This business is not BBB accredited.

Aurora Lawnmower

Phone: (206) 783-0200 Fax: (206) 783-0816 View Additional Phone Numbers 7323 Aurora Ave N, Seattle, WA 98103

! Aurora Lawnmower is Believed to Be Out of Business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers outdoor power equipment repairs, sales, and service.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aurora Lawnmower
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 2001 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Micheal McAllister, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Micheal McAllister, Owner
Business Category

Lawn Mowers - Sharpen & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Micheal James McAllister

Additional Locations


    7323 Aurora Ave N

    Seattle, WA 98103 (206) 390-8134 (206) 783-0200


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I gave a Husqvarna lawn Mower that under 3 year warranty for repair to the vendor on July 19th. They validated and took notes from my purchase receipts and told me that it will be fixed within a week and they would call me when its ready for pick up. I waited 4 weeks and did not hear back from them, so I called them on August 16th to see what was going on. I talked to **** and he told me that they won't fix it under warranty because technician thinks it hit something and the transmission broke. I told him that we have a flat lot with no rocks, and mower is used less than 10 times since I bought last year. If using it breaks the transmission than why sell fragile products. Moreover I checked the mower thoroughly and had not seen any sign of it hitting anything. Then he started claiming that ok we would have fixed it under warranty but when we checked online your product was not registered online. I told him that I brought in the original purchase receipt and you guys took notes from it for the things that mattered for warranty so why do I need to register it online. Its not mandatory to have it registered online. And if physical receipt was really required why they did not make a copy when I showed it to them. Seeing another argument defeated, he started to get angry and told me to come and pick up my lawn mower and they won't fix it. I told him that they have the obligation to honor the warranty and fix it, I will not pick it up like that. Even though not required, after the call I went ahead and registered it online anyways. They still did not call me back to tell what they were doing with the lawn mower. So I called again on August 25th and talked to someone who did not tell me his name. He told me that they are working on it and it requires a gear box. He also asked me about the receipt. I told him that it's now registered online and he said it will be still nice to give us a copy of the receipt, I said I would bring it when I come to pick up the mower, which he said is fine. It's been half summer I have been without a lawn mower, my lawn is not mowed for last 6 weeks and these guys do not seem to care. They have not been able to get a part for 6 week, really?? At this point it seems like they are just holding me hostage and sitting on without any intent to fix it anytime soon. If I do not have my lawn mower properly fixed and ready for me to pick it up in a week of this complaint, I will stage a civil protest in front of their shop. I will also file a business malpractice lawsuit. They not only have the obligation to fix the lawn mower but also to do so in reasonable time. 6 weeks of holding my equipment is not reasonable time.

Desired Settlement: If vendor honors the warranty without any further issues and fixes my lawn mower "properly" within 7 working days (Which is on top of already 6 weeks they had it for), I will take this complaint back without any further escalation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/29) */ The client purchased the mower at******* and brought it to us for a warranty repair. After evaluating the unit, the tech determined the units repair is a non warranty issue. The client was contacted with the findings and was rude an aggressive and insisted the damage was a warranty issue. We looked up the warranty registration and found the client did not register the warranty on the unit. We contacted the client and said we can not work on the unit with him not registering it with the manufacturer. He replied he did not want to register it and we told him we can not work on the unit without the registration and frankly the issue is non warrantable. Again he became combative and we then asked him to come pick up the unit if he would not comply with the registration as it was beyond our control. He then called a few days afterward and asked for the serial number of the unit and we complied. One week after that he called back and asked for the status of the unit. He also said he filed a complaint and talked with the manufacturer and registered the unit. We tried to look up the registration and it still was not done. I registered the unit for him and submitted a claim. We called the client and left a message to that affect, and if the claim was approved, we would repair the unit under warranty. As of now we are waiting for a reply from the manufacturer. The damage is clearly a non warranty issue but if the manufacturer approves the claim we will service the claim. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Vendor is lying when he says that they contacted me with he finding. After waiting 4 weeks I called to see what was going on. I can provide my call records and they can provide theirs to confirm. **** was less than courteous on the phone and told me that I need to make another 40 miles round trip to provide them the copy of the receipt because they did not make a copy when I was there to which I refused. How is that a reasonable thing for them to ask. This is what he calls my combative position. I had given them the original receipt when I handed over the mower, if it was so important they should have made the copy. They also did not tell me that for them having the product registered was so important and they wont service it if it was not registered online, when I was there. Anyways when I called them the 2nd time I did register online with the information ****'s coworker read to me. If it did not go through, thats not my issue. None the less if they had a way to register themselves why all this nonsense. Funny part is that I still have not made the trip to give them a copy of the receipt and they are able to handle the registration etc with information they already have, why was all this heckling in first place. It just tells how much they care about the customer. As of now the ********* has agreed to honor the warranty but this vendor has still not contacted me to let me know when it would be ready. They have kept the mower with them all summer. They have been provided a reasonable resolution option by me alongwith this complaint, but instead of agreeing to it they are spending time trying to prove their lies. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/20) */ Although the unit was a non warranty issue, the manufacturer eventually honored the claim. The unit was serviced and picked up by the customer. In closing, we are bound by the requirements set by the manufacturer as they pertain to equipment issues, and we followed that protocol. We stand by our assessment of the unit as non warranty issue and followed the guide lines of the manufacturer. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/09/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Manufacturer did the right thing, they verified what happened and what the resolution should be. Finally the lawnmower was fixed after 7 weeks of run around given by the vendor. Problem with the service provided by Aurora Lawnmower are as follow. All these could have been avoided if vendor showed a little bit of care of customer 1. They did not make the copy of the receipt when I handed it over to them, later they tried to give me hard time over this and wanted me to make a 35 miles round trip just for this. 2. They told me they would call me within a week to update me the status of the service. They did not bother to call me and finally after waiting for 4 weeks I called them back to see what was going on. 3. They told me that it was mandatory to register online to get the warranty, while its not. None the less I registered while vendor's rep was on the phone and was reading me the serial number etc from the lawnmower. Later they claimed that they still could not find it and registered it themselves for me. Thats good, my only question is that if they had the ability register why they were haggling the customer over it in first place. It just shows that how much they care for their customers. 4. Their rep tried to yell at me saying things like that I must pick up my lawn mower right away and we wont fix it. At the end vendor needs to understand that they fix a very important equipment which gets used atleast 2-3 times a month in summer. If they keep this for more than a week for any reason and customer feel that its a lost cause and he might need a buy a new one, vendor has already lost in his sole purpose of being in this business. They can try to respond to these comments or think over it and get better in resolving these kind of matters.

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service