BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/08/2010

H I L Financial

Phone: (877) 298-4676Fax: (888) 678-34685325 140th Ave NE, BellevueWA 98005-1025 Send email to H I L Financial

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial services commercial equipment and leasing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/08/2010

BBB has determined that H I L Financial meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised H I L Financial's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on H I L Financial
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: We have made a deposit and payments toward a product that was never delivered to our business. The company who we were trying to get the product from refunded the financial company but Hil Financial will not get back with us nor will they give us our refund for the item.

Initial Business Response
August 19, 2013

Better Business Bureau

Subject: Case # XXXXXXXX

This letter is in reply to the complaint for the transaction between ********** ******** *********** ****** *** dba ********* ***** **** and H.I.L. Financial (HIL). ** applied for equipment financing (Exhibit A) , signed a lease proposal (LP) and sent a non-refundable deposit to cover HIL's cost associated with putting the transaction together (Exhibit B), signed a non-cancelable and binding Equipment Finance Agreement (EFA) (Exhibit C) which included a request for Pre-Funding Acceptance Agreement and Authorization to Commence (Exhibit D) the EFA prior to equipment delivery. After the agreement was executed the funding department called **** ******** who requested them to advance funds to the vendor and directed them to commence her non-cancellable. After the funds were released and her EFA commenced ** backed out of the transaction because they decided to purchase a different unit from a different vendor and use a different finance company. Please see the attached fax sent to us from ** with a cover letter explaining they want a different unit and wanted us to compete with another lender and included the other credit application they filled out to us for different collateral than was original approved and funded (Exhibit E) under their fully commenced EFA.

H.I.L. Financial believes it has gone above and beyond in obtaining financing for ********** ******** *********** ****** *** dba ********* ***** and is shocked that a complaint has been made when considering the events of this transaction and the fact we DID send her initial payment to the funder. HIL sent the initial payments received by ** ($933.18) to the funder (advanced payments required per the EFA see page 1 of Exhibit C) . We were also successful in negotiating with the equipment vendor to refund the funding received in order to unwind this defaulted transaction so the bank would not go after and litigate *** This was done in good faith in order to assist ** even though they backed out of their obligation at a great expense to HIL, the vendor and funder who all are taking a loss.

Please let us know if you need any additional information to dismiss this outrageous complaint.

Best regards,

***** *****
H.I.L. Financial

*****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*****

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/22/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Leasing Service, Financial Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/07/2010Business started: 02/01/2000
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Financial Institutions
PO Box 41200
Olympia, WA98504-1200
(360) 902-8700
http://www.dfi.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr John Dyer (Member)
Business Category

Leasing Service, Financial Services

Alternate Business Names
Gekko Financial, LLC
Industry Tips
BBBTips on Saving and Investing
Selecting a Financial Planner

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for H I L Financial

5325 140th Ave NE

Bellevue, WA 98005-1025

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5325 140th Ave NE 

    Bellevue, WA 98005-1025(877) 298-4676

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*H I L Financial is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.