injury or property damage, error of judgment, or for any mistake of fact or law incurred or occurring in, on, or about the property except in the case of willful misconduct or negligence by Agent." There was no willful misconduct or
negligence made by Compass Management.

Audits don't "pass or not pass". Auditors make adjustments based on information from the management company. When we terminated our contract with ******* *****, we gave the new management company all records pertaining to ******* *****. I'm sorry if they hired
an incompetent accounting firm but the fact that they can't make adjustments for the financials is not Compass Managements problem.

This is just another way for them to try and cause issues with our good standing with the Better Business Bureau. Please remove these complaints as they are unfounded and malicious.


Sincerely,

Sherrie M****                                        Sara V*********
President, Compass Management           CFO, Compass Management

6/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a resident of a community in Marysville and Compass Management currently manages our homeowners association. On or around 2-17-15 we all received correspondence from them with a sticker on the outside reading in bright colors "URGENT, Fine Notice"... Panicked we all opened this correspondence only to find there was no such fine assessed only a notice to comply with a trash can policy by 2-27-15. First I think this is bad business practices not to give a 30 day notice. I also believe it to be misleading to the consumer when it says Fine Notice. We are not given yearly copies of our CCR (rules and regs) therefor we have no way of knowing the most current policies in which my personal copy does not show what the notices states.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this company to retract the original correspondence and send a written apology to all the homeowners for this misleading information. I would like for this apology to not come out of our community budget as this is their error and should have to pay for it themselves.

Business Response: The ***** **** association hired Compass Management to start in Dec. 2014. The previous management company did not uphold any of their governing documents. One of the biggest priorities of ***** ***** board of directors was to get the association cleaned up and start upholding the governing documents. Just clarify, a fine notice doesn't mean that they are receiving a fine, it was a notice talking about fines. We sent out a letter on February 13th (attached), to all the homeowners stating all the things that were in violation and clearly stated that all these things must be taken care of by the 27th or there would be a $50 fine assessed. People who ignored the letter and were not in compliance were sent another letter (This
homeowners 2nd letter is attached) and assessed a $50 fine. A 30 day notice is not given because we write notices based on board direction... the timeline of 10 days is standard timeline. The second letter that was sent also stated that homeowners were welcome to call or write a letter to the association to dispute the violation/fine. Anyone who took care of their violation was given a one time courtesy waiver and the fine was removed.

CC&R's are not sent out yearly because they don't change unless something new is voted on by homeowners (which very rarely happens), in which case the update is mailed out. If a homeowner misplaces or wants a new copy,  The CC&R's are always available to read and/or download on the associations website.


***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

5/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our HOA hired this company to be our property manager. In an envelope with a stamp on the outside sane important finds there was a letter to every homeowner. This letter contained different bullet points of what was expected our property to look like. Again the sticker on the outside of the envelope said important fines. This tactic was very misleadingAfter this the only contact we had received from this company was a letter violation for one or more of the point addressed in the first fine letter again that everyone receivedSo we were assessed and $50 fine without an individual consultation of what our property was in compliance or not in compliance with. First letter was very misleading and in my opinion a scare tactic.

Desired Settlement: Fines removed and better communication.

Business Response:

The ***** **** *********** hired Compass Management to start in Dec. 2014. The previous management company did not uphold any of their governing documents. One of the biggest priorities of ***** ***** board of directors was to get the association cleaned up and start upholding the governing documents. We sent out a letter on February 13th (attached), to all the homeowners stating all the things that were in violation and clearly stated that all these things must be taken care of by the 27th or there would be a $50 fine assessed. People who ignored the letter and were not in compliance were sent another letter (This homeowners 2nd letter is attached) and assessed a $50 fine. The second letter that was sent also stated that homeowners were welcome to call or write a letter to the association to dispute the violation/fine. Anyone who took care of their violation was given a one time courtesy waiver and the fine was removed. 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Compass Management
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)