BBB Accredited Business since

H I L Financial

Phone: (877) 298-4676 Fax: (888) 678-3468 10900 NE 4th St  Skyline Tower, Bellevue, WA 98004 http://www.HILfinancial.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers financial services commercial equipment and leasing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that H I L Financial meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for H I L Financial include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on H I L Financial
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 07, 2010 Business started: 02/01/2000 Business started locally: 02/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Dyer, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Dyer, Member
Business Category

Leasing Service Financial Services Other Commercial and Industrial Machinery and Equipment Rental and Leasing (NAICS: 532490)

Alternate Business Names
Gekko Financial, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

H I L Financial has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10900 NE 4th St
    Skyline Tower

    Bellevue, WA 98004

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We inquired about financing through HIL Financial. We filled out the nessasary paper work to get the approval and signed the paper to recieve the rates on the loan. Then we decided to go through a local bank to save a significant amount of money. Now HIL will not return the initial deposit they dafted from our account. They will not return phone calls or emails from me or the buisness that I bought a massage bed from. Its been 3 weeks. The receptionist will answer and conferm the person I need to speak with is working but he will not speak to anyone.

Desired Settlement: 1452.68 This is the amount they drafted form our account.

Business Response:

See the 2 attachments attached with reponse and supporting documents.
PLease let me know if you need anything else.
I have sent this into **********@thebbb.org on Sat March 7th, and this morning to ****@thebbb.org.
I want to make sure I got this in on time.
Thanks
Leigh
HIL Financial

Subject: Case # ********

This letter is in reply to the complaint for the transaction between ****** * ***** **** and H.I.L.
Financial (HIL). ** applied for a commercial equipment lease (Exhibit A), signed a lease proposal
(LP) which detailed the approval terms and sent a non-­-refundable deposit to cover HIL’s cost
associated with putting the transaction together (Exhibit B) signed a non-­-cancelable and binding
Lease Agreement (LA) (Exhibit C) and backed out of their non-­-cancelable Lease Agreement, at their
own admission, as acknowledged in their complaint (Exhibit D).

Contrary to the complaint, ** applied for a commercial equipment lease on May 22,
2014 for their new business. HIL successfully secured a new business approval for
** on May 28, 2014. HIL presented the full approval terms to Ms. ********* and Ms. ***** and
emailed the Lease Proposal detailing the terms of their approval on May 28, 2014. ** reviewed, Ms.
********* signed and Ms. ***** emailed the fully executed LP and non-­-refundable deposit to HIL on
May 28, 2014. Upon receipt of **** LP and non-­-refundable deposit, HIL prepared and emailed **
their Lease Agreement. On May 30, 2014 ** sent HIL their fully executed lease agreement. After
**** non-­-cancellable lease agreement was executed and returned, UCC and legal paperwork filed,
*** at its sole discretion, backed out of the transaction because ** decided to use a “local bank
to save a significant amount of money”.

H.I.L. Financial believes it has gone above and beyond in obtaining financing for ****** * *****
and is shocked that a complaint has been made when considering the events of this transaction. HIL
was successful in negotiating with the lender to unwind this transaction so the bank would not go
after and collect the full sum of payments per the terms of the lease agreement. This was done in
good faith in
order to assist ** even though they backed out of their obligation at a great expense
to HIL, and lender who all are taking a loss.

Please let us know if you need any additional information to dismiss this outrageous
complaint.

Best regards,

Kevin S**** H.I.L. Financial

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Mr. S**** claims that he has gone "above and beyond" and is shocked that we filed this complaint when Mr. S**** has made no effort to answer ************** or my phone calls or questions to explain to us this "lease proposal" and "lease agreement" as to why he deserves the full amount when the lease was never completely "executed" with his firm. 

Please look at "Exhibit B"; Section 2; In the event a definite Lease is not executed, for the reasons described in Sections 2.1 and 2.2 below, Lessor, in it sole and absolute discretion,  may retain the entire Origination Deposit (which is noted in Section 1 that it is the $195.00) as compensation for its time in underwriting the Lease and reimbursement of its expenses, including general over head expenses.  This is all upon execution of this Lease Proposal. 

Exhibit C: Section 1: The Term begins when you accept the Equipment or when we determine that you have begun using the Equipment. Upon the acceptance date you will be deemed to have agreed that all the equipment is satisfactory and in good working condition and this lease will become your absolute obligation that you can't cancel or terminate. 

A ************ sales representative was trying to explain to Kevin S**** that the loan was never "executed" or could not have ever been "executed" but, Kevin S**** failed to comply with the communication with ************ and myself. The "Bill of Sale" was never received from Kevin S**** for ************ to start manufacturing the bed. 

I believe it is good "business" to return the amount of 2 payments considering there was never a "executed" lease with Kevin S**** and it states that it is at his discretion and he has to approve the refund. 

I'm asking for the amount of two payments ($1,257.68) as a refund. I think the $195 is a fair amount for the work Kevin S**** did. I do not believe it is ****** * *****'s obligation to pay for two payments of something that it never purchased from HIL Financial. 

I have also seen that other BBB Complaints that this is a reasonable resolution to my complaint. 

Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Mr. S**** claims that he has gone "above and beyond" and is shocked that we filed this complaint
when Mr. S**** has made no effort to answer ************** or my phone calls or questions to
explain to us this "lease proposal" and "lease agreement" as to why he deserves the full amount
when the lease was never completely "executed" with his firm.

WE HAVE PREVIOUSLY SUPPLIED A COPY OF THE FULLY EXECUTED LEASE AGREEMENT (EXHIBIT C OF THE PREVIOUS
SUBMISISON) BACK FROM MAY 2014. IN OUR RESPONSE TO THEIR OUTRAGEOUS COMPLAINT WE OUTLINED SEVERAL
OF THE COSTS ASSOCIATED WITH PUTTING THIS TRANSACTION TOGETHER FOR ****** * *****. TO EXPOUND ON
SOME OF THE COSTS AND EXPENSES ASSOCIATED INCLUDING, BUT NOT LIMITED TO: CREDIT REPORTS, BUSINESS
CREDIT SEARCHES, TIME IN CREDIT & UNDERWRITING DEPARTMENT, TIME IN DOCUMENTATION DEPARTMENT, TIME
IN FUNDING DEPARTMENT, TIME IN ACCOUNTING DEPARTMENT, TIME

IN LEGAL DEPARTMENT, COST OF RESERVED FUNDS, COST OF LEGAL PAPERWORK, COST OF UCC SEARCH, COST OF
UCC FILING, COST OF UCC REVERSE FILING ONCE THE LEASE WAS UNWOUND, ETC… ON BEHALF OF ****** ***
***** WE WERE ABLE TO SUCCESSFULLY NEGOTIATE WITH THE LENDER TO UNWIND THIS TRANSACTION SO THE
LENDER WOULD NOT GO AFTER THEM AND COLLECT THE FULL SUM OF PAYMENTS PER THE TERMS OF THEIR SIGNED
LEASE AGREEMENT.

Please look at "Exhibit B"; Section 2; In the event a definite Lease is not executed, for the
reasons described in Sections 2.1 and 2.2 below, Lessor, in it sole and absolute discretion, may
retain the entire Origination Deposit (which is noted in Section 1 that it is the $195.00) as
compensation for its time in underwriting the Lease and reimbursement of its expenses, including
general over head expenses. This is all upon execution of this Lease Proposal.

EXHIBIT B FROM THE LEASE PROPOSAL (EXHIBIT B) CLEARLY DEFINES AND STATES THE ORIGINATION DEPOSIT AS
$1,452.68. “...FOR A TOTAL ORIGINATION DEPOSIT OF $1,452.68.” THEY CONFIRM HERE, IN WRITING, “THIS
IS ALL UPON EXECUTION OF THIS LEASE PROPOSAL” WHICH THEY EXECUTED ON 5/28/2014. THEY BACKED OUT OF
THEIR OBLIGATIONS, AT THEIR SOLE DISCRETION, BECAUSE THEY DECIDED TO USE A DIFFERENT LENDER.

Exhibit C: Section 1: The Term begins when you accept the Equipment or when we determine that you
have begun using the Equipment. Upon the acceptance date you will be deemed to have agreed that all
the equipment is satisfactory and in good working condition and this lease will become your
absolute obligation that you can't cancel or terminate.

EXHIBIT C; SECTION 1: GOES ON TO CLEARLY STATE (EXHIBIT C) THE FOLLOWING: “If this Lease is not
finalized other than due to our wrongful action, you agree that we may, at our option, retain the
Security Deposit and Administration Fee as liquidated damages.” ONCE AGAIN, THEY BACKED OUT OF
THEIR OBLIGATIONS, AT THEIR SOLE DISCRETION.

A ************ sales representative was trying to explain to Kevin S**** that the loan was never
"executed" or could not have ever been "executed" but, Kevin S**** failed to comply with the
communication with ************ and myself. The "Bill of Sale" was never received from Kevin S****
for ************ to start manufacturing the bed.

ITS UNCLEAR TO US WHY THEY ARE SAYING KEVIN S*** DIDN’T COMPLY OR COMMUNICATE WITH THEM. KEVIN
S**** WAS AN INTEGRAL PART OF NEGOTIATING WITH THE LENDER TO UNWIND THIS TRANSACTION, IN GOOD
FAITH, FOR THEM.

I believe it is good "business" to return the amount of 2 payments
considering there was never a "executed" lease with Kevin S**** and it states that it is at his
discretion and he has to approve the refund.

****** *** ***** ARE THE ONLY PARTY NOT LIVING UP TO THEIR WORD AND OBLIGATIONS. H.I.L. FINANCIAL
IS OPERATING ON GOOD BUSINESS PRINCIPALS AND HAVE GONE ABOVE AND BEYOND IN OBTAINING FINANCING FOR
****** *** ***** ONLY TO BE DISCARDED WITHOUT ANY CONSIDERATION TO THE TIME AND EXPENSES PUT INTO
THIS FINANCE TRANSACTION FOR THEM…WHICH WAS COMPLETELY AT THEIR REQUEST.



I'm asking for the amount of two payments ($1,257.68) as a refund. I think the $195 is a fair
amount for the work Kevin S**** did. I do not believe it is ****** * *****'s obligation to pay for
two payments of something that it never purchased from HIL Financial.

I have also seen that other BBB Complaints that this is a reasonable resolution to my complaint.

WE HAVE TAKEN A LOSS WITH THIS TRANSACTION AND INTERNALLY WRITTEN THIS OFF OUR BOOKS AS BAD DEBT.
THEY ARE FORTUNATE THIS ISSUE WAS NOT TURNED OVER TO THE LEGAL DEPARTMENT TO COLLECT THE FULL SOME
OF PAYMENTS.

Sincerely, Kassi B****

9/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have made a deposit and payments toward a product that was never delivered to our business. The company who we were trying to get the product from refunded the financial company but Hil Financial will not get back with us nor will they give us our refund for the item.

Desired Settlement: We are wanting a refund in the full amount of the deposit as well as all the payments made.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/08/19) */ August 19, 2013 Better Business Bureau Subject: Case # XXXXXXXX This letter is in reply to the complaint for the transaction between ********** ******** *********** ****** *** dba ********* ***** **** and H.I.L. Financial (HIL). ** applied for equipment financing (Exhibit A) , signed a lease proposal (LP) and sent a non-refundable deposit to cover HIL's cost associated with putting the transaction together (Exhibit B), signed a non-cancelable and binding Equipment Finance Agreement (EFA) (Exhibit C) which included a request for Pre-Funding Acceptance Agreement and Authorization to Commence (Exhibit D) the EFA prior to equipment delivery. After the agreement was executed the funding department called **** ******** who requested them to advance funds to the vendor and directed them to commence her non-cancellable. After the funds were released and her EFA commenced ** backed out of the transaction because they decided to purchase a different unit from a different vendor and use a different finance company. Please see the attached fax sent to us from ** with a cover letter explaining they want a different unit and wanted us to compete with another lender and included the other credit application they filled out to us for different collateral than was original approved and funded (Exhibit E) under their fully commenced EFA. H.I.L. Financial believes it has gone above and beyond in obtaining financing for ********** ******** *********** ****** *** dba ********* ***** and is shocked that a complaint has been made when considering the events of this transaction and the fact we DID send her initial payment to the funder. HIL sent the initial payments received by ** ($933.18) to the funder (advanced payments required per the EFA see page 1 of Exhibit C) . We were also successful in negotiating with the equipment vendor to refund the funding received in order to unwind this defaulted transaction so the bank would not go after and litigate *** This was done in good faith in order to assist ** even though they backed out of their obligation at a great expense to HIL, the vendor and funder who all are taking a loss. Please let us know if you need any additional information to dismiss this outrageous complaint. Best regards, ***** ***** H.I.L. Financial *****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on H I L Financial
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart